Ground Control PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2015
    9
    For a game released in march 2000!!! yes 2-0-0-0 (it means it was DEVELOPED IN 1999!) this game is amazing... really... handsdown amazing... try to compare it to the competition up to that date... you simply can't... but it was linear and simple and that makes it a 9/10.

    Please disregard infants who can't elaborate a contextual, logical review like CarcerC or Pandarve... seriously
    For a game released in march 2000!!! yes 2-0-0-0 (it means it was DEVELOPED IN 1999!) this game is amazing... really... handsdown amazing... try to compare it to the competition up to that date... you simply can't... but it was linear and simple and that makes it a 9/10.

    Please disregard infants who can't elaborate a contextual, logical review like CarcerC or Pandarve... seriously guys... pre 2000 NOTHING was this hot
    Expand
  2. CarcerC.
    May 10, 2007
    6
    Fun, but only while it isn't being amazingly frustrating. The pathfinding AI is woefully incapable of dealing with obstacles in the form of other units, and there seems to be no pattern to which sections of near-vertical cliff infantry can or can't climb. Sometimes enemy units can be spotted and engaged from a long way off; other times my squads seemed completely unable to Fun, but only while it isn't being amazingly frustrating. The pathfinding AI is woefully incapable of dealing with obstacles in the form of other units, and there seems to be no pattern to which sections of near-vertical cliff infantry can or can't climb. Sometimes enemy units can be spotted and engaged from a long way off; other times my squads seemed completely unable to target the enemies who were just on a slope on front of them, making mincemeat of my units as I try to pull them back and they all get stuck on each other. That said, ruining someone's day with the artillery units is entertaining to say the least. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Best graphics strategy series.
    Always in my memory. I don't think about gameplay because of its really stunning graphics (good optimised either).
    Graphic measure. Iconic.
    I regret this game series died.
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Talk about revolutionary... some half a year after the release of another "best selling" C&C clone we get this game. While the image quality is dated, this game is by no means revolting to play even 13 years later AND it beats many of the more modern genre options in the way it implements combat and accounts for relevant combat variables such as lighting, visibility and terrain elevationTalk about revolutionary... some half a year after the release of another "best selling" C&C clone we get this game. While the image quality is dated, this game is by no means revolting to play even 13 years later AND it beats many of the more modern genre options in the way it implements combat and accounts for relevant combat variables such as lighting, visibility and terrain elevation AND features plausibly looking aircraft (all the modeling work errs on the side of realism). Great game. Expand
  5. GeorgeD.
    Apr 7, 2002
    9
    It's quite nice :)
  6. HarrisK.
    Feb 8, 2003
    9
    Really enjoy this game.
  7. AdrianI.
    Jun 1, 2003
    9
    It's a great game, it's my favourite games, its not just based on strategy but also in skill, that's what makes player play more and more, to imrpove their skills.
  8. Mike
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    Great Game! The graphics are good, it is challenging, and yet it is easy to use. I only wish that the characters didn't use so much foul language.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The best thing to come out of Sweden since meatballs and tall, big busted, long legged blondes wearing high heels.
  2. The addition of the 3D camera and terrain gives it an edge over other titles in the area.
  3. 86
    Great gameplay, great graphics, and great sound make a great game.