Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9025 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. calvinMiller
    May 6, 2007
    9
    Great fun game. Excelent Graphics.Addicting.
  2. PutinVladimir
    May 6, 2007
    10
    COOL!!!
  3. JoshG.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    With the power of source Half-Life2 is is easily the best game ever made. The physics puzzels were something I have never seen in any other game and I loved them. The charcater AI was great and so were the facial graphics, the best I've ever seen. You were also never doing the same thing over and over again which made it playable for hours.
  4. JackP.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! Great story and memorable gameplay. Amazing graphics overhaul and physics. Online ins't bad either.
  5. NorrecV.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Second Best Game On PC! (First... Fallout ;] )
  6. OriZ.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Great physics , great game , great story i loved it!
  7. LukeM.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  8. LoganR.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    One of the most thrilling games I have played in a long time.
  9. NickM.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Best game ever! Awesome Graphics! Awesome Physics! And Gravity Gun is the best weapon ever!
  10. Bobbobbo
    May 21, 2007
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  11. RobH.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    This is my all time favorite single player game I have ever played. I have played episode 1 and liked it, and cannot wait until episode 2 comes out!
  12. ThomasC.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Good game but it loads 2 much the Grafics and gameplay are great and the story is amazing.
  13. KristianK.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    It is the best game in the WORLD :P
  14. LukeM.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  15. DanB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    After so many months from the original release still the best multi and single player game. I was playing Half Life from his first release a few years ago and I think I will play all the future versions.
  16. KevinM.F.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    I got this game when it first came out. It exceeded my expectations and the graphics were beyond what I expected. I didn't write until now because of spare time and that I didn't really cared to leave a comment until now. But with more episodes comeing out and with new graphic cards and DX10 becoming the next gen standard. It is apparent that this game will still rock the boat, I got this game when it first came out. It exceeded my expectations and the graphics were beyond what I expected. I didn't write until now because of spare time and that I didn't really cared to leave a comment until now. But with more episodes comeing out and with new graphic cards and DX10 becoming the next gen standard. It is apparent that this game will still rock the boat, and expeal peole expectations onward. Expand
  17. RobR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. With the new upcoming "episodes" you're eager to see the characters develop, to see what happens to them. I'm reading all these comments and ratings left by people that have stormed on here after getting a little frustrated with Steam, have their panties in a bunch, and simply decide to wail on this great game because of it. I have one thing to say, GET OVER IT! These comments are about the game, not steam. The weapons you use are diverse and incredibly interesting to use. LIke said in a previous review, I cried, I laughed, I screamed, I sat in awe, I came close to wetting my pants. Also, the ending is by far the best of any game, with its true epicness. What a great game. Expand
  18. JohnY.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    An absolute classic... again. The first Half Life game introduced us to so many new aspects in FPS, and HL2 takes it to a new level with wonderful graphics, that may I say run extremely smoothly due to the ever wonderful Source engine, insane gameplay, realistic appearances, a really hot lead female character (Alyx Vance), and amazing AI. Although controlling your team is a little bit An absolute classic... again. The first Half Life game introduced us to so many new aspects in FPS, and HL2 takes it to a new level with wonderful graphics, that may I say run extremely smoothly due to the ever wonderful Source engine, insane gameplay, realistic appearances, a really hot lead female character (Alyx Vance), and amazing AI. Although controlling your team is a little bit hard. Oh, and not to mention the absolutely gripping storyline. EPISODE 2 SOON!!! :D Expand
  19. MattL.
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    This has to be the greatest game ever made. I have never seen such a great game in my entire experience as a gamer. I can't believe the idiots who gave this a 0 or less than a 7. This game deserves better than a ten, because the AI is NOT stupid, the phyiscs pwn any other engine, and the ingame cinematics just top off the icing. I don't understand how this game can be so This has to be the greatest game ever made. I have never seen such a great game in my entire experience as a gamer. I can't believe the idiots who gave this a 0 or less than a 7. This game deserves better than a ten, because the AI is NOT stupid, the phyiscs pwn any other engine, and the ingame cinematics just top off the icing. I don't understand how this game can be so horrible. I downloaded and played this in less than 15 minutes and beat it within a day. I loved the ending by the way. I can't wait to get Episode One. Expand
  20. HughM.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.
  21. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  22. Cory
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Steam is still tedious, as many others have pointed out. The physics engine, however, is probably one of the best futures of this game. Gordon's low capacity of ammo serves a nice challenge, since the weapons tear through bullets faster than a squirrel through trees. The ending was a bit of a let down, though.
  23. AlstonB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, I love it, can't wait for HL2 E2, just wish I knew when to expect it.
  24. LukeM.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  25. AcidReign
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    A fine game. But again, a very linear experience. Once you've played it that's it. Just like watching a film. You can't explore. You always know exactly what's going to happen next.
  26. ChristianS.
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Very good game, best action game ever!
  27. LuizM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I just finished this game, and it is simply amazing! No words can describe it! It's just beyond any FPS game! Just wow! If you are a fan of Half-Life, or even just someone who likes to play FPS games, you just HAVE to try this. It's challenging without being obscenely dificult, and it's hard where it's supposed to be. And the physics! This game feels amazingly real! I just finished this game, and it is simply amazing! No words can describe it! It's just beyond any FPS game! Just wow! If you are a fan of Half-Life, or even just someone who likes to play FPS games, you just HAVE to try this. It's challenging without being obscenely dificult, and it's hard where it's supposed to be. And the physics! This game feels amazingly real! Again... Just WOW! Expand
  28. GypsyD.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    Hard to be as good as Half Life 1, but it made it! The river ride was tremendous fun, even the third time I did it.
  29. CaleS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    This is a near perfect game, the physics, the graphics, and everything about it is awesome but there are just a few glitches that really draw from the expirence. Like you can pick up a piece of something and jump and all of the sudden you are flying. Something this realistic shouldnt have that big of a glitch.
  30. DillonC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    The game is perfect. To hardcore FarCry fans, accept it. You've been beaten. The engine is best out there, unrivaled. The physics, also the best. Why do you think FarCry has no physics puzzles? Half-Life 2 is by far the best of the best.
  31. CiobanuS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Perfect game. Nothing to say... Graphics, audio, physics, story all 10. PS: Dont understand why people gives low ratings for the long loadings. If your computer is old it doesent mean that the game sucks.
  32. RyanG.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I could play this game for days if it was that long. The mods for are some of the best I've ever seen and I cant wait for episode 2!
  33. SamJ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    LOVE it!
  34. MikkoA-F.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Half-Life rocked when it came out, now Half-Life 2 rocks, bigger, cooler and better. Good going Valve!
  35. NableS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Awsome! Linear, but the best programming of any game I've played. It always changes just before you get tired of it.
  36. JoeS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Only Doom 3 is better, and only in the technical sense.
  37. PaulT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    8
    Definitely one of the best games I have ever played. Combines suspense with excitement and even has a little horror in there. The music adds infinitely to the mood of the time, and immersion into the realistic world is all but inevitable. A must play!
  38. JulioR.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Gamer who don't play Half Life 2 can't called himself a true gamer.... Is a masterpiece of art of game. Not only is a game is drama that include you to feel you are in the screen.
  39. RyanD.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics and a very good story line.
  40. AdamR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game, one of the best i've ever played, and reaches into the region of best game ever made.
  41. NortonD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. What they were able to do with the engine of this game and the graphics set a new new high for this style of gaming. Hopfully you have a computer that can run smoothly this all settings maxed for this game because then you will be in "awwwww" the whole time playing and the steam alone is just a brillant program.
  42. desthlfan
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Well I really liked this game because it's so "scary" and so "hard", with the "Hard" difficulty level it's very very hard, I really liked the moments I must think and think that what I should do... The problem is when you finish the game , if u wanna play again you don't like because you know what to do. But there is a HalfLife2 Deathmatch that you can enjoy if u want :) Well I really liked this game because it's so "scary" and so "hard", with the "Hard" difficulty level it's very very hard, I really liked the moments I must think and think that what I should do... The problem is when you finish the game , if u wanna play again you don't like because you know what to do. But there is a HalfLife2 Deathmatch that you can enjoy if u want :) Uh, and sorry for my bad english, i'm Spanish. C-Ya! Expand
  43. CharlieB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Beautiful visuals, a polished interface, flawless physics, intelligent AI, immersive storyline, and audio that would make a deaf man sell his soul to hear. What more could anyone ask for?
  44. Yanko
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I just finished the game, and IMO it's the BEST I've ever played in my life(I played a lot of games through the years!)
  45. AlexC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    If you don't like this game there's something wrong with you or your computer. I've heard loadsa gripes about Steam and the long loads and buggy game. My reply is get a better computer and a good connection. For God's sake if you don't read the system requirements it's not the games fault. And those of you who feel that it jusdt isn't a good game. Get If you don't like this game there's something wrong with you or your computer. I've heard loadsa gripes about Steam and the long loads and buggy game. My reply is get a better computer and a good connection. For God's sake if you don't read the system requirements it's not the games fault. And those of you who feel that it jusdt isn't a good game. Get out. Just get out. Now. Expand
  46. ReidS.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Wow this game is amazing the picture, the storyline, everything is perfect. What more could one ask for?
  47. ThorbjørnW.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning graphics and an brilliant storyline - I love this game!
  48. JayR.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now many more mods out than there were last year, and I'm having a ball testing them out. My current favorite is SMOD Tactical: Delta 4. If you're like me and have bashed the shit out of the combine in every way possible, give Tactical a try, it's a definite wake-up call for all gamers. You think Half-Life 2 was hard on Hard? Please, try beating SMOD Tactical: Delta 4 on Easy, you'll be sorely mistaken if you think it'll be a walk in the park. Back to regular ol' HL2, though, I don't think there will ever be a game to best it. I've never played anything better. The graphics are stunning, and it's an absolute joy to play it maxed out. You become immersed in the story, dug into the battles, and enthralled with the characters. The sounds are resounding, I still get chills up and down my spine when I hear the howl of a leaper echo through the level. I dare you, no, I challenge you to find a game that can suck you in as much as this one can. I haven't found one, not even Halo, or Halo 2 can even come close to this. I love this game, I love the characters, and I love the story. My heart races, eagerly awaiting the release of Episode 2, so that I may see the next chapter in the story of Half-Life. Expand
  49. ValdeW.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    The best game in the woarld, its graphic is one of the best I ever seen, and I love Alyx Vance.
  50. CharlieK.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Best graphics I have ever seen, this game delivers a brilliant story line! Seriously, in my entire life, i have not seen a better FPS than this game! Some parts are frightening, I admit they even scared me a couple of times. But, a lot of the time its pretty funny. Yes, Steam may be a drag, but, HL2 is worth messing with Steam for. A long with the multiplayer version of Half-Life 2 Best graphics I have ever seen, this game delivers a brilliant story line! Seriously, in my entire life, i have not seen a better FPS than this game! Some parts are frightening, I admit they even scared me a couple of times. But, a lot of the time its pretty funny. Yes, Steam may be a drag, but, HL2 is worth messing with Steam for. A long with the multiplayer version of Half-Life 2 Deathmatch, this game is really fun, at the same time scary, and you need a lot of strategy to beat the singleplayer, a long with having some friends battle against you in Deathmatch. Just like the 1st (but way better of course) (and new monsters) The AI system is just perfect. Nothing beats this game. I give it a 100/100 or a 10/10 possibly a 10000/10? Source engine also helps the game, giving it possibly the most realistic graphics you can get in one game. P.S. it is SO worth the money. don't worry. Expand
  51. BierW.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game, I've ever played. The physics engine is plain unbelivable. it out scores HalfLife 1 big time! The end is a bit awkward though, but due to HL1 this seems to be normal.
  52. DieterS.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Very nice Game, Animations and Grafics.
  53. FernandoF.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    brilliant.
  54. SamN.
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    Wow.
  55. LukeM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  56. AlexK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    An absolutely fantastic game. the only games that will beat this one in terms of playability and graphics will be the sequels.
  57. Craig
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    For the first few weeks of playing this I though I *was* Gordon Freeman.
  58. WayneW.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Incredible FPS game in every aspect. I wish the original could be redone with the same quality graphics.
  59. IsaiD.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most awesome game i have ever played... excelent!
  60. LukeM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  61. BorisG.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Ok, I read all the people who voted zero and I have come to a conclusions. The main reasons people this game is horrible is A. They cant figure out how to install a simple program. B. They cant read the box and see that Internet Connection is required. C. They somehow think a FPS GTA such as Far Cry and a story driven FPS are two games that should be compared. D. They turn off automatic Ok, I read all the people who voted zero and I have come to a conclusions. The main reasons people this game is horrible is A. They cant figure out how to install a simple program. B. They cant read the box and see that Internet Connection is required. C. They somehow think a FPS GTA such as Far Cry and a story driven FPS are two games that should be compared. D. They turn off automatic updating and the complain about why there is bugs with stuttering. E. A popular game being liked is now its main cause for being horrid, if you like a game and its popular - then you're wrong. But if no one cares about an averagely rated and you somehow think its godly - well then you got the best game ever. Go ahead and read all the people who voted 0, there is no different reason as to what I already listed. I'm not including the unrealistic physics arguments because that is just an all around lie, and the AI? Heh, yeah I guess it is horrible that they throw grenades back at you? Last but not least, the people complaining about the story are just not trying hard enough. No - this isn't a pop out book where the story is all laid out for you, but is rather a puzzle where you have to actually look into it and find out stuff for yourself. The only reason I can think that it doesn't appeal to you is that you have no imagination at all. Expand
  62. CharlieR.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Except for the improved graphics and vehicles, Half-Life (Rating of 10 in my book) was much more fun, more varied, had a better storyline and played much longer. I like to replay it far more than HL2.
  63. JonathanM.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Technical issues due to YOUR slow and erroneous dialup line and issues due to STEAM (read, NOT HALF LIFE 2) should not factor into your rating. Rate the game, not the other factors. --For whoever said they want to see Half-Life with the same graphics, you're in luck. A mod team is working on "Black Mesa" a total conversion mod of HL2 to HL1. Not out yet, but eagerly anticipated.
  64. BatalovB.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the best FPS ever. The physical engine are fabulous and of course the scenario too.
  65. JamesB.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that gave this game a score of 7 and below really have no taste at all. Expand
  66. RobyZ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Great game, amazing graphics, great phisics, great AI.
  67. AlanL.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, superb attention to detail, amazing in game physics and excellent story, can't wait for further installments
  68. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Awsome on-line experience....I have loved and continue to love every sec. of the game.
  69. xenencore
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    The story , game play and the concept of single level with real time story telling , i think no other game can achieve this.
  70. DavidB.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    Possably the best game ever created. Story is the best out of any game it's like playing a film. I cant wait to see what happens next. Keep it up valve.
  71. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  72. MidgeG.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    This game is swish. I can't wait for HL3, and I know there will be one. Good things come in 3's!!
  73. LukeM.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  74. MattP.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    A truly amazing experience. Beautiful world, both in graphical quality and imaginative design. Lots of fun in various forms; boat, car, gravity gun, lots of shooting. Truly engaging story. Ushers in a new age of story telling. Everyone should have this game on their shelf, even if you don't like the game. The box can just serve as a means to remind you that you're wrong.
  75. MorAvramento
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, maybe the best game I played
  76. doscanasd
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    this game is beatiful and full action
  77. MitchMatley
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Great game! Beat it many times! love playing it!
  78. MasonAlbright
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Easily the best FPS ever.
  79. CapuMagig
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Its good, but hey, HL1 was better when comparing with time. But still, Hl2 is good, tho its way too short :S
  80. Johnna
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Great game - only thing keeping from a 10 is the lack of none linear play.
  81. seancutt
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    woot
  82. tommitochondria
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    best damn porno i have ever seen
  83. DaveW
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    What's that you say? How can Half-Life 1 be surpassed? Play Half-Life 2 to find out! Everything that made the original amazing plus so much more.
  84. Anglez
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    I've played many games in my day, but this game was unlike any other. It was created as if VALVe knows what the players want in a game. A game where nearly any object can be used as a weapon. The storyline may seem as if it doesn't follow the path of Half-Life 1, I thought the same too, but I was very wrong. It completely makes sense and everything fits in perfectly. Half-Life I've played many games in my day, but this game was unlike any other. It was created as if VALVe knows what the players want in a game. A game where nearly any object can be used as a weapon. The storyline may seem as if it doesn't follow the path of Half-Life 1, I thought the same too, but I was very wrong. It completely makes sense and everything fits in perfectly. Half-Life isn't just a game, its a revolution in gaming as you know it. Say goodbye to non-physics games after this. Expand
  85. ChrisWeinand
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Still the best game I ever played.
  86. KyleBarrett
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. From the enticing storyline to the innovative source engine. A lot of people don't realize how in-depth and many features the source engine has.
  87. RobbertJonker
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I have playing the game sinds 3 weeks ago, and now i end the game. Not a great end. I think (i hope) soon part 3 will come! 1 of the best game ever if you ask me.
  88. JoniK_K_K_K
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    This game is GOOD!!!
  89. ChrisDaleng
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I've played many good games in my life, but this take the cake! 10 / 10 !
  90. je
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 was great. The graphics were awesome. They never ceased to amaze me throughout the game. The music, when played, boosted your morale. And, finally, the story line was good.
  91. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  92. MattWood
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Actually 9.5. Excelent game. The only thing that could be improved on is the enemy AI. Everything else is perfect.
  93. simonKotaleski
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    The best Sci-Fi thriller ever!
  94. AndrewG
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    While I went through a CS phase, I never took the time to play either Half-Life or Half-Life 2. Now that I finished HL2, I cannot wait to play Episode 1. HL2 is easily one of three best games I've ever played.
  95. armandvonhelden
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Macht spass ist so ähnlich wie far cry , aber etwas gruseliger(spannender) Ist richtig Fesselnd :)
  96. DoranN.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    This game is even more awesome than the first half life and it is something everyone will surely enjoy.
  97. timb.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, awseome weapons, fantastic enemies, amazing surroundings. it blows other games out of the water.
  98. EmanuelKumlien
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Best game ever. period.
  99. JonathonH.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Story is amazing. Followed Half-Life greatly. Insane graphics.
  100. SpencerK.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    I do belive this is the best game ever, and episode one was a great compliment, and episode 2, TF2, and portals are said to be here Oct. 10th I'M SOO Excited!!!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]