Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guardians of Middle-earth brings up to 10 players together in five versus five competitive multiplayer battle arenas in the epic setting of Middle-earth. The game offers more than 20 iconic guardians, including Gandalf, Sauron, Gollum, Thrain and many more, for players to control in playerGuardians of Middle-earth brings up to 10 players together in five versus five competitive multiplayer battle arenas in the epic setting of Middle-earth. The game offers more than 20 iconic guardians, including Gandalf, Sauron, Gollum, Thrain and many more, for players to control in player versus player (PVP) matches. Gamers will have the ability to connect with other players via an in-game voice communication system, as well as access to a comprehensive online stat and leader board system where they can track friends' victories and defeats, and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    79
    A streamlined, easy to understand MOBA for those looking for an entry point to the genre.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    77
    Still, for any PC gaming Middle-earth fan, I think this is a title worth checking out at the very least. Sure, there may not be much story here, but being able to (potentially, with paid DLC) play over 36 characters from Middle-earth and have them fight against each other is definitely entertaining. For people looking for the next big MOBA title to catch on, this probably isn’t the title for you.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    74
    Due to its easier mechanics and forgiving gameplay, Guardians of Middle-earth is a decent MOBA for beginners with a lot of Tolkien-atmosphere and nice graphics. If you’ve played Dota 2 or LoL before, you will miss their depth and fair business model though.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    55
    It might try to represent a simpler alternative to the other MOBA games, and it succeeds to a certain degree, but Guardians of Middle-Earth lacks the quality and the depth that make this genre so interesting and addictive.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    To crack an old chestnut, Guardians of Middle Earth has the potential to turn newcomers into fans of the genre, but it certainly isn’t up to their standard.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    This MOBA from Monolith is a correct entry for those who would like to begin training, but some defects prevents it from getting into the closed circle of the best games of the genre.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    30
    A messed up PC port of an interesting console title. The game is horribly unresponsive when you use mouse and keyboard, the connection lags are awful and it’s hard to find people to play with. [11/2013, p.86]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 23 out of 36
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    The Tolkien lore is great, with cool characters from JRR Tolkiens Middle Earth, which is the grandfather of all Fantasy universes, of whichThe Tolkien lore is great, with cool characters from JRR Tolkiens Middle Earth, which is the grandfather of all Fantasy universes, of which other game worlds just rip off from.
    I have been playing with KB and mouse, the graphics are beautiful, the game is fun, the voice overs are great.
    Minimal support should not be bad for a game that is starting.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    A refined competitive strategy game that combines the high-paced action of League of Legends with RPG elements to add depth and more strategyA refined competitive strategy game that combines the high-paced action of League of Legends with RPG elements to add depth and more strategy after endless games.
    LAG
    LAG
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    This console-designed MOBA based upon the magnificent creation of JRR Tolkien it´s both satisfying and well recreated. A great introductionThis console-designed MOBA based upon the magnificent creation of JRR Tolkien it´s both satisfying and well recreated. A great introduction for newbies to the MOBA genre.
    Good model of characters
    Good graphics
    Good audio
    Lag -1/2
    No base characters -1/2
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    2
    This is a MOBA game "based" in LotR. I know you might be thinking about trying this game because it's based in LotR. It's not even worth that.This is a MOBA game "based" in LotR. I know you might be thinking about trying this game because it's based in LotR. It's not even worth that. It's ugly -graphics are from 10 years ago-, it's sluggish -loading screen runs at 10 fps, in-game has occasional sluggish, has horrible gameplay and controls -one of the worst I remember-, interface is one of the less intuitive and slow in any game. Looks like -and most likely is- an unfinished game. And on top of this there are plenty of other MOBA games WAY better than this one. LoL is definitely very far from this game -sorry for the swearing but there's no other way to describe this mess-. Stay away from this "game". Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    2
    The game is ridiculous, looks like it's in a alpha version. The game makes me think in a refund in Steam!!
    If you love your money, wait some
    The game is ridiculous, looks like it's in a alpha version. The game makes me think in a refund in Steam!!
    If you love your money, wait some months more! Let's see if developers releases some news..
    Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    1
    This is the WORST game I have ever purchased on Steam. The game is a SCAM.

    Worst console port ever seen No graphic options AT ALL, no key
    This is the WORST game I have ever purchased on Steam. The game is a SCAM.

    Worst console port ever seen No graphic options AT ALL, no key binding options AT ALL.
    Controls are clunky and unresponsive as possible. Graphics look like something out of a Playstation 2 game.

    Online matches are based on P2P connection this game has no servers.
    Due to that, the game is basically unplayable due to lags and there is no way to ensure a smooth game.
    Furthermore, there are NO players online, and the game matches you up with BOTS instead of real players.
    If the idea of playing against bots 90% of the time sounds like fun to you........you still won't enjoy this piece of garbage game.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
    Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    This ladies and gentlemen, is the worst MOBA... no wait... the worst GAME of all our existence. The controls are unresponsive, the skillsThis ladies and gentlemen, is the worst MOBA... no wait... the worst GAME of all our existence. The controls are unresponsive, the skills don't work half the time, the gameplay is boring as hell, there's literally NO ONE playing this game. You will wait 10 minutes in queue just to play against computers. Not only that, the AI sucks hardcore, they make no sense at all. I got this from a humble bundle and it's so bad that I wish I could get my donation to the children back. (just kidding). but seriously, stay away from this pile of junk at all cost. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews