GTR 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Extending the ground-breaking physics engine found in GTR, GTR 2 takes the thrill of driving to new heights. GTR 2, which is the official simulation of the FIA GT championship, features more than 140 high detailed cars and 34 different track-layouts in a hyper realistic racing world with breathtaking real-world-like effects. With a revolutionary Driving School Mode, GTR 2 will teach everybody how to become a real race driver. [10Tacle Studios] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. I’ve just had so much fun with this game that it’s practically renewed my interest in PC racing single handedly.
  2. GTR 2 is the best installment thus far in the series, which, for many gamers, will make this the best racing game ever seen on the PC-if not of all time.
  3. SimBin have concentrated their efforts exactly where it counts - on the driving itself. And what they've created is the finest, most complete racing sim ever. [Oct 2006, p.78]
  4. Undoubtedly one of the finest racing simulators currently available. Thanks to the driving school, the game has made huge strides in accessibility, and the underlying gameplay is as stellar as ever.
  5. Online play does pose a few more problems; not just technically, but simply in being able to find a race. Unless you're already involved with an online racing community, you'll probably struggle to find people on open servers to race wheel-to-wheel with.
  6. A game that demands your total attention, it will consume it, and you’ll need to refine your skills in order to get anywhere. If you don’t think you’re up to that kind of challenge then you may want to pass, and seek something a little more forgiving. For the real racing fans, and gear heads among the gaming community, you’ll want this – want this bad!
  7. You may love that it has some of the best physics out there and that it can blow GT or Forza out of the water in that department. But then again, you'll probably hate the bland graphics, steep learning curve, and shoddy multiplayer.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. JamesH.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Astonishing. Fulfill your racing dreams here.
  2. MikkelT.
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    Probably the best racing sim I've tried yet. The graphics might lack a bit behind the prettiest console offerings (and some PC arcade racers as well), but the physics and driving experience is miles ahead and only matched by a few other PC sims. I can't imagine driving these cars with a gamepad though, you''ll need wheel and pedals to get full value here. But it's certainly worth it. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Best PC Racing Game of All Time at the Moment. Great content and features with added great game play and modes that include a racing school and a long list of championships to compete. The driving has all levels of difficulty to accommadate all users with all types of controller hardware. Scalable weather and time acceleration in 24hr scales. Great physics and car selections plus the ability to add some of the loads of add on content created by the community along with great league support still make this the best racing sim of all time Expand
  4. kennylee
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME....if you dont have a wheel and pedals. I've read some unfavorable reader reviews about controls, and physics in this game from people who play this game with a keyboard. LOL. Quit being so cheap and get a decent wheel. Its the ONLY way to play racing sims.
    GTR2 - $20
    Logitech MOMO wheel w/ pedals - $103
    Beating your friends cuz they play with arrow keys - Priceless
    Expand
  5. ChristopherS.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already been spoken and what could I write that hasn't already been written? GTR 2 is without a doubt a work of art and at only $20 anyone can afford this masterpiece. Collapse
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Play it with a Wheel of course. My favorite game of all times. Played it 2500h+ between 2006-2009.

    Has some shortcomings but Simbin never did
    better so far. RACE07 and subsequents addons where not as good. Expand
  7. SeanG.
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    Yes, this is an excellent racing sim, just as GTR was, and that's the problem. I bought GTR the day it was released, and I've played it almost every day since, and I really can't say that GTR2 is that much better. The only signiicant improvement in GTR2 is that it adds a few more cars and tracks (most of which were already available on the net for the first game anyway), the addition of a training mode, and addition of mini championships. Other than that, this is basically GTR all over again - the graphics are just a hair better now, and the driving physics are a tad easier this time around. Still an amazing game, but I can't give it more than 8 stars because I was expecting a more significant improvement over GTR. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews