Half-Life 2: Episode One PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2298 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichL.
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    Its half-life 2 expanded... a little bit. some new ways to play, some new graphics. but it is way too short, leaving you at a cliff hanger after about 2-3 hours of play. For 20$ this should have been much much more.
  2. SimeonM.
    Oct 4, 2007
    4
    I've just played through this game, so here are my fresh impressions. Positive: - a lot of new puzzles and ideas - some new enemies - I kind of liked the zombie chapter for finally giving some real use to the flashlight. Negative - No strong atmosphere/immersion, at least for me. HL2 was way better in that respect - Story can be summed up in about three sentences - Music doesn't I've just played through this game, so here are my fresh impressions. Positive: - a lot of new puzzles and ideas - some new enemies - I kind of liked the zombie chapter for finally giving some real use to the flashlight. Negative - No strong atmosphere/immersion, at least for me. HL2 was way better in that respect - Story can be summed up in about three sentences - Music doesn't do anything to create an atmosphere either, and is just used to underline dramatic scenes. That was a problem in HL2 as well. - Alyx praises you for every lame and obvious solution you come up with - Important areas with gates feel confining. If you're worried the player will miss something important, just use a cutscene! What's the use in "don't take control from the player" if you then confine him to a small room and want him to look at a specific thing? Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    Running through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't makeRunning through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't make the gameplay any more exciting. There's really nothing creditble about this game. Expand
  4. RobertB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    20$ for some maps and cutscenes? this takes halflife2 further and further away from halflife1 style and closer to counterstrike. be prepared for the rat race, cuz thats what you are gonna be doing in your gaming experience. looks like its going to be time to avoid the haflife series.
  5. Joe
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    Rubbish. A short piece of extremely linear gameplay such that you might think it had been cut from HL:2. No challenges and underwelming set pieces. Didn't feel like an exploration. Alyx is a pointless, characterless companion. Come on, nothing happened, nothing new was revealed
  6. KongFu
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    Well, what can I say about it? I can not find the feeling from playing Half-Life 2 when 2 years ago... The Episode is a failure, a trap that sucks up your money... Valve, if you like the way of making game like Episode 1... Make some more....and remember, they should be FREE but not $20.00.
  7. TerenceC.
    Jun 10, 2006
    1
    all the same weapons from Half-Life 2, no new ones, only one new enemy creature, and well zombines are a disappointment, there's only 2-4 hours of gameplay, so it's not worth $20 very disappointed with you valve.
  8. Martin
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours gameplay. this is the last time valve get anything more from me. Goodbuy Valve software and good luck in ripping off all those people out there with your episodic gaming. Expand
  9. TSeckerson
    Jul 7, 2006
    3
    I'm sure it would be a very good game if you could get it to load. I have had it for 3 days know, spending hours on it tring to get it to load. All I keep getting is an error saying, "hl2.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." I'm ready to try and return it today!
  10. JonH.
    Aug 9, 2006
    3
    Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will end up costing about $100.00, sort it out valve its not fair! Expand
  11. FranciscoMartinez
    Apr 5, 2007
    1
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles. Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ? Well, this is just
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles.
    Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ?
    Well, this is just what happens with Episode 1 and Valve's much hyped Source engine. No matter how beautiful is that Mercedes, or how touted is that Airbus 340, you don't want to buy such a piece of crap. Whereas this not true for a Mercedes or an Airbus plane, it's exactly what happens with this game.
    See for yourself at :
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500297
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Source_engine#Common_issues
    Expand
  12. Jason
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the money...i will not buy Episode 2...as i understand it to is only about 5hrs long...woo...Please give us something with a decent amount of substance Valve...Not a bunch of episodes that are supposed to resemble a full game. Expand
  13. AdamTominoio
    May 7, 2006
    2
    This Game Was Complete Cr*p and not just that, the graphics on this game could be done by a 12 year old, im not joking, my son is making a mod for half life 2 with better deatil then this game, please valve, steam and all that, give us a game we can ENJOY!
  14. DanB.
    Jun 1, 2006
    4
    The game was fun felt like a good mod. It took me four hours to finish this game, and I took my time to look around. For the price of $20 there should at least be six to eight hours of game play. I mean four hours. Give me a break. After buying sin I should have known better than to spent another $20 on this episode. Remember when they made expansion packs for nine dollars more that had The game was fun felt like a good mod. It took me four hours to finish this game, and I took my time to look around. For the price of $20 there should at least be six to eight hours of game play. I mean four hours. Give me a break. After buying sin I should have known better than to spent another $20 on this episode. Remember when they made expansion packs for nine dollars more that had twelve or more hours of game play. This episodic thing is a joke and rip-off. Expand
  15. SubversiveTrooper
    Jun 1, 2006
    2
    This game is not worth it. It is far too short. People beat this in 2:30. There are much better games. A must have is Guild Wars. Half-Life 2 is horrible and I am starting to wonder if Valve is till alive cause of a mod they aquired a long time ago????? CS... CS made Valve what they are today, and they sure have more to buy... By the looks of Half-Life EP 1 at 2:30, Half-Life 3 should be This game is not worth it. It is far too short. People beat this in 2:30. There are much better games. A must have is Guild Wars. Half-Life 2 is horrible and I am starting to wonder if Valve is till alive cause of a mod they aquired a long time ago????? CS... CS made Valve what they are today, and they sure have more to buy... By the looks of Half-Life EP 1 at 2:30, Half-Life 3 should be outsourced. 2/10 Expand
  16. thestory
    Jun 20, 2006
    1
    Remember when you spent £40 on Half-Life2 and you played it to the end only to feel completly ripped off because the ending was just plain crap. well guess what you can now spend another £20 to see how they all survive. this time around this episode does not want to let you aff the tracks as you are guided without any freedom to do anything else through this realy short add on.Remember when you spent £40 on Half-Life2 and you played it to the end only to feel completly ripped off because the ending was just plain crap. well guess what you can now spend another £20 to see how they all survive. this time around this episode does not want to let you aff the tracks as you are guided without any freedom to do anything else through this realy short add on. you would think that they should have at least thrown in half-life source as part of the package but all you are offered is halflife 2 multiplayer and if you own HL2 it means you have the multiplayer game anyway. For the price they are asking you will feel let down and to realy rub salt into your already open wounds you are stuck with your retail copy as you cant trade it in. After valve screwed vivendi over you would think that they would sell the game fo a cheaper price because they got rid of the middle man, NO!! all Valve did was to assorb the extra money. ill Bet you all my complete game collection that after Mr Freeman gets to Episode III your gonna be left with another complete crap ending suggesting that the story will continue into Half-Life 3 and will also be followed by a further 3 exspansion packs, you all should all be ashamed for allowing episodic to get a foot hold because this will now give the go ahead for other software houses to rip us all off. Expand
  17. GeneT.
    Jun 29, 2006
    3
    Its just same as b4 only new is co-op with alyx till the whole game finish,sad nothing improves.
  18. PieterJ.
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILER***] Where do all these positive comments come from? Does Valve hire or pay people to rate this game with an average of 9?!? Come on! This can't be serious. Any (even just a little experienced) gamer who actually played this game must be disappointed. All the people I have spoken to in my neighbourhood think alike and somehow all the people here are EP1-addicted/fanatics?[***SPOILER***] Where do all these positive comments come from? Does Valve hire or pay people to rate this game with an average of 9?!? Come on! This can't be serious. Any (even just a little experienced) gamer who actually played this game must be disappointed. All the people I have spoken to in my neighbourhood think alike and somehow all the people here are EP1-addicted/fanatics? Where have you all been in the past few years? When you rate this EP1 with a 10 what were CoD (2), Battlefield (2), F.E.A.R. and HL2 then.....a 25??! Yes the graphics are great, just as they were in HL2 (ok HDR is added and it does look nice, but it's not that much of a difference). The weapons are ok....and exactly the same as in HL2. The monsters are ok....just as they were in HL2. Well, they did add one whole new monster. Some 'genious' used almost a year to come up with a....ZOMBIE! It's just a fatter and faster version of the standard-zombie from HL2. How refreshing. Did they become smarter? No...not at all. They just come rushing towards you. It feels like my duty to inform potential buyers. PLEASE go and play the game at a store or at an friends place. It surely ain't worth the $20,-. Even at 'difficult' you will probably be able to end this game in about 2-3 hours. Do you pay for an superb new concept with fantastic eyecandy, great gameplay and AI? No....you pay $20,- for 3 hours 'more of the same'. Please Valve: Stop just making money....start making great games/expansions again. Expand
  19. Bodiddly
    Jun 7, 2006
    4
    Much of the same, for 20 notes, a bit of a ripp off me thinks. not gonna bother with the next installment feel ripped off...so for 4 hours gameplay you spend 20, the nxt installment will probably be another 4 hours another 20...valve r gonna milk this :(
  20. Wasteofmoney
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    Good add on, but not worthy of price tag, should have been a free download..for only 3 hours of gameplay, play eve, or wow instead, at leat you dont feel conned buy the charges..here i did..aint gonna buy the nxt one not worth it.
  21. MrG.Freeman
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    WTF. wel it dont continue straight off from the final scene of HL2. You should all be ashamed of yourselves for spending £20 on this. I will admit that HL2 was a good game but they screwed it up with all that online activation stuff and the fact that you cant trade it in when you finished it. I am totally against this episode thing as all they have to do know is very little in the WTF. wel it dont continue straight off from the final scene of HL2. You should all be ashamed of yourselves for spending £20 on this. I will admit that HL2 was a good game but they screwed it up with all that online activation stuff and the fact that you cant trade it in when you finished it. I am totally against this episode thing as all they have to do know is very little in the way of the development of the game, and charging £20 for 2 hours worth of gameplay ( 3 hours if you take your time) is just to expensive. i would give this game a higher score if the price for episode gaming was a relistic £6.99 then i would be happy to hand over my money. i mean i pay £5.99 for my PC Gamer mag and i get many hours of fun sitting on the toilet having a dump while reading but £20 for a game that is using the original HL2 engine with no major tweeks. £20 just aint worth it concidering you are stuck with it for the rest of valves life. if i could trade it in when i had finished with it maybe i would hav given in a higher score. ( and yes i know you can pick it up a little cheaper over the net but its still way over priced for 2 hours gameplay) Regards Mr G Freeman Expand
  22. RetR.
    Jul 4, 2006
    0
    Amazing.
  23. ShodenB.
    Oct 20, 2007
    3
    I've been waiting for the first and second episodes of HL2 but it was a very big disappointment.. Graphics: Same graphics that has been used in HL2 which is very old compare to the new next-gen games. (GoW, GRAW 1 - 2, Darkness, Call of Duty 4, ...etc) Gameplay: Pretty same as the old HL2.. no improvement at all. I got really bored after playing it for around 3 hours trying to see I've been waiting for the first and second episodes of HL2 but it was a very big disappointment.. Graphics: Same graphics that has been used in HL2 which is very old compare to the new next-gen games. (GoW, GRAW 1 - 2, Darkness, Call of Duty 4, ...etc) Gameplay: Pretty same as the old HL2.. no improvement at all. I got really bored after playing it for around 3 hours trying to see how long it'll be the same old game. Throughing balls in the first mission kinda sucks and repeating it sucks more. In the second mission it's all "dark" and very minimal ammo has been giving. Also, the same NPCs already been reused again. Sound: Reused sound from the previous HL2. Nothing new about it. Last comment. Episode one is really disappointment in my opinion hence they didn't add anything except new areas. (same old environments) Expand
  24. NB
    Jun 12, 2006
    0
    I saw here that some wrote "you won't be disapointed"..... well... they were wrong. this is the biggesty waste of $20 since.... um... there never has been a bigger waste of $20! Come on! it only has ~5 levels! there is nothing new. no new guns, no new enemies (except the zombines) the only thing new was the levels, which mostly sucked. who wants to just use the gravity gun for theI saw here that some wrote "you won't be disapointed"..... well... they were wrong. this is the biggesty waste of $20 since.... um... there never has been a bigger waste of $20! Come on! it only has ~5 levels! there is nothing new. no new guns, no new enemies (except the zombines) the only thing new was the levels, which mostly sucked. who wants to just use the gravity gun for the whole first level! i got enough of that in HL2! Expand
  25. ReneMaes
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    What is the use to vote here if you don't publish real clients opinions? I don't see my comments about the dreadfull "memory could not be read" error I posted days ago. I know I did: Prepay, wait for 2 weeks, download for hours, play none! Now have done all that is suggested on the Valve FAQ including flashing a more recent Bios with no avail. I can't even be critic,What is the use to vote here if you don't publish real clients opinions? I don't see my comments about the dreadfull "memory could not be read" error I posted days ago. I know I did: Prepay, wait for 2 weeks, download for hours, play none! Now have done all that is suggested on the Valve FAQ including flashing a more recent Bios with no avail. I can't even be critic, positive or negative, about EP1. I simply can't play it (while I can play HL2 without probs). 20$ in the bin. Thanks Valve. Will remember. Expand
  26. BellinoP.
    Jun 2, 2006
    0
    Way to little content for Way too much Money. Don't fall for this rip off like I did.
  27. RachaelA.
    Jun 22, 2006
    3
    What was that? A few logic puzzles and an hour of gameplay?! (half of which you only have the gravity gun) They will have to do a LOT better than this if valve wants anymore of my money. I had more fun playing Lost Coast, and it was almost as long as "episode" one! If you havent bought yet vote with your dollars, I cant recommend this "episode" for any reason.
  28. T.S.
    Jun 24, 2006
    1
    very unhappy with the game. very small / short, nothing is accomplished in episode 1 a waste of 20 bucks in my opinion. No improvements to game play, weapons, or image quality. For having used scenes from hl2 (i.e. the reactor) and having the engine already this expansion was pretty sad, especially for the time they have had to do it.
  29. MartinL.
    Jun 3, 2006
    3
    Today at half past 2 I purchased this game, an hour and a half later it had finished downlaoding through Steam and I could finaly play it, 3 hours and 45 minutes after that I had finished it... In my opinion Episode One to Half-Life 2 is what Blue Shift was to Half-Life, only shorter. Officially this year's biggest waste of 20 dollars.
  30. TooShort
    Jun 3, 2006
    0
    Short mod for 20$?
  31. SamL.
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    Way...way...way...to short..not what I was hoping for in an expansion pack,
  32. Ilan
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    I am sort of disappointed when I played the game. The multiplier of HL2 SUCKED compared to hl1, since the Tau Cannon gun was gone. WTF is with the weapons? Exact same weapons... no change. Why not add a few more. I looked at wikipedia and it showed that they deleted like 15 weapons! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_weapons_in_Half-Life_2 I did feel at parts it was repetitive.I am sort of disappointed when I played the game. The multiplier of HL2 SUCKED compared to hl1, since the Tau Cannon gun was gone. WTF is with the weapons? Exact same weapons... no change. Why not add a few more. I looked at wikipedia and it showed that they deleted like 15 weapons! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_weapons_in_Half-Life_2 I did feel at parts it was repetitive. The game was really too short. I can't really tell any difference from the graphics of HL2 to HL2 episode 1. HL2 and HL1 took me like weeks to finish.... I finished this game in less then a day. They really, REALLY need to add more weapons, and add more variety. Why weren't there any boat/car scenes in HL2 episode 1... Those were like the funest part of HL2. Expand
  33. Davrosddd
    Jul 1, 2006
    3
    Nothing new, quickly completed, spoiled by Alyx (sp?) constantly chattering away (seems to be just a ploy for easy filler), poor value. The 'puzzles' are pretty weak - one 'stacking boxes' thing and one 'turn the lights out with monsters' thing.

    Episode 2 will need some *good* reviews from the public before I hand over another 20 bucks to Valve / Steam / whoever.
  34. FerdinandM
    Jul 3, 2006
    0
    I can't even get the game to run for more than 10 min. without it hanging/audio loop. My system is new and meets all hardware requirements. I can play other non-valve games with no problem. I've contacted Valve support and their response is extremely slow and they don't offer any solutions. Many other users on steams
  35. HaywoodJablowme
    Sep 1, 2006
    0
    Well I was gonna buy it, but not after reading the reviews. 2-5hrs of gameplay isn't even worth $5 to me. For $20 I could eat a steak dinner and get shit-faced, and it would last longer than this EP based on the reviews. Oh well, I'll wait... in the meantime, I'm going to go fire up that grill and put some beer on ice! Cheers :-)
  36. KW
    Sep 20, 2006
    1
    Yeah, the game would be great If I could ever get to it. I have installed the game, and spent the last 8+ Hours getting all of these stupid steam updates, and now the Half-life 2 episode 1 update.. What is this, 500mb update? I wanted to play this game 8 hours ago!!!! My estimated download time left is 12 hours, and Im on a T1... These designers should keep in mind that maybe peopleYeah, the game would be great If I could ever get to it. I have installed the game, and spent the last 8+ Hours getting all of these stupid steam updates, and now the Half-life 2 episode 1 update.. What is this, 500mb update? I wanted to play this game 8 hours ago!!!! My estimated download time left is 12 hours, and Im on a T1... These designers should keep in mind that maybe people aren't looking to play online, and therefore do not need all these extremely massive downloads...

    They need to make a way around this steam piece of crap!
    Expand
  37. LukeB.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    Seriously seriously lacking. Dragged through familier landscapes (the long boring walk through the ruined citidel anyone?) with nothing really new to please. What happened to all the new weapons and baddies that were the meat of expansion sets? This is more like a free download created by a fan than an offical pack. Totally not worth the money.
  38. JasonD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    3
    This game I am sure is great if it worked. I am a huge fan of the half life saga and it is a shame that Valve is not creating an update that will fix the bug that is plaguing many of its users. I am currently playing Episode 2... but I wish I could play them in sequence as they were meant to be played.
  39. TimM.
    Nov 24, 2007
    2
    The first four chapters are dire, the last is excellent. Unfortuneately you have to trudge through the first four to get there. Like the original HL2 there is too much story and not enough gameplay. Too much going from A to B and not enough action.
  40. CliveS.
    Jul 7, 2007
    1
    Only gave it a 1. Sorry Valve, just WAY to short. Finished in under 2Hrs. Not worth it when one can download mods for HL2 that last DAYS and are free!! Bought ALL the HL1 series & HL2 but HL2 EP1 is the last. NOT value for money.
  41. Doesnotmatter
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This was probably the most boring game I have ever played in my life. Repetitive game play to the maximum, boring random lines by (also blocking) NPCs. Missing sounds for some reason since some update. I give it a 2 for the only interesting part in the game and we know which one that is. It bought it in 2006 and finished today 2008 with cheating because I simply wanted to get it over with.
  42. Epi-1Sucked
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    I'm sorry; but Valve really failed on this one. It's the worst of the series by quite a long way. It's unintuitive; it has nothing new going for it.
  43. RickHoffman
    Jun 11, 2006
    4
    The game itself is entertaining enough. Not as good as the first two, but decent. What seems to be one issue is having to sign on to the Steam website to play a stand-alone game. It takes time to get in, you get programs loaded that you may or may not want, and just the simple fact that it takes time to get in to play. Another issue is the constant crashing. I have a decent system (2.4ghzThe game itself is entertaining enough. Not as good as the first two, but decent. What seems to be one issue is having to sign on to the Steam website to play a stand-alone game. It takes time to get in, you get programs loaded that you may or may not want, and just the simple fact that it takes time to get in to play. Another issue is the constant crashing. I have a decent system (2.4ghz w/1gb RAM) with all new drivers, new video card (ATI Radeon 9800) , new sound card (Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS), yatta yatta, and it still freezes up with the only way out, turning the computer off physically and then bringing it back up. I really enjoyed Half Life, and all its incarnations, but this is getting to be too much. I may never buy another Valve game again. Clean up your act. Expand
  44. ryanmales
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    half life 2......EXCELENT GAME!!! CANT WAIT FOR HALF LIFE 3!!!!
    half life 2 episodes........oh, ok well um, this should be good. More games and more time.
    half life 2 episode 1 for £20.....WHAT A RIP OFF!!!!! YOU GET AT THE MAX 3 HOURS ON PLAY FOR THIS GAME. COMPLETE AND UTTER TRASH. DO NOT BUY IT NULES U R A MORON!
  45. RachaelAllen
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    Where are all these 10"s coming from? I can only guess they are a bunch of preteens or hired fanboys, cuz this game sucks! Extremely linear, cover the antlion holes with cars ad nauseum, if there is a valve to turn you are going to be attacked b4 you can finish, EVERY level is a "logic" puzzle, and youre stuck w/ the gravity gun for half the game. too short finished on difficult in<2hrs.
  46. SteveP.
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    I really wanted to come here and say good things about EP1 but, as has been mentioned all ready, it's way to short and there isn't even anything new to look at. If you want, download HL Lost Coast and play it twice. It's essentially the same.
  47. LivingDog
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    If anyone tells you that HL2 was "awesome" then they don't know HL. HL was the best game ever - all three versions. Fans wanted more - and nothing was delivered. The plot was incredibly thin - run here shoot things and repeat.

    So what are the fans raving about? The engine. That's it. Ok, the engine is the (current) best. But technology aside, there is no story, there is no
    If anyone tells you that HL2 was "awesome" then they don't know HL. HL was the best game ever - all three versions. Fans wanted more - and nothing was delivered. The plot was incredibly thin - run here shoot things and repeat.

    So what are the fans raving about? The engine. That's it. Ok, the engine is the (current) best. But technology aside, there is no story, there is no drama, there are no puzzles... it's empty. And this does not make a game.

    I've played some pretty cheap, low budget games that were MUCH more fun than HL2. E.g. Duke Nuke'em - cheap 2D graphics, but a game I still haven't forgotten about.

    HL2: EP1 aka "the rip-off" continues.

    -LD
    ______________________________________
    my faith: http://www.angelfire.com/ny5/jbc33/
    Expand
  48. MarkO.
    Jul 13, 2006
    4
    How can anyone give this more than 4 or 5. Great physics and visuals don't disguise that a very short evening of gameplay for £20 is a rip-off. Very linear again. There is nowhere to wander or discover off the story path and this makes the city and the game feel dead and lifeless. Like Half Life 2 it never manages to make you feel that there is a real moving, breathing world How can anyone give this more than 4 or 5. Great physics and visuals don't disguise that a very short evening of gameplay for £20 is a rip-off. Very linear again. There is nowhere to wander or discover off the story path and this makes the city and the game feel dead and lifeless. Like Half Life 2 it never manages to make you feel that there is a real moving, breathing world (think Far Cry) out there behind the locked doors and dead end streets and corridors. I think true innovative and imaginative gaming is being swallowed up by technical innovation and the Great Big Steam - Money Making Machine. Expand
  49. CarlF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    3
    Boring level design dragged down further by NPCs that seem to be designed to either block your way or expose themselves to enemy fire. I also expected more of the storyline, but unfortunately this is just a filler episode.
  50. SteveWhitehead
    Jul 23, 2007
    3
    ridiculously short, thats all i can really say, the reason its got any score other than 0 is because half life 2's game play and graphics, £20 for maybe two hours entertainment? and only a handfull of concentrated battle moments? aint worth the money, download it illegally if you can-what else do they expect with such a short script? at least games like opposing force had someridiculously short, thats all i can really say, the reason its got any score other than 0 is because half life 2's game play and graphics, £20 for maybe two hours entertainment? and only a handfull of concentrated battle moments? aint worth the money, download it illegally if you can-what else do they expect with such a short script? at least games like opposing force had some substance to it, lets hope episode 2 has more to offer with the release delays so far.erm the reviewers of this comment-well dont include this part but you should really include everything people have to say about any game except abusive language, it gives game developers food for thought, and by screening every comment you seem a little like the 'overseers' from this game yourselves. thanks for your time, i hope they pay you well. Expand
  51. RexN.
    Jan 31, 2008
    3
    Too many repeatitive tasks and infinite monsters from same type. It's just a boring duplicate of HalfLife2, which is way more fun to play than this.
  52. SkeatSkeat
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Well I wasn't impressed. It was too short. Glad I have the orange box because I would have been pretty upset. I did like the fact that you really have to think towards the end and it wasn't just a straight though shooter. BUT thats about all. Well Graphics were great.
  53. unhappychild
    Apr 19, 2009
    0
    As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. Thanks, Valve. No help as of yet, which apparently, I should have expected. Don't get ripped off, friends. The frigging hours of troubleshooting you spend probably wouldn't be worth it anyway. Expand
  54. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 your sure to buy this garbage too. You think that Alex was annoying before, that was only the tip of the iceberg. Now you have to spend an entire game with this damsel in distress. With this game we hope to emulate the feeling of actual relationship in the Half Life environment. We did as good as a game developer could in making you feel uncomfortable in all situations and you actually have to ask yourself how much more lame and corny can it get? I'm sure that what real Half Life fans are after is.... no not anything that important.... Graphics and sound. Ha Ha you thought game play and level design, how naive. With the level design, we pretty much knew that all you will do is look at the landscape. So now its like your not actually playing a game you are walking in a park with minimal issues that arise. When all these good things combine ( ha ha, its a lame joke, our game is full of them) you get the masterpiece only truly understood by people that can't leave the house. Expand
  55. ScottC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    2
    Dispite the game's action, the game had 3 major issues. #1. No story. There is no primary "villian". #2. You get the bare minimum of whats available. 1 strider. 1 aircraft. Crossbow with no targets to use it on. Revolver with no additional ammo, etc. #3. 5 hours of game play, and you have to actually pay for the game. Its not a free addon.
  56. Oct 20, 2014
    4
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.

    Extremely linear path, boring puzzles. I also highly disagree with the art direction of HL2. It just feels so rusty & industrial 24/7. I missed half life 1's scientific & top secret feel.
    Expand
  57. Dec 22, 2013
    1
    Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design?Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design? Freakin' copy n' paste, son! Also, the character of Gordon Freeman is just as one-dimensional as you can get, and if it was for immersion reasons, it dramatically backfired because he has a distinctive appearance, an established backstory, and MOST PEOPLE AREN'T FREAKING PHYSICISTS! He could have been a sewage worker at Black Mesa and the story wouldn't have changed a lot! Look, I think the HL series is great, but i cannot tolerate this awful, confusing mess of a game. In fact, even watching the Citadel explode as you merrily escape on a train isn't satisfying! It makes absolutely ineffective use of what is one of my most despised movie and game cliches: The hero escaping the millisecond before an explosion, because that is just STUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPID!!! Expand
  58. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    I enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite featureI enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite feature arbitrary changes in the rules and physics to force you to do everything in one particular way. So one moment the gravity gun works on vehicles, the next it doesn't, because this particular vehicle absolutely *has* to be defeated with rockets. In a ridiculous boss fight against yet another strider (which forces, once more, you to hang around a particular spot for infinite rockets) there's no consistency at all in what you can hide behind and what you can't. The designers just threw in some arbitrary panels that look much the same as other panels but can shield you for a limited time. How limited? It varies from panel to panel.

    Apart from Alex, allies are absolutely useless again. "Defend us, Gordon!" they shout, pathetically, as yet another squad of enemies is magically teleported in to an area I just cleared. How about you get out of the way so I can do that? Or, OK, just stand there and die while obstructing my view.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Just like the original Half-Life 2, Episode One keeps the player entertained almost the entire time through perfect pacing and by being inventive, surprising and getting the basics absolutely right. It's a wonderful advert for the excitement that true episodic content can generate when approached the right way.
  2. Episode One is a memorable romp through the Half-Life universe, with gameplay that's even more satisfying than that of "Half-Life 2." The only downside is that, due to its episodic nature, it's over far too soon.
  3. 85
    A brief, stylistically claustrophobic experience whose polish and personality manage to keep things moving.