Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    79
    A streamlined, easy to understand MOBA for those looking for an entry point to the genre.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    77
    Still, for any PC gaming Middle-earth fan, I think this is a title worth checking out at the very least. Sure, there may not be much story here, but being able to (potentially, with paid DLC) play over 36 characters from Middle-earth and have them fight against each other is definitely entertaining. For people looking for the next big MOBA title to catch on, this probably isn’t the title for you.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    74
    Due to its easier mechanics and forgiving gameplay, Guardians of Middle-earth is a decent MOBA for beginners with a lot of Tolkien-atmosphere and nice graphics. If you’ve played Dota 2 or LoL before, you will miss their depth and fair business model though.
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    65
    With free-to-play games as League of Legends and Defense of the Ancients 2 on the PC, purchasing Guardians of Middle-Earth is a bad idea. The title is sloppy work.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    62
    Guardians of Middle-Earth on the PC should be better in so many ways than its console cousin, but it's not. The controls and lack of online community support make this game a tough sell.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    Guardians of Middle Earth could be a good start for everyone willing to learn how to play MOBAs. The gameplay is simplified and the gamepad is well implemented. The problem is that on PC there are just a couple of MOBAs that are way better and free to play.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    55
    It might try to represent a simpler alternative to the other MOBA games, and it succeeds to a certain degree, but Guardians of Middle-Earth lacks the quality and the depth that make this genre so interesting and addictive.
  8. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    To crack an old chestnut, Guardians of Middle Earth has the potential to turn newcomers into fans of the genre, but it certainly isn’t up to their standard.
  9. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    This MOBA from Monolith is a correct entry for those who would like to begin training, but some defects prevents it from getting into the closed circle of the best games of the genre.
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    40
    Multiplayer strategy that's played by no one? Something's rotten in this Middle-Earth. And it's really not much of a surprise, given the game's poor execution and steep price. [Nov 2013]
  11. Sep 11, 2013
    35
    Avoid this one, even if you are a die hard LotR fan.
  12. CD-Action
    Oct 16, 2013
    30
    A messed up PC port of an interesting console title. The game is horribly unresponsive when you use mouse and keyboard, the connection lags are awful and it’s hard to find people to play with. [11/2013, p.86]
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 23 out of 35
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I have been PC gaming since 1992, and am having a ton of fun with this game!
    What is all the whining and complaining about?
    I have had
    I have been PC gaming since 1992, and am having a ton of fun with this game!
    What is all the whining and complaining about?
    I have had hardly any lag at all and no DC's....I don't care about comparisons to LoL and DoTA, because frankly if I liked those 2 games I would be playing them instead.
    The Tolkien lore is great, with cool characters from JRR Tolkiens Middle Earth, which is the grandfather of all Fantasy universes, of which other game worlds just rip off from.
    I have been playing with KB and mouse, the graphics are beautiful, the game is fun, the voice overs are great.
    My only complaint is that half the players in each game are usually the AI bots, due to lack of players.
    To be honest with you, I could care less....some of the AI bots are better than the real players.
    I played this game all day yesterday, and plan to keep playing, and if that is against 100% AI bots? Then fine. I am having a blast all the same.
    I guess, it is today's gaming generation? They seem to complain about everything.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Well, it seems a good game because it has a good story, good graphics, one different and revolutionary MOBA, good characters and excellentWell, it seems a good game because it has a good story, good graphics, one different and revolutionary MOBA, good characters and excellent audio.
    The only bad thing: it's not free
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    Unfortunately my experience has been very poor. The reason for this is that unlike LoL or DotA, games are using a shared connection betweenUnfortunately my experience has been very poor. The reason for this is that unlike LoL or DotA, games are using a shared connection between players in this poor moba. So all it takes is a single player to have a bad connection and the game lags consistently for everyone.

    When first logging in you can't even play the main iconic characters, but you can purchase with DLC.... I don't understand how they can charge for characters after charging a purchase cost when better moba's are available for free.

    If this wasn't lord of the rings then it wouldn't of seen the light of day
    Full Review »