Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania
    style of games, by adding a strong melee combat component, a new dimension switching mechanic, and cooperative same-screen multiplayer for the entire story. The game also blurs the boundaries between combat and platforming by making many of the moves useful and necessary for both of these. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    98
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the amount of care and polish that went into this title is readily apparent.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    91
    So I definitely think Guacamelee! is worth picking up if you haven’t done so yet. If you missed out on the PSN version, or hell, just want to play through the game again, it’s well worth checking out. This remains one of the more impressive independent releases this year, and certainly makes me curious to see what developer Drinkbox Studios is working on next.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! Gold Edition only helps to enhance the rich, fun, free-scrolling action platformer by strengthening the visual art style and adding a bevy of Steamworks features.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee does a brilliant job in blending the highlights of the genre's corner stone titles such as Metroid and Castlevania, while still retaining it's own brand of charm.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Despite its relatively short length, Guacamelee! Gold Edition is definitely worth your money. You'll enjoy every second of its cartoony style and sense of humor.
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Guacamelee isn’t only pretty to look at, it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Its Metroidvania inspiration is strong, and yet it does so much to help it stand apart, not the least of which by providing us with a deceivingly deep combat system and a two-world polarity system that simply makes the experience more dynamic. Expand
  2. May 16, 2014
    10
    This is the best game of it's general type i have played in ages.

    It's good mix between fast paced combat and clever platforming
    challenges.

    Combat:
    This is the real heart of the game. Your move set is a little like Captain Falcon from Super Smash Brothers, and you get to have a lot of fun knocking enemies into the air, setting up the best combos, interrupts, dodges, etc. It gets a little frantic and can be frustrating in parts because you can't just mash through, you have to pay attention to enemy attacks and work proactively. The difficulty does get quite high, especially if you are playing hard mode and going through some of the optional content. There are many 'arenas' as part of the regular gameplay where you walk into a room and the walls close and you have to fight through several waves of enemies to progress. These increase steadily in difficulty, and later ones you will probably die at least once to learn the tricks you need to progress. However, it is pretty fair about death: you only have to restart the waves.

    Platforming:
    Really standout, you have a pretty intuitive and familiar set of abilities that you can use platforming, but many of the puzzles are very clever, especially some of the challenging optional content. The platforming elements reminded me very much of Metroid Zero Mission, especially some of the optional parts. The difficulty for each section can get quite high, but is never insurmountable especially since there is very little punishment for failure (usually just restarting the section you are on).

    There are cute retro game references, the music is really pretty fun, and I grew to really like the graphics (I wasn't really into the subject matter and it won me over). It is probably a little racist (I was mildly offended by some of the Mexican stereotypes) and really quite sexist (you are saving a damsel in distress, the main female villain's motivation is that she is jealous and short tempered) but it didn't really hamper my enjoyment of the game. The plot is secondary to the amazing gameplay, it's just a shame.

    This is still the 2d game I have enjoyed the most in at least a decade, it's also the first steam game I got every achievement for. Even after having a perfect hard mode file, I still come back to play it because I find it so enjoyable.
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time: Dust 2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    An absolutely amazing Metroidvania platformer. It has extremely rewarding and challenging platforming elements, a really innovative beat-em-up combat style, and a really interesting integration of combat abilities with platforming challenges and Metroidvania-style locks. Also the music, art, and luchador theme are hilarious and wonderful. I loved this game. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    One of the few good 2d Metroid-style games available on PC, although it's melee-based (if you couldn't tell by the title) instead of shooting.

    Good: Combat is fun with all the combos you can pull off. Game is full of humor and video game references.

    Bad: Has some really frustrating jumping puzzles where the game seems to turn from Metroid into Super Meat Boy. Certain bosses are really tough in comparison to the rest of the game's difficulty.
    Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    The game looks fun. Average side scrolling. Music is nice, graphic is good, story is ok. Playing with keyboard is little hard. To much keys to press. Controller is highly recommended. Price is ok. Nothing more to add. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game if you are looking to have fun. The story is atrocious. The graphics are cute but nothing special. The music is god awful throughout the entire game. The controls ARE TERRIBLE if you are looking to play without a controller dont even touch. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews