• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guild Wars takes the best elements of today's massively multiplayer online games and combines them with a new mission-based design that eliminates the tedium of those games. You can meet new friends in towns or outposts, form a party, and then go tackle a quest together. Your party always has its own unique copy of the quest map, so camping, kill-stealing, and long lines to complete quests are all things of the past. Within a quest you have unprecedented freedom and power to manipulate the world around you: your magic can build bridges and open up new pathways, or it can burn down forests and tear the ground asunder. You don't have to spend countless hours on a leveling treadmill to get to the interesting parts of the game, because combat is designed to be strategically interesting and challenging right from the beginning. You don't have to spend hours running around the world to prepare for a quest, because Guild Wars allows you to instantly travel to the beginning of any quest that you've previously unlocked. You'll never spend days playing only to discover that choices you made early on have left you with a permanently uncompetitive character, because the unique skill system in Guild Wars allows infinite experimentation but doesn't allow bad decisions to ruin a character. And you'll never meet new players only to discover that you can't play with them or compete against them because their characters are on a different server than yours; in Guild Wars, all characters live in one seamless world. [NCsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We were overwhelmed by the huge range of top-quality gameplay that's available here for $49.99 (USD) with no online fees.
  2. One of the best MMORPGs on the market today. Whether you are drawn in by the unique guild system, the intense PvP battles, or the even the visually stunning graphics, any gamer can find a reason to play Guild Wars.
  3. Masterfully blends the best of MMORPGs and collectible card games into a unique and enjoyable online gaming experience.
  4. It’s impossible to describe the joy playing Guild Wars offers. It isn’t particularly deep, but it’s highly rewarding nonetheless. A friendly design and interface, and the simple, elegant combat, are bound to appeal to a wide range of gamers.
  5. You don't need to be an experienced MMO player to have fun with this game, and you don't need a beast of a PC to run the game smoothly. [July 2005, p.80]
  6. Just don't go into it expecting to satisfy your raging leveling and loot addictions. [July 2005, p.124]
  7. At its best only when the structure is there to support it. Find eight people to play with regularly, and invest in voice communications to streamline tactical discussions, and Guild Wars offers an intelligent and demanding thrill - bringing the best of the skill and strategy of FPS deathmatches to the grandeur of a role-playing world. [Aug 2005, p.88]

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 138
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in my life. The company (ArenaNet) took some chances with this game. They went for a bit of a different skill/attribute set and a lot of other things. They really stepped out of the comfort zone and threw away the traditional MMORPG **** And guess what, it worked well. There were a few dull areas but those were overthrown by the glorious rest of the game. The missions were fun and enticing, the gear was visually appealing and could parts mixed and matched. The graphics were very good for a companies very first game. At release this game was magnificent, the cities were overflowing with people and the PvP arenas was a place to be. Now, not so much. The game has aged and the majority of players can be seen on the later expansion packs or winds of change one of the newer updates. So in all honesty, I wouldn't purchase the game based on those facts. Wait for Guild Wars 2, which still has no monthly fee. That game will be well worth the wait. Expand
  2. DarceyS.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Love the game. Great game play, and great scenery. No monthly fee just tops it off!
  3. Alberto
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    This game is THE BEST MMORPG game you can own if you like PVP action and beautiful graphics without big investments to your computers graphic cards. I've been playing this game for over 3 years and I've never been bored. Lore is also great. I suggest this game for everyone! Expand
  4. BradG.
    May 12, 2005
    9
    This game is incredible. The graphics, action packed gameplay, and lack of a monthly fee are instant selling points for me. It also sports a 100 hour plot and constantly updated and added mini-quests. The best apsect however are the system requirements. I have a 56 k modem which rarely connects faster than 28.8. Amazingly, after a few moderate loading screens the first time I enter a new region there is almost NO lag for me or my team-mates. I am hooked on this game. I really hope the whole "no-monthly-fee" thing catches on. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Why imo this game is great:
    (1) No monthly fee. If you do the math for other MMO's out there your going to pay a lot more once you start
    playing for over a year. Which to me, is very short.

    (2) No real grind besides what you choose to grind out, and it has insignificant impact on play. You can grind out titles which do nothing besides increase your e-peen or grind out materials for armor which have no better stats than armor you can get for cheap - again increasing your e-peen but no real benefit other than that.

    (3) No worries about making a mistake with your character - it's very easy to change out what you use. Fitting the no-grind theme of this game.

    (4) Perfect way to deal with death imo - you fail the quest but you don't lose anything like experience or items. Plus you only fail the quest after dying multiple times.

    (5) It's fun!
    Expand
  6. matteldstrom
    Feb 12, 2005
    8
    extremely good game. how ever i have not yet seen anything that resembles a p2p marketplace, bazza, or even a auction house. everquest has one and its deadly for getting new weapons and armor etc. graphics are awsome, gameplay is awsome, tournament style gameplay is REALLY awsome, i wasn't able to figure out how to make anything however. But of course i have only played the beta-verison but hopefully they will spend more time on building up the tradeskills department. im excited for the release of this game! Expand
  7. DanielM.
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    This is a pathetic game, how it won best MMORPG over Warcraft is beyond me. This just shows that this "best games of 2005" has no credibility. Im sure the 100 or so people playing GuildWars would agree though. Collapse

See all 138 User Reviews