Grim Dawn PC

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Mar 2, 2016
    92
    There is no question that Grim Dawn moves along familiar lines: Base classes, a tragic world inhabited by monsters in a wide variety of flavors, nearly constant loot drops, action-oriented combat, somewhat "lite" yet interesting story, etc. Somehow, though, Grim Dawn just does it better than any other ARPG in recent memory.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 7, 2016
    90
    A little daunting at first, but with some theorycrafting Grim Dawn proves to be an extremely enjoyable bit of hack and slash. [Issue#249, p.56]
  3. Mar 28, 2016
    90
    A quality classic ARPG that recovers the essence and spirit of Titan Quest and send us back to a different time in the best possible way. Lots of content, tons of details and a excellent experience overall.
  4. Mar 2, 2016
    90
    Grim Dawn is one of the easiest ARPGs to recommend in recent years.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2016
    87
    Grim Dawn scratches the right action RPG itch with a plenty of loot to hoard and a decent skill system that offers plenty of options to build the perfect demon-blasting hero. The only problem is the lack of a proper endgame, as the non-randomized maps and locations becoming too familiar too fast. [May 2016]
  6. Mar 7, 2016
    87
    Grim Dawn is one of the best action-RPGs out there, combining excellent hack and slash action with a world and progression curve that makes it worth fighting through. Alone or with friends, it’s hour after hour of top quality combat and looting, with the promise of many more excellent dark times to come.
  7. Mar 1, 2016
    86
    Grim Dawn takes the best of a lot of other action RPS and creates well thought out and yet original hack & slay fun.
  8. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    85
    Dozens of hours of hacking and slashing done so well and so addictive that you could swear it’s Blizzard’s game. [05/2016, p.56]
  9. Mar 21, 2016
    85
    Crate Entertainment delivers a great ARPG, with tons of contents and very deep. If you have some friends to play with, Grim Dawn is a game you shouldn't miss.
  10. Mar 18, 2016
    85
    Grim Dawn doesn't change the rules but builds upon them to deliver a solid, engaging and lasting experience.
  11. Mar 12, 2016
    85
    Though it may not look pretty, it has a charm reminiscent of Diablo II and Diablo. I felt a nostalgic dread turning each corner and felt jubilation in defeating each boss; that is something that can’t be recreated with fancy visuals and flashy skills alone.
  12. Mar 9, 2016
    85
    Grim Dawn is a worthy spiritual successor for the Titan Quest series. A great action-RPG.
  13. Mar 13, 2016
    83
    It's a little hobbled by old-school stylings and the story could be better, but few modern hack-and-slash RPGs are quite so fun.
  14. Apr 12, 2016
    80
    At its core Grim Dawn is an excellent fighting game. It's a game that shouldn´t be missed by any Diablo or Titan Quest fan.
  15. Apr 7, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn can be like pulling the lever on a slot machine, the only difference being that the reward here isn’t cash but the gory explosion of beasts and the clink of loot-drops. I know from personal experience that this game has that certain something, and even if you think that you've grown tired of games of its ilk, Grim Dawn has enough tricks up its sleeve to charm even the most grizzled veteran.
  16. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    How do you make a great aRPG? Just take everything fans love about the genre, gather core developers from Iron Lore Entertainment, take a pinch of Diablo and a hefty amount of Lovecraft, Barker and King. This is how you'll get Grim Dawn, a must-have game for every true dungeon-crawl fan.
  17. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    Remember Titan Quest? Yeah, that one was pretty good. Well, this is the modern version of that. And then some.
  18. Apr 2, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a familiar, yet satisfying romp through a role-playing genre that's seen its fair share of innovations and dynamic methods to shoot and loot. Its setting is a nice change from the usual fantasy titles and its features and content are more than enough to keep you entertained for quite some time.
  19. Mar 10, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a very well rounded up action RPG with deep gameplay, varied classes, tons of progression options and a good technical and artistic department. All in all a very fine product that will offer players many hours of entertainment.
  20. Mar 9, 2016
    80
    The world design is imaginative and visually impressive, there is a strong narrative if you wish to learn about it and the gameplay feels fun and addictive.
  21. Mar 7, 2016
    80
    Despite the technical shortcomings, Crate Entertainment managed to develop a worthy spiritual successor for the Titan Quest series. Grim Dawn is extremely rich in content, providing hundreds of hours of hack'n'slash fun.
  22. Mar 7, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a game that fulfills promises made by the developers and is one of the best entries in the hack'n'slash genre. The game is to be expanded and updated in the future: if dawn is so exciting, what will happen at dusk? And even if the multiplayer mode needs tweaking and beating the same storyline with different characters can become a bit boring, the game is simply very good and worth your money.
  23. Mar 4, 2016
    80
    This is as conservative as it can get. Pure hack & slay with a focus on the bigger, better loot. It helps though that it was made from fans for fans. And if you like your action RPG pure and focused on leveling and looting you will get loads of hours out of this.
  24. 80
    Tons of loot, neat character customization, a huge game world and plenty of monsters to kill - if that's your thing and you enjoy playing offline, you can't go wrong with Grim Dawn. Just don't expect a polished online experience or deep storyline - there's plenty of other games for that.
  25. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 11, 2016
    80
    Crate Entertainment made an “anti-Diablo 3”. Blizzard’s ARPG was too cheerful for you? No problem, here you’ll find blood, guts and piles of bodies in abundance. [Issue#206, p.62]
  26. May 9, 2016
    79
    Truly, Grim Dawn represents the modern gamer's slot machine, where three cherries are a set item drop and three 7's are a jackpot of a story that never comes to fruition.
  27. Apr 4, 2016
    75
    Grim Dawn has classic gameplay that rewards strategy and penalizes superficiality in order to get a more hardcore dimension of the hack ‘n slash world. This definitely balances the technical, narrative and artistic shortcomings, unnoticeable to the farming devoted ones, but clear to those who want a more immersive ad modern experience.
  28. Apr 4, 2016
    75
    Grim Dawn is a well-done game, although it doesn’t have anything new to offer. This is Diablo 3 that we were looking for back in 2012.
  29. Mar 20, 2016
    75
    All in all, despite quite a lot of bugs and flaws, Grim Dawn is definitely a must-play if you are into Diablo or other similar action role-playing games like Divinity: Original Sin. The game is still pretty recent, and I have faith that the developers are working hard to fix the flaws and make this title even better.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’ll keep you busy for a long damn time too, even if you only play it once – though, of course, for many there’ll be later playthroughs in co-op or at at unlockable higher difficulties. I think it’s the (admittedly presumed) desire to be the spiritual sequel to Diablo II which holds me back from heaping breathless praise on Grim Dawn, though.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 98
  2. Negative: 5 out of 98
  1. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time TitanThe game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has more than lived up to the hype and exceeded all expectations. I played nearly 400 hours while it was in beta alone, and can't wait to actually, really start playing the game now that it is in full release.

    It has all the best elements of an old-school aRPG game, with some new mechanics to keep it fresh. The environment/climate is interesting, the classes are fairly archetypal but with a fresh spin, and the hunt for loot keeps you hungry for progression.

    The story is interesting and there is enough to keep those interested immersed. The graphics are very good - not amazing, but authentic for the type of game. Not cartoonish at all. The pace is great and there's enough play diversity to offer plenty of replayability. It's a great mix of challenge and depth.

    I recommend this game highly. I've only played as single player, but the game does offer co-op mulitplayer via local server connections (like Titan Quest - no online servers, yay)!

    PS - really looking forward to expansion AND the modding community once the game settles in.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2016
    4
    I didn't play early access, but I got it now and already refunded.

    I'm big fan of aRPG (diablo-like) - I love Path of Exile, liked
    I didn't play early access, but I got it now and already refunded.

    I'm big fan of aRPG (diablo-like) - I love Path of Exile, liked Torchlight series, Diablo 2, even Diablo 3 is fairly decent, tho too much casual nonsense. So I had hopes for this, but it's simply snooze fest, yes it's boring as hell. 1h 50minutes was even too much for me.

    Main complaints about the the game: first of all it feels dated, it doesn't bring anything fresh to the genre. Animations are terrible all combat feels clunky, monsters are not interesting, already spam of MMO-ish fetch quests (no, I don't expect Witcher 3 level quests in such game). This game is not unique in any way, it's basically Titan Quest reskin.

    It also lacks global multiplayer, only p2p co-op which is quite disappointing. Anyway, if this game was released 5years ago then maybe, but in 2016 it's lackluster.

    So cannot recommend it for more demanding people, it's just dated and boring game for very casual experience, it's not fun at all..

    Better play Path of Exile, which costs absolutely nothing, it;s mechanically better aRPG, has great global online servers with trading, seasons, ladders, etc. I truly expected more that I got, hugely disappointed.

    I would rate it worse, but I saw there are some decent amount of customization options, but that doesn't make gameplay any more interesting. My final verdict 4/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    TQ on steroids and... pure single-player arpg awesomeness.

    We haven't had that feeling here since... 2001. You love the "old-school"
    TQ on steroids and... pure single-player arpg awesomeness.

    We haven't had that feeling here since... 2001.

    You love the "old-school" aprgs? Buy yourself the GD... you won't regret it :)

    -1 point for a bit clunky multiplayer experience.
    Full Review »