Half-Life 2: Episode One PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2225 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ds
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Half-Life, Half-Life 2...quite possibly the best FPS games ever created. Episode One, is just more of the same fantastic game. Plus the added bonus of playing along side Alyx with superb AI. And added bad humor :p
  2. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    A short little story, but I explained allegedly happened after the explosion of City 17. Back to the Same, ie same graphics, same characters and same gameplay. This does not prevent is good because if it's the same this never bored
  3. JimS.
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Over quickly but a great ride. I'll take 8-10 hrs of fun for $16 (B.J. 's Wholesale Club) anyday. Hope Episode 2 comes soon.
  4. EddieD
    Aug 5, 2009
    7
    In all honesty, the original HalfLife game is at least twice as good as Episode 1. It was more challenging and had a better plot.
  5. ChrisC.
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The line between game and movie is blurred even further with this new installment of Half Life 2.
  6. MalcolmS.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Exciting game, yes it's a bit short, but thinking of it as one of three episodes it's very good. 9/10.
  7. RobA.
    Oct 12, 2007
    7
    Felt more like a user mod than a professional game. Tedius areas and very little plot advancement.
  8. PatW.
    Dec 23, 2007
    7
    Very buggy and crashes a lot with my graphics card (Nvidia 8500GT). Loaded newest drivers, crash; reduced the hardware acceleration, crash. Great game play - when it works.
  9. Gate28
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    While it is an interesting addon to an amazing game, i wouldent pay more than 15 bucks for it. The only reason I got it was because it came in The Orange Box. Although, I will be getting episode 3 simply because I wanna know how it ends
  10. AS
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Episode 1 is pretty disappointing. HL2 was an awesome game in 2004 and everyone was amazed at the graphics and gameplay cause noone had ever played anything like it before. Episode 1 however is exactly the same as HL2. There are absolutely no new areas to go to, nor any new enemies. It's very linear and gets very boring because you've essentially played it all before. I was Episode 1 is pretty disappointing. HL2 was an awesome game in 2004 and everyone was amazed at the graphics and gameplay cause noone had ever played anything like it before. Episode 1 however is exactly the same as HL2. There are absolutely no new areas to go to, nor any new enemies. It's very linear and gets very boring because you've essentially played it all before. I was expecting new stuff but didn't get any. All the gameplay has been experienced in HL2 with same environments and enemies....and so it doesn't deserve to be Episode 1...it feels just like part of HL2. Episode 2 however added new places and enemies and deserves the 'Episode' title. It's also only 4 hours long and whatever story they tried to add doesn't add anything at all...just as Computer Games Magazine said "It feels like exactly what it is: a small and perhaps insignificant part of something much larger"....which is 100% true cause it's more of a lead up to the exceptional Episode 2. So all up Episode 1 feels exactly the same as HL2 which you may think is good because HL2 is good but it's bad in the sense that it's no different from HL2. As strange as that sounds, I'm sure you know what I mean. When you've played HL2 for the 10th time and then play Episode 1, it feels like you're playing HL2 for the 11th time. That's how I felt. Expand
  11. LeeW.
    Jan 10, 2009
    7
    This is MUCH better than anything Valve has pulled off before. Though it still has all the regular linearity and low-resolution graphics and bland AI of Half-Life 2, and it's still on their heavily (and horribly) modified version of the Quake engine, there are actually redeeming qualities that expose themselves. The best happens to be the HDR rendering, which gives the game some This is MUCH better than anything Valve has pulled off before. Though it still has all the regular linearity and low-resolution graphics and bland AI of Half-Life 2, and it's still on their heavily (and horribly) modified version of the Quake engine, there are actually redeeming qualities that expose themselves. The best happens to be the HDR rendering, which gives the game some atmosphere, and works especially well with the fact that it's set at sundown. The enemies do a little more damage. It's not because their AI has been improved, just because is a less-than-infinite supply of ammunition and med-packs everywhere and the enemies are more varied. They also come in big packs. The puzzles that a blind three-year-old can solve are spaced farther apart with more time for puzzles that may lead to actual harm. The voice acting is somewhat better and the characters seem more realistic, which is very good since the girl follows you around. AND she has infinite ammunition for her weird machinepistol. Some story is added as well, instead of HL2's original idea of the player just running around as some retarded mute with a zappy-gun that moves things. You're still playing the retarded mute. It just has more feeling to it. The levels are still pretty linear. Except this time they don't send you in a straight line. Over all it's still got that regular Valve-trademarked shittiness, but they may have hired some kind of person who actually cared for the game, not just money from kids who never played an actually good game in their life, the kids who think Half-Life 2 was brilliant. Too bad it's DAMNED short. Collapse
  12. MicahF
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    The only problem with Half Life Episode 1 is the fact that it's unlike Half Life 2. What I mean is, having a sidekick is annoying. Especially one like in this game. She gets in the way and talks too much. If the developer had left her out, I would have given this a 10.
  13. MarcusD.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Despite some possible system freezes, this game absolutely rocked. I will play it again and again. Hopefully an update will be available soon.
  14. Patrick
    Dec 29, 2007
    7
    Recycled environments and the end boss are my only problems with this game. I'm not going to spoil it but you face the end boss several times in HL2 and I think the way the fight was planned out was great but I would have liked to see an actual new enemy rather than an old one that seemed to me to be little more than placed strategically. However the lack of new content is the main Recycled environments and the end boss are my only problems with this game. I'm not going to spoil it but you face the end boss several times in HL2 and I think the way the fight was planned out was great but I would have liked to see an actual new enemy rather than an old one that seemed to me to be little more than placed strategically. However the lack of new content is the main problem. You can skip from HL2 to EP2 without playing this but it's only $10 for a solid extension of the story and a good shooter on it's own right so why not? Expand
  15. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    My review is simple.
    Probably, you played the original game Half Life 2 before the episode one (obviously).
    And I played 5 additionnal hours of the original game. Same ennemies. Same guns. Same ambiance. Practically the same place. The episode one is an extension with nothing of new. You like Half Life 2 like that and you don't need smething of new That's for you. You
    My review is simple.
    Probably, you played the original game Half Life 2 before the episode one (obviously).

    And I played 5 additionnal hours of the original game.
    Same ennemies.
    Same guns.
    Same ambiance.
    Practically the same place.

    The episode one is an extension with nothing of new.

    You like Half Life 2 like that and you don't need smething of new That's for you.

    You like Half Life 2 and you want an incredible innovation of Valve's disappointment for you.

    If you dislike Half Life 2, why you played at this ?

    For my rating, the same as Half Life 2 Good FPS, great atmosphere but where is the marking stuff ?
    What makes the game "worship" ?
    I don't find that.

    The game aged so the half life's 2 revolution is past. I expected more for "the game of the decade" but he is pleasurable.

    PS Epic the fight at the end
    Expand
  16. EvanE.
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    I don't know why people are downvoting this, but I love the small bits of great taste of game. I'd rather get small decadent bites rather than eating the best cake in the world in one setting, you know what I mean? Great graphics, great gaming, great acting, Valve has done it again.
  17. N.R.S.
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Quite a good little journey. The whole thing made me almost feel like I was in an interactive movie. Great pace and frequency of the scripted scenes. Keep up the good work.
  18. BriceG.
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Surpsingly very good.Obviously on the short side, but with the next 2 installments coming out within a year I think this just might work. The game is nonstop action and great character interactions. Some amazing animation work and voice acting really push this game beyond Half-Life 2. Once put together with Episodes 2 and 3 I think this could easily pass Half-Life 2.
  19. SamD.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    A little shorter than I would have liked, but Valve made up for it with an extremely polished game. Can't wait for Episode 2 :)
  20. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Episode One is in my mind the weakest game in the Half Life series, though still pretty good. For almost half of the game your only weapon is the enhanced Gravity Gun... which is pretty cool but loses its charm after a while. Another third of the game is spent in lightless tunnels full of zombies, which also loses its charm after a while. However the last two chapters make up for the first half's mishaps with a fun and sometimes challenging dash to escape City 17. Expand
  21. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    Since you can practically pick it up for a dollar every other month on Steam I don't know why any fan of FPS games or Half=Life would appreciate this game for what it is. A short, cheap, and nice expansion to the original game which continues the story.
  22. EdL.
    Jun 27, 2007
    7
    Not as long as the original and not as fun. It did not have as much plot. Was it only made to see how many impossible situations you could stand or to see how many times you could die? I don't mind a difficult game but to go from one to another to another to another lost its appeal.
  23. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    This is a pretty decent expansio, but it doesn't hold the same standard as the original game. I kind of just wanted to rush through it, and that's how I still feel about it. Still, a mediocre Half-Life game is better than most other games.
  24. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Episode One is definitely the weakest link in the Half Life 2 series. The main problem with Episode One is that not much happens: you go into the Citadel, Alyx picks up a copy of the Transmission, and then you escape the city. Add in the fact that this game is also very short. In my opinion, the beginning of Episode One (inside the Citadel) is a bit boring. The game does get better onceEpisode One is definitely the weakest link in the Half Life 2 series. The main problem with Episode One is that not much happens: you go into the Citadel, Alyx picks up a copy of the Transmission, and then you escape the city. Add in the fact that this game is also very short. In my opinion, the beginning of Episode One (inside the Citadel) is a bit boring. The game does get better once you leave the citadel and are presented with numerous puzzles. The hospital portion is also quite good and the new zombine enemy is quite humorous. Episode One is not bad by any means, but having played through all the Half Life games, this stands out as being comparatively weak. Expand
  25. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did not enjoy bogging through the darkened underground before getting to city 17 topside, good start, epic finish, bland middle! Expand
  26. DanielGaggini
    Mar 11, 2009
    6
    I really have the feeling it's a poor 2nd part of HL2. The levels are often already played and are just a bit retouched. The storyline is poor and a good part of it is boring. Add to that a really short play time and you understand why I think it's really a pure commercial addon. Episode 2 is really better and worthy.
  27. RichL.
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    Its half-life 2 expanded... a little bit. some new ways to play, some new graphics. but it is way too short, leaving you at a cliff hanger after about 2-3 hours of play. For 20$ this should have been much much more.
  28. SimeonM.
    Oct 4, 2007
    4
    I've just played through this game, so here are my fresh impressions. Positive: - a lot of new puzzles and ideas - some new enemies - I kind of liked the zombie chapter for finally giving some real use to the flashlight. Negative - No strong atmosphere/immersion, at least for me. HL2 was way better in that respect - Story can be summed up in about three sentences - Music doesn't I've just played through this game, so here are my fresh impressions. Positive: - a lot of new puzzles and ideas - some new enemies - I kind of liked the zombie chapter for finally giving some real use to the flashlight. Negative - No strong atmosphere/immersion, at least for me. HL2 was way better in that respect - Story can be summed up in about three sentences - Music doesn't do anything to create an atmosphere either, and is just used to underline dramatic scenes. That was a problem in HL2 as well. - Alyx praises you for every lame and obvious solution you come up with - Important areas with gates feel confining. If you're worried the player will miss something important, just use a cutscene! What's the use in "don't take control from the player" if you then confine him to a small room and want him to look at a specific thing? Expand
  29. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    Running through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't makeRunning through this only firing 1 bullet isn't too bad considering how easy Half-Life is in general, but is helped even more by the extremely short length. Nothing new or exciting here in terms of level design. The game itself doesn't do much to further advance HL2. Be warned though: 1 bullet means pistol not shotgun. Running through the game twice without firing a gun still doesn't make the gameplay any more exciting. There's really nothing creditble about this game. Expand
  30. JBobinski
    Jun 10, 2006
    6
    More frustrating than fun, especially the really dark parts.
  31. RobertB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    20$ for some maps and cutscenes? this takes halflife2 further and further away from halflife1 style and closer to counterstrike. be prepared for the rat race, cuz thats what you are gonna be doing in your gaming experience. looks like its going to be time to avoid the haflife series.
  32. Joe
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    Rubbish. A short piece of extremely linear gameplay such that you might think it had been cut from HL:2. No challenges and underwelming set pieces. Didn't feel like an exploration. Alyx is a pointless, characterless companion. Come on, nothing happened, nothing new was revealed
  33. KongFu
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    Well, what can I say about it? I can not find the feeling from playing Half-Life 2 when 2 years ago... The Episode is a failure, a trap that sucks up your money... Valve, if you like the way of making game like Episode 1... Make some more....and remember, they should be FREE but not $20.00.
  34. YoannF.
    Sep 5, 2006
    6
    Great and beautifull, but... too short! I achieved it in two afternoons ... i was expecting weeks of gaming :-( That is a great deception to me ..... When i buyed it (19.9
  35. TJH
    Oct 19, 2006
    6
    I was expecting more-
    There was no
  36. MartinI.
    Jun 13, 2006
    5
    Im afraid I can only give this game 5 out of ten. Not because I didnt enjoy it, but because it was very short; way to short in fact. I enjoyed the new sections, the brevity of the episode left me feeling ripped off. Be aware I finished this in an evening and I am not even a full time gamer anymore! wait until it comes down in price, Valve has become what all successful corporations are, GREEDY!!
  37. TerenceC.
    Jun 10, 2006
    1
    all the same weapons from Half-Life 2, no new ones, only one new enemy creature, and well zombines are a disappointment, there's only 2-4 hours of gameplay, so it's not worth $20 very disappointed with you valve.
  38. Martin
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours gameplay. this is the last time valve get anything more from me. Goodbuy Valve software and good luck in ripping off all those people out there with your episodic gaming. Expand
  39. TSeckerson
    Jul 7, 2006
    3
    I'm sure it would be a very good game if you could get it to load. I have had it for 3 days know, spending hours on it tring to get it to load. All I keep getting is an error saying, "hl2.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." I'm ready to try and return it today!
  40. JonH.
    Aug 9, 2006
    3
    Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will end up costing about $100.00, sort it out valve its not fair! Expand
  41. FranciscoMartinez
    Apr 5, 2007
    1
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles. Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ? Well, this is just
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles.
    Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ?
    Well, this is just what happens with Episode 1 and Valve's much hyped Source engine. No matter how beautiful is that Mercedes, or how touted is that Airbus 340, you don't want to buy such a piece of crap. Whereas this not true for a Mercedes or an Airbus plane, it's exactly what happens with this game.
    See for yourself at :
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500297
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Source_engine#Common_issues
    Expand
  42. Jason
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the money...i will not buy Episode 2...as i understand it to is only about 5hrs long...woo...Please give us something with a decent amount of substance Valve...Not a bunch of episodes that are supposed to resemble a full game. Expand
  43. AdamTominoio
    May 7, 2006
    2
    This Game Was Complete Cr*p and not just that, the graphics on this game could be done by a 12 year old, im not joking, my son is making a mod for half life 2 with better deatil then this game, please valve, steam and all that, give us a game we can ENJOY!
  44. DanB.
    Jun 1, 2006
    4
    The game was fun felt like a good mod. It took me four hours to finish this game, and I took my time to look around. For the price of $20 there should at least be six to eight hours of game play. I mean four hours. Give me a break. After buying sin I should have known better than to spent another $20 on this episode. Remember when they made expansion packs for nine dollars more that had The game was fun felt like a good mod. It took me four hours to finish this game, and I took my time to look around. For the price of $20 there should at least be six to eight hours of game play. I mean four hours. Give me a break. After buying sin I should have known better than to spent another $20 on this episode. Remember when they made expansion packs for nine dollars more that had twelve or more hours of game play. This episodic thing is a joke and rip-off. Expand
  45. SubversiveTrooper
    Jun 1, 2006
    2
    This game is not worth it. It is far too short. People beat this in 2:30. There are much better games. A must have is Guild Wars. Half-Life 2 is horrible and I am starting to wonder if Valve is till alive cause of a mod they aquired a long time ago????? CS... CS made Valve what they are today, and they sure have more to buy... By the looks of Half-Life EP 1 at 2:30, Half-Life 3 should be This game is not worth it. It is far too short. People beat this in 2:30. There are much better games. A must have is Guild Wars. Half-Life 2 is horrible and I am starting to wonder if Valve is till alive cause of a mod they aquired a long time ago????? CS... CS made Valve what they are today, and they sure have more to buy... By the looks of Half-Life EP 1 at 2:30, Half-Life 3 should be outsourced. 2/10 Expand
  46. thestory
    Jun 20, 2006
    1
    Remember when you spent £40 on Half-Life2 and you played it to the end only to feel completly ripped off because the ending was just plain crap. well guess what you can now spend another £20 to see how they all survive. this time around this episode does not want to let you aff the tracks as you are guided without any freedom to do anything else through this realy short add on.Remember when you spent £40 on Half-Life2 and you played it to the end only to feel completly ripped off because the ending was just plain crap. well guess what you can now spend another £20 to see how they all survive. this time around this episode does not want to let you aff the tracks as you are guided without any freedom to do anything else through this realy short add on. you would think that they should have at least thrown in half-life source as part of the package but all you are offered is halflife 2 multiplayer and if you own HL2 it means you have the multiplayer game anyway. For the price they are asking you will feel let down and to realy rub salt into your already open wounds you are stuck with your retail copy as you cant trade it in. After valve screwed vivendi over you would think that they would sell the game fo a cheaper price because they got rid of the middle man, NO!! all Valve did was to assorb the extra money. ill Bet you all my complete game collection that after Mr Freeman gets to Episode III your gonna be left with another complete crap ending suggesting that the story will continue into Half-Life 3 and will also be followed by a further 3 exspansion packs, you all should all be ashamed for allowing episodic to get a foot hold because this will now give the go ahead for other software houses to rip us all off. Expand
  47. GeneT.
    Jun 29, 2006
    3
    Its just same as b4 only new is co-op with alyx till the whole game finish,sad nothing improves.
  48. PieterJ.
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILER***] Where do all these positive comments come from? Does Valve hire or pay people to rate this game with an average of 9?!? Come on! This can't be serious. Any (even just a little experienced) gamer who actually played this game must be disappointed. All the people I have spoken to in my neighbourhood think alike and somehow all the people here are EP1-addicted/fanatics?[***SPOILER***] Where do all these positive comments come from? Does Valve hire or pay people to rate this game with an average of 9?!? Come on! This can't be serious. Any (even just a little experienced) gamer who actually played this game must be disappointed. All the people I have spoken to in my neighbourhood think alike and somehow all the people here are EP1-addicted/fanatics? Where have you all been in the past few years? When you rate this EP1 with a 10 what were CoD (2), Battlefield (2), F.E.A.R. and HL2 then.....a 25??! Yes the graphics are great, just as they were in HL2 (ok HDR is added and it does look nice, but it's not that much of a difference). The weapons are ok....and exactly the same as in HL2. The monsters are ok....just as they were in HL2. Well, they did add one whole new monster. Some 'genious' used almost a year to come up with a....ZOMBIE! It's just a fatter and faster version of the standard-zombie from HL2. How refreshing. Did they become smarter? No...not at all. They just come rushing towards you. It feels like my duty to inform potential buyers. PLEASE go and play the game at a store or at an friends place. It surely ain't worth the $20,-. Even at 'difficult' you will probably be able to end this game in about 2-3 hours. Do you pay for an superb new concept with fantastic eyecandy, great gameplay and AI? No....you pay $20,- for 3 hours 'more of the same'. Please Valve: Stop just making money....start making great games/expansions again. Expand
  49. Bodiddly
    Jun 7, 2006
    4
    Much of the same, for 20 notes, a bit of a ripp off me thinks. not gonna bother with the next installment feel ripped off...so for 4 hours gameplay you spend 20, the nxt installment will probably be another 4 hours another 20...valve r gonna milk this :(
  50. Wasteofmoney
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    Good add on, but not worthy of price tag, should have been a free download..for only 3 hours of gameplay, play eve, or wow instead, at leat you dont feel conned buy the charges..here i did..aint gonna buy the nxt one not worth it.
  51. MrG.Freeman
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    WTF. wel it dont continue straight off from the final scene of HL2. You should all be ashamed of yourselves for spending £20 on this. I will admit that HL2 was a good game but they screwed it up with all that online activation stuff and the fact that you cant trade it in when you finished it. I am totally against this episode thing as all they have to do know is very little in the WTF. wel it dont continue straight off from the final scene of HL2. You should all be ashamed of yourselves for spending £20 on this. I will admit that HL2 was a good game but they screwed it up with all that online activation stuff and the fact that you cant trade it in when you finished it. I am totally against this episode thing as all they have to do know is very little in the way of the development of the game, and charging £20 for 2 hours worth of gameplay ( 3 hours if you take your time) is just to expensive. i would give this game a higher score if the price for episode gaming was a relistic £6.99 then i would be happy to hand over my money. i mean i pay £5.99 for my PC Gamer mag and i get many hours of fun sitting on the toilet having a dump while reading but £20 for a game that is using the original HL2 engine with no major tweeks. £20 just aint worth it concidering you are stuck with it for the rest of valves life. if i could trade it in when i had finished with it maybe i would hav given in a higher score. ( and yes i know you can pick it up a little cheaper over the net but its still way over priced for 2 hours gameplay) Regards Mr G Freeman Expand
  52. RetR.
    Jul 4, 2006
    0
    Amazing.
  53. ShodenB.
    Oct 20, 2007
    3
    I've been waiting for the first and second episodes of HL2 but it was a very big disappointment.. Graphics: Same graphics that has been used in HL2 which is very old compare to the new next-gen games. (GoW, GRAW 1 - 2, Darkness, Call of Duty 4, ...etc) Gameplay: Pretty same as the old HL2.. no improvement at all. I got really bored after playing it for around 3 hours trying to see I've been waiting for the first and second episodes of HL2 but it was a very big disappointment.. Graphics: Same graphics that has been used in HL2 which is very old compare to the new next-gen games. (GoW, GRAW 1 - 2, Darkness, Call of Duty 4, ...etc) Gameplay: Pretty same as the old HL2.. no improvement at all. I got really bored after playing it for around 3 hours trying to see how long it'll be the same old game. Throughing balls in the first mission kinda sucks and repeating it sucks more. In the second mission it's all "dark" and very minimal ammo has been giving. Also, the same NPCs already been reused again. Sound: Reused sound from the previous HL2. Nothing new about it. Last comment. Episode one is really disappointment in my opinion hence they didn't add anything except new areas. (same old environments) Expand
  54. KillerDM
    Oct 1, 2006
    6
    To scripted. To much help along the way take away from the suspense.
  55. DeJhonM.
    Nov 8, 2006
    6
    Money, a precious commodity that few people have and many others want. That being said, one can infer that most purchasers of this game did not have sufficient funds to self purchase the game, or had a gross excess of funds allowing the price to seem minute and insignificant. Unlike what some people seem to think, Half Life 2: Episode 1 is not an expansion, Valve made this very clear Money, a precious commodity that few people have and many others want. That being said, one can infer that most purchasers of this game did not have sufficient funds to self purchase the game, or had a gross excess of funds allowing the price to seem minute and insignificant. Unlike what some people seem to think, Half Life 2: Episode 1 is not an expansion, Valve made this very clear during their advertisement campaigns, it is merely a collection of new maps and media. With Half Life 2: Episode 1 Valve skipped through several months of development to quickly deliver a playable game. This is similar to what they did with Blue Shift and Opposing Force, both of which reused Half Life 1 media. The main difference is that Opposing Force was a rightful contender with Half Life in length, puzzle quality, and bosses (Blue Shift was significantly less of a game then Opposing Force and Half Life). However, the end pricing of Half Life 2 Expand
  56. NB
    Jun 12, 2006
    0
    I saw here that some wrote "you won't be disapointed"..... well... they were wrong. this is the biggesty waste of $20 since.... um... there never has been a bigger waste of $20! Come on! it only has ~5 levels! there is nothing new. no new guns, no new enemies (except the zombines) the only thing new was the levels, which mostly sucked. who wants to just use the gravity gun for theI saw here that some wrote "you won't be disapointed"..... well... they were wrong. this is the biggesty waste of $20 since.... um... there never has been a bigger waste of $20! Come on! it only has ~5 levels! there is nothing new. no new guns, no new enemies (except the zombines) the only thing new was the levels, which mostly sucked. who wants to just use the gravity gun for the whole first level! i got enough of that in HL2! Expand
  57. ReneMaes
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    What is the use to vote here if you don't publish real clients opinions? I don't see my comments about the dreadfull "memory could not be read" error I posted days ago. I know I did: Prepay, wait for 2 weeks, download for hours, play none! Now have done all that is suggested on the Valve FAQ including flashing a more recent Bios with no avail. I can't even be critic,What is the use to vote here if you don't publish real clients opinions? I don't see my comments about the dreadfull "memory could not be read" error I posted days ago. I know I did: Prepay, wait for 2 weeks, download for hours, play none! Now have done all that is suggested on the Valve FAQ including flashing a more recent Bios with no avail. I can't even be critic, positive or negative, about EP1. I simply can't play it (while I can play HL2 without probs). 20$ in the bin. Thanks Valve. Will remember. Expand
  58. BellinoP.
    Jun 2, 2006
    0
    Way to little content for Way too much Money. Don't fall for this rip off like I did.
  59. RachaelA.
    Jun 22, 2006
    3
    What was that? A few logic puzzles and an hour of gameplay?! (half of which you only have the gravity gun) They will have to do a LOT better than this if valve wants anymore of my money. I had more fun playing Lost Coast, and it was almost as long as "episode" one! If you havent bought yet vote with your dollars, I cant recommend this "episode" for any reason.
  60. T.S.
    Jun 24, 2006
    1
    very unhappy with the game. very small / short, nothing is accomplished in episode 1 a waste of 20 bucks in my opinion. No improvements to game play, weapons, or image quality. For having used scenes from hl2 (i.e. the reactor) and having the engine already this expansion was pretty sad, especially for the time they have had to do it.
  61. MartinL.
    Jun 3, 2006
    3
    Today at half past 2 I purchased this game, an hour and a half later it had finished downlaoding through Steam and I could finaly play it, 3 hours and 45 minutes after that I had finished it... In my opinion Episode One to Half-Life 2 is what Blue Shift was to Half-Life, only shorter. Officially this year's biggest waste of 20 dollars.
  62. TooShort
    Jun 3, 2006
    0
    Short mod for 20$?
  63. SamL.
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    Way...way...way...to short..not what I was hoping for in an expansion pack,
  64. Ilan
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    I am sort of disappointed when I played the game. The multiplier of HL2 SUCKED compared to hl1, since the Tau Cannon gun was gone. WTF is with the weapons? Exact same weapons... no change. Why not add a few more. I looked at wikipedia and it showed that they deleted like 15 weapons! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_weapons_in_Half-Life_2 I did feel at parts it was repetitive.I am sort of disappointed when I played the game. The multiplier of HL2 SUCKED compared to hl1, since the Tau Cannon gun was gone. WTF is with the weapons? Exact same weapons... no change. Why not add a few more. I looked at wikipedia and it showed that they deleted like 15 weapons! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_weapons_in_Half-Life_2 I did feel at parts it was repetitive. The game was really too short. I can't really tell any difference from the graphics of HL2 to HL2 episode 1. HL2 and HL1 took me like weeks to finish.... I finished this game in less then a day. They really, REALLY need to add more weapons, and add more variety. Why weren't there any boat/car scenes in HL2 episode 1... Those were like the funest part of HL2. Expand
  65. Davrosddd
    Jul 1, 2006
    3
    Nothing new, quickly completed, spoiled by Alyx (sp?) constantly chattering away (seems to be just a ploy for easy filler), poor value. The 'puzzles' are pretty weak - one 'stacking boxes' thing and one 'turn the lights out with monsters' thing.

    Episode 2 will need some *good* reviews from the public before I hand over another 20 bucks to Valve / Steam / whoever.
  66. FerdinandM
    Jul 3, 2006
    0
    I can't even get the game to run for more than 10 min. without it hanging/audio loop. My system is new and meets all hardware requirements. I can play other non-valve games with no problem. I've contacted Valve support and their response is extremely slow and they don't offer any solutions. Many other users on steams
  67. Uriel.
    Aug 25, 2006
    6
    game is too short even for a episode, especially if it costs about 20
  68. HaywoodJablowme
    Sep 1, 2006
    0
    Well I was gonna buy it, but not after reading the reviews. 2-5hrs of gameplay isn't even worth $5 to me. For $20 I could eat a steak dinner and get shit-faced, and it would last longer than this EP based on the reviews. Oh well, I'll wait... in the meantime, I'm going to go fire up that grill and put some beer on ice! Cheers :-)
  69. KW
    Sep 20, 2006
    1
    Yeah, the game would be great If I could ever get to it. I have installed the game, and spent the last 8+ Hours getting all of these stupid steam updates, and now the Half-life 2 episode 1 update.. What is this, 500mb update? I wanted to play this game 8 hours ago!!!! My estimated download time left is 12 hours, and Im on a T1... These designers should keep in mind that maybe peopleYeah, the game would be great If I could ever get to it. I have installed the game, and spent the last 8+ Hours getting all of these stupid steam updates, and now the Half-life 2 episode 1 update.. What is this, 500mb update? I wanted to play this game 8 hours ago!!!! My estimated download time left is 12 hours, and Im on a T1... These designers should keep in mind that maybe people aren't looking to play online, and therefore do not need all these extremely massive downloads...

    They need to make a way around this steam piece of crap!
    Expand
  70. LukeB.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    Seriously seriously lacking. Dragged through familier landscapes (the long boring walk through the ruined citidel anyone?) with nothing really new to please. What happened to all the new weapons and baddies that were the meat of expansion sets? This is more like a free download created by a fan than an offical pack. Totally not worth the money.
  71. JasonD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    3
    This game I am sure is great if it worked. I am a huge fan of the half life saga and it is a shame that Valve is not creating an update that will fix the bug that is plaguing many of its users. I am currently playing Episode 2... but I wish I could play them in sequence as they were meant to be played.
  72. TimM.
    Nov 24, 2007
    2
    The first four chapters are dire, the last is excellent. Unfortuneately you have to trudge through the first four to get there. Like the original HL2 there is too much story and not enough gameplay. Too much going from A to B and not enough action.
  73. JohnD.
    Jul 27, 2007
    6
    The graphics are nice but it is WAY TOO SHORT.
  74. CliveS.
    Jul 7, 2007
    1
    Only gave it a 1. Sorry Valve, just WAY to short. Finished in under 2Hrs. Not worth it when one can download mods for HL2 that last DAYS and are free!! Bought ALL the HL1 series & HL2 but HL2 EP1 is the last. NOT value for money.
  75. Doesnotmatter
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This was probably the most boring game I have ever played in my life. Repetitive game play to the maximum, boring random lines by (also blocking) NPCs. Missing sounds for some reason since some update. I give it a 2 for the only interesting part in the game and we know which one that is. It bought it in 2006 and finished today 2008 with cheating because I simply wanted to get it over with.
  76. Epi-1Sucked
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    I'm sorry; but Valve really failed on this one. It's the worst of the series by quite a long way. It's unintuitive; it has nothing new going for it.
  77. RickHoffman
    Jun 11, 2006
    4
    The game itself is entertaining enough. Not as good as the first two, but decent. What seems to be one issue is having to sign on to the Steam website to play a stand-alone game. It takes time to get in, you get programs loaded that you may or may not want, and just the simple fact that it takes time to get in to play. Another issue is the constant crashing. I have a decent system (2.4ghzThe game itself is entertaining enough. Not as good as the first two, but decent. What seems to be one issue is having to sign on to the Steam website to play a stand-alone game. It takes time to get in, you get programs loaded that you may or may not want, and just the simple fact that it takes time to get in to play. Another issue is the constant crashing. I have a decent system (2.4ghz w/1gb RAM) with all new drivers, new video card (ATI Radeon 9800) , new sound card (Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS), yatta yatta, and it still freezes up with the only way out, turning the computer off physically and then bringing it back up. I really enjoyed Half Life, and all its incarnations, but this is getting to be too much. I may never buy another Valve game again. Clean up your act. Expand
  78. ryanmales
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    half life 2......EXCELENT GAME!!! CANT WAIT FOR HALF LIFE 3!!!!
    half life 2 episodes........oh, ok well um, this should be good. More games and more time.
    half life 2 episode 1 for £20.....WHAT A RIP OFF!!!!! YOU GET AT THE MAX 3 HOURS ON PLAY FOR THIS GAME. COMPLETE AND UTTER TRASH. DO NOT BUY IT NULES U R A MORON!
  79. RachaelAllen
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    Where are all these 10"s coming from? I can only guess they are a bunch of preteens or hired fanboys, cuz this game sucks! Extremely linear, cover the antlion holes with cars ad nauseum, if there is a valve to turn you are going to be attacked b4 you can finish, EVERY level is a "logic" puzzle, and youre stuck w/ the gravity gun for half the game. too short finished on difficult in<2hrs.
  80. SteveP.
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    I really wanted to come here and say good things about EP1 but, as has been mentioned all ready, it's way to short and there isn't even anything new to look at. If you want, download HL Lost Coast and play it twice. It's essentially the same.
  81. LivingDog
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    If anyone tells you that HL2 was "awesome" then they don't know HL. HL was the best game ever - all three versions. Fans wanted more - and nothing was delivered. The plot was incredibly thin - run here shoot things and repeat.

    So what are the fans raving about? The engine. That's it. Ok, the engine is the (current) best. But technology aside, there is no story, there is no
    If anyone tells you that HL2 was "awesome" then they don't know HL. HL was the best game ever - all three versions. Fans wanted more - and nothing was delivered. The plot was incredibly thin - run here shoot things and repeat.

    So what are the fans raving about? The engine. That's it. Ok, the engine is the (current) best. But technology aside, there is no story, there is no drama, there are no puzzles... it's empty. And this does not make a game.

    I've played some pretty cheap, low budget games that were MUCH more fun than HL2. E.g. Duke Nuke'em - cheap 2D graphics, but a game I still haven't forgotten about.

    HL2: EP1 aka "the rip-off" continues.

    -LD
    ______________________________________
    my faith: http://www.angelfire.com/ny5/jbc33/
    Expand
  82. MarkO.
    Jul 13, 2006
    4
    How can anyone give this more than 4 or 5. Great physics and visuals don't disguise that a very short evening of gameplay for £20 is a rip-off. Very linear again. There is nowhere to wander or discover off the story path and this makes the city and the game feel dead and lifeless. Like Half Life 2 it never manages to make you feel that there is a real moving, breathing world How can anyone give this more than 4 or 5. Great physics and visuals don't disguise that a very short evening of gameplay for £20 is a rip-off. Very linear again. There is nowhere to wander or discover off the story path and this makes the city and the game feel dead and lifeless. Like Half Life 2 it never manages to make you feel that there is a real moving, breathing world (think Far Cry) out there behind the locked doors and dead end streets and corridors. I think true innovative and imaginative gaming is being swallowed up by technical innovation and the Great Big Steam - Money Making Machine. Expand
  83. CarlF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    3
    Boring level design dragged down further by NPCs that seem to be designed to either block your way or expose themselves to enemy fire. I also expected more of the storyline, but unfortunately this is just a filler episode.
  84. ChrisDickens
    Nov 4, 2007
    6
    Merely a decent FPS experience with obnoxious puzzles thrown in to lengthen the disappointingly short playtime. While the remarkably flawless inclusion of Alyx as a constant companion certainly added an interesting element to the gameplay, Episode 1 lacks the ingeniously designed fights and thrills of it's predecessor, and none of the new positive aspects are given enough time bloom.
  85. SteveWhitehead
    Jul 23, 2007
    3
    ridiculously short, thats all i can really say, the reason its got any score other than 0 is because half life 2's game play and graphics, £20 for maybe two hours entertainment? and only a handfull of concentrated battle moments? aint worth the money, download it illegally if you can-what else do they expect with such a short script? at least games like opposing force had someridiculously short, thats all i can really say, the reason its got any score other than 0 is because half life 2's game play and graphics, £20 for maybe two hours entertainment? and only a handfull of concentrated battle moments? aint worth the money, download it illegally if you can-what else do they expect with such a short script? at least games like opposing force had some substance to it, lets hope episode 2 has more to offer with the release delays so far.erm the reviewers of this comment-well dont include this part but you should really include everything people have to say about any game except abusive language, it gives game developers food for thought, and by screening every comment you seem a little like the 'overseers' from this game yourselves. thanks for your time, i hope they pay you well. Expand
  86. RexN.
    Jan 31, 2008
    3
    Too many repeatitive tasks and infinite monsters from same type. It's just a boring duplicate of HalfLife2, which is way more fun to play than this.
  87. SkeatSkeat
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Well I wasn't impressed. It was too short. Glad I have the orange box because I would have been pretty upset. I did like the fact that you really have to think towards the end and it wasn't just a straight though shooter. BUT thats about all. Well Graphics were great.
  88. unhappychild
    Apr 19, 2009
    0
    As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. As of right now, I've discovered this is probably the most painfully glitchy game I've ever encountered in my life. Worse than trying to run Final Fantasy VII on Vista. I haven't even been able to play the game due to the fact that it crashes every time I open it. This, before I even get to the main menu. Very dissapointed and wildly upset at the waste of good money. Thanks, Valve. No help as of yet, which apparently, I should have expected. Don't get ripped off, friends. The frigging hours of troubleshooting you spend probably wouldn't be worth it anyway. Expand
  89. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 Lets start off with the original advertising campaign: "Half-Life 2: Adventures of Gorden Freeman and the Crappy Unnecessary Character" You think that there will be an exciting new storyline extension, enemies, and puzzles. Think again. With an amazing 2 new enemies, a hard to follow story line, and ridiculously easy puzzles, its pretty evident, if you bought our garbage with Half-Life 2 your sure to buy this garbage too. You think that Alex was annoying before, that was only the tip of the iceberg. Now you have to spend an entire game with this damsel in distress. With this game we hope to emulate the feeling of actual relationship in the Half Life environment. We did as good as a game developer could in making you feel uncomfortable in all situations and you actually have to ask yourself how much more lame and corny can it get? I'm sure that what real Half Life fans are after is.... no not anything that important.... Graphics and sound. Ha Ha you thought game play and level design, how naive. With the level design, we pretty much knew that all you will do is look at the landscape. So now its like your not actually playing a game you are walking in a park with minimal issues that arise. When all these good things combine ( ha ha, its a lame joke, our game is full of them) you get the masterpiece only truly understood by people that can't leave the house. Expand
  90. ScottC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    2
    Dispite the game's action, the game had 3 major issues. #1. No story. There is no primary "villian". #2. You get the bare minimum of whats available. 1 strider. 1 aircraft. Crossbow with no targets to use it on. Revolver with no additional ammo, etc. #3. 5 hours of game play, and you have to actually pay for the game. Its not a free addon.
  91. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I never understood the relatively low scores on reviews provided by the public for the Half-Life 2 "episodes." Honestly, I thought they were delightfully fun, incorporated the same kinds of enjoyable gameplay elements as HL2, and had a pleasurable-yet-brief single-player experience that added more Half-Life fun to the universe. I look back on Episode One in particular with fond memories,I never understood the relatively low scores on reviews provided by the public for the Half-Life 2 "episodes." Honestly, I thought they were delightfully fun, incorporated the same kinds of enjoyable gameplay elements as HL2, and had a pleasurable-yet-brief single-player experience that added more Half-Life fun to the universe. I look back on Episode One in particular with fond memories, but to each his own. Regardless, I definitely give this addition to the Half-Life saga my approval. Give it a try - it may be short compared to HL2, but it's not too short compared to a lot of FPS games these days, and it has a heck of a lot more interesting atmosphere and story to it than trashy modern FPS games do. Expand
  92. Jan 26, 2011
    6
    Half Life 2 left me wanting more, but this just did not suffice. The "episode" was too short and somewhat corny at times. It just didn't feel like the same game-too short and not challenging enough. Is worth playing though to stick with the story line. Esisode 2 was much better.
  93. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    It's a lot shorter and less inspired than Half-Life 2, but the new stuff including extremely dark rooms, pushing cars into pits, and running around taking cover from a strider trying to gun you down. Worth the $7 if you're a Half-Life fan.
  94. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    After the masterpiece that was Half life 2, Valve seemed under a lot of pressure to make Episode 1 live up to its predecessors. Overall, I found episode 1 to be an excellent, if a bit of a flawed entry, in the series. The story remains although NPC's have a tendency to spout plot points that are already quite obvious even to the daftest of players. Nevertheless, despite a lack ofAfter the masterpiece that was Half life 2, Valve seemed under a lot of pressure to make Episode 1 live up to its predecessors. Overall, I found episode 1 to be an excellent, if a bit of a flawed entry, in the series. The story remains although NPC's have a tendency to spout plot points that are already quite obvious even to the daftest of players. Nevertheless, despite a lack of innovation, Episode 1 is still a worthy follow up to the timeless classic. Expand
  95. Oct 20, 2014
    4
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.
    Being a huge Half Life fan, I finally caved & bought Episode 1 on sale in October 2014. I just finished it. I have to say it sucked. The hardest difficulty was barely a challenge, and it was so short it felt like cut unfinished HL2 content.

    The whole "Half Life 2: Episode X" system has in my opinion failed miserably. I'm going to play Episode 2 next, but I don't expect much better.

    Extremely linear path, boring puzzles. I also highly disagree with the art direction of HL2. It just feels so rusty & industrial 24/7. I missed half life 1's scientific & top secret feel.
    Expand
  96. Oct 14, 2015
    7
    The gameplay is freakishly entertaining with new game mechanics and many memorable levels. It's as good as Half Life 2. The story? Unfortunately not as rich and up-to-the-mark as Half Life 2. We simply have to escape City 17, that's all. I expected at least something new once Alyx and we escape the citadel but it's just run-run-run and run. The boss fights and a certain sniper level makeThe gameplay is freakishly entertaining with new game mechanics and many memorable levels. It's as good as Half Life 2. The story? Unfortunately not as rich and up-to-the-mark as Half Life 2. We simply have to escape City 17, that's all. I expected at least something new once Alyx and we escape the citadel but it's just run-run-run and run. The boss fights and a certain sniper level make up for it though. But didn't have the feel and severity of Half Life 2. Made just for fun. Expand
  97. Dec 22, 2013
    1
    Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design?Looking back on it, the original Half-Life was the best of the bunch, but later HL games and the spin-offs do have redeeming qualities, though not as much as HL1. That said, I cannot bear HL2:EP1. Why? Because it is nothing but a copy and paste follow- up. Weapons? Copy and paste! AI? Copy and paste! Enemies? Copy and paste! Gameplay? Copy and paste! Character animation and design? Freakin' copy n' paste, son! Also, the character of Gordon Freeman is just as one-dimensional as you can get, and if it was for immersion reasons, it dramatically backfired because he has a distinctive appearance, an established backstory, and MOST PEOPLE AREN'T FREAKING PHYSICISTS! He could have been a sewage worker at Black Mesa and the story wouldn't have changed a lot! Look, I think the HL series is great, but i cannot tolerate this awful, confusing mess of a game. In fact, even watching the Citadel explode as you merrily escape on a train isn't satisfying! It makes absolutely ineffective use of what is one of my most despised movie and game cliches: The hero escaping the millisecond before an explosion, because that is just STUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPID!!! Expand
  98. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    I enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite featureI enjoyed Half-Life 2 despite its flaws. Episode One has precious little of what makes HL2 worthwhile namely, surprises, big setpieces and skilfully constructed levels that funnel you along a path without you realising it. Instead, we have a heavy reliance on infinite enemies streaming out of spawn points, escort missions where the escortees get stuck, and my least favourite feature arbitrary changes in the rules and physics to force you to do everything in one particular way. So one moment the gravity gun works on vehicles, the next it doesn't, because this particular vehicle absolutely *has* to be defeated with rockets. In a ridiculous boss fight against yet another strider (which forces, once more, you to hang around a particular spot for infinite rockets) there's no consistency at all in what you can hide behind and what you can't. The designers just threw in some arbitrary panels that look much the same as other panels but can shield you for a limited time. How limited? It varies from panel to panel.

    Apart from Alex, allies are absolutely useless again. "Defend us, Gordon!" they shout, pathetically, as yet another squad of enemies is magically teleported in to an area I just cleared. How about you get out of the way so I can do that? Or, OK, just stand there and die while obstructing my view.
    Expand
  99. Sep 23, 2014
    7
    A good continuation of half life 2. Combat is the same as Half life 2, story is good but not as strong as half life 2. Overall its good and worth getting if you liked Half life 2.
  100. Oct 2, 2015
    7
    This is really really short and pain in the ass to fight the final boss, just play it to kill time or if your high or drunk as **** or just play it when your bored.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Just like the original Half-Life 2, Episode One keeps the player entertained almost the entire time through perfect pacing and by being inventive, surprising and getting the basics absolutely right. It's a wonderful advert for the excitement that true episodic content can generate when approached the right way.
  2. Episode One is a memorable romp through the Half-Life universe, with gameplay that's even more satisfying than that of "Half-Life 2." The only downside is that, due to its episodic nature, it's over far too soon.
  3. 85
    A brief, stylistically claustrophobic experience whose polish and personality manage to keep things moving.