Guild Wars Factions PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 28, 2006
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 129
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickRoof
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    Loved it! It is true, you do reach the max level half of the way through, but that simply means you don't need to grind or quest for hours to get to the top. Overall the PvP is the part that shines the brightest to me. The Alliance Battles are fun and truely got me back into Guild Wars.
  2. WarM.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Only people who have two accounts or thinking of having two with World Of Warcraft are going to think this game is crap. out of all the MMORPG Games out there this is the best one of the no monthy Fee croud and comes very close third to the ones that you do have to pay for. so if you want to pay anywhere between £107 to £214 for that great online RPG go and get Warcraft or Only people who have two accounts or thinking of having two with World Of Warcraft are going to think this game is crap. out of all the MMORPG Games out there this is the best one of the no monthy Fee croud and comes very close third to the ones that you do have to pay for. so if you want to pay anywhere between £107 to £214 for that great online RPG go and get Warcraft or EVE, If you pay a one of £17.99 and never have to pay anything ever again then go out and buy GUILD WARS FACTIONS. Expand
  3. JennyG.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    I play this game alot. In fact all day and I think that the new character classes are coool as shit. But the PvE part could use a lil more to it. It just dont seem as big as the first gw.. But other than that i really like it.
  4. TimothyP.
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    Near perfect PC game!
  5. WallaceW.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    very easy to learning game no pressure to rush through also no month payment on line.
  6. Will
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Good as a stand alone game; but the main thing I like about it is how nicely it merges with the original. The storylines are independant, but blend nicely.
  7. UrosS.
    May 16, 2006
    9
    The follow up to the original game gives even more freshness to the online MMORPG. Eventhough I love the first part Prophecies more I think that in Factions Guild Wars crew did the job well. The new ability in alliance bettles brings also a new spirit to the game as you need to decide with who and for what you will fight:-).
  8. Johan
    May 10, 2006
    10
    Ben W, i think you've played on the beta weekend.. cuz my friend has it and hes lvl 10, not 20.
  9. KarlS.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    1st expansion and can be played as a standalone. Total of 8 classes (2 new classes) The 1st game had more content for levelling under 20 Factions has more content for level 20s. Factions is fun by itself but more fun if you own both GW games.
  10. WoodyM.
    May 27, 2006
    8
    A good follow up, but still lacking in some much needed updates...such as an auction house and better storage. The henchman AI is still lacking also. You'll have a much easier time going on missions and quests with real people. Some of the quests get tedious when you have to deliver messages back and forth or an NPC you're supposed to protect runs into the middle of a mob. A good follow up, but still lacking in some much needed updates...such as an auction house and better storage. The henchman AI is still lacking also. You'll have a much easier time going on missions and quests with real people. Some of the quests get tedious when you have to deliver messages back and forth or an NPC you're supposed to protect runs into the middle of a mob. Finally, the game sometimes feels very linear when you must complete certain quests to access an area. Expand
  11. J
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Polished game with addictive play elements. The environment is beautiful to look at and the character designs are top notch. The highly customizable avatars and character equipment upgrade options keep players coming back. As a stand alone product, the game provides literally hundreds of hours of entertaintment due to the variety of gameplay options. As an expansion, it is a worthy second Polished game with addictive play elements. The environment is beautiful to look at and the character designs are top notch. The highly customizable avatars and character equipment upgrade options keep players coming back. As a stand alone product, the game provides literally hundreds of hours of entertaintment due to the variety of gameplay options. As an expansion, it is a worthy second chapter to the Guild Wars series. Highly recommended as a better-looking, faster-paced, subscription free alternative to the WoW franchise. Expand
  12. RobE.
    Oct 5, 2006
    8
    This expansion adds, but it lacks the brilliance of the original. New classes, new skills, new quests, but most of it feels like more of the same. Instead of improving on the original formula, it adds new styles of play and makes them the focus. Just because you loved the original doesn't guarantee you'll love this one. If you haven't bought it yet, save your money for nightfall.
  13. TudyD.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    Awesome game. I have been playing the original for one year now, just bought Factions and I'm really satisfied with the improvements.
  14. EvanS.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Ok I know anet nerfed alot of builds and skills when factions was realsed but im not reviewing factions on these factors it is everything guild wars prophicies wasent when you start your imerged in the full swing of the game different from the orignal where you started in a easy place where going solo was posible from the start factions puts emphisis on teaming up and working togheter Ok I know anet nerfed alot of builds and skills when factions was realsed but im not reviewing factions on these factors it is everything guild wars prophicies wasent when you start your imerged in the full swing of the game different from the orignal where you started in a easy place where going solo was posible from the start factions puts emphisis on teaming up and working togheter also factions better joins the pve and pvp areas of the game and encourges players to experence bolth and conqure bolth ok before i write a book on this il cut it off at this Everything from the first and more buy it and love it. Expand
  15. JohnB.
    May 15, 2006
    8
    Great game, can not really fault it. Seems to carry on like the original with new weapons and monsters. People with the CE get cool items ;-)
  16. AdamL.
    May 16, 2006
    9
    Compared to the first GW, it takes a bit of getting used to, the missions are altogether more difficult, but this just brings a more strategic view to the game as opposed to the lone hack and slash, still lots of fun, highly recommended.
  17. TudyD.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    This is a game for the ones that want to have PvP fun. Online. Without a monthly fee. PvE is great, but the endgame content is definitely PvP. Once you get in a good guild (and it shouldn't take long), you'll have tons of fun. Definitely recommend it over any other MMOs out there (and I've played most of them, including WoW and Eve).
  18. AndrewP.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    This is a well-rounded game that can cater to many different styles of play. It truly feels like several different games; when you are tired with one facet, another will captivate you all over again. It is a great addition.
  19. WilliamG
    Aug 7, 2009
    8
    I happen to own each expansion of Guild Wars and have to admit that Factions is probably the most enjoyable one that I have played so far. Not much is really changed from the original but it did add new content but not anything 'new' to the idea. Cool thing is that your characters can travel either expansion that you have. Of course it's not easy to get there in the first I happen to own each expansion of Guild Wars and have to admit that Factions is probably the most enjoyable one that I have played so far. Not much is really changed from the original but it did add new content but not anything 'new' to the idea. Cool thing is that your characters can travel either expansion that you have. Of course it's not easy to get there in the first place if your not ready. I will say that Factions is the shortest out of the 3 expansions, so hitting cap will be roughly 6 hours or less depending on if you complete every quest on the starting island first and do some hunting mixed with that. Only downside that I found was the lack of skills your character is given. Prophecies allowed your character to gain skills through quests. In Factions your character gets some skills, but the rest have to be bought through skill trainers if your willing to spend some gold. Not the best way but sometimes you have no choice. Graphics did'nt change much, though there is some difference in EOTN than Nightfall and Factions. Overall Factions is an ok place to start and the two new classes, Assassin and Ritualist (a.k.a. Sin and Spirit Spammer), add some spice into the original 6 (Warrior, Ranger, Monk, Necromancer, Mesmer and Elementalist) so I give it an 8. Not perfect, but still worth playing. I would suggest on getting this in retail if available as a platnium edtion so you get the original and one of the mentioned expansions or get the whole triology for one price. Expand
  20. KevinVanwijnsberghe
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    listen i don't give a **** what you guys think but Guild Wars Factions will own as much as the first Guild Wars Prohpecies...My characters on Guild Wars are: Damas Bloodwarrior - A Necro Called Razz - Supreme Marine - Frans Bauwer if you're there give me a call ;)
  21. QuadB
    May 11, 2006
    9
    Missions/quests are all together better designed than first game...Leveling process is a bit rushed. Ben W, you've played during the beta weekend...the real game starts you off at level 1.
  22. JamesW
    Jun 12, 2006
    8
    Pros: No monthly fee, beautiful world to explore, tons of skills and items to unlock, engaging combat system, quick max leveling means no 'uber-players' that have devoted the most time and are therefore the most powerful.

    Cons: No auction house, assembling a group for missions is tedious/frustrating, focus seems to be drifting away from pve toward pvp, elitist attitude of many
    Pros: No monthly fee, beautiful world to explore, tons of skills and items to unlock, engaging combat system, quick max leveling means no 'uber-players' that have devoted the most time and are therefore the most powerful.

    Cons: No auction house, assembling a group for missions is tedious/frustrating, focus seems to be drifting away from pve toward pvp, elitist attitude of many veteran players may discourage newcomers.
    Expand
  23. SebiL.
    Jun 17, 2006
    8
    GW: Factions is a great game. But is also has some failings. If you have already played the first guild wars for some time, you will soon (about 150h) have enough of it because it's always quite the same. Don't get me wrong, it's a very good game, especially for new players. In any case it's worth the money.
  24. V
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    Great Game, but some frame rate issues cause bad lagging and enemy view is never obstructed. But the game is so much fun, the MMORPG anybody can enjoy, its small in size it doesnt cost money and its not meant for the real hardcore RPG fans. So any average gamer out there can have a lot of fun with this game, Cantha is a big world to explore. But during cinematics the mouths dont move and Great Game, but some frame rate issues cause bad lagging and enemy view is never obstructed. But the game is so much fun, the MMORPG anybody can enjoy, its small in size it doesnt cost money and its not meant for the real hardcore RPG fans. So any average gamer out there can have a lot of fun with this game, Cantha is a big world to explore. But during cinematics the mouths dont move and the quests can get very tedious unless your in a good guild, really it all depends on what kind of gamer you are to how much fun this game can be, its a hard game to rate but the eight seems fair. Expand
  25. PM
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Best MMORPG ever.
  26. MaKRouteM.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Beautiful!
  27. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Very good campaign for a very good game, still just as fun and as addictive, especially with the new classes. An entire new area is opened up and ready for exploration, with the best part being it doesn't burn a hole in your wallet!
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 90
    On a very meaningful level, it gives complete newcomers access to the most exciting aspect of the game right out of the box. And should those players decide to sample everything that it has to offer, they will not be disappointed.
  2. The follow-up to the innovative Guild Wars features a large new fantasy world to explore and enough competitive and cooperative role-playing action to easily keep you busy for weeks.
  3. Guild Wars Factions not only gives longtime fans a taste of something new, but it allows newcomers to jump right in and start playing.