User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    3
    This game is like most "We want to be Magic the Gathering" computer games, except for one small thing:
    The people designing it never understood that when you buy a Turn-based strategy game you want a relaxing non-stressing game compared to Real-time strategy. At first I thought "Hmm well it's just these first maps that suck hard", but then I realized there isn't a map in the game that
    isn't based on a time limit!! I mean omfg! the level of idiocy from the designers is baffling, and trust me: I'm gonna use this game as an example as to how most computer game designers just don't grasp who their target consumer is...
    I bought it cheep, but after the third Campaign map I was bored and annoyed. Then I tried the Custom Maps and EVERY ONE of them where at least as bad as the campaign maps.
    Don't waste your time, the hunt for the heir to HoMM3 continues elsewhere... (Note how I DON'T mention HoMM 4 and 5, since they too are examples of the above mentioned lack of grey matter from the designers)
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    A pitiful attempt at combining Magic: The Gathering with elements of the Heroes of Might and Magic series. This game fails on all fronts. Creatures are generic, unit models are ugly, and animations are woefully simple and uninspired. Don't expect any redeeming game-play either, as the Campaign is a meagre 5 scenarios, though I was thankful for it's brevity merely 3 missions in. The game also loves to throw stats and numbers around, however, any tactical element is crushed by the battle system's sheer dependency on randomly drawn cards. I purchased this game for a measly $3 on Steam, and I have to say that it wasn't worth it Collapse
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    This game was better than most people gave it credit for. Definitely enjoyable for the time I spent playing it. That being said, it was very underwhelming. Short campaign, no multi-player, bad ai, broken achievements, broken victory conditions, no ability to make your own decks, and no replay value. Even the expansion was almost pointless. However, if all its short comings were fixed it could form a core of a very good turn based tactics game. It just isn't there at this time. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2011
    5
    With a few scenarios come with the original game, powerful monsters and turn limit in each scenario, and high cost per battle, it's obviously that you don't have enough time/resource to swipe all monsters to be win. This game you must focus on the objective and use all resources to finish it as fast as possible, which IMHO loses the charm of RPG.. It should rather be categorized as a puzzle game with a theme. But if you like King's Bounty:Cross worlds, chance is you may like this game too. But for me, it's like escaping my job to do another work... er.. no fun :( Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    I bared through 2 levels! :D I know i know. But if i get bored of the gameplay why should i struggle for more than 2 hours? Anyway, good try, devs but not quite there yet.The Game requires a stronger Story drive come one get the player involved with a story, and feel of progression, and development of the main Hero. Don't fall into the generic "Kill all Demons 'cause they be bad!" krap. Secondly, game mechanics need major redesign there are some great ides, but it is probably better to stick to the old formula of card-based strategy games than to spoil everything with a risky endeavor. Pretty boring, and the potential is never realizes Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    The meta reviewers are wrong, they must have not had their palms greased like other games like Rome 2 total war and civilization v. I enjoyed this game very much and you should get the expansions as well. For a 5er this game is a great buy.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best card games I ever played. Don't let these haters fool you this is a pretty good lil game. especially now that it has a random map setup feature. for the price it's a bargain.
  8. Apr 9, 2014
    3
    Nice graphics, good ideas for the units, end of positive points.

    Interface is clunky, you have to guess things out. Descriptions of the cards don't give you enough information. Animations during the combat phases slow down an already extremely slow game - the AI takes forever to move one card. Goals are impossible to reach because each map is timed and the AI cheats on everything - they
    can slay five of your units with the weakest of theirs. Maps are thought as bottlenecks : only one strategy, only one direction to go.

    A frustrating experience I'd recommend only to my worst enemies.
    Expand
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    0
    A pitiful attempt at combining Magic: The Gathering with elements of the Heroes of Might and Magic series. This game fails on all fronts. Creatures are generic, unit models are ugly, and animations are woefully simple and uninspired. Don't expect any redeeming game-play either, as the Campaign is a meagre 5 scenarios, though I was thankful for it's brevity merely 3 missions in. The game also loves to throw stats and numbers around, however, any tactical element is crushed by the battle system's sheer dependency on randomly drawn cards. I purchased this game for a measly $3 on Steam, and I have to say that it wasn't worth it Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 50
    Remake of the original desk card game came from veterans of Westwood Studios. Unfortunately, its magic doesn't work on the monitor as it should. [Issue#200]
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    50
    An excellent adaptation of the board game that completely forgets to include that all important social aspect. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    60
    «Meanwhile, you'd better spend your money on something better» - we usually reserve verdicts like this for amateur-made games. It's hard to believe that this empty shell of a game was made by a team of industry veterans.