• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2012
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    100
    So, is Guild Wars 2 the MMO messiah everyone is waiting for? Maybe not. What it is, though, is the first MMO in years that really does the "massively multiplayer" part justice. This is a gigantic, sprawling world for explorers, with countless wonderful stories and characters, all backed by a gameplay concept that treats all players as equals. And that's just the basis of what Guild Wars 2 is.
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    100
    Guild Wars 2 does what MMOs have been promising for years: it provides players with a dynamic virtual world filled with discovery, adventure and cooperation. The game combines the unpredictability of hardcore sandbox games like EVE and Asheron's Call with the accessibility and fun of World of Warcraft. After years of EverQuest clones the genre finally makes a great leap forward.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    100
    I can count on two hands the games I've loved as much as I now love Guild Wars 2. This isn't just a great example of the genre and arguably the Second Coming of MMOs. It isn't even just one of the best games I've ever played. This is what happens when a group of talented, smart, dedicated, imaginative, bold, consumer-friendly creators get together and spend years solving problems and making something wonderful.
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    100
    In closing, Guild Wars 2 is a staggeringly ambitious project that makes a bold statement about the future of the MMORPG. It is living proof that a game of this manner can thrive outside of the subscription business model and the genre's established conventions.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    100
    There are still many annoying or silly things we've seen in the last decade-plus worth of MMOs that Guild Wars 2 didn't fix, but ArenaNet's efforts so far have delivered a huge range of disruptive changes that should pique the interest of any dedicated player.
  6. Sep 6, 2012
    100
    More than anything, however, I have to say that Guild Wars 2 is just fresh. It's new, it's innovative and more than anything, it's a welcome change for fans that may want something different.
  7. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    An explorative PvE packed with dynamic events, PvP competitive challenges, a new crafting system and many more innovations make Guild Wars 2 an MMO for everyone, from casual to hardcore gamers. Choose your character and join the battle alongside with your friends: it's free!
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    98
    This game is awesome to play and will add hours upon hours of fun for any type of player casual or hardcore.
  9. Jan 2, 2013
    95
    Guild Wars 2 surpasses the original in every aspect, from its massive and atmospheric world to its addictive and engrossing gameplay.
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    95
    Pretty much everything here appeals to me. Guild Wars 2 is a game that meets most requirements and it will definitely stay on my hard drive for a long time (and I can't say that about The Old Republic). Playing this game reminded me of the first impressions after launching World of Warcraft. I'm not comparing these two games in terms of content or which game will become victorious in a long run. It's about this strange feeling I had after playing WoW - that MMO games can be so pleasant and cool to play. Guild Wars 2 is just like that. It's a new quality in the genre, a standard for others to implement in their games.
  11. Sep 12, 2012
    95
    A fast, slick and beautiful community-driven MMO experience featuring all the content and mechanics you'd expect from a game with a monthly fee, and a good deal more besides. With that in mind, I cannot recommend it enough.
  12. Sep 7, 2012
    95
    Guild Wars 2 has a lot to offer, and on the top of that, it's technically and artistically amazing. It innovates, offers a unbelievable PvP (with a unique combat system), it is localized and doesn't rely on subscription fees. The success of Guild Wars 2 relies on its future, even though right now it's one of the best PC games so far, and it will work for experienced players or casual ones.
  13. Sep 7, 2012
    95
    I would be reasonably loathe to consider Guild Wars 2 a "revolution" in MMO mechanics, since at its core there is still a theme park here, albeit an extraordinarily well-designed one. But it's obvious that its creators took on and smashed existing tropes with an aim to significantly improve on that experience that many millions of players currently fork out money for every month.
  14. Oct 24, 2012
    94
    The high watermark by which the future of the genre shall be measured. [Dec 2012, p.88]
  15. Sep 6, 2012
    94
    An accomplished and rewarding online RPG that does a great deal to reclaim the promise of its genre.
  16. Aug 28, 2012
    94
    This is the first time I could make the following statement: This MMO, in its current state, poses a serious threat to World of Warcraft.
  17. Aug 28, 2012
    94
    When ArenaNet first released its MMO Manifesto we knew they were aiming for something revolutionary with Guild Wars 2. What we got is the first worthy successor to World of Warcraft.
  18. Oct 4, 2012
    93
    What faults I've found in my time with the title are minor in comparison to the leaps and bounds the game has made towards taking MMORPGs to new places. ArenaNet set out to make a game they wanted to play. Along the way, they've created one of the best titles of the year in any genre, and indeed one of the best MMORPGs ever made.
  19. Oct 2, 2012
    93
    Guild Wars 2 is not perfect by any means, but you will not find the same amount of content anywhere at no monthly fee. It is an innovative - perhaps too much at times, deeply customizable and gorgeous new standard for the entire genre.
  20. Sep 15, 2012
    93
    Guild Wars 2 represents a raising of the bar for MMOs, taking the best aspects of a great many titles that have come before it and polishing them up in a way that makes it addictive and fun for all. Given the rate that ArenaNet has been addressing player concerns and patching them, I think we can expect great things from Guild Wars 2.
  21. Sep 5, 2012
    93
    Guild Wars 2 sets a new standard for all upcoming MMORPGs. It may be too early to state that this game will dethrone World of Warcraft but it does a great job in trying. Nice graphics, an abundance of content and new takes on many MMO aspects ensure a great gameplay experience.
  22. Sep 2, 2012
    93
    There is so much to write about Guild Wars 2, so much to see and so much to discover. Reading a review won't do the game justice, you'll have to discover the magical world of Tyria for yourself. Be surprised at how simple, yet amazingly complex a world can be. And above all: you can leave your credit card safely tucked away in your wallet, because monthly costs is one of the few things Guild Wars 2 does not have.
  23. Oct 1, 2012
    92
    Guild Wars 2 is the game that fans of MMO have been waiting for, but is also the occasion for the new players looking for a new incredible experience. Funny, complete and free of subscription fee.
  24. Sep 12, 2012
    92
    Guild Wars 2 is the best way to enjoy the MMO genre with a high quality experience without paying monthly fees. This game brings MMO gamers a whole new experience with interesting features in terms of gameplay, combat system, exploration, PvE and beyond. Do not forget to try World versus World, which is an impressive way to improve PvP in the genre. Welcome back to Tyria, welcome to one of the most interesting PC games of the year.
  25. Sep 7, 2012
    92
    Visually, it's a feast for your eyes. Gameplay wise, the skill-based action combat system keeps encounters exciting even when fighting creatures below your level. ArenaNet has gone to great lengths to provide a variety of ways for players to occupy themselves as they explore the game world, harvest resources, craft and so on.
  26. Sep 10, 2012
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. 90
    GW2 has made a powerful impact on the MMO scene, confirming years of expectations. Stunning presentation and revolutionary design guarantee a thoroughly enjoyable experience. However, it’s not flawless, nor complete. The beautiful vistas, the massive PvP element, the rich leveling experience- those can offer hours of gameplay, but the endgame is desperately seeking for enrichment. [November 2012]
  28. Nov 1, 2012
    90
    Guild Wars 2 can be what players want to make of (and take from) it, which is pretty much what every good MMO should aspire to. All up, it's been a resounding success.
  29. 90
    Take the core successful mechanisms from other great MMORPGs, cut out everything that was boring, and blend it with a beautiful living world and personal storylines – you should get an almost perfect game. [Oct 2012]
  30. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    An almost perfect MMO game and the first one in years that had the guts to drop outdated, 'tried and true' means and replaced them with new, fresh ideas. [11/2012, p.46]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2544 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    Better than TOR, The Secret World, and TERA, all things considered.
    I've been purchasing every major MMO release this year and have left
    extremely disappointed each time. I would log in, see "kill X and Y", do the standard number mashing combat that you find in every MMO, and end up unsubscribing. I did try to give these games my all and see if I could break past the tedium, but I could not.

    People in these reviews are complaining about broken quests and server overflows. Guys, it's launch day. The game literally JUST CAME OUT and it's easily the most anticipated MMO since TOR, so can you maybe just give it a second and roll with the punches? It gets better, I promise.
    As far as questing goes, you are technically presented with the standard "kill X of these" quests, but packaged in such a way that if you don't want to do them, you can just bugger off and it'll disappear from your objectives list. Furthermore, the quests are shared across all players engaged in that particular activity, so you don't have to play alone.

    Grouping is also much better than in previous MMOs. Literally anyone standing next to me during a dynamic event is part of my "group" without any invitations or awkward conversation. All XP gets shared and loot is reserved for each character. Truly a step in the right direction.

    Speaking of XP, doing ANYTHING in Guild Wars 2 is likely to reward you with experience points. Chop down a tree to gather crafting materials? Revive a fallen ally or player? discover a new location? Yup, they all give significant experience points. So do crafting, exploration, dynamic events, and more. What's that? Reviving a fallen player? yes! Guild Wars 2 goes beyond the standard ideas of playing together that MMOs have so tactfully forced down our throats. For the first time, I'm inclined and REWARDED for helping other players back on their feet after they get their butts handed to them, and other players return the favor when I'm downed too!

    Bringing me to another mechanic. When you die in the field, unless you get severely roflstomped, you "fight for your life". Throw things and bandage yourself while you're on the ground, and you even have a chance to bring yourself back to life.

    There are so many other mechanics that I could rattle off, but the ones I mentioned are the main draws for myself.

    basically, if you think you're burned out on MMOs, get GW2. It's not a re-invention of the genre, but rather an evolution.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic, a milestone. Not only the overall level of quality and detail is above almost any other MMO in the market, but it also innovates the genre in many ways.
    No more single task, static questing, but a living world where events are not waiting for you to click on an NPC to happen: you explore, you see things happening, you join them and your actions have consequences.
    No more gear grind: both in PvE and PvP, you won't need to farm gear for ages just to be able to join the action. At max level everybody is on the same gear level, the outcomes of the challenge is determined by your skill, finally.
    No more being pigeon holed within one single class role. Every class can finally be ranged and melee, healing or dpsing. Shift your weapons, manage your countless skills, dodge and parry the incoming attacks. This is finally an engaging combat!
    No more waiting for a healer or a tank to show up: you want to do that dungeon with 5 warriors or 5 necromancers? You can, it works.
    No more subscription fees: you by the game and you play it as much as you want, at your pace. Content will be periodically added, and it will be free. You just have to buy the official expansion when they will come out.

    This game is different in mechanics, is gigantic in scope, is beautiful and intriguing. Do yourself a favour and don't miss it. It's not "marketing" or advertisement. It's how the game is, as a matter of fact.

    (Final note: I read some of the few "0" rated reviews here and I am appalled by the false information they spread. One thing is expressing opinions, one thing is spreading clear lies. Only 5 skills? False. I cannot play with my friends? False. Give the game a try, you'll see by yourself what's true and what's false...
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    This game is beautiful, fun and very addicting! It has a wonderful personal story, great PvE and stunning PvP. The WvWvW is extremely fun!

    If you are new to the MMO scene and looking for a way in this is the game! If you are an old MMO gamer looking for the next one to play this game will be perfect for you!

    Also, the game is F2P!
    Full Review »