Grim Dawn PC

Grim Dawn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, thePlayers are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, the other intent upon destroying the human race before that can happen. This cataclysmic war has not only decimated human civilization but is warping the very fabric of reality and, in its wake, giving life to new horrors. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 2, 2016
    92
    There is no question that Grim Dawn moves along familiar lines: Base classes, a tragic world inhabited by monsters in a wide variety of flavors, nearly constant loot drops, action-oriented combat, somewhat "lite" yet interesting story, etc. Somehow, though, Grim Dawn just does it better than any other ARPG in recent memory.
  2. Mar 2, 2016
    90
    Grim Dawn is one of the easiest ARPGs to recommend in recent years.
  3. Mar 1, 2016
    86
    Grim Dawn takes the best of a lot of other action RPS and creates well thought out and yet original hack & slay fun.
  4. Mar 7, 2016
    80
    Despite the technical shortcomings, Crate Entertainment managed to develop a worthy spiritual successor for the Titan Quest series. Grim Dawn is extremely rich in content, providing hundreds of hours of hack'n'slash fun.
  5. Apr 7, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn can be like pulling the lever on a slot machine, the only difference being that the reward here isn’t cash but the gory explosion of beasts and the clink of loot-drops. I know from personal experience that this game has that certain something, and even if you think that you've grown tired of games of its ilk, Grim Dawn has enough tricks up its sleeve to charm even the most grizzled veteran.
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a familiar, yet satisfying romp through a role-playing genre that's seen its fair share of innovations and dynamic methods to shoot and loot. Its setting is a nice change from the usual fantasy titles and its features and content are more than enough to keep you entertained for quite some time.
  7. Mar 20, 2016
    75
    All in all, despite quite a lot of bugs and flaws, Grim Dawn is definitely a must-play if you are into Diablo or other similar action role-playing games like Divinity: Original Sin. The game is still pretty recent, and I have faith that the developers are working hard to fix the flaws and make this title even better.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 98
  2. Negative: 5 out of 98
  1. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time TitanThe game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has more than lived up to the hype and exceeded all expectations. I played nearly 400 hours while it was in beta alone, and can't wait to actually, really start playing the game now that it is in full release.

    It has all the best elements of an old-school aRPG game, with some new mechanics to keep it fresh. The environment/climate is interesting, the classes are fairly archetypal but with a fresh spin, and the hunt for loot keeps you hungry for progression.

    The story is interesting and there is enough to keep those interested immersed. The graphics are very good - not amazing, but authentic for the type of game. Not cartoonish at all. The pace is great and there's enough play diversity to offer plenty of replayability. It's a great mix of challenge and depth.

    I recommend this game highly. I've only played as single player, but the game does offer co-op mulitplayer via local server connections (like Titan Quest - no online servers, yay)!

    PS - really looking forward to expansion AND the modding community once the game settles in.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    A point-and-click ARPG in a sinister world with its own deep lore about otherworldly powers, who invaded a world, which was about to enter theA point-and-click ARPG in a sinister world with its own deep lore about otherworldly powers, who invaded a world, which was about to enter the industrial age. Now the large world is populated with multiple allied and enemy factions, and there is a huge variety of enemy types. A single playthrough takes 24 hours, easily twice as much, if you explore everything. The continuous, lush world is hand-crafted and pleasing to the eye. Often the lore is tied in to the gameplay mechanisms, which makes them much more meaningful.

    The game manages to keep the balance between rewarding you with equipment upgrades and keeping you hungry for further items. The dynamic and threatening combat system forces you to adapt to the ever increasing difficulty. The multilayered character building comprises socket-able equipment (partly with item skills), double-classing and celestial skills, which trigger off your regular skills. Creating exotic hybrid builds is fun, viable and worthwhile. For every character I play, I come up with another two builds, I would like to try. Good times.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    Beautiful sceneries, atmospheric music, nice story, lots of loot, many character abilities from different trees, vast exploration areas,Beautiful sceneries, atmospheric music, nice story, lots of loot, many character abilities from different trees, vast exploration areas, varying enemies and a haunted far-west world. Saying no more, I'm calling my crow and hellhound, getting my shotgun and playing my Sunday morning away.. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Okay, of course it's not a 10/10, no game is this perfect.
    But it is the best in genre currently, for me.
    Main entertaining point is HUGE
    Okay, of course it's not a 10/10, no game is this perfect.
    But it is the best in genre currently, for me.

    Main entertaining point is HUGE variety of skills, gear, stat tweaks and various game-changing mechanics, resulting in very long playtime (300 hours in, will play for much more).

    There is possibly little "endgame", but I never was a fan of that. As soon as I feel that I have no real challenge I roll a new char. Problem solved. Plus, there will be survival mode, coming shortly after release, that will give even the most overgeared characters decent challenge.

    My advice — if you love the "diablo-like" arpg genre, nay, if you even remotely like it — try GD out. You will very likely not be disappointed. Especially considering quite low asking price.

    Also, to be fair, I never tried multiplayer, so I can say nothing on that.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2016
    9
    grim dawn is a great game, better then diablo 3.. i miss ah.. if it had that i would give it 10/10.. buy it.. try it.. and you have fun forgrim dawn is a great game, better then diablo 3.. i miss ah.. if it had that i would give it 10/10.. buy it.. try it.. and you have fun for many hours:D Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The amount of fun I had with my brothers on LAN is worth it (That's the short version.).
    Once, I save a family and other time I decided to let them die. Ran into few nemesis, was fun dying over and over till we came up with a good strategy and changing "build" to be able to beat it. Joined a "faction" only to find they are controlled by extremists. Charging into "weaklings" enemies and tear them apart. Charging into tough bosses, only to be tore apart. I

    Now, if they can fix some bugs here and there (especially for multiplayer or LAN).
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2016
    0
    Does not have full controller support as advertised only partial support. I purchased it to use with a controller. You cannot access multipleDoes not have full controller support as advertised only partial support. I purchased it to use with a controller. You cannot access multiple skill bars which you will need near end game. K&M users get this. If it functioned as advertised I would give it a 6 or 7. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings