• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 418

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in my life. The company (ArenaNet) took some chances with this game. They went for a bit of a different skill/attribute set and a lot of other things. They really stepped out of the comfort zone and threw away the traditional MMORPG **** And guess what, it worked well. There were a few dull areas but those were overthrown by the glorious rest of theOne of the best games I have ever played in my life. The company (ArenaNet) took some chances with this game. They went for a bit of a different skill/attribute set and a lot of other things. They really stepped out of the comfort zone and threw away the traditional MMORPG **** And guess what, it worked well. There were a few dull areas but those were overthrown by the glorious rest of the game. The missions were fun and enticing, the gear was visually appealing and could parts mixed and matched. The graphics were very good for a companies very first game. At release this game was magnificent, the cities were overflowing with people and the PvP arenas was a place to be. Now, not so much. The game has aged and the majority of players can be seen on the later expansion packs or winds of change one of the newer updates. So in all honesty, I wouldn't purchase the game based on those facts. Wait for Guild Wars 2, which still has no monthly fee. That game will be well worth the wait. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I've played this game since release and it has since become my favorite game of all time. The world is beautiful and inspired, and the animations are smooth and very high quality. I actually quite like the instancing as it prevents **** from messing with you, and I am generally quite a solitary person. The story in PvE is top notch and imaginative, and PvP itself is the best of an MMO onI've played this game since release and it has since become my favorite game of all time. The world is beautiful and inspired, and the animations are smooth and very high quality. I actually quite like the instancing as it prevents **** from messing with you, and I am generally quite a solitary person. The story in PvE is top notch and imaginative, and PvP itself is the best of an MMO on the market. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Many of the reviews here are either badly composed or off the topic based on personal experiences or just dumb choices. This game is the cure for your wallet, it's an engaging experience that won't burn your money. The PvP is one of this game's most stable and well-designed features, make no mistake this game does have PvE as any MMO game should. Also keep in mind this game is pureMany of the reviews here are either badly composed or off the topic based on personal experiences or just dumb choices. This game is the cure for your wallet, it's an engaging experience that won't burn your money. The PvP is one of this game's most stable and well-designed features, make no mistake this game does have PvE as any MMO game should. Also keep in mind this game is pure perfection if you do not mind instances when out questing. If you don't know what that means is, whoever you take with you whilst leaving the city/outpost, is all you're going to have with you. No random people coming in to yoink your xp gain or kill the mobs you set out to kill. They're all there, at every load. 1. Updates> This game since release has had a variety of changes from classes to balancing.
    2.The World> The expansions add rewarding content is persistent for each of your characters, you can visit any continent as long as you've reached the area to travel to it, the visuals are different everywhere you go, its always nice to have some new colors.
    3.Since navigation is so simple and streamlined, the minimap also shows where you've walked, making it easy for you not to get lost.
    4. PvE combat> PvE is well done, the mobs are easy to find and a wiki feature in the game makes it easy for you to find what you're looking for.
    5. Questing and Progression>This game is extremely quick to level in, what makes your character stronger is how you build their skills and set their gear. You'll reach max rank in no time, quest, do missions and your time shall not be wasted. Missions progress you through the storyline of each campaign (that is if you have the other expansions) but if you just own Prophecies it's the same deal.
    6.End Game> Since leveling is so quick, the true content of the game is its end game, you'll have a variety of missions and titles to gain and due to Guild Wars 2 on the way if you own Eye of the North, you will get rewards for completing them if you get the next installment. Raids, dungeons, (Speed clears) are all in the game, know your role and get moving.

    This game leads you to have a much different experience at each turn, each class feels different, and a second play-through known as hard mode can get you some cash.
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    So addictive it's not even funny. Has gameplay unlike any other MMO, graphics that are a rape to the eyeballs and music that you won't be able to get out of your head any time soon. It is also relatively grindfest-free due to the low level cap, which I find to be a huge plus. While the formula gets a little stale after a while and the plot is nothing to write home about, it is still theSo addictive it's not even funny. Has gameplay unlike any other MMO, graphics that are a rape to the eyeballs and music that you won't be able to get out of your head any time soon. It is also relatively grindfest-free due to the low level cap, which I find to be a huge plus. While the formula gets a little stale after a while and the plot is nothing to write home about, it is still the best MMO I have ever played. Here's hoping GW2 will become a worthy successor of the original. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Last time I typed /age in the chat, I got as response that I had played the game over 3500 hours on this account, this excludes the time I spent on my 2 other accounts. A game that can keep me playing and enjoying it for 5 years and over 3500 hours deserves a 10.
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, very addictive, and even after many years after launch, it still has a reason to be played, which is the Hall of Monuments reward system for GW2
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    The reasoning behind my score for this game is simple. Firstly, the game itself is great fun and a blast to sit down and play no matter how much time you have. 30 minutes? No problem, there's a lot you can get done, even if you feel like at the time you didn't. Gameplay is very good, and the scenery is breath taking. I used to play this game when everything first came out in 2005-2006The reasoning behind my score for this game is simple. Firstly, the game itself is great fun and a blast to sit down and play no matter how much time you have. 30 minutes? No problem, there's a lot you can get done, even if you feel like at the time you didn't. Gameplay is very good, and the scenery is breath taking. I used to play this game when everything first came out in 2005-2006 before I got really really into WoW. I gave up WoW for a year and went back but I have finally said no to WoW and decided it was time to play this game again. When I first played this game I wasn't all that great at it because I didn't try to link skills together, I just used what I felt was the most powerful skills. Now I have sat down and really looked at the skills and I have to say it is way better that I have taken the time to because honestly, I kill things that much faster. The instanced hunting grounds yes are boring with no one else there but I don't care. Crank up my music and turn me loose and I can hunt for four hours and not get bored once. Meeting people is easy if you are willing to go out of your way to try to get to know some of the people around you in town. Quest are a breeze, and with a mini map that guides you to the quest, why would you complain about not being able to jump? WoW, good luck figuring out where the crap you are supposed to be heading. Yeah some of the NPC's tell you a general direction, but that could be a huge swath of the zone if you're not careful. I can't speak for the PvP in this game because I have never actually tried it out. I do enjoy the PvE a lot but that is because I am determined and dedicated to getting what I need, no matter the ammount of time required to get it. No need for teir whatever gear to hunt? Oh yeah, that's what I'm talking about. No monthly fee's? Yes please. Ability to mix two classes together to become an even more deadly fighter than you already were? Sign me up now! Downsides are yes it can be difficult to trust someone you meet on the game because there is a high potential that they will be a dick or try to scam you. It can be monotonous doing the same thing over and over, but that is to be expected with every game you play, so everyone can stop griping and get back to playing the game. No jumping. Yeah okay, I know I said it's not a big deal but it is true, who in the world can't jump? I say it for believability and natural ability of a human being, not because I want to be able to jump. Those are the only two major complaints I have for this game, and the jumping I view as a minor thing because it seems pointless to jump when your playing the game to go in and hack things to pieces. And trusting someone over a game you may never meet in real life? Not a reason the game lost points either of these things, it lost the points because I think that while the instanced hunting grounds are awesome maybe allow a few other people into the same one as you. A minimum of 20 so that way if a group of people hunt together that means there is still room for 16 others. I think the chance of seeing someone else out there doing the same thing as you also would give you incentive to team up and compare what quest you both need and that would form a bond of trust and a friendship that would allow you to know you have a friend in the game you can look for to hunt with. So over all I rate this game an 8 because yes it has a lot of plus factors, but there are still a few things that could really potentially be improved, even with the greatness that this game already is. On a more personal level for comparison, WoW and GW are nothing alike. They are two completely different games that were developed by two different companies. WoW has it's own perks, one of which is not graphics. GW to me is better than WoW because of the pure individuality that you can have with the 8 skills that you put on your bar that allow you to play however you want and not only that but the ammount of skills that you learn means that you never run out of combinations and chains of skills that you could potentially set up to use for a very very long time. Great game, and to be honest, so very glad I gave up WoW to get back into this amazing game. Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    Guild Wars was a fantastic game that was well worth it's price. It offers more gameplay and customization than any game of it's peers. It was and forever will be a game that will be notable.
  9. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Don't have much to say about Guild Wars. I beta tested it long ago and it didn't fail to impress. Most people who say they hate this game are fanboys of other MMOs which I will not mention, and just don't get the whole concept behind the game. It's not supposed to take months to reach a ridiculously high level, then hours of killing monsters to get ridiculously overpowered weapons andDon't have much to say about Guild Wars. I beta tested it long ago and it didn't fail to impress. Most people who say they hate this game are fanboys of other MMOs which I will not mention, and just don't get the whole concept behind the game. It's not supposed to take months to reach a ridiculously high level, then hours of killing monsters to get ridiculously overpowered weapons and armor. It is meant to be heavily based on tactics and skill. The low level cap and the ability to get "maxed" weapons (weapons with maximum stats for that particular category) about midway through the main story forces players to really build their character with different skills that complement each other, then use them right. If you like grinding, raiding, and games that are based much more on having an incredibly high level or incredibly powerful equipment, Guild Wars is NOT for you. It isn't a perfect game, with limited support and a bit lacking in an MMO feel, but it certainly isn't anything close to a bad game. Expand
  10. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    ive played this game for 6 years now and it has is the game i have played the most my overall game-time is about 130 days. there is so much content to do with all the new expansions and dungeon's the game has very nice graphics considering its so old now and yet i can still say its still one of the best mmo-based games out there and i really cannot wait for Guild wars 2, how ever long it takes.
  11. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Why imo this game is great:
    (1) No monthly fee. If you do the math for other MMO's out there your going to pay a lot more once you start playing for over a year. Which to me, is very short.
    (2) No real grind besides what you choose to grind out, and it has insignificant impact on play. You can grind out titles which do nothing besides increase your e-peen or grind out materials for armor
    Why imo this game is great:
    (1) No monthly fee. If you do the math for other MMO's out there your going to pay a lot more once you start playing for over a year. Which to me, is very short.

    (2) No real grind besides what you choose to grind out, and it has insignificant impact on play. You can grind out titles which do nothing besides increase your e-peen or grind out materials for armor which have no better stats than armor you can get for cheap - again increasing your e-peen but no real benefit other than that.

    (3) No worries about making a mistake with your character - it's very easy to change out what you use. Fitting the no-grind theme of this game.

    (4) Perfect way to deal with death imo - you fail the quest but you don't lose anything like experience or items. Plus you only fail the quest after dying multiple times.

    (5) It's fun!
    Expand
  12. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    I played this game a few years back and for the life of me, could not get into it. Recently I decided to give it a second chance when I was offered the opportunity to play it again, and I'm glad that I picked it up for a second go. Once I got into the game, I became immersed in the story and the characters. The gameplay is slightly awkward for somebody who isn't used to it, but once II played this game a few years back and for the life of me, could not get into it. Recently I decided to give it a second chance when I was offered the opportunity to play it again, and I'm glad that I picked it up for a second go. Once I got into the game, I became immersed in the story and the characters. The gameplay is slightly awkward for somebody who isn't used to it, but once I started to get the hang of things I really began enjoying myself. You don't have to party up with people if group work isn't your thing, and I like that a lot. I can play with friends if I want to, or I can just do things alone. I don't have to team up with total strangers that could potentially ruin my experience. Granted, I have met some nice people and the community seems to be nice overall, which is a good thing. Really looking forward to finishing up the campaigns in this game, and especially looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  13. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    I don't regret a minute of time spent in this game. The story is beautiful, the PvE is rich in content, and the community is excellent. The game offers so much versatility as well, with any class being able to take on the role of another with builds. The PvP is by far the best I've ever seen. All in all, it's a masterpiece. The only problem as of now is the community is a little on theI don't regret a minute of time spent in this game. The story is beautiful, the PvE is rich in content, and the community is excellent. The game offers so much versatility as well, with any class being able to take on the role of another with builds. The PvP is by far the best I've ever seen. All in all, it's a masterpiece. The only problem as of now is the community is a little on the dead side due to it's awful sequel. Expand
  14. May 19, 2011
    8
    I had previously scored this game a 0, which was a bit hasty of me. Now, after having spent much more time with this game I have found it to be a very good game overall, with a very very bad death penalty system. Taken as a whole this game and all its additions (3 campaigns, linked as smaller parts of the bigger story and one expansion to the larger story) is very well done. The engineI had previously scored this game a 0, which was a bit hasty of me. Now, after having spent much more time with this game I have found it to be a very good game overall, with a very very bad death penalty system. Taken as a whole this game and all its additions (3 campaigns, linked as smaller parts of the bigger story and one expansion to the larger story) is very well done. The engine is old, 6 years and counting, yet the graphics are still decent and when compared to the king of MMO's (Warcraft, terrible game that it's become) they are better. Landscapes often look like art, as if you are exploring a giant painting. The characters are very nicely modeled and no two look alike. This game allows a player to fully customize their appearance through the use of gear and dyes so you can look exactly how you want to. There are also optional costumes for purchase should one so desire. The quests are typical of any MMO or RPG and should be easily recognizable to anyone who has ever played one. One thing I particularly like about this game is the monsters, of endless varieties, are not pushovers. Combat is actually challenging. You have to think before you pull, do it wrong you die. But, then enters the worst thing about the game...the death penalty. You die 15% is taken off your health and mana. That pretty much stays unless you kill A LOT of mobs or have some potions (which I'm told exist, but have yet to see one). Kill a world boss, you get 2% taken off the 15...not much and the bosses are that much harder. Death in what are called "missions", the larger quests that actually tell the story reset the entire mission and could waste an hour or more of your time. Dieing in this game sucks, period. The abilities and different "builds" you can create are vast, allowing you to choose from a pool of tens, if not hundreds of combat moves and spells. The possibilities are really endless. The guild and communication interfaces could use a modernization and the UI doesn't give as much info as I would like, but those are minor things. The game would score a 9 or best MMO type game available from me, except the death penalty really really pisses me off. Played carefully, its a great game. Oh, and for around $40 you can get all the content the game has and there's no extra cost necessary, ever. Best MMO style game value in the industry, hands down. Expand
  15. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Good game with its pros and cons. Pros, The game looks great and plays well. The storyline is interesting and the quest are standard MMO type quest so you won't get lost. Only having 8 skills might turn some people away but with all the skills you get over the game you can make different and unique builds to match your style of play. You also can't forget you don't have to pay monthly forGood game with its pros and cons. Pros, The game looks great and plays well. The storyline is interesting and the quest are standard MMO type quest so you won't get lost. Only having 8 skills might turn some people away but with all the skills you get over the game you can make different and unique builds to match your style of play. You also can't forget you don't have to pay monthly for this game so if you stop playing and want to come back you can at anytime. Cons. The instanced world can be very dull if you don't find other people to play with and the PVP can get annoying at times. Expand
  16. Dec 22, 2011
    1
    Terrible, maybe I went into the game expecting some fun PVP but its not, broken unbalanced classes. I played this game about 2 months ago. The feature of how your character auto follows your opponent (wow real skill) is incredibly annoying. The game is worse than SWTOR when it comes to being on "rails". I am excited for GW2 but if it is anything like GW1 I will not be purchasing.
  17. Jan 15, 2011
    4
    It was a great game. Sadly one day arenanet decided to go "hey, let's completely destroy all PvP in the game, and then make the PvE grind the primary interest of the game" Now PvP is filled with unskilled noobs that think grind = skill (I just recently watched a couple of obs, not a single person in any of them knew how to qstep) You are forced to either use builds fully automated bots canIt was a great game. Sadly one day arenanet decided to go "hey, let's completely destroy all PvP in the game, and then make the PvE grind the primary interest of the game" Now PvP is filled with unskilled noobs that think grind = skill (I just recently watched a couple of obs, not a single person in any of them knew how to qstep) You are forced to either use builds fully automated bots can play better than you, or end up being significantly weaker then your enemy. Arenanet entirely fails at balancing the game, only if a skill is so unbalanced it literally gives permanent immortality (Shadow Form) is it even fixed, and that's after A WHOLE YEAR of people abusing it. I don't think I need to say much about PvE, it's fun the first time you complete it, but after that it's just pure grind. It was a great game 5 years ago, and probably would have been now if PvP wasn't destroyed. I've spent a lot of fun hours in this game, RIP original Guild Wars Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    Admittedly, I'm not a huge fan of MMORPGs. The only other one I've played extensively is World of Warcraft, and I preferred that game by a large margin. Why? Well, Guild Wars always seemed like a more limited version of WoW. The level cap is lower, the possibilities for playing without being in a party are more limited, and the items are less varied and interesting. None of that wouldAdmittedly, I'm not a huge fan of MMORPGs. The only other one I've played extensively is World of Warcraft, and I preferred that game by a large margin. Why? Well, Guild Wars always seemed like a more limited version of WoW. The level cap is lower, the possibilities for playing without being in a party are more limited, and the items are less varied and interesting. None of that would matter very much if I really wanted to spend my time playing with other people, but there's nothing I find more frustrating than sitting down to play a video game and instead spending the next hour trying to get a group together, only to finally give up and turn it off. WoW offers gamers a lot of options for playing without depending on other players, and that is why I preferred it to Guild Wars. Expand
  19. May 9, 2013
    6
    NOTE: This review is about all campaigns, so not only Prophecies!
    With Guild Wars 2 released, GW1 has lost all of its charms. Because no one is still playing it (except for PvPers and people who spam trade channel all day), PvE has become a nightmare, and I bought GW1 for PvE (Awesome story). If you don't have real life players, you have so called "Heroes" following you. These heroes are
    NOTE: This review is about all campaigns, so not only Prophecies!
    With Guild Wars 2 released, GW1 has lost all of its charms. Because no one is still playing it (except for PvPers and people who spam trade channel all day), PvE has become a nightmare, and I bought GW1 for PvE (Awesome story). If you don't have real life players, you have so called "Heroes" following you. These heroes are dumber than dumb, attack anything on sight, and you can only order the first 3 heroes in party, to move to a certain spot, while you can bring a maximum of 7 with you. Because of all that, progression is impossible. I started with a Nightfall character, now I'm stuck in a mission called Dasha Vestibule. The mission is impossible because the final bosses. One of them can wipe your party in 2 hits. Solution is simple: spread your party. One problem: ITS IMPOSSIBLE WITH HEROES! And when your party is wiped, you have to restart THE ENTIRE MISSION, because there no such thing called Checkpoints. As I said, I bought GW because of the story, and I am not looking for a challenge.
    After countless times of trying, I moved to another campaign: Prophecies. First few missions went ok, until now. Aurora Glade. Another mission that is 100% impossible if you don't bring some real life players with you.

    I started with Factions, and I haven't tried EotN yet. I hope these two are better for a player like me, otherwhise, GW isn't really that special... *slight disappointment*
    Expand
  20. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    I have had hours of fun with this game. It is beautifully atmospheric, has a good story, and a combat system capable of enormous sophistication. The world it creates feels very real and I actually cared about its fate.
  21. May 26, 2014
    8
    My first foray into the MMO scene and I was not disappointed in the slightest. No subscription fee, awesome gameplay, great story, and just an overall wonderful experience.
  22. May 17, 2012
    10
    I wish Diablo 3 was this good. Massive world, every innovative play. Zero grinding, one of the best mmo ever made. Many many korean mmo copied guild war's style.
  23. May 18, 2012
    9
    This game was my first MMO and level 20 with all the expansions. As the years went on (maybe I put 400 hours into this game, or 500 but no more), the graphics got a little old and the gameplay not as fun; however, the hooks from this game was already in pretty deep. GW2 beta was more fun than GW the first time I played it. I've never played WoW. Learning all the new builds really wasThis game was my first MMO and level 20 with all the expansions. As the years went on (maybe I put 400 hours into this game, or 500 but no more), the graphics got a little old and the gameplay not as fun; however, the hooks from this game was already in pretty deep. GW2 beta was more fun than GW the first time I played it. I've never played WoW. Learning all the new builds really was enjoyable, esp. all the necro. stuff with your heroes. I didn't play PvP much; I'm sure I was one of the rare people who didn't like it that much. Expand
  24. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Fantastic fun world to play solo or with friends beautiful graphics and gameplay.

    Solid fun with epic pvp and clan/Faction building very guild oriented.

    Awesome Rpg i don't consider it a MMO.

    Worth $50
  25. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    All has been said in varied reviews about GW. All I can tell you is from 2005 up until now I've played for 7600+ hours. That's approximately 320 full days over a 7 year span. The only games that got me engaged in the past are Sword of Fargoal on the CBM64, Dungeon Master (and Chaos Strikes Back) by FTL on the Atari ST. I hope that ArenaNet never pulls the plug on it.
  26. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    This game is an art. In combinations with all the 3 addons it deserves a much better succes and attention: The graphic is written geniously: beautiful and great performance. The gameplay gives you so many possiblities: great. And in the beginning it is easy to understand. So you see, the old easy to learn, hard to master principle. The idea of gathering all the players together to a townThis game is an art. In combinations with all the 3 addons it deserves a much better succes and attention: The graphic is written geniously: beautiful and great performance. The gameplay gives you so many possiblities: great. And in the beginning it is easy to understand. So you see, the old easy to learn, hard to master principle. The idea of gathering all the players together to a town and let them group there to go through an instance is simply perfect. The campaing is great, I could stop to play, just to know, what happens next. The music is great too. I dont see any weaknesses in this game (dont forget, the game has 3 addons, that improves the basic game too) Expand
  27. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I played this game for years and enjoyed every moment of it. It plays a bit differently than other MMOs, because it is designed to prevent grinding, trolling, imbalance, and various other negative factors that typically plague online games.
  28. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Whenever I try out a new mmo the first thing I do is compare it to Guild Wars. That is how much of an impact this game left on me. I picked it up within a few months of it having came out and played it for YEARS. I had thousands of hours logged into this game, and STILL can't help but log on every once in a while to take a trip down memory lane. The game is of course very dated and I can'tWhenever I try out a new mmo the first thing I do is compare it to Guild Wars. That is how much of an impact this game left on me. I picked it up within a few months of it having came out and played it for YEARS. I had thousands of hours logged into this game, and STILL can't help but log on every once in a while to take a trip down memory lane. The game is of course very dated and I can't play it with the fervor that I used to, but it is still the mold with which I compare every mmo I come across. Hopefully soon a game will come which will match or surpass my image of it. Expand
  29. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt, the best MMORPG I have played to date (although technically not actually an MMORPG).

    The graphics are gorgeous. There is an endless variety of character skillset possibilities due to the hundreds and hundreds of skills available for each character profession. This means you can never bore of the gameplay, and if you are into PVP it becomes a constantly changing arena
    Without a doubt, the best MMORPG I have played to date (although technically not actually an MMORPG).

    The graphics are gorgeous.

    There is an endless variety of character skillset possibilities due to the hundreds and hundreds of skills available for each character profession. This means you can never bore of the gameplay, and if you are into PVP it becomes a constantly changing arena involving teams changing/trialing new and progressively more creative builds to counter the currently winning team's build. Testing builds yourself to try and beat certain enemies/bosses, or solo certain areas is always a fun and rewarding experience.

    The game is complex, but not enough for the learning curve to be huge. The game itself is simple enough to learn to play, the challenge instead comes in learning how to play well.

    The map is huge, especially when combined with its expansions, and you will never run out of things to do.

    The game is free to play, and does not reward players who play for hours on end over those who are more casual. Everyone has access to gear with the same stats, the hardcore players simply pay extra in order to look better than everyone else. This was one of my favourite features about guild wars, especially over guild wars 2, which instead opts to reward hardcore players with a slight edge in stats over ordinary players due to their extensive playtimes.

    I only managed to stop playing this game after my computer crashed, for which I was grateful because this game genuinely ends up taking a large chunk of your life away. These days i play guild wars 2 instead, which is very fun and has stunning graphics, but feels very simple in comparison, especially in PvP due to the very limited skills available and lack of customisation.
    Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    This is the game that actually got me hooked on video games. I would watch my sister and her boyfriend play, and I fell in love. I loved the graphics, the ability to explore, and the storyline. Unlike a lot of other MMORPGs , you don't have to pay a monthly fee after you purchase the game. Also, you have the ability to play by yourself, and don't have to depend on others to get throughThis is the game that actually got me hooked on video games. I would watch my sister and her boyfriend play, and I fell in love. I loved the graphics, the ability to explore, and the storyline. Unlike a lot of other MMORPGs , you don't have to pay a monthly fee after you purchase the game. Also, you have the ability to play by yourself, and don't have to depend on others to get through the game. Expand
  31. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    Best RPG in 2005.
    Good things : story lines, missions, graphics, fights with mercenaries (NPC) like in RTS games, attributes, skills, leveling up, exploring, traveling by map, elite skills capture, different regions in Tyria, towns, fights with final boss Khilbron, class specific armors.
    less : CORP, looking for guilds, craft, auction houses, cities, 1 playable race, 1 starting point
    Best RPG in 2005.
    Good things : story lines, missions, graphics, fights with mercenaries (NPC) like in RTS games, attributes, skills, leveling up, exploring, traveling by map, elite skills capture, different regions in Tyria, towns, fights with final boss Khilbron, class specific armors.

    less : CORP, looking for guilds, craft, auction houses, cities, 1 playable race, 1 starting point for pve

    Game play : 7/10, graphics : 6,5/10, back ground : 7/10, lifetime : 7/10, sound : 7/10, community : 8/10, world : 7/10
    Expand
  32. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    The first MMO I ever played way back in 2005. It is hands down my favorite game to this day. Everything from the story, the character attributes, skill/spell diversity, pvp, seasonal events, side quests, and community gave me some really fun memories. This game will always be special to me.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. It’s impossible to describe the joy playing Guild Wars offers. It isn’t particularly deep, but it’s highly rewarding nonetheless. A friendly design and interface, and the simple, elegant combat, are bound to appeal to a wide range of gamers.
  2. It innovatively and successfully combines many of the best, most addictive properties of action RPGs, online RPGs, and competitive multiplayer games in one beautifully produced package, which offers a tremendous lasting value yet none of the monthly fees typically associated with online-only games.
  3. If tedious leveling up, dull combat, or uninspired player vs. player gaming are your quibbles with today's massively multiplayer offerings, Guild Wars is the cure.