Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8701 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheSourceG
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    The best game Ive ever played. Its just out of this world. The graphics are so good you really feel like your there. Takes physics to a whole new level. I guess its true, good things come to those who wait.
  2. BrianR.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Load times aside (steam or otherwise) this is one of the best crafted games out there.
  3. DigitalDevil
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Get it now!
  4. Ben
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game is the best fps i have ever played. the physics are freaking amazig.
  5. BlakeT.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable!
  6. JeremyB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral action and emotional components that you would normaly find only in a blockbuster hollywood movie. I just hope its not another 6 years before we get to play Half-Life 3. Expand
  7. StealthGod
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Awesome game. The graphics are awesome, the audio is great, the story is as good as the first. I love it!
  8. BobB.
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    It's hard to believe Valve managed to pull such an honorable follow-up to the number 1 FPS ever made. Outstanding! However, I thought it was a little short. Or was I that absorbed into the action that time went that fast?! ;-)
  9. SammyJ.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    An absolutely stunning game. The Gamespot review is way off. Not that HL2 is flawless, but it's so close you don't care. This game will blow you away, whether or not you were a Half-Life fan to start with. Way better than Halo 2 or Doom 3.
  10. J.D.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Valve. We will only be expecting more from you next time. Expand
  11. OmniboteSmith
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this fantastic can be released, which absolutely excels from the art to the gameplay to the technology, and some hopeless, ignorant turd will attempt to deride it. WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO SAY? "This game is a game. It has lots of stuff in it that games have. People like this game--I will be praised for exposing it for what it truly is!" You are not wise, and your review is...well, it's embarrassing. Half-Life 2 is the long awaited reason to maintain faith in computer games. The only person who could reasonably assail such a production would be a console enthusiast that wants to discredit what is the ultimate validation of the PC gaming platform and the harbinger of that platform's inevitable domination. Expand
  12. ChrisD.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever, this game has had so much effort put into it. But then again, it has been 5 years in the making. I think this beat the crap out of halo 2 which is a boring FPS that has no skill to it. Best game EVER and will stand the test of time.
  13. LokeszHarm
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Very impressed with the emotional expression of the human characters. Bit disappointed with sound quality. The same tech problems as hl1, this time on my totally upgraded super turbo PC! Maybe they have still the same sound programmer?
  14. Half-life2Fan
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    This game is the best I have ever seen!!!
  15. Bobby
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Amazing singleplayer game, it keeps you in the game full time. Beautiful graphics, beautiful sound, beautiful animations everything is beautiful
  16. JeromeD.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Completely awesome, best game i've ever played, probably best game i'll have played for quite some time to come. Valve owns all.
  17. EricH.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" crap. In conclusion, this game comes with my unqualified recommendation... if you make it through steam. Expand
  18. Mickj
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I'm sorry, u probably wont want to post this but i didnt know how else to get in touch with u [Ed] . how many of these user reviews to do have to look at every day and does the one person do all of them for all of metacritic? [Ed: A bunch, and yes, it's just me.]
  19. DivineMethod
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    The source engine and the graphics have a lot going for it, but when it comes down to creativity this game falls short. 10 for graphics 10 for the feel of the game 9 for the sound 8 for the fun level 5 story/ script.
  20. Konocoon-con
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    I think that this game is smiply amazing. This game beats and graphics of any game. Story-line, perfect. Game play has a wonderful addiction.
  21. MattB.
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    Cant get much better than this people! (Once you get past Steam) It is the best game I have ever played when it comes to the fps genre. Hopefully expansions in the same vein as Opposing Force are forth coming soon! Thanks Valve....
  22. JanP.
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Nice engine, ending sucks. Waiting for mods.
  23. DuncanM.
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy machine? Expand
  24. TonyThePirate
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    Very good game. The graphics are great.....very realistic....doesn't burden your graphics card heavily (like Doom 3). The plot is good and Valve sure did a good job in getting the player immersed in the game. I was totally hooked the first time I played it. I'm not done playing but I look forward to it when I have the time.
  25. SingallZ
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    If anyone rates this game less then a 10, they don't own a copy and have never played an FPS. BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED, EVER!!!
  26. AlessandroT.
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    Yes, they got it. Valve did another masterpiece, opening the road to a new generation of FPS/adventure games. The storyboard and gameplay are amazing. Great interaction with the environment and beautiful graphic, which runs smooth on a average today computer. I generally prefer squad-based games like Hidden and Dangerous or Operation Flashpoint, but this actually beats all of them as Yes, they got it. Valve did another masterpiece, opening the road to a new generation of FPS/adventure games. The storyboard and gameplay are amazing. Great interaction with the environment and beautiful graphic, which runs smooth on a average today computer. I generally prefer squad-based games like Hidden and Dangerous or Operation Flashpoint, but this actually beats all of them as depth in gameplay. Sometimes Half life 2 is violent or disturbing, with strange form of mutants, aliens and blood, but by the way this is modern science fiction! Great game Expand
  27. MarioP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    8
    It is a great game :fun,addictive,very fluid graphics.My concern is that the game is only 1.19 gig long and valve should have gave us a couple of levels more...for the wait.Also i wish it would have a bit more textures and thoses zombies ...com on !!!!they are not very well designed...overrated i think....
  28. MankeeOfDoom
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    An absolutely exhilarating experience. Easily the best game of the year. It even beats out the original. The most immersive piece of interactive entertainment I've had the pleasure of playing. 'Tis the win.
  29. SamuelA.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    BUY IT, BUY IT and buy it.. its a really great game, i love it, the most beathiful game ever made.... PERFECT, just a bit to short!
  30. ScottF.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. ive been addicted to counter-strike for the past 4 yrs and to see what theyve done with that is simply amazing. im hooked all over again. amazing game. Expand
  31. MyP.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 Silver for $60, I didn't just get Half-Life 2. I also got Counter-Strike, Counter-Strike: Source, Half-Life, Half-Life: Source, Day of Defeat, Day of Defeat: Source, Deathmatch Classic, Opposing Force, Natural Selection, The Specialists, Sven CO-OP, Digital Paintball, Earth's Special Forces, Zombie Panic, Firearms, The Battle Grounds, Vampire Slayer, Hostile Intent, The Trenches, International Online Soccer, Half-Life Rally, Adrenaline Gamer, Science and Industry, Action Half-Life, Frontline Force, The Ship, and hundreds more you can download, and even more that are in developement as Half-Life 2 mods. Expand
  32. JimmyD.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Simply Superb Perfect graphic, gameplay, tilt everything from sounds to killing woohoo good job valve.
  33. JohnM.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Three words; oh, my and god! The graphics and physics are simply astounding! It looks like real life (even though my PC runs it on medium/ low settings). No game will be able to match this for a very, very long time.
  34. AndrewC
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    The most immersive and compelling game I have ever played. A thrilling experience from start to finish.
  35. X.X.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever made. and the people who gave it a five just didnt have the machine to run it properly or just doom fan boys.
  36. JohnB.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    Sorry Zaminiski, but I rate games on how fun they are to play, not on what someone who's a bit too earnest in their dislike of the game and who throws in a Far Cry advert tells me. Half-Life 2 is a truly fun experience. Simple as that. Nitpick all you want (Crates and scripted events? Outrage!), it's executed extremely well with lots of polish, the graphics are superb, the Sorry Zaminiski, but I rate games on how fun they are to play, not on what someone who's a bit too earnest in their dislike of the game and who throws in a Far Cry advert tells me. Half-Life 2 is a truly fun experience. Simple as that. Nitpick all you want (Crates and scripted events? Outrage!), it's executed extremely well with lots of polish, the graphics are superb, the combat is extremely good, and it is remarkably immersive. I can't wait to play it again. Expand
  37. B.G.
    Dec 16, 2004
    9
    Brilliant game. The action is fast paced and involving, the environments (let alone the graphics) are superb, and most importantly it takes more than an afternoon to beat it. Unfortunately the story makes you long for a HL 3, the AI is a cool but easy to defeat, and I would have like 1 or 2 more guns. All in all its a fantastic game but not quite a 10.
  38. BOBM.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Finally a sequel to half life! Anyone who does not like this game never kicked alien ass or busted melons in half life, (that is to say...had a sniper rifle in half life and popped some government black opps head). Ha ha ha. {more of a Opposing Force issue} The secret goverment lab mentality created in half life was terrific! Complete with snake-like government agents, and tax payer Finally a sequel to half life! Anyone who does not like this game never kicked alien ass or busted melons in half life, (that is to say...had a sniper rifle in half life and popped some government black opps head). Ha ha ha. {more of a Opposing Force issue} The secret goverment lab mentality created in half life was terrific! Complete with snake-like government agents, and tax payer dollars going to waste. I wonder why there are not more games in this vain considering the current political climate? I'm glad it continues....what will the next generation of graphics bring to the gaming world? Expand
  39. RichieC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly much better, and results in some more intense firefights. Give it a shot, if you haven't already. The finest gaming entertainment yet seen. Expand
  40. LukeM.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  41. SteveM.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even mention how well the story is developed. Im just itching to play the third part of this amazing series. Collapse
  42. ZastuN.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    everyone who rate it under 9 don't diserve to play it.
  43. KDog
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading Steam updates and Ads before I was allowed to touch the real game. Now, I recognize why it was done, Valve was POed that their code got stolen by hackers in mid production a year and a half ago, and they had to delay for more than a year to rewrite it. But this is taking it a bit too far. I really hope games don't begin to adopt a system of gameplay like Steam, or I won't be buying too many more games in the future. I knew about Steam before I bought it, and the only reason I actually did buy was because it was Half Life 2. Anything else I would have seriously reconsidered. Overall: Game is incredible, Steam stinks. Expand
  44. Jeremiah
    Jan 5, 2005
    8
    A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, it's a compelling FPS, but probably not much reason to play twice because of it's linearity and scripted sequences. Expand
  45. Cheese
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    HL2 is the best pc game to date.... it eats up DOOM 3 and there is just so much to do in the game... if u have a pc.. u should have this game.
  46. DaBomb
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Solid singleplayer game - the graphics are amazing. Storyline is a little lame but who really plays these things for the plot? Anyhow, the free Deathmatch addon is incredible. and makes an 8/10 single player game a perfect 10!
  47. RobinH.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    A 'must have' for the serious gamer. The Steam setup procedure is somewhat annoying but understandable - I would like all games to adopt a similar procedure to stamp out ' software theft'
  48. KeshR.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the company. Why should they put up with people stealing their game? The system needs to be cleaned up true, but it is necessary. And personally I haven't found steam to be too troublesome. But the biggest potential criticism is the linear gameplay. Now there are two types of FPS out there really. There are those that are simply linear, and there are those that try to provide the player with freedom. Now personally I fidn that freedom of choice in games is an illusion in most cases, unless we are only talking about what type of weapon etc. In most cases your path is already determined, and only the storyline is affected. But if this is a big issue for you then you won't like HL2 And the fact is that you should already know this. The whole point of HL is to provide a movie like experience. There is a trade off between scirpting and freedom of gameplay. To make the whole thing more movie like, scritping is needed, otherwise the environment will become static. This comes at the cost of raw freedom of movement etc. Given that HL2 is full of scripting, the complaint that there isnt any freedom appears to be valid. But is it a problem? When you watch a movie, do you complain that you can't control the main character? This is how you should view HL2 for maximum enjoyment: you have the priviledge of being the main character in an amazing film. This is what HL1 did and unsurprisingly this is what HL2 does. To change it into some sort of free-roaming game would change the essense of the game, and no one would like that. The second argument against non-linear gameplay is that it increases the workload of the developers dramatically, so they have to cut down on the total length of the game. Now in my opinion HL2 is already too short, so anything less than this would reduce my score greatly. As for other smaller criticisms I have heard, most were minor gripe, but one in particular annoyed me. It seems some poeple are disappointed with the character expressions. This is incredibly unfair if you just comapre HL2's characters to what you find in other games, where developers have spent more time getting the exact way that people die right than the way people talk. I have given the game a score of 8, due to the short length, but if by the time you read this there is sufficient mod support, feel free to consider the score a 9 or even a 10, depending on the strength of the mods. Expand
  49. WillP.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    The Ability of the user to affect almost everything around him, when mixed with the imaginative and stunning weaponry make for pure excellence. The in-game water effects are simply stellar.
  50. GregA.
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle ground" and yet it took ages to load and save that it did take the fun out of the moment. I'll also say that I played it on the hardest setting yet there were very few occasions when I had to scavenge for ammo or health, there always seemed to be enough if you were prepared to look for it. Yes the game is linear but its a story and I can't imagine how (or why) you would want to play it with full freedom, it would just take too long. There is one scene where you need to find two batteries in order to open a barricade. As a test I used the gravity gun to eject a battery over the cliff face - I turned around and saw another battery fall out of thin air back to its original spot...so bascially you can't just do anything you want otherwise the game wouldn't progress. Speaking of which, the gravity gun was an ingenious inclusion in the game, it just made yet another FPS a lot more interesting. Moving tables about to shield yourself, or throwing petrol drums at guards was pretty cool in my books. Not as great as the original but it was a solid game with lovely gameplay and worth every cent. Expand
  51. Rafael
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    I´ve been playing this game only for a few hours but it´s enough for me to say that this is probably the best first person shooter game i ever played. I can´t wait for the day when they will release some kind of computer glases so you´ll be totally inside of a 3D game. This game is awesome!!!
  52. MichaelR.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This really is one of the finest games I've played in a while, and is amazing scalable. I can play it just fine at 1024x768 on a Radeon 9600SE.
  53. Mike
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    I expected aliitle more from Half life 2, didnt like that the game was so linear. Other than that. Very good.
  54. AB
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    To describe how amazing this game is would be as hard as letting go of it. The graphics are incredible, the sound is perfect, and (most importantly) the gameplay is superb. Plus, you can use a gravity gun to throw babies at people. It doesn't get much better than this. Oh, wait a minute. Yes, it does. You can also make cars fall on enemies. And when the mods come out it may get EVEN To describe how amazing this game is would be as hard as letting go of it. The graphics are incredible, the sound is perfect, and (most importantly) the gameplay is superb. Plus, you can use a gravity gun to throw babies at people. It doesn't get much better than this. Oh, wait a minute. Yes, it does. You can also make cars fall on enemies. And when the mods come out it may get EVEN better (if that's possible). Expand
  55. WilliamR.
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Rarely does a mega-hyped game live up to it's hype. Half-Life 2 was perhaps the most hyped game of all time. And if anything, it exceded the hype, and indeed all expectations.
  56. MikeL.
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    The only reason I don't rate it a 10 is that I don't know what the "perfect" game is. This is an awesome game that thrusts you into another world. The realism is uncanny. I turn off all the lights in the "computer room" and slip into Gordon Freeman's body. What a rush! Those galloping ghouls that debut in Ravenholm will freak you out! The situations that you find yourself The only reason I don't rate it a 10 is that I don't know what the "perfect" game is. This is an awesome game that thrusts you into another world. The realism is uncanny. I turn off all the lights in the "computer room" and slip into Gordon Freeman's body. What a rush! Those galloping ghouls that debut in Ravenholm will freak you out! The situations that you find yourself in often require you to stop, take stock of your surroundings, and figure out how to think your way out of the dilemma. I wish I could erase my memory and play it anew over and over again. Expand
  57. SeanT.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This game rocks.
  58. NicoleM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    This game is better than chocolate.
  59. Philter137
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    An artistcally brillant game! The content is excellent! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is due to the irritating installation process and the steam application that HL2 requires to run.
  60. K-van
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    A great technical achievement. But you've all heard the good, so here's the bad: Unfortunately HL2 lacks the challenge presented by its predecessor. Health power ups were available at every turn, which eliminated the need for any serious kind of FPS tactics (even on hard)...simply run, gun, and heal yourself. Ammo was extremely plentiful as well. This was a shame since limiting A great technical achievement. But you've all heard the good, so here's the bad: Unfortunately HL2 lacks the challenge presented by its predecessor. Health power ups were available at every turn, which eliminated the need for any serious kind of FPS tactics (even on hard)...simply run, gun, and heal yourself. Ammo was extremely plentiful as well. This was a shame since limiting the ammo would have forced players to use the gravity gun more. Instead the grav gun felt more like a gimmic. The vehicles were cool for the most part, however the airship level was too long. It's hard for me to say this but I was actually bored at that point. Overall HL2 is a game of amazing moments strung together by mediocre ones. Expand
  61. Alex
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Man... if there was a 9.5 rating... incredible game, Half-Life. its not really ment to be any sort of a horror/thriller game, but there are a few jumpy moments throughout. sweet gameplay, smart-AI, and smooth graphics are just icing on the metaphrical-super-delectable cake. the only problems i could find are the numerous (and often annoying) loading times, the 5-CD install, and Steam.
  62. NickL.
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    Very good graphics compared to the first one very intense a little to gorey for me butt uther than that it is a good game get it.
  63. ZygoffW.
    Feb 27, 2005
    9
    Overall a great game with a few minor quirks that hold it back. While a great idea, Steam is more of a hassle than it really should be. The game itself is far too short and could use a more diverse cast of enemies.
  64. F.for
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Wtf stop bitching here, everyone knows pros and cons, not everyone has money to buy all games and appreciate it, so they buy and play hype games like this and I can see many ppl enjoy HL2. I am one of them. There is no use bitching. Who knows how difficult to build an engine and create models with a limiting budget? How much can a game return? as much as blockbuster? HL2 sacrifice some ofWtf stop bitching here, everyone knows pros and cons, not everyone has money to buy all games and appreciate it, so they buy and play hype games like this and I can see many ppl enjoy HL2. I am one of them. There is no use bitching. Who knows how difficult to build an engine and create models with a limiting budget? How much can a game return? as much as blockbuster? HL2 sacrifice some of good features it had in HL1 for better graphic and physics engine. Anyway they managed to do meet its hype though there are many ways they can do it better. Halo 2 beat HL2 commercially, but if u look at what Halo 2 did after 3 years of making and Valve building their own engine from scratches in nearly 5-6 years, u can see clearly the passion behind the valve. Yup Steam sucks, it is mostly because they got hacked once. Expand
  65. Warmonger
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    Great game,truly an experience in itself,there was only one thing that I did not like about the game. (besides steam that is)This may sound trivial but I absolutely hated the rocket launcher!! this has got to be the worst weapon that I've ever see, in any game!! please lose this weapon for the follow up!!
  66. Giovanni
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    Its a great game but too overhyped, there are better games in terms of gameplay that still offer scripted storyline like far cry. The use of physics is a great addition and the graphics are fantastic, the AI is not so good. Overall a great game worth playing and buying but not as perfect as the reviewers say.
  67. Musides
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    The difficulty levels are poor, even on hard the game is very easy, and it is almost impossible to die. The game progress is entirely linear, no variation on game play is possible, and as usual in Half Life, you really have no idea *why* you are walking forward, just that you need to in order to play the game. Graphics, etc, are all great, of course.
  68. ChrisN.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Well, I would just like to say to all you who complain about steam and how you have to set up an account to play... On the box it says internet connections REQUIRED, that means you need it, deal with it, if you don't like it dont buy the game.... The physics are amazing, the games storyline is linear, but thats how it should be, its not GTA nor should it be, Half-Life 2 is less than Well, I would just like to say to all you who complain about steam and how you have to set up an account to play... On the box it says internet connections REQUIRED, that means you need it, deal with it, if you don't like it dont buy the game.... The physics are amazing, the games storyline is linear, but thats how it should be, its not GTA nor should it be, Half-Life 2 is less than a challenge than Half-Life 1, when half-life 1 came out first person shooters weren't challenging and there werent that many good ones... if you look now there is a plethora of shooters and we have all become accustomed to them... Try playing Half-Life 1 again... I did before Half-Life 2 came out and it wasn't half the challenge that it was when i first tried it, we have just gotten too accustomed to them... Now concerning steam and the processes that we had to go through to play... Plain and simple; would you like to put six years of your life into a game, perfecting, working, develloping a game that is in all ways a master piece to have it stolen mby some college grad with a computer steal it, use it, play it without ever playing? does that sound just to you? Also as to the AI? on hard the ai is very smart, i once popped out a door, then saw four or five CP soldiers and a strider, then ran back inside and waited for them to come and attack me... one ran through the door.... shotgun to the head! I expected more to come through pop 'em off one by one, not going to happen... a nade comes through... i jumped behind a table that flew into me and hurt me... then again i waited.. the strider crouched down and looked into the doorway charged its beam and fired! its was impressive i closed the door and blocked it up with a few tables and the cps tried to break down the door they couldnt! they smashed the window and started to shoot me they lobbed grenades etc! this was NOT SCRIPTED!!! i tried it more than once... it happened differenly each time (including one time that then shot the boxes to break them and then kicked open the door,) Ok, last thing... i think people who say that the phsysics are stupid and that there are games with better graphics than Half-Life 2, Ok you are on crack... or have been hit in the head one too many times with a real crowbar... There is no game that can compare.... Far cry? Lol yah... right I own that game.. I have beaten it but the game doesnt have anything going for it other than a fun gameplay... its mediocre graphics wise. Expand
  69. Dave
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    An amazing game all-around, great physics great ai AMAZING graphics and an interesting and fun storyline.
  70. ThomasW.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome, the plot, graphics, steam is good, the engine, the ai is good despite what people say (just cos they have it on easy) the gravity gun, musides is wrong it isnt almost impossible to die etc etc.
  71. KevB.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    BEST GAME EVER! game of the year X ten! it is soo good! the final boss rocked big time! the weapons are all so cool!
  72. J.Riekkinen
    Apr 8, 2005
    9
    Truly a great game. The atmospere is stunning, voices and music are nice, storyline's fascinating, graphics are amazing and the physichs best ever seen, and they're used well to bring us some logical puzzles. But it has some flaws. The long loading pauses are bigger problem than you might think - they split the gaming into too small pieces. Also, though most weapons are great, Truly a great game. The atmospere is stunning, voices and music are nice, storyline's fascinating, graphics are amazing and the physichs best ever seen, and they're used well to bring us some logical puzzles. But it has some flaws. The long loading pauses are bigger problem than you might think - they split the gaming into too small pieces. Also, though most weapons are great, some, for example the Overwatch Pulse Rifle, aren't that good. Expand
  73. JethroI.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    This game is great.
  74. CharlieW.
    Apr 24, 2005
    8
    I have to part-way agree with Mister B. This game's graphics and effects are amazing, but the gameplay's innerworkings are lacking... at best. I was blown away when I first started playing it, but my disappointment mounted when I reached the third level. You spend an hour driving around on a stupid bike solving incredibly dumb puzzles. Yes, Ravenholme won me back for an hour, I have to part-way agree with Mister B. This game's graphics and effects are amazing, but the gameplay's innerworkings are lacking... at best. I was blown away when I first started playing it, but my disappointment mounted when I reached the third level. You spend an hour driving around on a stupid bike solving incredibly dumb puzzles. Yes, Ravenholme won me back for an hour, but no more, no less. Really, if you are going to choose between this 50 - 80 dollar game and the 20 dollar original Half-Life package, go with the original Half-Life. It is defenitely better. Trust me. Expand
  75. WadeS.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Easily the best FPS ever made and perhaps one of the greatest games ever made.
  76. TimN.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    Amazing graphics and imersion. Easily the best looking FPS of all time. Also comes with Counter-Strike: Source...it's like getting two grade A games in one!
  77. DavidG.
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Uses multi-sensory techniques to immerse you in a virtual world. Audio in particular is awesome. Maybe not a real challenge compared to some killer FPS, but probably better at RPG simulation for those who like living in an alternate reality--though it is linear, so don't expect to create your own story. Another little annoyance is the game's broken into relatively small bits Uses multi-sensory techniques to immerse you in a virtual world. Audio in particular is awesome. Maybe not a real challenge compared to some killer FPS, but probably better at RPG simulation for those who like living in an alternate reality--though it is linear, so don't expect to create your own story. Another little annoyance is the game's broken into relatively small bits with load times between them. With no cut scenes to chew on, waiting a few seconds for loads is a shruggable offense. As for peeps other complaints: I use DSL to connect to the Internet and haven't had any problems so far with Steam, I loaded the game from DVD in about ten minutes, and I haven't seen any real bugs or evidence of bad programming. Expand
  78. RichH.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    How's this for a noncommital evaluation? I understand the hype and I understand the negative reaction to the hype. No, seriously, I give it a "10" because it's the most immersive game I've ever played, and that state is achieved by an incredible attention to detail. It's like you're right there in the scene and I don't know of any other game that can truly How's this for a noncommital evaluation? I understand the hype and I understand the negative reaction to the hype. No, seriously, I give it a "10" because it's the most immersive game I've ever played, and that state is achieved by an incredible attention to detail. It's like you're right there in the scene and I don't know of any other game that can truly make that claim (yes, I know there are some that *say* they can, but IMO they can't). I do have some reservations about the much-praised facial contortions--for the most part these are great, but there're some lapses. Dr. Breen is a good example. His facial expressions/gestures and voice don't quite synch up. Robert Culp's a great choice to voice unctuousness, though--I get such a kick listening to his oily voice on the various broadcasts and then, when I can't take it any more, using the Ggun to rip the console out of the wall and smash it. Apart from that, people have rightly faulted the so-called helpers (including the antlions, post-"Highway 17") and their annoying habit of getting in your way. People have also complained about the ending. I admit at first I didn't care much for it ("cheesy" was my initial reaction) but replaying "Benefactors" and "Dark Energy" together, I find the sinister atmosphere of the Citadel has kind of grown on me. The only thing about that last part I didn't like is having to rely for most of the time only on the Enhanced GravityGun. The fun of HL2 (as in HL1, only not as much) is weapon swapping, discovering to your delight that you forgot, say, that the crossbow could do so much long-range damage or that the best weapon against fast-moving zombies is sometimes the good old crowbar. In the last two levels, it's just blast, suck stuff up, and/or throw it. It gets old, quickly. All around, this game has significantly upped the standards we expect of FPSers and everyone, even those who aren't impressed with the game, should be thankful for that. Expand
  79. G.Miller
    May 10, 2005
    10
    A response to Mr. Hideto, who claims this game is no good, and that all evaluators of this game are somehow stupid and/or mindless clones who cannot make up their own minds: your "intellectual" smugness is entirely annoying. Please don't preach to us about human nature: there is more human nature in Half-Life 2 than your entire diatribe. Your philosophy that "it doesn' t make A response to Mr. Hideto, who claims this game is no good, and that all evaluators of this game are somehow stupid and/or mindless clones who cannot make up their own minds: your "intellectual" smugness is entirely annoying. Please don't preach to us about human nature: there is more human nature in Half-Life 2 than your entire diatribe. Your philosophy that "it doesn' t make sense that everyone agrees on something, does it now," is entirely idiotic, for not everyone agrees. And I really doubt that game-playing critics must go to other magazines for their own scorings. Thank you for your dumb post. Oh, by the way, everyone else: buy the game. It is excellent. Expand
  80. ChuckH.
    May 19, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest game I have ever had the pleasure to play. Simple as that. Can't wait for the expansion pack.
  81. TelyS.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    I've been playing games hardcore on all platforms since the Atari 2600. Half-Life 2 is the absolute pinnacle gaming has ever produced. It's lightyears ahead of the competition in all aspects of it's design. To the haters, a question. If you don't like Half-Life 2, what games DO you like?
  82. MichaelV.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Hideto M. your just being negative! but seriously this is a great game and it deserves its praise. Just because everyone says this game is great doesnt make us all conformist a$$holes maybe it just means this is a great game. The first game was not over rated and did deserve its praise. Thanks to Half-Life we are not playing mindless corridor shooters. Go ahead and say we are mindless and Hideto M. your just being negative! but seriously this is a great game and it deserves its praise. Just because everyone says this game is great doesnt make us all conformist a$$holes maybe it just means this is a great game. The first game was not over rated and did deserve its praise. Thanks to Half-Life we are not playing mindless corridor shooters. Go ahead and say we are mindless and have no opinions but i have more people to back me up that this is a great game than you do. Expand
  83. JulienC.
    Jun 18, 2005
    9
    Unbelievable, the ultimate video game experience, almost perfect. These game designers understood what a video game should be.
  84. CaseyC.
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    This was a great game and was a worthy sequal to the original. Playing the game was like watching an epic movie, with its awesome action sequences...but the bad was also that, It is way to linear. Everythings else is fine, especially if you have a top notch PC. Steam, ugg, don't get me started. If your have dial up, youll be spending all day getting it started. I just wish it was This was a great game and was a worthy sequal to the original. Playing the game was like watching an epic movie, with its awesome action sequences...but the bad was also that, It is way to linear. Everythings else is fine, especially if you have a top notch PC. Steam, ugg, don't get me started. If your have dial up, youll be spending all day getting it started. I just wish it was longer, it took Valve 8 years to make this game and it is just as long, if not SHORTER than Half Life1 which took just one or two. This is a great game and i highly reccomend it. It isn't the greatest game of all time though, In my opinion i think Far Cry is much better. But if your a PC gamer, get this game alongside with FarCry and Doom3 and have an ultimate Gaming marathon :) Expand
  85. Jonny
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    This game has great physics and everything. best game in the world!
  86. Lars
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    Adam is a *****. "Yes, i was blown away by the game, but i give it a Zero because i don't like steam." I think youre supposed to rate the game, not the installation process.
  87. MayankB.
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    It's a great game and it has all the things a good game requires.
  88. SamF.
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    If You enjoy First Person Shooters then look no further. HL2 Not only has great AI But also has graphics that will make you think its Photorealistic. This is true especially for the Sewer Section that shows off the Water Effects and Ground with such detail it must be seen to be believed. The Only Negative is the installation which can take nearly 3 hours because not only do you have to If You enjoy First Person Shooters then look no further. HL2 Not only has great AI But also has graphics that will make you think its Photorealistic. This is true especially for the Sewer Section that shows off the Water Effects and Ground with such detail it must be seen to be believed. The Only Negative is the installation which can take nearly 3 hours because not only do you have to install 5 CD'S But you must Register through steam, it Must verify the keyCode and Decrypt files and then Update Steam Files and Then Update The Game itself. Valve after getting Burned by its code being stolen has made a foolproof method that almost no one can Get past. Each CD-Key must be Unique and Acompany a unique Screenname. This info is sent to Steam and if both are new it will Decript the game for play. This makes it Impossible to sell/buy a used Title. once you get past installation you will be rewarded witha great FPS that has all the fun of the First game with Much Better Graphics and Physics. A must have for any Fan. Expand
  89. RyanP.
    Jul 31, 2005
    9
    Excellent game, superb graphics & a great storyline.
  90. GeorgeM.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the best game ever made. Period. Genius game design.
  91. GregB.
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Ok for all of you who gave this zeros because of Steam...you don't deserve to play games. All you do is install it and open an account, if you had problems doing that...games aren't your thing. This games predecessor (HL 1) revolutionized gaming and this one continued with great graphics, huge firefights, and interesting characters and level design. Gameplay was awesome and the Ok for all of you who gave this zeros because of Steam...you don't deserve to play games. All you do is install it and open an account, if you had problems doing that...games aren't your thing. This games predecessor (HL 1) revolutionized gaming and this one continued with great graphics, huge firefights, and interesting characters and level design. Gameplay was awesome and the cliffhanger ending left me waiting for the expansion. A great game all around that kills Doom 3's limited environments and tiny hallway brawls. Expand
  92. BenG.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games ever. I dont really understand why everone hates steam so much. It didnt cause me any trouble. Even if it did that doesnt make the game any worse.
  93. DylanC.
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    This game would get a 10 from me, but for a few things. The ending is one of the worst I've seen in a game. It does nothing that endings are supposed to do (wrap the story up, answer an unanswered question or two, etc). The gameplay, while fun, is quite linear. If you're looking for something like Fallout (or even the GTA line), you won't find it here. The AI is pretty poor This game would get a 10 from me, but for a few things. The ending is one of the worst I've seen in a game. It does nothing that endings are supposed to do (wrap the story up, answer an unanswered question or two, etc). The gameplay, while fun, is quite linear. If you're looking for something like Fallout (or even the GTA line), you won't find it here. The AI is pretty poor as well. Friendlies will pretty much either follow you, or charge the enemy, which means they are either in your way, or dead. Having worked with the mapping software a bit, I can see the enemy AI is only decent if you have a fairly linear level (you know where the player is coming from), and you take plenty of time to set up "cover points" and such. If you don't specify where the NPCs can find cover, they pretty much operate on the same AI level as the friendly NPCs. As for the good parts, there are a good number. As I said, the gameplay, though linear, is very fun. There are a number of weapons that will fit most players' playing styles. The graphics are the peak of current generation games, along with great implementation. The game also works fine on a wide variety of systems. It will run decent on a 5 year old computer, yet can make full use of a new powerhouse computer. As a last note, one of the best parts of the Source (and previously the Half-life) engine is its modability. Through these mods, developers can create a single or multiplayer experience that fixes all the gripes I have about the game, besides the storyline. Overall, I would recommend this game as a "must-buy", as what the game doesn't have out of the box, others can do for it. Expand
  94. SimonV.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Wow! This might be the best game ever made. Everything is the best ever, except for the AI!
  95. AlanH>
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game. I've had it installed on my system for a year now, been preoccupied with CounterStrike:S, and finally forced myself to sit down and play it. While I'm typically not all that into FPSs... select few if any, I absolutely loved HL2. Graphics are awesome (ok on my PCI... yes regular PCI vid card, but my 3.4ht makes up for it). Sound is phenomenal. Gameplay is superb. Fantastic game. I've had it installed on my system for a year now, been preoccupied with CounterStrike:S, and finally forced myself to sit down and play it. While I'm typically not all that into FPSs... select few if any, I absolutely loved HL2. Graphics are awesome (ok on my PCI... yes regular PCI vid card, but my 3.4ht makes up for it). Sound is phenomenal. Gameplay is superb. No question about it. Definitely recommended to anyone looking for a good game to kill some time on. Expand
  96. RamiarH.
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Perfect is the right word.
  97. RoberioM.
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Eu não to aqui para falar de Half-Life, só vim aqui para fazer minha visita e deixar o voto pois ninguém vai entender porra nenhuma que eu to falando, é isso ae! Todos que postaram são americanos e gosto muito de deixar eles verem uma língua diferente ! =PP
  98. GiancarloB.
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    game is the best. o ya and mr Sean War who said "gave it a0: Really repetitive, nothing changes, doesnt come close to doom 3 when it comes to graghics" doom 3 was the worst game ever it was just simply tarible. lacked a story ulike this one. unlike any other sequal to a game this one just blows ur mind away. game is great. the AI is great and the story contines to amaze me.
  99. BrendanK.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    I loved this game - even more than the originial. It has one of the best atmospheres ever, with lots of action and puzzles etc.
  100. GuillermoS.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    An instant classic. One of the best sequels ever made. A perfect recreation of a distopic future. Truly fun to play complete with an interesting story. What else do we need?
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]