Grim Dawn PC

Grim Dawn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 539 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, thePlayers are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, the other intent upon destroying the human race before that can happen. This cataclysmic war has not only decimated human civilization but is warping the very fabric of reality and, in its wake, giving life to new horrors. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 2, 2016
    92
    There is no question that Grim Dawn moves along familiar lines: Base classes, a tragic world inhabited by monsters in a wide variety of flavors, nearly constant loot drops, action-oriented combat, somewhat "lite" yet interesting story, etc. Somehow, though, Grim Dawn just does it better than any other ARPG in recent memory.
  2. Mar 2, 2016
    90
    Grim Dawn is one of the easiest ARPGs to recommend in recent years.
  3. Mar 1, 2016
    86
    Grim Dawn takes the best of a lot of other action RPS and creates well thought out and yet original hack & slay fun.
  4. Mar 7, 2016
    80
    Despite the technical shortcomings, Crate Entertainment managed to develop a worthy spiritual successor for the Titan Quest series. Grim Dawn is extremely rich in content, providing hundreds of hours of hack'n'slash fun.
  5. Apr 7, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn can be like pulling the lever on a slot machine, the only difference being that the reward here isn’t cash but the gory explosion of beasts and the clink of loot-drops. I know from personal experience that this game has that certain something, and even if you think that you've grown tired of games of its ilk, Grim Dawn has enough tricks up its sleeve to charm even the most grizzled veteran.
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a familiar, yet satisfying romp through a role-playing genre that's seen its fair share of innovations and dynamic methods to shoot and loot. Its setting is a nice change from the usual fantasy titles and its features and content are more than enough to keep you entertained for quite some time.
  7. Mar 20, 2016
    75
    All in all, despite quite a lot of bugs and flaws, Grim Dawn is definitely a must-play if you are into Diablo or other similar action role-playing games like Divinity: Original Sin. The game is still pretty recent, and I have faith that the developers are working hard to fix the flaws and make this title even better.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 118
  2. Negative: 8 out of 118
  1. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time TitanThe game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has more than lived up to the hype and exceeded all expectations. I played nearly 400 hours while it was in beta alone, and can't wait to actually, really start playing the game now that it is in full release.

    It has all the best elements of an old-school aRPG game, with some new mechanics to keep it fresh. The environment/climate is interesting, the classes are fairly archetypal but with a fresh spin, and the hunt for loot keeps you hungry for progression.

    The story is interesting and there is enough to keep those interested immersed. The graphics are very good - not amazing, but authentic for the type of game. Not cartoonish at all. The pace is great and there's enough play diversity to offer plenty of replayability. It's a great mix of challenge and depth.

    I recommend this game highly. I've only played as single player, but the game does offer co-op mulitplayer via local server connections (like Titan Quest - no online servers, yay)!

    PS - really looking forward to expansion AND the modding community once the game settles in.
    Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    Played the Alpha for the last year - and watching how the devs constantly updated the game, engaged with the community makes this game all thePlayed the Alpha for the last year - and watching how the devs constantly updated the game, engaged with the community makes this game all the more sweeter; It has that classic ARPG style that gives your nostalgia a nice nod and really has that grittiness that we loved in the D1/D2 games.
    The perfect indie game in my opinion
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    After buying this game in Early access and spending a good couple of thousands of hours in it (almost 5000 hours) I can safely say that thisAfter buying this game in Early access and spending a good couple of thousands of hours in it (almost 5000 hours) I can safely say that this game is a must buy if you are a RPG fan and love the farm and hunt for loot. This game has so much dept with all the features they have added to the game: Combine 2 classes, Devotion, multiple difficulties and very very nice development team that supports and listens to their audience!

    I truly have enjoyed all the updates for the game in Early access and can safely say that I love the final result. With the amount of hours I spend in this game I can safely say; Buy it! you won't regret it

    Enjoy the game, I am off to get the 6k hour mark :P
    Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2016
    9
    Advice: Don't be a druid the first time around. Some choices you make can be undone, but don't **** up your devotion tree. Don't make aAdvice: Don't be a druid the first time around. Some choices you make can be undone, but don't **** up your devotion tree. Don't make a build and then have to rely on pots because you over emphasized offensive powers. 35 hours in so far and my main is a dual-wielding master of the occult. So many choices. That alone is a reason to play this if you love ARPG games. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    It's like the creators went to the salvage yard, found the old and rusted remains of Diablo II, Titan Quest, and Fallout and thought "Hey, IIt's like the creators went to the salvage yard, found the old and rusted remains of Diablo II, Titan Quest, and Fallout and thought "Hey, I remember these. You know what, I bet we could make something out of them." So they hauled them back to work shed, where they were carefully looked over and disassembled, then they began to draft new designs and tinker with the parts. As time passed, what began as sort of a hobby turned into a real undertaking. And then a work of passion. Now, 6 years later, we are looking at the end result of that work, all new paint, polished up and ready to drive.

    So was the wait worth it? Hell yes it was. This game is a masterpiece. If you're a fan of ARPG's and don't have this yet. Buy it.

    Thank you Crate Entertainment. You have given us something truly special.
    Owlofsecrets
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2017
    8
    If you like Diablo II more than Diablo III and Path of Exile, Grim Dawn is just the right thing for you.

    For me, the most important
    If you like Diablo II more than Diablo III and Path of Exile, Grim Dawn is just the right thing for you.

    For me, the most important indicator is always whether I can not stop playing the game. And Grim Dawn makes me an addict! Damn it...

    Pros:
    + There are many similarities to Diablo2 (especially the music !!) as well as Titan Quest (which is made by the same team)
    + Very well implemented spiral of leveling and grinding, you never get too many items (and especially no dull "daily legendaries" like D3)
    + A variety of items to craft, a nice selection of talents and specializations
    + Devotion (something like a "religion") is a very cool skill element, especially since you can bound it to abilities (which you can then also level, similar to gemstones in PoE)
    + The dual class system produces very interesting char builds
    + The story is even more than just "click-away textlines"!

    Cons:
    - It sometimes has its longueurs and partially empty areas (maybe only on "normal game mode")
    - Damage values ​​are not fully optimized: Often you run through monster hordes without taking any damage, only to get a one-hit from the boss (IMO those "final hits" are not clearly predictable)
    - Hits, magic and other abilities are not quite as impressive as in Diablo3 (Blizzard still is leading in this category)

    Conclusion: Grim Dawn is a very good Hack-n-Slay game - one of the old school. I even liked it more than Age of Conan and Torchlight. For me, it is on a par with Path of Exile and Titan Quest.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Grim Dawn. Extremely boring!!!!! It's a low-budget, indie Titan Quest rip off, without plot, cutscenes, or voiced dialogues. I could takeGrim Dawn. Extremely boring!!!!! It's a low-budget, indie Titan Quest rip off, without plot, cutscenes, or voiced dialogues. I could take about 45 minutes before I uninstalled it Expand

See all 118 User Reviews