User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1667 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrandonJ
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Excellent! the drama between magnus and kliener was fun to watch. the puzzle to killing ratio was about the same as the rest, so its another masterpiece. although the crush every antlion grub achievement on steam has got to be the hardest one out there. also, someone commented on repetition of game play, well its not like a few weeks are going to change the complete game play just for Excellent! the drama between magnus and kliener was fun to watch. the puzzle to killing ratio was about the same as the rest, so its another masterpiece. although the crush every antlion grub achievement on steam has got to be the hardest one out there. also, someone commented on repetition of game play, well its not like a few weeks are going to change the complete game play just for this one game. And as a last comment i can't believe i predicted the ending withing a few minutes of playing it. Expand
  2. NeriusM
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Like all HL series... Awesome!
  3. Vaddlo
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    That's the best game I have ever played!
  4. JamesS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER!!!! Seriously, it's kind of short, but the gameplay is excellent, the story is amazing, and the characters are incredibly believable. I know I became more attached to them than I should have, but I felt like crying when Eli was killed, that's how involving this game is.
  5. MichaelG.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    As awesome as ever...my only gripe is the tease where you think you're going to get to fly a chopper and then they kill off a major character! Grrrrrrrr. But great action, and I love that you get to drive a pieced-together old muscle car, and jump it across a chasm. Nice. Excellent combat as always, great physics and AI, and the plot just continues to get more interesting.
  6. ScottH.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent story-telling, game-making, technological achievement in entertainment.
  7. BradS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I would give it 9.5 but I'm unable to set it there. The game continues the saga wonderfully, is a little short but for those who say "it's too similar", it actually is improved: the AI, flashlight, breaking buildings, certain render features, etc. It isn't as groundbreaking as some games are soon likely to be, but it does what it's made to do very well.
  8. YuukiA.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Visually stunning, the source engine continues to evolve and provides wonderful scenery and backdrops as you race to save earth with the iminant portal always looming in the background. The open areas are a real treat and makes you want to jump out and explore all the niches and crevices as u drive along. Episode 2 definately brings back the impact half life 2 originally had, lots of neat Visually stunning, the source engine continues to evolve and provides wonderful scenery and backdrops as you race to save earth with the iminant portal always looming in the background. The open areas are a real treat and makes you want to jump out and explore all the niches and crevices as u drive along. Episode 2 definately brings back the impact half life 2 originally had, lots of neat puzzles, intense fights, great AI and important progress in the wonderful story that is Half life. I'd definately play this through again, there was enough new 'stuff' to entertain the creative but intact is what Gordon Freeman is all about, blasting zombies, bugs and rising up against all odds. Episode one was good, Episode 2 will have you craving for more. Least to say, it was worth the wait. Definate two thumbs up, great job Valve. Expand
  9. AS
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Episode 1 was disappointing because it added nothing new to the HL2 series. It was boring, linear and 4 hours long and really added nothing. Episode 2 however...my god...this is what I'm talking about. Episode 2 adds new outdoor environments, enemies and a cinematic story and REALLY feels like an addition to the series because it feels fresh and adds new things not seen in HL2 & Episode 1 was disappointing because it added nothing new to the HL2 series. It was boring, linear and 4 hours long and really added nothing. Episode 2 however...my god...this is what I'm talking about. Episode 2 adds new outdoor environments, enemies and a cinematic story and REALLY feels like an addition to the series because it feels fresh and adds new things not seen in HL2 & Episode 1. When we played HL2 4 years ago, we were amazed at how fresh the game was, never having played anything like it before. Episode 2 feels the same. It's great fun and you won't want to stop playing until you've finished (unlike Episode 1). Graphical improvements have also been added and the environments just look amazing. It's also twice as long as Episode 1 (about 7-8 hours). This game truly feels polished today, just like HL2 did in 2004. Episode 1 however does not which feels like the same HL2 from 2004. Expand
  10. KorosuI.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    It's just the best part of the Half-Life series. Great experience, original gameplay, better dialogs and characters. I loved it all.
  11. niallM
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    First of all I am not a valve fanboy, and outragous rating of this game thouraly angered me. The half life series has to be one of the most origanal and different ever to be created. The story line completely took me in, the visual effect leaps out at you like no other game. Valve has no been repetitive with the half life series, Valve is a gaming company that is not afraid to differ from First of all I am not a valve fanboy, and outragous rating of this game thouraly angered me. The half life series has to be one of the most origanal and different ever to be created. The story line completely took me in, the visual effect leaps out at you like no other game. Valve has no been repetitive with the half life series, Valve is a gaming company that is not afraid to differ from the happy little feel good games such as call of duty! And I'm sorry mr. Hlep U but frankly all of the games in theorange box were utterly brilliant! Portal made you think beyond the level of other puzzle games. If you want something a little different and fun then where else to look but team fortress 2, it offers a fun experiense with a feel good cartoony style, and i'm sure you already know about the outright brilliance of hl2 and it's succesers! And I'm sorry if I right now am sounding like a Valve spokesman, but the only way the orange box could have possibly made any better a deal was if they had included left 4 dead. Expand
  12. IanS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Incredible, it's cinematics are becoming more similar target with a TV show than an FPS, and it actually revealed a bit about the G-man for a change.
  13. ZoltanH.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    I liked HL2 and EP 1 but EP 2 is one of the best FPS I've ever seen...
  14. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Half Life 2 is a must get game for gamers.I really like the Antlion Invasion to protect the Vort and Alyx.Really Fun.I also like the Zombine, too.Puzzles are a little frustrating, but you get them some time.I also liked the Antlion Guardian, bossfight. Expand
  15. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    WOW. The first thing that blows my mind is the graphics. When i first played this, I literally stopped moving and all I could do was just look at how good the graphics are. For a 2007 game, holy **** brilliantly done Valve. The gameplay in this episode is intoxicating. The difficulty is FINALLY perfected in this game, with a constant challenge throughout the entire game (or at least enoughWOW. The first thing that blows my mind is the graphics. When i first played this, I literally stopped moving and all I could do was just look at how good the graphics are. For a 2007 game, holy **** brilliantly done Valve. The gameplay in this episode is intoxicating. The difficulty is FINALLY perfected in this game, with a constant challenge throughout the entire game (or at least enough interest to keep you going), and only one section where the difficulty really spikes. And hOLY **** the music. Valve really knows where to put music in a video game, and when. The placement of the music brilliantly sets the tone for the gameplay. I don't think I have ever played a game with better music than this game. I feel like Valve physically read my mind about what I wanted there to be in Ep. 2, and they delivered. HUGE HUGE changes in this game. The gameplay is radically different, where Ep. 1 is focused mainly on combat, in Ep. 2, combat is much more spread out and it's mostly about navigating and trying to find your way. If you zoom out and look at the game layout, you'll see that it's pretty linear, but it does NOT feel that way in anyway. You're doing all sort of things, holding off attacks, investigating buildings, outrunning choppers, destroying enemy positions, and finding secret caches. The game will switch from exploration, to fierce combat, instantaneously. You will NEVER EVER know what will happen next. The length of the game is astounding, for such a level of intensity. It is easily twice as long as ep. 1, and nearly 3x as interesting. You will not want to put this game down. However, the difficulty is STILL not perfected, and some encounters may cause your health to quickly diminish. The first time I played this, there was a part that I simply could not beat because my health was just simply too low, so I had to go back several saves, which was extremely aggravating, and even then, I STILL had enormous difficulty with the fight. My second time through the game however, I had not trouble at all. Overall, this is a masterpiece video game, and is far superior to ep. 1, and quite possibly, Half-Life 2 itself. Expand
  16. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Silly hunters! While half life 2 had some minor flaws in the pacing (specifically in chapters like Root Kanal and Water Hazard) i think this game was paced perfectly and beautifully. The original HL and HL2 were challenging but, this game is also pretty challenging. And the ending battle with mini striders and striders was just magnificent. Still waiting on episode 3...
  17. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Much better than the first episode and that is saying a lot, considering this is an expansion it provides a lot of content and if you are a fan of the original you already own and beat this haha, but if you are not consider getting the original and both addons, you won't regret it.
  18. AndrewQ.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Everything I have come to expect from Valve, repetitive puzzles, similar action sequences throughout, and BY GOD DO I LOVE IT!
  19. BradleyG.
    Feb 9, 2008
    9
    It would be a ten if it weren't for the fact that certain things seem ripped off. The "Striders" look like the things from "War of the Worlds", the aliens use humans to build their army, kind of like "Quake". Everything other than that was amazing though.
  20. LukeM.
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  21. AlbertoS.González
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    It may be a little short and it makes a slow start, but the second half of the game is simply amazing. It deserves for me a 9,5 but if I have to choose between 9 and 10 I prefer the last. I hope Episode Three will be available as soon as developers can!
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = This add on is YET ANOTHER masterful game from the makers of Half life and Portal. You guys are too damn smart.
  23. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    The Half-Life series is awesome. Great soundtrack, great gameplay, good graphics (for their time), and jaw-droppingly good story. Much better than modern trashy FPS titles. Despite the fact that some of the "comedic relief" - as many call it - somewhat diminished the otherwise intriguing atmosphere of the Half-Life series, I can't help but emphasize once again that it is still much betterThe Half-Life series is awesome. Great soundtrack, great gameplay, good graphics (for their time), and jaw-droppingly good story. Much better than modern trashy FPS titles. Despite the fact that some of the "comedic relief" - as many call it - somewhat diminished the otherwise intriguing atmosphere of the Half-Life series, I can't help but emphasize once again that it is still much better than modern trashy FPS titles. The Half-Life saga is pretty amazing. Give it a try. Expand
  24. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    This is a must-buy expansion for people who liked Half-Life 2. The story keeps unfolding without any plot twists that would alienate fans. The first part of EP2 is full of action, though it is undeniably corridor-to-corridor linear. The second part does what Half-Life 2 does best - Mixing action, puzzles, and scripting. In case you need to understand how it works, let me share anThis is a must-buy expansion for people who liked Half-Life 2. The story keeps unfolding without any plot twists that would alienate fans. The first part of EP2 is full of action, though it is undeniably corridor-to-corridor linear. The second part does what Half-Life 2 does best - Mixing action, puzzles, and scripting. In case you need to understand how it works, let me share an experience. The Combine raided a missile silo, and I need to shut the doors in order to prevent any more Combine from entering in. Unfortunately, at the switch, they set up a turret. I sprint past the turret, leaving me with 90 health. I then grab my crossbow, move a bit from my cover, and snipe the soldier's head. To my dismay there is another Combine, and he manages to shoot me . I escape, but now I have 3 health. I see a health pack, but in order to grab it I need to get out of cover again. I instead push it off using a nearby box and the gravity gun, and drag it over to gain some more health. I then use the box to hide my presence while I sneak to another room. I take out a Combine there, and then open the door, shotgun in hand, and blast that last guy. I shut the door, but I use the turret to fend off all other invaders. THE REASON WHY IT DOESN'T HAVE A 10 IS BECAUSE OF THE ENDING. No, unlike most games, it's not a plot twist that is disappointing. It's just so annoying, and the AI doesn't help either. Expand
  25. YlonS.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Really loved the story line, even liked it more that zombies weren't the the most npc's that gave you trouble. I'll give it an 10 for story line and that alyx is with you 80% of the game instead you doing everything alone.
  26. MC
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    An excellent chapter of the half life saga, well told and acted; as well as offering loads of eye candy. my advice would be to wait with playing until closer to episode 3, or you'll be hungering for more.
  27. CaseyT.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    It sticks to the true story and form of the original. Game flows smoothly and action is alway awaiting around the corner. Just as good as the original.
  28. IvoD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    This is even better and better, will there be a Epesode 3 THEN I WILL PLAY :D
  29. Kilroy
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Much better than ep1 (only because ep1 can be completed in 2- 30 minutes). Though this game's ending was left completely open (for ep3) it takes quite a bit longer to complete. Graphics are amazing (especially the car scenes through the forest) Definitely worth he money! I actually didn't feel bad for buying this episode.. Nice challenging tasks ... YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!
  30. KeithB.
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    It's a little bit on the "more of the same" side but very much worth it.
  31. ChrisF.
    Oct 20, 2007
    9
    Excellent continuation of the story with new challenges not seen in the previous episodes.
  32. JustinA.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Great continuation of the epic storyline against the combine. Graphics and gameplay are a tad outdated though but still pretty to look at.
  33. AndreasN.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Awesome as usual. Cant wait to the next part. The Episodes are so short. Too short. Bigger please. Only thing that sucked was the ORGANGE BOX Package. Buy the whole game again. 2 copies. Great thoe for new player. Great package.
  34. AlexanderV.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    I don't know, how Episode Three will look like, but I do know, that Half-Life 2: Ep 2 is showing the best gameplay in all of FPS (Not counting HL2 & Ep 1, because evolution of the series started with superior game).
  35. NikolayI.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    I'm sure the game is impressive - gameplay, storyline and characters are excellent. The only thing to worry about is graphics. The game was released in October 2007, but it doesn't support DX10 features or full dynamic shadows and detail level is very low... I know many gamers think graphics in this game isn't so important as gameplay, for example, but I think Source engine I'm sure the game is impressive - gameplay, storyline and characters are excellent. The only thing to worry about is graphics. The game was released in October 2007, but it doesn't support DX10 features or full dynamic shadows and detail level is very low... I know many gamers think graphics in this game isn't so important as gameplay, for example, but I think Source engine needs a serious modernization. P.S. Sorry for my English because I'm from Russia. Expand
  36. RossH.
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    I would first like to say that half of the User Reviews don't even make sense, let alone give you a decent reason for why they rated the game as such. I will refer you first to Danny G who rated the game a 1. It seem he hated this esp, WTF is a esp? Probably short for episode but the individual is too stupid to realize the "p" is before the "s" in episode. I hope nobody continued I would first like to say that half of the User Reviews don't even make sense, let alone give you a decent reason for why they rated the game as such. I will refer you first to Danny G who rated the game a 1. It seem he hated this esp, WTF is a esp? Probably short for episode but the individual is too stupid to realize the "p" is before the "s" in episode. I hope nobody continued reading his review after that unless they were trying to get a laugh out of it. The second I would like to note is Philip B. He rated the game a zero because operating system didn't grant him the permission to run executable. Please don't abuse the game rating system because you can't play it. Personally I gave the game a 9. It had everything I could want in good FPS. The story line was amazing and continued an arc that seems to keep the mystery of what is going on alive, well progressing itself in an interesting manner. The graphics continue to amaze and delight me and the physics compliment it nicely. The only two things I have against this game is difficulty and length of play. Since everyone already knows that these are episodes and are going to be short I don't have to explain my lust for more when I get done with an episode. However my problem with the fact that the game isn't very hard even on the hardest of settings still bugs the shit out of me. Please valve make another setting for die hard gamers to give us the challenge we need. Expand
  37. TravisG
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The ending. I've never been so drawn into a game like this. This was the episode that REALLY made me care about Alex Vance as a person and not just as that quirky/funny chick that happened to like Gordon form the other games. Because of Episode 2 my outlook on this series has completely changed. Before I loved these games. But episode 2 ingrained them in me. Good job Valve, The ending. I've never been so drawn into a game like this. This was the episode that REALLY made me care about Alex Vance as a person and not just as that quirky/funny chick that happened to like Gordon form the other games. Because of Episode 2 my outlook on this series has completely changed. Before I loved these games. But episode 2 ingrained them in me. Good job Valve, here's hoping that the announcement of your progress on Episode 3 come out this year. Expand
  38. TannerH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, loved all the half life 2 games, love this one cause u get to continue the great adventure of gordan freeman! of course has alot more great action and puzzles and its fun!
  39. JamesH.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    This is definitely one of my all-time favourite games. Episode Two has it all: a gripping sci-fi plot, memorable characters, amazing graphics, incredible action, the list goes on. I agree with the other reviews that it seemed a bit short, and the last chapter was somewhat diminished by what I thought an abrupt (but good) ending. (Even before starting the game I had a feeling that Eli This is definitely one of my all-time favourite games. Episode Two has it all: a gripping sci-fi plot, memorable characters, amazing graphics, incredible action, the list goes on. I agree with the other reviews that it seemed a bit short, and the last chapter was somewhat diminished by what I thought an abrupt (but good) ending. (Even before starting the game I had a feeling that Eli Vance would die.) However, niether of these small shortcomings can make me take off even one point, because the game is so AWESOME!!!! I was left wanting the sequel right after it ended;I really can't wait until it comes out! I think this is an excellent continuation of the Half-Life saga. Nice work, Valve. Thank you for making this game, and please release the next episode ASAP. Also, thank you for reading and posting up this message. Peace, y'all. Expand
  40. SebastianF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    This game is alot of fun!I was hooked from the beginning on and the view after you exit the train....wow...Again, like in episode 1, the gametime is a little short. I know its just an episode but the story and game was well made and i just wanted to play for at least another two hours but than it ended quickly...This is the only reason why i didnt give it a 10.Amazing gameplay, Awesome This game is alot of fun!I was hooked from the beginning on and the view after you exit the train....wow...Again, like in episode 1, the gametime is a little short. I know its just an episode but the story and game was well made and i just wanted to play for at least another two hours but than it ended quickly...This is the only reason why i didnt give it a 10.Amazing gameplay, Awesome story and unbelievable graphics! Expand
  41. AlexK.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Episode Two brings you the moments when just stick to the monitor and can do nothing but play... no not play, you live these 5 hours of gameplay all by yourself. It`s a great experience after such masterpieces like Half-Life 2 and Episode One. Remarkable as always.
  42. RobA.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Back on par with the half life series for quality after the disapointing episode 1. Good story advancement, character dialogue and gameplay. No knew weapons though.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Truly a masterpiece of gaming.

    The story is great and gameplay is way more fun, than it was in original HL2 or in Episode one.

    It's way too short, but you can't get everything.

    And with it, you'll get even 2 great games: Portal (With it's genius gameplay and atmosphere) and Team Fortress 2, which is the most fun online multiplayer shooter yet.
  44. YannC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    This game is perfect. Just one thing : too short.
  45. MichaelS.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 Ep 2 is by far one of the most thought out games in the HL series. It is not only a good story but the story relates to the player's expeirence. I have gone thought the game and have listened to all the creators comments in the game and I was amazed at how much though that the makers of ep2 put into the game. In my opinion HL2 ep2 surpasses my expectations and turned out Half life 2 Ep 2 is by far one of the most thought out games in the HL series. It is not only a good story but the story relates to the player's expeirence. I have gone thought the game and have listened to all the creators comments in the game and I was amazed at how much though that the makers of ep2 put into the game. In my opinion HL2 ep2 surpasses my expectations and turned out to be a Great gaming expierence. Expand
  46. TimL.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic addition to the Halflife Life canon. Adds to and improves the story telling aspect, and a MUCH better experience than Ep1.
  47. JasonFarbo
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    I was moved to tears by the emotional impact of this act in the continuing battle of Dr. Freeman against the evil alien Combine. I cannot wait until I can play the next act. Rest in peace, Eli. I will savor your vengeance. And as for the creature who may bring "Unforseen consequenses", I wish him my early condolences... May broadswords and bullets be his undoing. Freeman Forever!
  48. AlexC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    It's amazing how you can also use your head in a shooter and how have to be strategic! i love that!
  49. MalteB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Just finished HL2:EP2 ... no words to describe this great 2nd addon to HL2 ... so perfect, so beautiful, so immersive. Can't wait for EP3!
  50. JeremyN.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    An Amazing chapter to the already amazing story of Half-Life 2. Better then the First Episode although I wish there was a trailer for the 3rd.
  51. ThaTyger
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Episode Two is a great new adventure, full of interesting plot changes. After the somewhat disappointing Episode 1 (great story, but in less then 2 hours I beat it on hard) it makes up to all the promises and more! The game looks plain awesome, even on my 4 year old game pc (I can still run HDR lightning and AA ^_^)!! The new maps are large, and the locations are variated. The only Episode Two is a great new adventure, full of interesting plot changes. After the somewhat disappointing Episode 1 (great story, but in less then 2 hours I beat it on hard) it makes up to all the promises and more! The game looks plain awesome, even on my 4 year old game pc (I can still run HDR lightning and AA ^_^)!! The new maps are large, and the locations are variated. The only negative point would be that I'd like to see some new weapons, and maybe some more "boss fight" kind of things (like an advisor battle). This game is by far the best game of 2007 however! Expand
  52. Mark
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Excellent. As part of the Orange Box this is an exceptional value. Episode Two picks up right where Ep 1 left off. No new real weapons, but the story really moves in this chapter, as does the character development. While not a sappy love story, the connection between Gordon and Alex grows, but never does the action completely stop. Final battle will make you heave a sigh of relief when Excellent. As part of the Orange Box this is an exceptional value. Episode Two picks up right where Ep 1 left off. No new real weapons, but the story really moves in this chapter, as does the character development. While not a sappy love story, the connection between Gordon and Alex grows, but never does the action completely stop. Final battle will make you heave a sigh of relief when you finish it. Anyone that plays this through can only think one thing; "Bring on Episode 3". Expand
  53. AlexD.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    One of the most compelling and driving stories i have played in an FPS In a long, long time.
  54. MalK.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Had everything, scenery, fast cars,emotion, striders, striders, striders.
  55. ArjanK.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I have bought Half Life 2 Ep 2 last weekend, and have been playing it ever since. And everything, the graphics, the scenery, the enemy's, the action, just everything is so awesome, it doesn't deserve less than a 10 in my opion.
  56. ChrisH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    A sublime game introducing some great and difficult new enemies. Replayability from the achievements. This game is a visual treat - you have to have a good look around, when the action lets you, to see what a delight the graphics are. Bring on Episode 3 and quickly.
  57. SheaL.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    It was a great addition to the episodic series. Nice graphic improvements and effects. The new environmental feel was great for this episode.
  58. JohannK.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Very nice game.. i loved playing even though it was a short 8-12 hours (over a span of 2 weeks). i loved the story starting from HL:1 all the way to HL:2 EP2. can't wait for HL:2 EP3. Best storyline ever!
  59. ZachD.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    From the original Half-Life to all of its expansions it continued to develop an enticing world that we all grew to know and love. With the release of Half-Life 2 i among other other gamers were stunned by the visuals and physics that were introduced. It wasn't just the graphics that sold me to buy the game, it was the further adventures of Gordon Freeman. Playing through the series From the original Half-Life to all of its expansions it continued to develop an enticing world that we all grew to know and love. With the release of Half-Life 2 i among other other gamers were stunned by the visuals and physics that were introduced. It wasn't just the graphics that sold me to buy the game, it was the further adventures of Gordon Freeman. Playing through the series of HL2 left me filled with emotion. Valve has really out done themselves with this epic series and I look forward to playing Episode 3 when it comes out! Expand
  60. mathispotier
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    il y a beaucoup de succes dans HL2 : episode 2 l'histoire est plus émouvante , et elle joue surtout un tres grand role dans l'histoire qui montre la mort d'un personnage que je ne citerais pas pour ne pas le dire devant ceux qui n'ont pas encore vu ... et je leurs souhaite de ne pas rater ça ( text in french )
  61. TeemuS.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best part of whole HL2 -series, visually enjoyable and realistic, good mapdesing. Good sense of humour and drama. Do we really need DX10?
  62. JamesT.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I had an amazing time playing this. The fast paced gameplay was complimented with a superb story, and there was a true feeling of panic whenever a hunter appeared.
  63. StephenM.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Best game I've EVER played. Utterly brilliant digital acting, stunning setpieces, eyepopping visuals and superb action sequences!
  64. JoeN.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    It was a great expirience playing this game. Not a dull moment if you ask me, I find that it wasn't too long nor too short, so it was a good length and the new graphics and characters were great.
  65. JamesL.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This game deserves a high rating for one simple fact: Innovation There isn't a single new FPS out there, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. aside, that doesn't just follow a standard. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 not only breaks away from other FPS games, but even breaks away from the previous episodes, adding much more interactivity.
  66. IvanB.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    I had an amazing experience playing this very masterpiece of art. Valve made truly hard work to make this project what it is now and personally I am glad to know, that today such games exist.
  67. Novi4ekNone
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    good game
  68. DevinN.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    I loved it! Storyline, action, voice acting, atmosphere, and those new cinematic eyecandy debris effects. Great game, The length is seriously not that bad, ep. 1 was 5.5 hours long plus ep. 2 which is 7 hours. Just 2 out of 3 episodes are only a couple hours shorter than hl2, all there together will be a pretty nice collection to the franchise. The ending is fantastic, the twist voice I loved it! Storyline, action, voice acting, atmosphere, and those new cinematic eyecandy debris effects. Great game, The length is seriously not that bad, ep. 1 was 5.5 hours long plus ep. 2 which is 7 hours. Just 2 out of 3 episodes are only a couple hours shorter than hl2, all there together will be a pretty nice collection to the franchise. The ending is fantastic, the twist voice acting, I felt a gut punch when I was watching the credits. Just means I'm emotionally gripped to the story... not many games do that. I can't wait for Left 4 Dead, The new portal, ep. 3 and what else they decide to throw into the next release! Could be the Blue Box for all we know! But I don't know how Valve is going to top the Orange Box 10 out of 10 for me. Expand
  69. Vaddlo
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    That's the best game I have ever played!
  70. AdamW.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Enjoyed every last bit of this game. The story line gets better and better. Can't contain my self for the next one to come out.
  71. FlavioM.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Marvelous expansion. If Ep1 was 2 times better than HL2, this is surely 3 times better. Tense, dense and brings a full load of emotions and more acknowledge of the characters feelings. 9.5. What holds it back from 10/10 is the old game mechanic.
  72. RobS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Half Life 2 is my favorite game of all time. Episode One was enjoyable, but not on the same scale. Episode Two, however, is pure awesomeness. The story, the characters, the animation, the level theme mix, the music, the controls, everything fits perfectly. It's only a shame it's shorter than HL 2, or it would be a better game.
  73. KennyM.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Everything about this game was amazing. The graphics, the story, and physics, and game play were extraordinary. I thought this game was better than Episode One but matched Half Life. The way the story flowed together made you want to keep on playing. I thought the best part of the game was how you could interact with the virtual world; even more than the previous games. If you love FPS, I Everything about this game was amazing. The graphics, the story, and physics, and game play were extraordinary. I thought this game was better than Episode One but matched Half Life. The way the story flowed together made you want to keep on playing. I thought the best part of the game was how you could interact with the virtual world; even more than the previous games. If you love FPS, I cant recommend this game enough. Expand
  74. SeanM.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I thought that this game was a great addition to the half-life series, bu two problems, endless antlions for at least 2 of the chapters, and abunch of my in-game textures are those crappy pink,black squares that replace missing textures. when i download a game, i expect it to come with everything it needs to run properly.
  75. NiyaziAker
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing!, nothing close can match up to it.
  76. DavidM.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    Best episode of Half Life 2.
  77. RyanD.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    Excellent game just like every other produced by valve. Only gripe is that it could be longer, but one of the best series I have ever played.
  78. TristanO.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Half-Life2-Half-Life2: Episode 2: "The best game(s) ever made...".
  79. TyA
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. Expands on the story very well, with the ending leaving me in shock. The final chapter of thise episode is one of the most intensely fun gaming experiences I have ever had.
  80. JohnC
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Loved the game felt alot longer and more entertaining then Episode 1 and the new enemies and allies was pretty fun. It was also nice to have awards you could earn through steam for the game and im happy to know that Episode 3 may have a link to Portal since Aperature science is involved. Only thing i didnt like was the ending since it was a little depressing. Really makes me want to see Loved the game felt alot longer and more entertaining then Episode 1 and the new enemies and allies was pretty fun. It was also nice to have awards you could earn through steam for the game and im happy to know that Episode 3 may have a link to Portal since Aperature science is involved. Only thing i didnt like was the ending since it was a little depressing. Really makes me want to see whats going to happen in Episode 3 though. Expand
  81. Mitch
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Normally I would give this game a nine, but I feel desperately I need to use whatever I can to overpower "Help U" and his poorly written monstrosity which ceased to make sense to those of us with logical brains about 10 minutes in. In retort to what (I think) he was trying to say, The Orange Box was not just some rip-off game package deal. For $20 you can get two, freshly released games, Normally I would give this game a nine, but I feel desperately I need to use whatever I can to overpower "Help U" and his poorly written monstrosity which ceased to make sense to those of us with logical brains about 10 minutes in. In retort to what (I think) he was trying to say, The Orange Box was not just some rip-off game package deal. For $20 you can get two, freshly released games, a brand new episode for Half-Life 2, and because it wouldn't make any sense at all to give you a new episode standalone, the other two chapters of the Half-Life 2 experience. Since three of the five titles then were brand new in the Orange Box, and the other two titles were basically a free gift, I hardly think there is anything to complain about unless you were at the frightening level of idiocy that would have compelled you to buy all these games separately. Your opinion of Episode 2 is your own business, but dropping the rating because of the packaging deal is just asinine. What's more, I am inclined to disagree anyway with your review, whose grammar gave me throbbing pains in my frontal lobes, by stating that with each of the Episodic releases Valve is not only adding more to the rich storyline of Half-Life 2 (which probably doesn't matter to the kind of gamer you group yourself under), and not only enriching the gameplay with new stirring sequences whose difficulty is amped up much further than the previous two installments and innovative additions to the Source Engine and interaction with the environment, but is also constantly adding to the game's original code to make it more visually stunning (the addition of full bloom and environmental lighting is felt most in episode 2, and beautifully) and user-friendly without the sacrifice of challenge. It is a wonderful game, and even if you can't see that, I encourage you to actually try using your mind before suddenly running your mouth and dropping the game with an insincerely low rating. I mean a two?! I reserve those for the likes of Sonic the Hedgehog games! Show some decency! Expand
  82. RobertA.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    A thoroughly satisfying gaming experience.
  83. BenB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The new gameplay is amazing, along with the enhanced graphics with better HDR and motion blur. The ending leaves you longing for ep3, but it doesn't make you hate the game like Halo 2.
  84. DavidK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Excelent game ive played every one of them from the begining including blue shift and opposing forces this is the first to show the outside world with such amazing clarity. trees trees everywhere.
  85. FernandoJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Awsome, as real as it can get !!
  86. ARCTICSWINE
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Hello, i have just been reading a lot of reviews and I read a lot about people saying ep2 is inconsistent with its gameplay and action, and that there are 2 many dull moments. Well this seeems like the best episode for alll of these dull moments right? I mean episode one there isnt time really for many dull moments. Episode three i can imagine valve wants to be very action packed, (ep2 Hello, i have just been reading a lot of reviews and I read a lot about people saying ep2 is inconsistent with its gameplay and action, and that there are 2 many dull moments. Well this seeems like the best episode for alll of these dull moments right? I mean episode one there isnt time really for many dull moments. Episode three i can imagine valve wants to be very action packed, (ep2 still has plenty of action for all of those dull moments) like a final episode should be. Besides all of this Half life to episode 2 makes up for every thing with a vicious final battle that requires quite bit of strategic gameplay and and a new enemy that more than offers new gameplay. Episode 2, despite what some people say was a very satisfying experience. TWO THUMBS UP! Expand
  87. MarkV.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Superb graphics, physics, AI, original scenes and story. Very immersive. This game is built for gameplay.
  88. AlexM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing, plot driven, high tempo, extraordinary graphics.
  89. JonathanM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This games sets new standarts in storytelling and gaming atmosphere!
  90. AnonymousMC
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Valve one ups their own "episode one" with a much more engaging storytelling, interesting environments, varying enemies, and gameplay. It is clear they have carefully groomed over HL2, and episode one to see how they could improve every little bit. My only complaint is that the characters are all too eager to congratulate the player, leaving brief moments where you feel like your inValve one ups their own "episode one" with a much more engaging storytelling, interesting environments, varying enemies, and gameplay. It is clear they have carefully groomed over HL2, and episode one to see how they could improve every little bit. My only complaint is that the characters are all too eager to congratulate the player, leaving brief moments where you feel like your in pre-school. I would give this a 9.8, but 10 is the closest I could get. Expand
  91. Chris
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this game..it seemed a lot longer then Episode 1 and the game was amazing. Awsome puzzles and the strider mines were awsome!! I would give this game an 11 but u know...i can't.
  92. JesperN.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Great graphics, great gameplay. A bit short 3-4 hours. It leaves me with the impression, that i missed out on seeing all the details of the graphics. Guess i'll go play it again :-).
  93. BevanM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Although it seems to have shorter gameplay than HL2 Episode One it's graphics, base storyline & gameplay definately have it a lot more intense.
  94. WilliamS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    All I can say is...I damn sure hope Ep.3 comes soon. HL2 has become in my eyes, the top tier of all games. You can't beat this story. Well done to everyone involved, and we all hope to see the conclusion very soon!!
  95. SubhasP.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The 6 hours in this game really propels the story forward and is filled with numerous action packed segments, espcially at the end in a large expansive area and multiple striders. The end of this chapter is comparable to what Empire Strikes Back was like for Star Wars.
  96. SamC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome!! Much better and longer than episode one, and amazing graphics, considering the source engines age, loved it!
  97. SamuliK.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Valve has done it again. Episode 2 is the best of Half-Life 2.
  98. AsyA.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    This game is just great for the ones who love driving. This game has very challenging levels and and makes you fell like you are the who killing all these combines!
  99. RichardS.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing. The ending left me speechless.
  100. JacobP.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Great story, great graphics, great gameplay - all in all: Great game!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 94
    Any way you look at it, Episode Two stands out, even among the Half-Life series, as something special. It may be shorter than the original, but it's a burly experience packed into roughly six hours or so that offers up all the diversity, level design, and thoughtful gameplay we've known while making sure to propel the story forward and leave us wanting more.
  2. More great story blended with improved AI and better firefights. It's starting to retread old ground though.
  3. Episode Two is the most sumptuous chapter of the Half-Life saga, and by a country mile. It's as if Valve's tech and art teams are trying to outdo each other: the Source engine has had a striking technical overhaul that renders textures, materials and curves uncannily well, and the artists clearly relish having a fresh palette to work with.