Guacamelee! Gold Edition PC

Guacamelee! Gold Edition Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania
    Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania style of games, by adding a strong melee combat component, a new dimension switching mechanic, and cooperative same-screen multiplayer for the entire story. The game also blurs the boundaries between combat and platforming by making many of the moves useful and necessary for both of these.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    98
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the amount of care and polish that went into this title is readily apparent.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    91
    So I definitely think Guacamelee! is worth picking up if you haven’t done so yet. If you missed out on the PSN version, or hell, just want to play through the game again, it’s well worth checking out. This remains one of the more impressive independent releases this year, and certainly makes me curious to see what developer Drinkbox Studios is working on next.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! Gold Edition only helps to enhance the rich, fun, free-scrolling action platformer by strengthening the visual art style and adding a bevy of Steamworks features.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee does a brilliant job in blending the highlights of the genre's corner stone titles such as Metroid and Castlevania, while still retaining it's own brand of charm.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Despite its relatively short length, Guacamelee! Gold Edition is definitely worth your money. You'll enjoy every second of its cartoony style and sense of humor.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    87
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting

    Gamplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 8.5/10
    Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. The music and art style are both captivating. They work together well to create an unforgettable and unique experience.This game is amazing. The music and art style are both captivating. They work together well to create an unforgettable and unique experience.

    The platforming at many stages is downright genius in that it will not only make you think, but often allow you to piece together a platforming solution on the fly. It is an intense experience that is not hindered by difficulty.

    It's corny and humorous at times, which gives the game a personality all it's own. The game is downright charming.

    This game also does not forget its roots and knows it's fan-base. It has plenty of Easter eggs that pertain to it's inspirations, which will only add more flavor and appeal to those that like this kind of game.

    A must have for anyone who likes fun.
    Collapse
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Love it! Shadow Complex meets Super Meat Boy. Illustrations and Colors are perfect, might be the best looking 2D game in a long time. If youLove it! Shadow Complex meets Super Meat Boy. Illustrations and Colors are perfect, might be the best looking 2D game in a long time. If you find the combat or bosses in this game difficult, perhaps you need to train more at the 2D gym with the rooster.. which I did... then I dominated. Like SMB, there's going to be some Extra levels (outside of the game story) that will make you lose your mind. The only thing that sorta' pissed me off were the precise timing of moves (for extra levels) that don't necessarily work perfectly with an analog controller, but with repetition is doable. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    PROS:
    +A solid and original theming, Wrestler versus Mexican folklore
    +A very fun game: Castlevania with wrestling combos +Combos are
    PROS:
    +A solid and original theming, Wrestler versus Mexican folklore
    +A very fun game: Castlevania with wrestling combos
    +Combos are actually challenging to pull off
    +Puzzle segments are very well made
    +Good atmosphere, music and characters

    CONS:
    -Replayability could be made a tad better: there's basically just a couple of side quests that I personally didn't even care for that much, and looking for the pieces of mask to unlock the alternate ending which doesn't take a lot of time given that you know the locations
    -Those stupid. References. EVERYWHERE. PLEASE STOP IT WITH THIS TREND, IT ISN'T FUNNY AND IT'S BASICALLY FISHING FOR THE APPROVAL OF IMMATURE PEOPLE AND WITHOUT EFFORT EVEN
    Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    It's a good action platforming game. Lots of charisma. Not laugh out loud funny but the mood of the game and of the characters are humorous.It's a good action platforming game. Lots of charisma. Not laugh out loud funny but the mood of the game and of the characters are humorous. HOWEVER, it is extremely difficult. The platforming is the most difficult parts. I can't play this game for extended periods of time without getting frustrated. In fact, I am not even sure I am enjoying myself because the platforming levels can be so difficult. But with that being said I recognize that this is a good game and if you want that challenge then this is the game for you. Expand
  6. May 13, 2016
    6
    The harmonious blend of platforming and fighting mechanics is absolutely brilliant and unique. Special combos and abilities are expertlyThe harmonious blend of platforming and fighting mechanics is absolutely brilliant and unique. Special combos and abilities are expertly introduced and keep the experience fresh and enticing throughout ; These amphibious game-play mechanics means that most of the special moves and combos used in combat articulate with the platforming elements to form an ultra-fluid action experience ; Brilliant. The controls are ultra-responsive and are a joy to interact with. The pacing is superb and the levels are both, clever, challenging and action packed. The audio-visual presentation is both lovely and immersive. Simply put, this is one of the most ingenious and brilliant platforming experience to grace this medium. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2015
    0
    I kill the first boss, I get rewards and the stuff, the game sends me automatically back to the hub and I decide to stop here for this time.I kill the first boss, I get rewards and the stuff, the game sends me automatically back to the hub and I decide to stop here for this time. I was surprised the next launch that I had to do the whole **** again, what kind of game does not autosave after the end of a boss ?! 0/10 would not play again. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings