• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 419

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in my life. The company (ArenaNet) took some chances with this game. They went for a bit of a different skill/attribute set and a lot of other things. They really stepped out of the comfort zone and threw away the traditional MMORPG **** And guess what, it worked well. There were a few dull areas but those were overthrown by the glorious rest of theOne of the best games I have ever played in my life. The company (ArenaNet) took some chances with this game. They went for a bit of a different skill/attribute set and a lot of other things. They really stepped out of the comfort zone and threw away the traditional MMORPG **** And guess what, it worked well. There were a few dull areas but those were overthrown by the glorious rest of the game. The missions were fun and enticing, the gear was visually appealing and could parts mixed and matched. The graphics were very good for a companies very first game. At release this game was magnificent, the cities were overflowing with people and the PvP arenas was a place to be. Now, not so much. The game has aged and the majority of players can be seen on the later expansion packs or winds of change one of the newer updates. So in all honesty, I wouldn't purchase the game based on those facts. Wait for Guild Wars 2, which still has no monthly fee. That game will be well worth the wait. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I've played this game since release and it has since become my favorite game of all time. The world is beautiful and inspired, and the animations are smooth and very high quality. I actually quite like the instancing as it prevents **** from messing with you, and I am generally quite a solitary person. The story in PvE is top notch and imaginative, and PvP itself is the best of an MMO onI've played this game since release and it has since become my favorite game of all time. The world is beautiful and inspired, and the animations are smooth and very high quality. I actually quite like the instancing as it prevents **** from messing with you, and I am generally quite a solitary person. The story in PvE is top notch and imaginative, and PvP itself is the best of an MMO on the market. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Many of the reviews here are either badly composed or off the topic based on personal experiences or just dumb choices. This game is the cure for your wallet, it's an engaging experience that won't burn your money. The PvP is one of this game's most stable and well-designed features, make no mistake this game does have PvE as any MMO game should. Also keep in mind this game is pureMany of the reviews here are either badly composed or off the topic based on personal experiences or just dumb choices. This game is the cure for your wallet, it's an engaging experience that won't burn your money. The PvP is one of this game's most stable and well-designed features, make no mistake this game does have PvE as any MMO game should. Also keep in mind this game is pure perfection if you do not mind instances when out questing. If you don't know what that means is, whoever you take with you whilst leaving the city/outpost, is all you're going to have with you. No random people coming in to yoink your xp gain or kill the mobs you set out to kill. They're all there, at every load. 1. Updates> This game since release has had a variety of changes from classes to balancing.
    2.The World> The expansions add rewarding content is persistent for each of your characters, you can visit any continent as long as you've reached the area to travel to it, the visuals are different everywhere you go, its always nice to have some new colors.
    3.Since navigation is so simple and streamlined, the minimap also shows where you've walked, making it easy for you not to get lost.
    4. PvE combat> PvE is well done, the mobs are easy to find and a wiki feature in the game makes it easy for you to find what you're looking for.
    5. Questing and Progression>This game is extremely quick to level in, what makes your character stronger is how you build their skills and set their gear. You'll reach max rank in no time, quest, do missions and your time shall not be wasted. Missions progress you through the storyline of each campaign (that is if you have the other expansions) but if you just own Prophecies it's the same deal.
    6.End Game> Since leveling is so quick, the true content of the game is its end game, you'll have a variety of missions and titles to gain and due to Guild Wars 2 on the way if you own Eye of the North, you will get rewards for completing them if you get the next installment. Raids, dungeons, (Speed clears) are all in the game, know your role and get moving.

    This game leads you to have a much different experience at each turn, each class feels different, and a second play-through known as hard mode can get you some cash.
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    So addictive it's not even funny. Has gameplay unlike any other MMO, graphics that are a rape to the eyeballs and music that you won't be able to get out of your head any time soon. It is also relatively grindfest-free due to the low level cap, which I find to be a huge plus. While the formula gets a little stale after a while and the plot is nothing to write home about, it is still theSo addictive it's not even funny. Has gameplay unlike any other MMO, graphics that are a rape to the eyeballs and music that you won't be able to get out of your head any time soon. It is also relatively grindfest-free due to the low level cap, which I find to be a huge plus. While the formula gets a little stale after a while and the plot is nothing to write home about, it is still the best MMO I have ever played. Here's hoping GW2 will become a worthy successor of the original. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Last time I typed /age in the chat, I got as response that I had played the game over 3500 hours on this account, this excludes the time I spent on my 2 other accounts. A game that can keep me playing and enjoying it for 5 years and over 3500 hours deserves a 10.
  6. Nickm.
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    This game is honestly one of my all time favorites. What to talk about first... Well, the synopsis up there didn't mention that its FREE to play online, as opposed to some other massively online games. The missions and quests are genuinely fun to me, not just a thing to go through to level your character up. And the pvp is awesome. The thing that really appeals to me about this game This game is honestly one of my all time favorites. What to talk about first... Well, the synopsis up there didn't mention that its FREE to play online, as opposed to some other massively online games. The missions and quests are genuinely fun to me, not just a thing to go through to level your character up. And the pvp is awesome. The thing that really appeals to me about this game the most I think is the freedom of choice it allows you. As a general rule, you can do what you find fun. If you just want to PvP (Player versus Player), you can create a maximum level character and get right into it, not to mention the ability to play against anyone in the world (If youre #1, youre not just #1 on a server, you are the best in the WORLD). If you like going through the storyline (which is also good, I might add,) and exploring, you can spend as much time doing that as you want. If you like to RP (Role-Play), the instancing sytem in GW has the added benefit of keeping people not in your party out of your perception. If you like planning and character building, this game has many different skills/spells with a wide variety of different affects, strengths and weaknesses for you to build upon. If you enjoy grind, you can choose to spend hours looking for the best items in the game, but that will have little affect on your performance in combat. Speaking of combat, it honestly is more about teamwork, strategy, personal playing skill and adaptability than any other game of this style that I've played. Well Done, ArenaNet. Expand
  7. ScottyK.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing, that's the best response. This game blows others out of the water. The visual effects are beyound words. Even in-game movies feature all members in the party wielding accurate weapons and armour. The storyline is fun and extremely interactive. Arenanet has made an extensive efffort to monitor this game for offensive language and content, which is a relief compared to so many Amazing, that's the best response. This game blows others out of the water. The visual effects are beyound words. Even in-game movies feature all members in the party wielding accurate weapons and armour. The storyline is fun and extremely interactive. Arenanet has made an extensive efffort to monitor this game for offensive language and content, which is a relief compared to so many other games. I'm sick of playing with 10 and 12 year olds and having someone join the game only to go off with swearing and sexual references. Kudos to the Guild Wars crew regarding keeping the T rating in place. Most of all this game is designed for ultimate team play. The complete focus on Guild creation and growth is mesmerizing. I really can't say enough about this game. It is hands down one of the best games I have ever played console or pc. Thanks to all the Guild Wars team for making this game one to last the ages. Expand
  8. zdogjr
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Ok anyone who gives this less then an 8 is a person who probably played wow first and played this game for 2 min. and then realized it wasnt wow and that it had no extra fee and then got scared or your just an idiot who cant recognize a good mmorpg the story is one of the best ive ever heard and thats 50% of why i played this the other was the awsome gameplay, you get 8 skills because Ok anyone who gives this less then an 8 is a person who probably played wow first and played this game for 2 min. and then realized it wasnt wow and that it had no extra fee and then got scared or your just an idiot who cant recognize a good mmorpg the story is one of the best ive ever heard and thats 50% of why i played this the other was the awsome gameplay, you get 8 skills because thats what makes you use your brain and you dont just get a stinking over powered spell when your lv 4 that kills everything, you have to think and figure out what skills go best with each other and from what i seen on wow the screen is covered with skill how the ---- can you find the skill you want to use when its sourrounded by 50 others. Expand
  9. AndrewH
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    I love this game I've been playing for almost 2 years now. the PvP is fast and extreme. it is really more avout whos a better tactician than who wastes more of thier time. only being able to bring 8 skills is a good thing it makes create your own method for certain scenarios and keeps the game play fair. and as for people saying it sucks cuz you cant jump, why the heck doese it I love this game I've been playing for almost 2 years now. the PvP is fast and extreme. it is really more avout whos a better tactician than who wastes more of thier time. only being able to bring 8 skills is a good thing it makes create your own method for certain scenarios and keeps the game play fair. and as for people saying it sucks cuz you cant jump, why the heck doese it matter? saying its worse than WoW because you cant jump of cliffs and die is rediculus. besides GW 2 will be out soon and it has a Z axis (jumping) just for you whiny babies. as for me, i doubt ill use it. Expand
  10. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, very addictive, and even after many years after launch, it still has a reason to be played, which is the Hall of Monuments reward system for GW2
  11. May 15, 2012
    10
    Guild Wars was a fantastic game that was well worth it's price. It offers more gameplay and customization than any game of it's peers. It was and forever will be a game that will be notable.
  12. Chimp
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Holy crap.......this game is AMAZING. the graphics look sooo nice and it is quick to install and load times are about 3 seconds. low system requirements, easy gameplay, great teamplay, no fee. an amazing package. my only real complaint is there is not enough difference in how people look, but this could just be the starter in what will be countless expansion packs. and to think i almost Holy crap.......this game is AMAZING. the graphics look sooo nice and it is quick to install and load times are about 3 seconds. low system requirements, easy gameplay, great teamplay, no fee. an amazing package. my only real complaint is there is not enough difference in how people look, but this could just be the starter in what will be countless expansion packs. and to think i almost bought everquest 2!!!!! Expand
  13. PhoenixSet
    May 7, 2005
    10
    This is my first MMORPG and I am glad that I waited! This game is perfect. I am really turned off by a monthly fee, AFTER you spend $50, so this is great. I have no problem buying expansion packs for more content later because I'm sure they will raise the level cap of 20 and will add more professions than just the 6, etc. I think the quest log and the mini-map work perfect together, This is my first MMORPG and I am glad that I waited! This game is perfect. I am really turned off by a monthly fee, AFTER you spend $50, so this is great. I have no problem buying expansion packs for more content later because I'm sure they will raise the level cap of 20 and will add more professions than just the 6, etc. I think the quest log and the mini-map work perfect together, it is so frustrating in some games when all you do is just run around and get lost. I also love how you don't see other players in the fighting maps unless they are in your party. Well, I can go on and on but you all need to get this game now and begin the fun! Expand
  14. BobbyR.
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    I got this game for my birthday and believe me this is a contender for game of the year, it is one of the best games ever and the graphics are absolutley amazing and it works on my 56k dial up without a modem!!
  15. MikeL.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    First of all let me say that I am a very critical gamer. I have played most of the big titles in the MMORPG genre, and I like Guild Wars the best. The skill based system, the lack of a monthly fee, and the beautiful graphics, make Guild Wars a must have in my opinion. Let me qualify my statement by saying that I love PVP. I have never been a fan of tiresome PVE, that leaves you feeling First of all let me say that I am a very critical gamer. I have played most of the big titles in the MMORPG genre, and I like Guild Wars the best. The skill based system, the lack of a monthly fee, and the beautiful graphics, make Guild Wars a must have in my opinion. Let me qualify my statement by saying that I love PVP. I have never been a fan of tiresome PVE, that leaves you feeling like the devs of the game are trying to waste as much of your time as possible. Guild Wars has fast, fun gameplay and the skill based system gives each class limitless build possibilities. The only people I've found that just downright don't like the game are people that hate PVP, or were duped into playing another "pay to play" MMORPG, and are mad Guild Wars took all their players. Expand
  16. Sambo
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Utterly fantastic game. This is the closest I've seen any game come to matching Final Fantasy (not FFXI) for sheer RPG enjoyment! The graphics are insanely good for a game that doesn't need a ludicrous amount of processing power and the speed of the online gameplay is great with very little lag! The sound is nice, the menus work great once you get used to them and apart from the Utterly fantastic game. This is the closest I've seen any game come to matching Final Fantasy (not FFXI) for sheer RPG enjoyment! The graphics are insanely good for a game that doesn't need a ludicrous amount of processing power and the speed of the online gameplay is great with very little lag! The sound is nice, the menus work great once you get used to them and apart from the odd nonce, the game is very friendly. The first party I formed with another player has already forged a good online virtual friendship. I'm only concerned that there might be limited story mode and then a bit of an annoying player v player aspect once you're done. Unless you're part of a huge guild then you might have trouble achieving much from what I've seen. Expand
  17. amac
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    makes me laugh people who think this is a bad game or that wow is better or something, they obviously have not played it for long enough to realise how crack addicted they have, or will become. play this you enjoy it, you dont feel the frantic need to get gear or level or something, very very well made with no fees. (also pvp requires skill :O not just gear imagine that)
  18. MattB.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This is a great game and the GvG and PvP are very enjoyable and easy to get into.
  19. BradG.
    May 12, 2005
    9
    This game is incredible. The graphics, action packed gameplay, and lack of a monthly fee are instant selling points for me. It also sports a 100 hour plot and constantly updated and added mini-quests. The best apsect however are the system requirements. I have a 56 k modem which rarely connects faster than 28.8. Amazingly, after a few moderate loading screens the first time I enter a new This game is incredible. The graphics, action packed gameplay, and lack of a monthly fee are instant selling points for me. It also sports a 100 hour plot and constantly updated and added mini-quests. The best apsect however are the system requirements. I have a 56 k modem which rarely connects faster than 28.8. Amazingly, after a few moderate loading screens the first time I enter a new region there is almost NO lag for me or my team-mates. I am hooked on this game. I really hope the whole "no-monthly-fee" thing catches on. Expand
  20. OkkoS.
    May 14, 2005
    9
    Great game! A lot better than for example diablo and a bit better than WoW...
  21. Morgan
    May 30, 2005
    9
    Thank god I bought this before I made the mistake of buying Dungeon Lords! I've been playing it quite a bit. It plays fine on dial up. The only problem I have is with some of the creature AI (some attack and some don't - you can practically walk right through them) but, other than that, it's a gorgeous, well-balanced game. Another great point is that you can fully control Thank god I bought this before I made the mistake of buying Dungeon Lords! I've been playing it quite a bit. It plays fine on dial up. The only problem I have is with some of the creature AI (some attack and some don't - you can practically walk right through them) but, other than that, it's a gorgeous, well-balanced game. Another great point is that you can fully control the movement and view options. Each skill class has 150 abilities (plus you get 2 classes) so there's plenty of variety. Expand
  22. TK
    May 3, 2005
    9
    Great game! I mean it fits or all people. Hardcore gamers or not...if you wanna play for 30 minutes thats ok you will get stuff done. Simply a great game!! This is just one of those Must Buys for any gamers.
  23. [Anonymous]
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Best MMORPG ever. I have played MMORPGS like WoW and RYL (1 and 2) but they dont even come close to this game. It fixes just about everything that was tedious and or repetitive in recent MMORPS like kill stealing, waiting for quest boss to respawn, and walking for days on end. Great storyline and well built PvP system is only half the fun. Guild vs. guild battles would eat half of my life Best MMORPG ever. I have played MMORPGS like WoW and RYL (1 and 2) but they dont even come close to this game. It fixes just about everything that was tedious and or repetitive in recent MMORPS like kill stealing, waiting for quest boss to respawn, and walking for days on end. Great storyline and well built PvP system is only half the fun. Guild vs. guild battles would eat half of my life easily and the 24-7 tournament against the WORLD is just over the top. This game is well worth your $50. Expand
  24. G.F.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  25. JesperK.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    This game rocks..... Its the best mmorpg i have tried.
  26. RobertG.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    This game rocks. No monthly charges, no hacks, no cheats, player co-op or solo. Ther's something for every gamer in this game.
  27. JC
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    The best thing I can say about this game is that you can't go back to other RPGs? Why? Basically, in everything from Dungeon Seige 2 to Neverwinter Nights you have to manually restore magic and health with potions. In Guild Wars they reegenerate on their own and each class does it differently; warriors get only 2 ranks of mana regen while elementalists get 4. It's much more fun The best thing I can say about this game is that you can't go back to other RPGs? Why? Basically, in everything from Dungeon Seige 2 to Neverwinter Nights you have to manually restore magic and health with potions. In Guild Wars they reegenerate on their own and each class does it differently; warriors get only 2 ranks of mana regen while elementalists get 4. It's much more fun than having to worry about having enough potions because you might have just spent too much money on armour. For the other reaons why GW rocks, just read the reviews. Expand
  28. RobE.
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    A HUGE game, awesomely well done. The developers took the standard online grind and turned it on its head. it cut out a lot of the grind and gave us the freedom to do what we want. After being converted, you'll ask of other MMPORGs: Why can't we teleport between towns? Why is time grinding more important than skill? This game cuts the fat and leaves a lean and enjoyable experience.
  29. RicardoC.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    in terms of pvp is best tham WOW and the other games :), in terms of world the problem is lv-20 lim and is very tiny.
  30. Will
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    Excelent game. One can easilly have upwards of 400 hours of playing time and still not have been to all the places, or tried all the skills, or completed all the quests - that's excelent value for a $45 game with no fees. The game is easy to play, but difficult to master.
  31. RyanW.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    This is an amazingly fun game for a free online experiience. I'd have to say if you are looking for an MMORPG but don't want to pay a monthly fee this is the best one you can get.
  32. BernardB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome & Involving! Been playing it for 18 months now and still love it! Highly recommend all the expansions too!
  33. Alberto
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    This game is THE BEST MMORPG game you can own if you like PVP action and beautiful graphics without big investments to your computers graphic cards. I've been playing this game for over 3 years and I've never been bored. Lore is also great. I suggest this game for everyone!
  34. WilliamG
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    When I first started playing this game, two things rang in my head. One: No Subscription Fees! Two: PVP ZOMG!!! This game is really heavy with PvE and PvP, so you have a good balance of the two. Think of the PvE part as your "training" for the PvP arenas. Most major skills that you obtain are arquired through the PvE portion of the game and usually allow you to experiment with different When I first started playing this game, two things rang in my head. One: No Subscription Fees! Two: PVP ZOMG!!! This game is really heavy with PvE and PvP, so you have a good balance of the two. Think of the PvE part as your "training" for the PvP arenas. Most major skills that you obtain are arquired through the PvE portion of the game and usually allow you to experiment with different environments with monsters that all react differently. PvP is more about preparation rather than running in swinging your hammer ( though that usually works for warriors hehe). Teams in Random Arenas usually never have a good team set up since it is RANDOM. Team Arenas offer the ability of forming a team so you have a tactical advantage since your team SHOULD function as a team but usually doesn't since everyone goes solo and everyone dies and blames the healer in the group (lol). There are more arenas but I'll leave that up to the player. One thing about Prophecies or Guild Wars, is that the original, which is Prophecies, Is VERY long and difficult. If your the type to solo a mmo then you'll have no problem reaching cap. Though you will hate it once you find out that every other enemy is 2 to 10 levels above your maxed level and that you will have to rely on either your henchman (mindless AI) or human players (mindless-at-times-but-better-than-nothing AI) to help you get through a mission or quest or just to reach the next town. And remember, always point fingers at the groups healer for they know what is their job...to keep you alive and then fail miserably and have you start the quest or mission all over again. Overall Guild Wars is good, but not the holy grail of mmos and hey you won't have to worry on paying a fee every month if that's your thing. I give it a 9 since it's what I started on and still enjoy spamming 'WTB UR MUM' on the public channels. Expand
  35. DutyCalls
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    To sum it up quickly, this is the most AMAZING game I've ever played! Looks great, plays well (even on my 2yr old system w/ dialup!), and is a whole lot of fun! After tossing around the idea of paying $15/month for World of Warcraft, I found it refreshing there was a MMORPG with FREE online play. Naturally, I snapped it up ASAP. 283 hours of online play later, I still love this game! To sum it up quickly, this is the most AMAZING game I've ever played! Looks great, plays well (even on my 2yr old system w/ dialup!), and is a whole lot of fun! After tossing around the idea of paying $15/month for World of Warcraft, I found it refreshing there was a MMORPG with FREE online play. Naturally, I snapped it up ASAP. 283 hours of online play later, I still love this game! Now, I'm not one to obsess with something, but this game it totally addicting! My school work & sleep have suffered because of it, but I wouldn Expand
  36. DarceyS.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Love the game. Great game play, and great scenery. No monthly fee just tops it off!
  37. RichardR.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    For people who don't care for the RPG aspect of the game and who are only interested n power gaming, I can understand why they aren't that thrilled with the game. But, my wife and I, who are serious role-players, each got a copy of this the same day a while ago and we haven't looked back. The graphics are stunning as well as the game having a decent storyline so far. Add For people who don't care for the RPG aspect of the game and who are only interested n power gaming, I can understand why they aren't that thrilled with the game. But, my wife and I, who are serious role-players, each got a copy of this the same day a while ago and we haven't looked back. The graphics are stunning as well as the game having a decent storyline so far. Add the fact that there are no monthly fees and there is continual updating going on to add balance to the game and I'd say you have one heck of a product here. We look forward to seeing this universe expand as time goes on and will be loyal fans for quite some time. Expand
  38. MiikaP.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Better then WOW !!! And totally FREE !!!
  39. ErikA.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    The most addicting and most fun MMO I have played yet. This is probably the one and only MMO that has successfully implemented a story into the game. It really feels like you're really taking part in the history and further development of this world. There are tons of quests with a variety of objectives. The graphics are absolutely beautiful. The PvP arena system is quick, easy and The most addicting and most fun MMO I have played yet. This is probably the one and only MMO that has successfully implemented a story into the game. It really feels like you're really taking part in the history and further development of this world. There are tons of quests with a variety of objectives. The graphics are absolutely beautiful. The PvP arena system is quick, easy and fun. I really cannot say enough about how awesome this game is. I only have 2 complaints. My first complaint is some of the people who play the game don't seem to notice that it is an MMO and they're never willing to help anyone unless it's also in their best interests. I actually had someone deny me help on a quest because he didn't have it so he thought it would be a waste of time to help out a fellow player. My other complaint is a very minor one, but it's still there. There are still a couple bugs in the game which need to be worked out and the game needs a little more balancing for the solo players. Seeing as the first complaint has nothing to do with the actual design of the game and the second complaint is so minor that it never really takes away from your amazement from the rest of the game I have to give this game a 10. Simply amazing. Expand
  40. FrogOfWar
    May 10, 2005
    10
    It's what a great game is supposed to be. Fun!
  41. Dan
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Excellent game that resolves numerous MMORPG issues. Graphics are phenominal and bandwidth requirements are incrdibly low. Mission and map design are excellent an overall the game is very addictive. Minor blemishes are more than out weighed by the positive aspects.
  42. Juaks
    May 17, 2005
    10
    This game is marvelous. Astonishing graphics, no lag, runs smooth as silk, deep tactics and Strategy. PvE: Great Story, huge and inmersive world, lots of quests and missions. PvP: Tons of skills and spells to combine, lot of charaters combinations to try. This game is beautiful, fun and no fees. Perfect combo I must say.
  43. JonathanD.
    May 18, 2005
    9
    Guild Wars gets it right by putting emphasis on one thing: fun. The game is a pure, unadulterated great time. Partying up with friends is fun, PvP is AWESOME, and the game has a habit of just drawing you into its world. It's a damn pretty world too, and the fact it runs so well on my aging laptop is a testament to the quality of the engine. Also, I get almost no lag and I'm on Guild Wars gets it right by putting emphasis on one thing: fun. The game is a pure, unadulterated great time. Partying up with friends is fun, PvP is AWESOME, and the game has a habit of just drawing you into its world. It's a damn pretty world too, and the fact it runs so well on my aging laptop is a testament to the quality of the engine. Also, I get almost no lag and I'm on AOL dialup, where my connection is typically 4k/sec. Why don't you have this game already? Expand
  44. ZachW.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This game is great, great online play, just an amazing game.
  45. Brad
    May 22, 2005
    9
    This also was my very first MMPOG because I cannot see paying a monthly for a game regardless of what it offers. I flat out love this game because its amazingly easy to just pick up and play. I have a wife and baby and I still get to enjoy this game without having to spend my life on it to have fun. The pvp is definately awesome and all the impatient whiners out there won't be This also was my very first MMPOG because I cannot see paying a monthly for a game regardless of what it offers. I flat out love this game because its amazingly easy to just pick up and play. I have a wife and baby and I still get to enjoy this game without having to spend my life on it to have fun. The pvp is definately awesome and all the impatient whiners out there won't be disappointed if they just stick it out to get that lvl 20 character. The pvp is insanely fun even moreso than the pve which is top-notch despite some minor quibbles that you've all read about. The one thing that I'm not crazy about is that there really is no sense of community or spirit of helping new people like I've seen in some other games I've played. Now I don't know if its any different in like say WoW or any other mmpog but this game for some reason brings out the selfish moron in alot of people. Even though you can't solo, people seem to just party for themselves and not the party. But when you do get a solid mature party which for me has been more often than not, its really great and well worth it. To date, this has been the best game I have ever played. WoW almost sucked me in.. I almost coughed up a monthly fee for that one and I almost got sucked in by the hype alone, but I guess what turned me off were the cartoony blocky graphics I saw in the screenshots. I read that most people praise that game for its graphics, they just didn't grab me personally. Now if I wouldve been able to play a demo of WoW like I did with GW, then perhaps I would be playing both by now. But GW wins my money and the developers should be praised for putting out such a polished great game that so many people can enjoy regardless of their experience. Expand
  46. AsheD.
    May 28, 2005
    10
    I think it isn't better then WoW but because of the non monthly cost i think guild wars earnd 10 points. the gameplay and the grafic is well. the quest good as well. but WoW makes more fun.
  47. WaloO.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    This is truly an amazing game, I dont base the rating on the fact that its free to play online, but what really kills about this game is its gameplay, gameplay is fun from start and the skill system is pure genius. Leaves room for a lot of strategy planning and combinations (kinda like Magic TG).
  48. ThiagoBertolottiO.
    May 30, 2005
    9
    The only thing I didnt like about this game is the fact that the world is restricted to you and your party. You wont see other players while questing, unless they're in your party, wich means you'll have to enter one of the PVP arenas if you wanna challenge someone. If you love PVP and dont mind paying monthly fees, go for Risk your Life, wich has the best PVP system in my The only thing I didnt like about this game is the fact that the world is restricted to you and your party. You wont see other players while questing, unless they're in your party, wich means you'll have to enter one of the PVP arenas if you wanna challenge someone. If you love PVP and dont mind paying monthly fees, go for Risk your Life, wich has the best PVP system in my oppinion. Now if you're looking for an addictive RPG, balanced economy, awesome graphics and gameplay and what is very curious about this game, there arent many kids playing, wich means its not so hard to have a good conversation or finding help, you'll love this game. I've played all kinds of RPGs so far, from Tibia to WoW, and I can assure you GuildWars is a good reason for you not to pay to play. Expand
  49. WheitMan
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    Great game! *** The Good: - Fun co-op missions - Cool class combinations - Complete class balance - Lush visuals - PvP Only Mode is fun from the get go, even if you don't have everything - No lag / Short load times - When you group you never feel useless - It's free (!!!!) *** The Bad: - First 2-4 hours are typical and simple - Everyone is human - PvP fun can be crushed when you Great game! *** The Good: - Fun co-op missions - Cool class combinations - Complete class balance - Lush visuals - PvP Only Mode is fun from the get go, even if you don't have everything - No lag / Short load times - When you group you never feel useless - It's free (!!!!) *** The Bad: - First 2-4 hours are typical and simple - Everyone is human - PvP fun can be crushed when you run into someone with Epic Abilities (and asses) - I had no idea what was going on until I read the Lore - Movement bugs - People keep using those damned annoying "/scare", etc commands (you'll find out) - Sometimes forces grouping - Hearing "American wins the gods favor" is a little unreal (ironic?) for a fantasy game All in all a great game with many areas to improve upon, but none that make it any less fun. Much more enjoyable than World of Warcraft even if its not as "roleplay-ish." Good investment in time and cash. Expand
  50. MorganC.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This game is perfect. Even if you can't find enough people for a full party, you can top it off with NPC mercenaries. There is a little lag, especially in town, but that could just be my bad computer.
  51. Loth
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    The game is far better than WoW in graphics.. to be honest it just own!
  52. HardcoreCritic
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    I will start stating that according to NC Soft this is the first chapter of the game. IF this IS indeed the first chapter THEN I cannot wait for the next installments, so long as they keep doing an excellent job. Unlike WoW or most MMORPGs, GW has no monthly fees... and is actually a great play. The game skill system and two profession really makes it shine because it means you can I will start stating that according to NC Soft this is the first chapter of the game. IF this IS indeed the first chapter THEN I cannot wait for the next installments, so long as they keep doing an excellent job. Unlike WoW or most MMORPGs, GW has no monthly fees... and is actually a great play. The game skill system and two profession really makes it shine because it means you can balance out your character and still suit your playing style (Unlike WoW whose only powerhouse characters are Shamans and Rogues... bleh!). Warriors are actually real good in this game. And so are the rest of the professions. What downside they have you make up for it with your secondary profession. Warrior has no range? Choose Elementalist or Ranger. Wish your Monk healer could do more then just heal? Get a Mesmer or Necromancer as secondary profession. What's more this games' 8 skill limit allows to create diffrent build strategies. For example I have monk/mesmer and I already have like three builds prepared and more coming in the way as I study the skills and create combos in my 8 skill limit. Kind of like playing Magic with 8 combo cards. This game's graphics are amazing to say the least. GW has a fan. And if their installments make this better they sure won their money here. Expand
  53. Frank
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    The single player/cooperative elements are well done and playing through them to unlock the items and skills for PvP is a good deal of fun. High level content, such as the Underworld and Fissure of Woe keep Role Playing characters fun even after going through the entire linear story, but the major PvP content is what really keeps it fun. Get a guild with some friends and you'll be The single player/cooperative elements are well done and playing through them to unlock the items and skills for PvP is a good deal of fun. High level content, such as the Underworld and Fissure of Woe keep Role Playing characters fun even after going through the entire linear story, but the major PvP content is what really keeps it fun. Get a guild with some friends and you'll be doing Guild vs Guild (8v8) and tournament battels for months to come. Collapse
  54. LeventeS.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME no monthley free is great! Good controls! Great PvE great PvP GREAT graphics GREAT MUSIC a definate 10!
  55. JL
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Why I like this game: 1) You dont grind for hours and hours on end to get capped off and have fun. 2) The Multiplayer is superb. 3) You can still have a social life. 4) Customer support is quick. 5) Free online play.
  56. HugoF.
    May 28, 2006
    9
    i play the guild wars and wow but for me i prefer guild because i think the world of guidl its more intusiastic and more fun play guild of wow and you dont pay anythink to play the best game.... of onlime world.
  57. XandervanDijk
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Best game ever!
  58. PaboloP.
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    I would give it a 100.
  59. PhilipBS
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Amazing. I have been playing Guild Wars since its release, and all i can say is that is has been a really great experience. You pay a one time fee (50§) , for one of the three campaigns (or 30§ for EotN expansion pack) and then you get alot of content, you never really run out of things to do, there are always titles to work on, weapons to get, armor sets, guild, and when you Amazing. I have been playing Guild Wars since its release, and all i can say is that is has been a really great experience. You pay a one time fee (50§) , for one of the three campaigns (or 30§ for EotN expansion pack) and then you get alot of content, you never really run out of things to do, there are always titles to work on, weapons to get, armor sets, guild, and when you are bored of PvE , you can try out the PvP world, though it's very tough to get into as a newbie. I see that many people are turned off by this game because you can't jump, that's just ridiculous, why do you need to jump anyway?, you don't jump in real life either all the time do you? Just my little short review, a great game, should be tried out by everyone. Expand
  60. Hitman61
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Guild wars is the best MMORPG game ever, it is vastly superior to world of warcraft because 1. it has brilliant graphics 2. it doesnt have loads bugs like WOW or frequent patches you have to download everyyime you log in which take hours even with a fast computer and 3. it has a good storyline and far better pvp than WOW so all you retards out there who still play World of warcraft go Guild wars is the best MMORPG game ever, it is vastly superior to world of warcraft because 1. it has brilliant graphics 2. it doesnt have loads bugs like WOW or frequent patches you have to download everyyime you log in which take hours even with a fast computer and 3. it has a good storyline and far better pvp than WOW so all you retards out there who still play World of warcraft go chuck it in the bin and go and buy Guild Wars. Expand
  61. BSG.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best game I have ever played. Tactics and action are both in the nucleus of this game and also graphics are nice.
  62. JohnnyM.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    I remeber when I bought the game... I was just curious what makers of famous Diablo made as a new game. I didnt like at all 8 skill, no concept, where is the fireball? Why cannot i spam it to the death? and so on.... I didnt play it for a year and then I get back... Finally I figured out the concept and it s briliant. Best PvP game ever. Millions of conbination, you can play with all I remeber when I bought the game... I was just curious what makers of famous Diablo made as a new game. I didnt like at all 8 skill, no concept, where is the fireball? Why cannot i spam it to the death? and so on.... I didnt play it for a year and then I get back... Finally I figured out the concept and it s briliant. Best PvP game ever. Millions of conbination, you can play with all people from the world, not just with those you are stuck with on the server. And on top... it s extremly inteligent and balanced! Well done... bring me Guild Wars 2! Expand
  63. XandervanDijk
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Best game ever!
  64. GameWisdom
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    First I'd like to say for all those that rated bad without even beating the game should not even be considered a vote. You actually need to beat the game to get ur droknars armor and be a active guild to truly understand how great it can be. That saying it is not gonna get better than WOW even if its free.
  65. MathewA.
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    Combines some great aspects of single-player rpgs with the best of MMOs, while being the first to have NO MONTHLY FEES! You get far more for your money than any other MMO out there.
  66. SakakiS.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    Not perfect but so much fun, it's addicting... Just can't stop playing!
  67. BarryT.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Definitely the best online RPG out there. it's free and has awesome support and programming. after grinding away in warcraft for hours on end, i tried to jump over a tree, fell into it, and am now stuck there forever until i can persuade one of the 2 people who are in the remote area per day to take 20 minutes out of their lives to come resurrect me. aside from the cost factor, i Definitely the best online RPG out there. it's free and has awesome support and programming. after grinding away in warcraft for hours on end, i tried to jump over a tree, fell into it, and am now stuck there forever until i can persuade one of the 2 people who are in the remote area per day to take 20 minutes out of their lives to come resurrect me. aside from the cost factor, i believe this is a much more fun game with better graphics and a stronger emphasis on the battling, which is why you play, right? Expand
  68. Rich
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    The MMORPG for people who hate MMORPGs :) PvP combat is fast, furious, and visceral - somewhat like a FPS game.
  69. FabriceH.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I got about 1000 hours at it now and i love it. This is one of the best game. Please, never compare World of Warcraft to Guild Wars. These two games are completely different.
  70. [anonymous]
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    GUILD WARS - Ive been in it since the start, cant say as much for WoW since i got bored out of my mind with WoW... GW Ownz... its been 7 months allready of GW and still luv it
  71. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Don't have much to say about Guild Wars. I beta tested it long ago and it didn't fail to impress. Most people who say they hate this game are fanboys of other MMOs which I will not mention, and just don't get the whole concept behind the game. It's not supposed to take months to reach a ridiculously high level, then hours of killing monsters to get ridiculously overpowered weapons andDon't have much to say about Guild Wars. I beta tested it long ago and it didn't fail to impress. Most people who say they hate this game are fanboys of other MMOs which I will not mention, and just don't get the whole concept behind the game. It's not supposed to take months to reach a ridiculously high level, then hours of killing monsters to get ridiculously overpowered weapons and armor. It is meant to be heavily based on tactics and skill. The low level cap and the ability to get "maxed" weapons (weapons with maximum stats for that particular category) about midway through the main story forces players to really build their character with different skills that complement each other, then use them right. If you like grinding, raiding, and games that are based much more on having an incredibly high level or incredibly powerful equipment, Guild Wars is NOT for you. It isn't a perfect game, with limited support and a bit lacking in an MMO feel, but it certainly isn't anything close to a bad game. Expand
  72. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    ive played this game for 6 years now and it has is the game i have played the most my overall game-time is about 130 days. there is so much content to do with all the new expansions and dungeon's the game has very nice graphics considering its so old now and yet i can still say its still one of the best mmo-based games out there and i really cannot wait for Guild wars 2, how ever long it takes.
  73. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Why imo this game is great:
    (1) No monthly fee. If you do the math for other MMO's out there your going to pay a lot more once you start playing for over a year. Which to me, is very short.
    (2) No real grind besides what you choose to grind out, and it has insignificant impact on play. You can grind out titles which do nothing besides increase your e-peen or grind out materials for armor
    Why imo this game is great:
    (1) No monthly fee. If you do the math for other MMO's out there your going to pay a lot more once you start playing for over a year. Which to me, is very short.

    (2) No real grind besides what you choose to grind out, and it has insignificant impact on play. You can grind out titles which do nothing besides increase your e-peen or grind out materials for armor which have no better stats than armor you can get for cheap - again increasing your e-peen but no real benefit other than that.

    (3) No worries about making a mistake with your character - it's very easy to change out what you use. Fitting the no-grind theme of this game.

    (4) Perfect way to deal with death imo - you fail the quest but you don't lose anything like experience or items. Plus you only fail the quest after dying multiple times.

    (5) It's fun!
    Expand
  74. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    I don't regret a minute of time spent in this game. The story is beautiful, the PvE is rich in content, and the community is excellent. The game offers so much versatility as well, with any class being able to take on the role of another with builds. The PvP is by far the best I've ever seen. All in all, it's a masterpiece. The only problem as of now is the community is a little on theI don't regret a minute of time spent in this game. The story is beautiful, the PvE is rich in content, and the community is excellent. The game offers so much versatility as well, with any class being able to take on the role of another with builds. The PvP is by far the best I've ever seen. All in all, it's a masterpiece. The only problem as of now is the community is a little on the dead side due to it's awful sequel. Expand
  75. ColadaO.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    Awesome game. I used to play runescape, and I was lvl 78, and i quit. So i was good, and still quit for guild wars. i love this game, and the missions are awesome. Its cool how they made factions, so theres even more to do when u beat tyria.
  76. AlexB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Best online game I have ever played. Better than WoW, Diablo 2, Warcraft III, and starcraft. engaging and addictive. Can't get enough of it!
  77. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Good game with its pros and cons. Pros, The game looks great and plays well. The storyline is interesting and the quest are standard MMO type quest so you won't get lost. Only having 8 skills might turn some people away but with all the skills you get over the game you can make different and unique builds to match your style of play. You also can't forget you don't have to pay monthly forGood game with its pros and cons. Pros, The game looks great and plays well. The storyline is interesting and the quest are standard MMO type quest so you won't get lost. Only having 8 skills might turn some people away but with all the skills you get over the game you can make different and unique builds to match your style of play. You also can't forget you don't have to pay monthly for this game so if you stop playing and want to come back you can at anytime. Cons. The instanced world can be very dull if you don't find other people to play with and the PVP can get annoying at times. Expand
  78. GToews
    May 6, 2004
    10
    I'm an Alpha Tester for this game, and I can tell you from my own experiences that this game will totally rock your world. I've watched as the staff at ArenaNet busily work toward the big "E3 for Everyone" demo I'm sure you've already downloaded the installer for, and I see so many great additions that my jaw literally drops.

    G.Toews
    http://guildwars.rpgstars.com
  79. EmanuelS.
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    An incredible game. I have played many action/RPGs and none of them was nearly as good as this.
  80. JoshuaG.
    May 5, 2005
    9
    I had very high hopes before I bought this game based on what I hear in assorted forums and on what I read about the games and the type of playing style it presents. Once I got it and put it in, I was a bit underwhelmed. It seemed like it was just a pretty game with little actual substance. This changed within a couple hours of play. An event called the Searing- this is not a spoiler as I had very high hopes before I bought this game based on what I hear in assorted forums and on what I read about the games and the type of playing style it presents. Once I got it and put it in, I was a bit underwhelmed. It seemed like it was just a pretty game with little actual substance. This changed within a couple hours of play. An event called the Searing- this is not a spoiler as it's in the frickin' game manual- changes the challenge level and removes the "fetch this item" quests that plagued the first hour or so. This game is full of enjoyable experiences, but it must be said that the field that it completely revolutionizes is PvP. The team-based PvP experience is so unlike those of other games as to render comparisons useless. Teamwork and strategy are emphasized, preventing the game from becoming an exercise is overcoming level differences. This game is excellent. If you take the time to read the comment below the lower reviews yyou will find that they have been placed there by people who either a) offered no reasons for their low score or b) based it off something other than the game itself, like the fact that they did not understand the pre-order system and how it would be put into effect. This game offers a huge amount of very enjoyable playtime and is well worth the price of admission. Have fun, guys. Expand
  81. BenB.
    Apr 30, 2005
    9
    Well, it's easily as good as the majority of MMO's so far. The graphics are striking, the game has no monthly fees, the interface is incredibly simple and intuitive and my character looks like the guy from Princess Bride, so I'm happy! I've been playing for a couple of hours and am not hardcore by any stretch, so I'm unsure about how long people would play it for, Well, it's easily as good as the majority of MMO's so far. The graphics are striking, the game has no monthly fees, the interface is incredibly simple and intuitive and my character looks like the guy from Princess Bride, so I'm happy! I've been playing for a couple of hours and am not hardcore by any stretch, so I'm unsure about how long people would play it for, compared to a game like WoW. But if you're after an MMO, can't (or don't want to) afford a tenner a month and have the 17-odd quid that you can pick it up for at the cheaper websites, you can't go far wrong. It's certainly going to have more life that your usual RPG and if all else fails, get everyone dancing! Best dancing animations ever! Expand
  82. AnonymousMC
    May 9, 2005
    9
    I'm glad I waited for a free MMORPG. This game is great and has a lot of great features. I like the aspect where you actually have to find materials to buy items. The proffession skills are great but the elementalist and mesmer are a bit overpowered in Arena mode. I haven't tried PVP yet but I intend to. The only thing I found unappealing was the max level of 20. This is becauseI'm glad I waited for a free MMORPG. This game is great and has a lot of great features. I like the aspect where you actually have to find materials to buy items. The proffession skills are great but the elementalist and mesmer are a bit overpowered in Arena mode. I haven't tried PVP yet but I intend to. The only thing I found unappealing was the max level of 20. This is because many other great RPGs, not necessarily online, like Morrowind, give you the ability to get to a high level. I hope an expaqnsion is in the making phase because I want to see where this great game goes. i do agree with the Battle.net remark though. The towns are like big servers. But it does encourage you to make friends. Expand
  83. de
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    It is the best game ever.
  84. Mobius
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Very good game with plenty of hours gameplay and fantastic graphics and to top it of NO MONTHLY FEE. It just goes to show that you dont need great big servers and a £10 monthly fee to play a great MMORPG.
  85. GregZ.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  86. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    I have had hours of fun with this game. It is beautifully atmospheric, has a good story, and a combat system capable of enormous sophistication. The world it creates feels very real and I actually cared about its fate.
  87. May 17, 2012
    10
    I wish Diablo 3 was this good. Massive world, every innovative play. Zero grinding, one of the best mmo ever made. Many many korean mmo copied guild war's style.
  88. May 18, 2012
    9
    This game was my first MMO and level 20 with all the expansions. As the years went on (maybe I put 400 hours into this game, or 500 but no more), the graphics got a little old and the gameplay not as fun; however, the hooks from this game was already in pretty deep. GW2 beta was more fun than GW the first time I played it. I've never played WoW. Learning all the new builds really wasThis game was my first MMO and level 20 with all the expansions. As the years went on (maybe I put 400 hours into this game, or 500 but no more), the graphics got a little old and the gameplay not as fun; however, the hooks from this game was already in pretty deep. GW2 beta was more fun than GW the first time I played it. I've never played WoW. Learning all the new builds really was enjoyable, esp. all the necro. stuff with your heroes. I didn't play PvP much; I'm sure I was one of the rare people who didn't like it that much. Expand
  89. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    All has been said in varied reviews about GW. All I can tell you is from 2005 up until now I've played for 7600+ hours. That's approximately 320 full days over a 7 year span. The only games that got me engaged in the past are Sword of Fargoal on the CBM64, Dungeon Master (and Chaos Strikes Back) by FTL on the Atari ST. I hope that ArenaNet never pulls the plug on it.
  90. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    This game is an art. In combinations with all the 3 addons it deserves a much better succes and attention: The graphic is written geniously: beautiful and great performance. The gameplay gives you so many possiblities: great. And in the beginning it is easy to understand. So you see, the old easy to learn, hard to master principle. The idea of gathering all the players together to a townThis game is an art. In combinations with all the 3 addons it deserves a much better succes and attention: The graphic is written geniously: beautiful and great performance. The gameplay gives you so many possiblities: great. And in the beginning it is easy to understand. So you see, the old easy to learn, hard to master principle. The idea of gathering all the players together to a town and let them group there to go through an instance is simply perfect. The campaing is great, I could stop to play, just to know, what happens next. The music is great too. I dont see any weaknesses in this game (dont forget, the game has 3 addons, that improves the basic game too) Expand
  91. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I played this game for years and enjoyed every moment of it. It plays a bit differently than other MMOs, because it is designed to prevent grinding, trolling, imbalance, and various other negative factors that typically plague online games.
  92. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Whenever I try out a new mmo the first thing I do is compare it to Guild Wars. That is how much of an impact this game left on me. I picked it up within a few months of it having came out and played it for YEARS. I had thousands of hours logged into this game, and STILL can't help but log on every once in a while to take a trip down memory lane. The game is of course very dated and I can'tWhenever I try out a new mmo the first thing I do is compare it to Guild Wars. That is how much of an impact this game left on me. I picked it up within a few months of it having came out and played it for YEARS. I had thousands of hours logged into this game, and STILL can't help but log on every once in a while to take a trip down memory lane. The game is of course very dated and I can't play it with the fervor that I used to, but it is still the mold with which I compare every mmo I come across. Hopefully soon a game will come which will match or surpass my image of it. Expand
  93. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt, the best MMORPG I have played to date (although technically not actually an MMORPG).

    The graphics are gorgeous. There is an endless variety of character skillset possibilities due to the hundreds and hundreds of skills available for each character profession. This means you can never bore of the gameplay, and if you are into PVP it becomes a constantly changing arena
    Without a doubt, the best MMORPG I have played to date (although technically not actually an MMORPG).

    The graphics are gorgeous.

    There is an endless variety of character skillset possibilities due to the hundreds and hundreds of skills available for each character profession. This means you can never bore of the gameplay, and if you are into PVP it becomes a constantly changing arena involving teams changing/trialing new and progressively more creative builds to counter the currently winning team's build. Testing builds yourself to try and beat certain enemies/bosses, or solo certain areas is always a fun and rewarding experience.

    The game is complex, but not enough for the learning curve to be huge. The game itself is simple enough to learn to play, the challenge instead comes in learning how to play well.

    The map is huge, especially when combined with its expansions, and you will never run out of things to do.

    The game is free to play, and does not reward players who play for hours on end over those who are more casual. Everyone has access to gear with the same stats, the hardcore players simply pay extra in order to look better than everyone else. This was one of my favourite features about guild wars, especially over guild wars 2, which instead opts to reward hardcore players with a slight edge in stats over ordinary players due to their extensive playtimes.

    I only managed to stop playing this game after my computer crashed, for which I was grateful because this game genuinely ends up taking a large chunk of your life away. These days i play guild wars 2 instead, which is very fun and has stunning graphics, but feels very simple in comparison, especially in PvP due to the very limited skills available and lack of customisation.
    Expand
  94. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    This is the game that actually got me hooked on video games. I would watch my sister and her boyfriend play, and I fell in love. I loved the graphics, the ability to explore, and the storyline. Unlike a lot of other MMORPGs , you don't have to pay a monthly fee after you purchase the game. Also, you have the ability to play by yourself, and don't have to depend on others to get throughThis is the game that actually got me hooked on video games. I would watch my sister and her boyfriend play, and I fell in love. I loved the graphics, the ability to explore, and the storyline. Unlike a lot of other MMORPGs , you don't have to pay a monthly fee after you purchase the game. Also, you have the ability to play by yourself, and don't have to depend on others to get through the game. Expand
  95. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    The first MMO I ever played way back in 2005. It is hands down my favorite game to this day. Everything from the story, the character attributes, skill/spell diversity, pvp, seasonal events, side quests, and community gave me some really fun memories. This game will always be special to me.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. It’s impossible to describe the joy playing Guild Wars offers. It isn’t particularly deep, but it’s highly rewarding nonetheless. A friendly design and interface, and the simple, elegant combat, are bound to appeal to a wide range of gamers.
  2. It innovatively and successfully combines many of the best, most addictive properties of action RPGs, online RPGs, and competitive multiplayer games in one beautifully produced package, which offers a tremendous lasting value yet none of the monthly fees typically associated with online-only games.
  3. If tedious leveling up, dull combat, or uninspired player vs. player gaming are your quibbles with today's massively multiplayer offerings, Guild Wars is the cure.