Guns of Icarus Online PC

Guns of Icarus Online Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at ourGuns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at our beautiful teaser and find out more about the game. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    87
    Guns of Icarus is an outstanding example of how a kickstarter project can be the new revolution of PC gaming. The skirmish mode is a brilliant teamplay/deathmatch battle arena and we are waiting for the promising adventure mode.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    73
    Despite its visual beauty and impressive execution, limited gameplay and general bugginess hold everything back. This beast has room to grow. When it does, expect great things. For now, a little turbulence makes for a bumpy ride.
  3. May 19, 2013
    65
    There is some fun to be had with this game, and there is definitely a lot of potential given how the game is still evolving even though you can play it now.
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    60
    Sadly, the truly unique quality of proper airship-to-airship combat can't justify all blemishes that come with Guns of Icarus Online. It would simply be deceitful for this reviewer to say there aren't better, free, and readily accessible alternatives.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    It's good to see there are still developers who dare to try something different. Because let's be honest..how many zeppelin sims are out there now? Exactly. Guns of Icarus Online offers a fun concept, working together with some random players on a flying fortress, trying to defend it from other, similar foes. Bugs and lag cause major disappointment however. That's a shame, because the idea is great. Let's hope a great amount of patches will deal with these problems.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    55
    Guns of Icarus Online is in every way, shape and form better than its predecessor, but doesn't escape the fact that its gameplay concept won't stay interesting for long. The slow airships and open levels make for limited tactics and slow-paced fights. It isn't bad by any means, but just isn't interesting for long enough.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    51
    After all the Call of Dutys, Medal of Honors and Battlefields this is… different and kind of interesting. But nonetheless I don't see enough reasons to spend more time with this steampunk sleeping pill than necessary.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Truly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers haveTruly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers have been craving for. This game shines when it is played with friends as crew. Collapse
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Guns of Icarus is very different from any game out there, because of that it goes into the love it or hate it kind of category. It isGuns of Icarus is very different from any game out there, because of that it goes into the love it or hate it kind of category. It is important however to note that unless you are playing with people you know and communicating with, it can be quite frustrating. The dev team stated that they wanted the game to be the most co-op game ever, and they succeeded. If you team isn't working together then you will probably lose, unless the other team is as unorganized. That said, it is an amazing game experience you can't get anywhere else. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this game and no matter what critics think i will always love it. its got great unique game play. The Co op is brilliantI absolutely love this game and no matter what critics think i will always love it. its got great unique game play. The Co op is brilliant with friends or alone and no matter what position you pick the game you play will be completely different. Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Great little team work pvp game, the nature of the floating platforms means you need a fair bit of skill to hit your target and a very goodGreat little team work pvp game, the nature of the floating platforms means you need a fair bit of skill to hit your target and a very good pilot to keep you steady its quite superb Expand
  5. May 20, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic team based game. The way you have to work together with your drew to win against your opponents is done very well. TheThis is a fantastic team based game. The way you have to work together with your drew to win against your opponents is done very well. The graphics are beautiful, this game achieves an amazing feel of a steampunk world. The community is also great, people are very friendly and willing to help teach you to improve. Playing with friends is a major plus but not necessary. The developers also listen to the players and are always working on more content for the game. The only this that has kept me from giving this a 10/10 is that there are some improvements that could be made to the lobby system, like the ability to make parties with friends and queue up together, but that is it really. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    Guns of icarus is a very good co-op game that needs communication. The fact that you will be part of a crew of 5 ( i think ) is a very goodGuns of icarus is a very good co-op game that needs communication. The fact that you will be part of a crew of 5 ( i think ) is a very good factor. Communication in this game is the key to win. The Leader will pilot the ship whilst the powder monkeys will manage the guns and the engineers will repair any damaged parts. The only flaw of the game is there are different game modes but they are all identical (You just have to destroy destroy destroy) Its not a boring game at all, but it gets a bit repetitive. One more thing is that players can freely quit the game without any penalty. Graphics are very detailed, you could also customize your character for show. My conclusion: It is a very fun game, good communication system ( you just have to press x to talk ), good for co-op people, but just a bit repetitive. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    This game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then IThis game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then I troubleshooted. I turned of Windows Firewall, opened the right UDP ports, re-installed the game, and I tried to get in the lobby probably 15 times overall. I looked on the forums. I sent an email to the developers about it (who care about their customers and respond to everyone) but they were unable to help me. They wanted me to do a bunch of stuff in order to see what the problem could be. I have never actually played the game and it has caused me at least an hour of trouble. I don't have ANY time for that, and I never want to set foot on a game made by these people ever again. A game needs to work- and this game won't. Unacceptable. This game deserves my zero star rating. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews