User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7711 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeeD.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A very good game from valve....the kind of shake up the gaming industry needs.... A worthy purchase indeed....if you don't already have it you should!
  2. FrankT.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. great story, great graphics, great audio. In fact, great EVERYTHING. The only thing I disliked was steam, but that was alright.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    i love this game know matter how many times i play it i never get tired of it the only thing that i think that the people who made this game could make better is the end i would like to do more at the very end of the game
  4. PerroL.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is hands down the single best computer game I have ever played. The potential for customizing is awesome. Even after repeated gameplay I keep coming back for more... and more... gimme more!
  5. TeodorIkonomov
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  6. JonathanA.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games ever.Its AI is by far the best and the graphics and sound are brilliant. The game itself is very original and it has none of its predecessor's problems, Yet there were two things i liked most:a)when the music starts up you know why this is the best game ever and b) the game's story is subtle, it rewards those who pay attention to the clues, also This is one of the best games ever.Its AI is by far the best and the graphics and sound are brilliant. The game itself is very original and it has none of its predecessor's problems, Yet there were two things i liked most:a)when the music starts up you know why this is the best game ever and b) the game's story is subtle, it rewards those who pay attention to the clues, also it's worth saying that this game is an allegory. Expand
  7. Anonymous
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    With me believing on rating a game as a game I`d have to say Half Life 2 is brilliant. Of the many comments involving (Half Life 2 is jerky and slow on my pc) the simple answer is : Don`t play it on a rubbish computer then. Half Life 2 is a grerat looki ng game with cracking framerates (on decent computers) and a great storyline. And the A.I. I found that the enemies on my game were With me believing on rating a game as a game I`d have to say Half Life 2 is brilliant. Of the many comments involving (Half Life 2 is jerky and slow on my pc) the simple answer is : Don`t play it on a rubbish computer then. Half Life 2 is a grerat looki ng game with cracking framerates (on decent computers) and a great storyline. And the A.I. I found that the enemies on my game were constantly hiding for cover and helping each other get to me. The only downer is that the first level just slaps you in a level and leaves you to figure it out. I didn`t find Steam to be a problem as I was up and playing within 25 minuites of getting home and popping the disc in. Seriously folks you can`t say a game is bad because your PC and internet can`t handle it. Nuff Said Expand
  8. JohnR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I can't call it perfect, but it comes pretty close. Every problem I had with the original half life was fixed in this new one. The game play is fun, the choice of weapons is good, and the game time is pretty decent. Most games I can finish in 1 day. This one takes several, even if I spend all day on it. It's still fun to play even after you've completed it several times. I can't call it perfect, but it comes pretty close. Every problem I had with the original half life was fixed in this new one. The game play is fun, the choice of weapons is good, and the game time is pretty decent. Most games I can finish in 1 day. This one takes several, even if I spend all day on it. It's still fun to play even after you've completed it several times. Some of the levels, like Ravenholm and Nova Prospekt, brought out the part of the original game that everyone loved the most. Expand
  9. LoganR.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    One of the most thrilling games I have played in a long time.
  10. NickM.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Best game ever! Awesome Graphics! Awesome Physics! And Gravity Gun is the best weapon ever!
  11. AnonymousMC
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Definitely sets a benchmark for gaming. Underneath the questionable AI and less-than satisfying ending, beats the cold, hard, kickass heart of an incredibly game. Gameplay is amazing, while the puzzles leave you puzzled. Pun definitely intended. It makes you feel good about yourself when beating the crap out of the combine, yet it doesn't make you feel like you're fightingDefinitely sets a benchmark for gaming. Underneath the questionable AI and less-than satisfying ending, beats the cold, hard, kickass heart of an incredibly game. Gameplay is amazing, while the puzzles leave you puzzled. Pun definitely intended. It makes you feel good about yourself when beating the crap out of the combine, yet it doesn't make you feel like you're fighting lifeless husks. Bravo valve! Keep crankin' em out! Expand
  12. jeremyw.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Practically perfect game in every point. Graphics are excellent, story is ok, which takes a part of the score off. Otherwise every point in the game is beautiful including the gameplay and the weapons you can have.
  13. calvinMiller
    May 6, 2007
    9
    Great fun game. Excelent Graphics.Addicting.
  14. JoshG.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    With the power of source Half-Life2 is is easily the best game ever made. The physics puzzels were something I have never seen in any other game and I loved them. The charcater AI was great and so were the facial graphics, the best I've ever seen. You were also never doing the same thing over and over again which made it playable for hours.
  15. AlstonB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, I love it, can't wait for HL2 E2, just wish I knew when to expect it.
  16. DanB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    After so many months from the original release still the best multi and single player game. I was playing Half Life from his first release a few years ago and I think I will play all the future versions.
  17. Cory
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Steam is still tedious, as many others have pointed out. The physics engine, however, is probably one of the best futures of this game. Gordon's low capacity of ammo serves a nice challenge, since the weapons tear through bullets faster than a squirrel through trees. The ending was a bit of a let down, though.
  18. SamJ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    LOVE it!
  19. NableS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Awsome! Linear, but the best programming of any game I've played. It always changes just before you get tired of it.
  20. MikkoA-F.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Half-Life rocked when it came out, now Half-Life 2 rocks, bigger, cooler and better. Good going Valve!
  21. RobR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. This game is hands down the greatest game of all times. The storyline follows a traditional path. You as the hero of all time, is thrown into a mysterious (and may I say beautiful) world where you must learn about what has happened. The voice-acting for the characters was top-notch, and they were all beautifully designed. The main difference from Half-Life 1 has got to be the characters. With the new upcoming "episodes" you're eager to see the characters develop, to see what happens to them. I'm reading all these comments and ratings left by people that have stormed on here after getting a little frustrated with Steam, have their panties in a bunch, and simply decide to wail on this great game because of it. I have one thing to say, GET OVER IT! These comments are about the game, not steam. The weapons you use are diverse and incredibly interesting to use. LIke said in a previous review, I cried, I laughed, I screamed, I sat in awe, I came close to wetting my pants. Also, the ending is by far the best of any game, with its true epicness. What a great game. Expand
  22. ThorbjørnW.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning graphics and an brilliant storyline - I love this game!
  23. JayR.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now This majestic work of art should be played by gamers the world over, as it is THE gaming mastermind of not only 2004, but 2005, 2006, and even today, in 2007, it is still the best game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. And just when I thought I was finally done, had finished it for good, it called me back once again to give it another play. And to my joy, there are now many more mods out than there were last year, and I'm having a ball testing them out. My current favorite is SMOD Tactical: Delta 4. If you're like me and have bashed the shit out of the combine in every way possible, give Tactical a try, it's a definite wake-up call for all gamers. You think Half-Life 2 was hard on Hard? Please, try beating SMOD Tactical: Delta 4 on Easy, you'll be sorely mistaken if you think it'll be a walk in the park. Back to regular ol' HL2, though, I don't think there will ever be a game to best it. I've never played anything better. The graphics are stunning, and it's an absolute joy to play it maxed out. You become immersed in the story, dug into the battles, and enthralled with the characters. The sounds are resounding, I still get chills up and down my spine when I hear the howl of a leaper echo through the level. I dare you, no, I challenge you to find a game that can suck you in as much as this one can. I haven't found one, not even Halo, or Halo 2 can even come close to this. I love this game, I love the characters, and I love the story. My heart races, eagerly awaiting the release of Episode 2, so that I may see the next chapter in the story of Half-Life. Expand
  24. BierW.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game, I've ever played. The physics engine is plain unbelivable. it out scores HalfLife 1 big time! The end is a bit awkward though, but due to HL1 this seems to be normal.
  25. DieterS.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Very nice Game, Animations and Grafics.
  26. IsaiD.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most awesome game i have ever played... excelent!
  27. RyanD.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics and a very good story line.
  28. AdamR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game, one of the best i've ever played, and reaches into the region of best game ever made.
  29. NortonD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. What they were able to do with the engine of this game and the graphics set a new new high for this style of gaming. Hopfully you have a computer that can run smoothly this all settings maxed for this game because then you will be in "awwwww" the whole time playing and the steam alone is just a brillant program.
  30. CharlieB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Beautiful visuals, a polished interface, flawless physics, intelligent AI, immersive storyline, and audio that would make a deaf man sell his soul to hear. What more could anyone ask for?
  31. AlanL.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, superb attention to detail, amazing in game physics and excellent story, can't wait for further installments
  32. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  33. LukeM.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  34. je
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 was great. The graphics were awesome. They never ceased to amaze me throughout the game. The music, when played, boosted your morale. And, finally, the story line was good.
  35. MattWood
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Actually 9.5. Excelent game. The only thing that could be improved on is the enemy AI. Everything else is perfect.
  36. JamesB.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that Awsome Game,I loved it! I got the Steam version and the people that say they are haveing problems with it need a new brain lol. There is a way to play the game with out the internet,just take some to read up on it instead of being so lazy. The graphics are Awsome,The Gameplay was awsome,not sure about music i always turn off music in any game i play,it frees up resorces. The ones that gave this game a score of 7 and below really have no taste at all. Expand
  37. AuldS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 serves to remind everyone just how far computer gaming has come. I've been a gamer since the days of the Amiga. Never in all those years did I dream that one day games would be this good. As for the use of steam, Valve have every right to protect themselves from piracy.
  38. DannyM.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Incredible. Theres honestly not much more a game should have. Stunning graphics, incredible game play, and amazing events.
  39. markB
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is proof that a game with a good story is going to sell well. It has great graphics, but the story was even better. That is why this game will not be touched for a long time.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    The game is just awesome. The Graph, the texture, the effects, the fysics! And all this can be runned with high settings and good resolution with even a crappy computer (compared these days). Other developers of games around the world should make note about this game, -> how to run great graphics, and still not be a power eater. And act acordingly. Even dispite the fact that the game isThe game is just awesome. The Graph, the texture, the effects, the fysics! And all this can be runned with high settings and good resolution with even a crappy computer (compared these days). Other developers of games around the world should make note about this game, -> how to run great graphics, and still not be a power eater. And act acordingly. Even dispite the fact that the game is all about solo action. Just doesent matter. Its just so awesome. Expand
  41. DanH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I believe Halflife 2 is possibly the greatest FPS ever created, the havok system and all its litte inner workings have revolutionised the way we play games today. on a scale of one to ten this game deserves way above ten as its immense story and gameplay really keep the player submerged in a completely different world. im quite happy to play this game over and over again until i cause I believe Halflife 2 is possibly the greatest FPS ever created, the havok system and all its litte inner workings have revolutionised the way we play games today. on a scale of one to ten this game deserves way above ten as its immense story and gameplay really keep the player submerged in a completely different world. im quite happy to play this game over and over again until i cause myself major eye damage or RSI! WAY TO GO Valve on your sheer brilliance, i cant wait until the episode 3 you have me hangin on the edge of my seat. Expand
  42. DustinG.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Been playing games since I was a little kid on the first Doom. The Half-Life series is the first to introduce such an intriguing story line, and amazing game play. HL2 tops it off with badass physics and awesome AI.
  43. WorldBearer
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly annoying when trying to navigate tight passageways or attack a group of enemies. All in all however, brilliant game. Expand
  44. JeffG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the reason I play FPS games. It puts Halo and Gears of War to shame. When you finish this game, you'll be crying. That's how good it is. This game has revolutionized not just FPS games, but games in general. Half-life 2 is the standard in which all FPS games are compared against. My only complaint the puzzles in the game are rather lame. But everything else makes Half-Life 2 is the reason I play FPS games. It puts Halo and Gears of War to shame. When you finish this game, you'll be crying. That's how good it is. This game has revolutionized not just FPS games, but games in general. Half-life 2 is the standard in which all FPS games are compared against. My only complaint the puzzles in the game are rather lame. But everything else makes up for it and then some. Valve has outdone themselves again. Expand
  45. DominikK.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Like always, beauty of game, magnificient style, interesting like hell, addicting to everyone.... i want some more! ;) waiting to continue... like always.
  46. ZacharyM.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Very excellently made game, I haven't even beaten it and I think it deserves perfect. Nice job Valve!
  47. AnonymousMC
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Believe me, i would rate this 20/10 if i could. Utterly excellent game - i have played the series around 5 times now and i have not stopped. I can hardly find anything bad about it; it was just so immersive, something i have found many, many other games lack. Favourite bit: killing hordes of headcrabs with only a crowbar. I would probably rate this either best or second best game i haveBelieve me, i would rate this 20/10 if i could. Utterly excellent game - i have played the series around 5 times now and i have not stopped. I can hardly find anything bad about it; it was just so immersive, something i have found many, many other games lack. Favourite bit: killing hordes of headcrabs with only a crowbar. I would probably rate this either best or second best game i have ever played. Fantastic! Expand
  48. AnonymousMC
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    After reading some user comments (usually with a score of 6 and below) I noticed that many people say that this game is highly over-rated...

    This forced me to play Half-Life 2 again and I had a hell of a good time. The game play is not much to complain about, although the game is somewhat very linear, but that doesn't count too much. Enemy AI is somewhat iffy but it is at least
    After reading some user comments (usually with a score of 6 and below) I noticed that many people say that this game is highly over-rated...

    This forced me to play Half-Life 2 again and I had a hell of a good time. The game play is not much to complain about, although the game is somewhat very linear, but that doesn't count too much. Enemy AI is somewhat iffy but it is at least challenging. Also the friendly AI is somewhat annoying for me (they can get in your way a little bit). The story was interesting in my opinion to keep me attached to my computer to play it.
    The graphics for that time were damn good-looking. The sound is impressive (especially in voice acting) and in some occasions it doesn't.

    And back on the topic of over-rated games. Over-rated games are those who get advertised to much and in the end they are nothing more than just normal FPS without nothing new to show, much like the Halo series, I suspect that the people that post their low scores can be Halo fanboys or people who think that this game doesn't suit their taste, which makes me to wonder why the hell did they picked it up in the first place. Buying a game without looking it first is a terrible idea...

    People are perfectly entitled to their opinions, I respect that, like the former people I mentioned (not fanboys). But the only reason I'm posting this is because people say many times that this game is highly over-rated...

    People who are giving this game a low score can be a little annoying (not for me) but be fair, this game is an excellent piece of game design and manufacture.

    And no, it is not perfect. No game is. It IS, however, a milestone in the development of the genre whether you like it or not.

    You people (or Halo fanboys) don't like the game? Wonderful, good for you. You guys have your reasons, which are, as far as I can tell, that you don't care for the setting and production design. This doesn't make it a bad game, nor over-rated. That simply means you guys don't like it.
    Expand
  49. RetR.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  50. VikR
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing, I love the fact that you can mod the brains out of it... and the storyline was intense. Unfortunatly the story line was short (took me about three days, i was hoping for something that would atleast last me a week) and for some reason the game isnt one which you can play more than once without it being terribly boring. I give it a 9.
  51. MichaelU.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time to think about escaping. Just when your getting bored of something, it moves right on to another great part. The story is also very well done. Everything about Half-life 2 seems lovingly crafted, and altogether it feels like your in a movie. Its basically a game and a movie all in one. Valve managed to rekindle the orginal half-life while still adding something new. This will remain one of the greatest shooters ever for a long time. And for all of you who say its too easy, turn up the difficulty. Its harder to aim, enemies are smarter, and health packs are less powerful and frequent. This is one of the best games ever. Expand
  52. KevinY.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most amazing game I have ever experienced.
  53. DavidJ.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    A very nice game. It's abit scary so its fun to play whit friends and laugh. =)
  54. FerryvanZeelst
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Best game every created. Has lots of nice features.
  55. TimT.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Even better than the original. Half-Life 2 is a stunning pice of work. It's been one of the only FPS's to hold my attention all the way through, and continues to be the only non-multiplayer FPS single player mode that I continue to play all the way through again and again. Valve software deserves every bit of praise they get. Thank you Valve.
  56. Thatonekidthatlikestoplayviedogamesalot
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get this game if you really like to go zombie bashing, monster exploding, or even modding it to make it kill your enemies on the server (ok that requires ten dollars but it's worth it!) Expand
  57. LindinoG.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This game brought new meaning into my life.
  58. JonSLASH!
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    I think this game is probably the best game I ever played! The Graphics are Great and the story is good and long, so you can't Complete it at once. I would give this 1000000 but I could only give it 10.
  59. adams.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best game ever....no other game even comes close...amazing action and brilliant story.
  60. JoshY.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Its good overall just had to upgrade my comp to play.
  61. SamuliK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    it could do you happy...it could do you sad...it could do you frightened...it lives ever and it is probably one of best games ever.
  62. RobertS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This game rocks. Just finished and I have to admit it hooked me from the begining.
  63. PaulFountain
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Still go back and play it after new games dissapoint.
  64. BadenM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 is by far my favourite (post-Playstation1-era) game and always will be. Expand
  65. ChrisP.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    This game is very good. If there wasn't puzzles the game could be completed in any time. This game does not just require a monkey to play. It requires a human with a brain to play. The graphics are nice, especially when it was released in 2004. It beated every other game. When Half Life 3 arrives, the world of gaming will get a new action king.
  66. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  67. PutinVladimir
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    COOL!!!
  68. DavidS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Love the game only key board game I play.
  69. DillonS.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    I felt every emotion. Nuff said.
  70. BjörnK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    Great gameplay; astonishing, authentic environment and atmosphere. Compellingly one of the best FPS ever.
  71. WillH.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    This was a great game but i do think that the first Half-Life was a little better but this one was a good one hell ill give it a 10!
  72. PCGamer
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Best Singleplayer Game ever for its time. The Graphics were stunning and the storyline was amazing. I have replayed it countless times and still enjoy it.
  73. CameronT.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Half Life 2 is a long awaited sequel to a classic. It delivers continuous and unmatched action throughout its storyline, and succeeds in facing the user with small packs of puzzle solving and dialogue to keep you having fun, and being immersed!
  74. NicholasG.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be remembered forever as one of the greatest games ever made. I can't recommend this game enthusiastically enough to convey my feelings towards it, so I'm just going to blandly say, if you are a mature gamer with a working computer, you NEED this game. Expand
  75. StephanK.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    My most favorite FPS of all time. I have never encountered an FPS experience close to this one besides the origional Half-Life, Bioshock, and STALKER. Fantastic graphics and story compliment the well paced action.
  76. PepeE.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    THE GAME. EVERYTHING is great. The graphics, the gameplay, the MUSIC the score the fx the story... you can replay it a hundred times and find something new... man... it great.
  77. Ollskua.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The game is so near the reality because of the source engine, you just cant stop playing!
  78. Jordanfunk
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    SWEET GAME!!!!! I love all the combine ambushes. They rock!!
  79. JordanW.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Quite simply, the best FPS of all time. Buy it.
  80. JonathanC
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Great story, great graphics, great AI, great characters. How could you not like this game. Sure not as story twisting as the first but it doesn't mean it's not good still amazing.
  81. N0tiC
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    This is the Game that i spend most time with, I like the story, the graffic iant that bad either thought. Sure, sure it might me a little over dramatic but its fun and worth every cent! I have the whole serie, All of the Half-Life "1" (Blue...., Opposing front i think it was....) Anyway im a big fan of the Half life series! Good game!
  82. AdamW
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This is possibly the most awesome game ever made in the history of PC. and is anyone was put off it by the gore then just get used to it. i think it should be granted the best game ever award.
  83. LiZard
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, this is just sad how many illiterate, stupid people there are out there. As for me, I give it a 9 for the awsomeness it contains. Although I was dissapointed how I couldn't take a turret with me from Nova Prospeckt. I brought it into the teleporter, but to no avail. I'll miss you, Mr. Turret. *sob* Expand
  84. HaLf-LiFeFrEAk
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    It runs like crap on my computer but that doesnt mean I hate it. Only problem is the dialog stutters like heck: Mossman: A-a-a-a-a-a-le-e-ex, I-I-I-- Alex: Enough of your bul-bul-bul-bul-bullsh-shi-shi-shi-shi-...etc. Only other problem is that on ths laptop it can crash the entire system. But it is still one of the best games so far, bar none.
  85. AlexR.
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    Haven't actually got the game yet, but a friend has it and seems really good, however the seems to complicated for my pc to run it well enough to play, so thats the major complaint, but the gameplay on my mate's comp is really good, so all is good about the game itself really.
  86. LukeM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  87. frankd
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This game is very well thought out, smooth, and well curved design. it revolutionizes the gaming industry with the gameplay, physics, and graphics
  88. martinp
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love HALF-LIFE games! I have played Half-Life 1, its mods, Half-Life 2, Portal,Episode 1,Episode 2 many times, and I just cant wait to start playing Episode 3!
  89. PutinVladimir
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    COOL!!!
  90. AnonymousMC
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    This game is the gratest I ever played, it tells a wonderfull story full of action and feelins, not all creatures are real, but it's very realistic. Besides that it gives you a lot of weapons and all the stuff to fight, u just can pic up a glas-bottle and throw it with the gravitrax so hard it flys som 100 meters, other than, it also gives ya houndreds of cars and boats and busses orThis game is the gratest I ever played, it tells a wonderfull story full of action and feelins, not all creatures are real, but it's very realistic. Besides that it gives you a lot of weapons and all the stuff to fight, u just can pic up a glas-bottle and throw it with the gravitrax so hard it flys som 100 meters, other than, it also gives ya houndreds of cars and boats and busses or trains you can drive mwith. ITS REALLY GREAT!!!! Expand
  91. AnonymousMC
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    From start to finish, Half-Life 2 is an amazing ride. Stunningly beautiful graphics and fluid gameplay make for a smooth play through an epic plot. The characters are great, the source engine shines from start to finish and nothing beats the thrill of beating the tar out of zombies with a crowbar when you're on 20 health and you've run out of ammo.

    All in all, Half-Life 2 gets
    From start to finish, Half-Life 2 is an amazing ride. Stunningly beautiful graphics and fluid gameplay make for a smooth play through an epic plot. The characters are great, the source engine shines from start to finish and nothing beats the thrill of beating the tar out of zombies with a crowbar when you're on 20 health and you've run out of ammo.

    All in all, Half-Life 2 gets a straight up 10 from me.
    Expand
  92. HughM.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.
  93. LukeM.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  94. DavidK
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    The overall novelty value that the game has is fantastic. The ragdoll addition to gaming is great, but I found this game to be to say the least "unusual". The ending is atrocious but then they would not have had the Episode Expansions that they did. The environment is topnotch. And if you like a good fps this game is for you.
  95. LukeM.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  96. ShockK
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    As revolutionary as the first. All games should be based off the steam physics engine. The only reason people would give this a bad rating is because Steam is second only to AOL as the worst product ever created, which is unfair to the actual game. When my friend first started playing, he had hours of fun just throwing trash at the metro police. I can only imagine how much fun he'll As revolutionary as the first. All games should be based off the steam physics engine. The only reason people would give this a bad rating is because Steam is second only to AOL as the worst product ever created, which is unfair to the actual game. When my friend first started playing, he had hours of fun just throwing trash at the metro police. I can only imagine how much fun he'll have when he get's the gravity gun. Expand
  97. paulv
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Very good story a game that you must have played before dieing (:P) I also played episode 1 and 2 and now I can't sleep till I have half life 3.
  98. HI
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This game is a classic and its awesomeness is phenomenal. All you "What the f*** is Steam?," "I don't know what internet explorer is," "What's a driver," "This game is bad, because the puzzles are hard" and "What's a D... V... D...?" should learn a little about using a computer, reading and using their brains instead of just giving a lousy score. And all you people who This game is a classic and its awesomeness is phenomenal. All you "What the f*** is Steam?," "I don't know what internet explorer is," "What's a driver," "This game is bad, because the puzzles are hard" and "What's a D... V... D...?" should learn a little about using a computer, reading and using their brains instead of just giving a lousy score. And all you people who thinks the ending is bad should ask themselves "Hmm... what could Half-Life 2 Episode One possibly be?" Expand
  99. DigitalDevil
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Get it now!
  100. JoshS
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    I remember the first day I played this on Christmas Day in 2004. I was absolutely amazed by the game, and I nearly fainted when I saw the Gman's face in the opening sequence. Truly a game to remember.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. 100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]