Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8701 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelW.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Clearly the environment, puzzles, and levels are the best out to date. With the advent of chapter one soon to be released, we'll see this series evolve in ways that can only be experiance through total game emersion. To those critics of Steam, Its irrating at times but I have to its definalty the best way to provide a balance of anti piracy and freedom to manipulate the game through Clearly the environment, puzzles, and levels are the best out to date. With the advent of chapter one soon to be released, we'll see this series evolve in ways that can only be experiance through total game emersion. To those critics of Steam, Its irrating at times but I have to its definalty the best way to provide a balance of anti piracy and freedom to manipulate the game through the SDK. I think steam is a good idea and the nay sayers are just plan noobs. Expand
  2. DanG.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    The most amazingly realistic and engrosing game to come along in ages. HL2 is one for the history books!
  3. CristofferL.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    I have play half-life 1 and that was a great story, when i see the first interview about half-life 2 nice graphic, good its running with steam for updates and more, like the story from half-life 1 and need to see the continuation in to Half-life 2 City17, and now ist come a expations pack to Half-Life 2 Epesode 1 something i don´t want to miss. so i see and hope forward for Valve I have play half-life 1 and that was a great story, when i see the first interview about half-life 2 nice graphic, good its running with steam for updates and more, like the story from half-life 1 and need to see the continuation in to Half-life 2 City17, and now ist come a expations pack to Half-Life 2 Epesode 1 something i don´t want to miss. so i see and hope forward for Valve for Half-Life 3 and more. Expand
  4. NathanS.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played
  5. AlexF.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This game lives up to the media hype and is simply an incredible experience to play. Even people who arent fans of FPS's will appreciate the gameplay, the physics, the storyline...the game just does not disappoint on any front.
  6. BenW.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    great game. i love it. great facial and bodily movements. i love how when you finish a puzzle it makes you (think) you're smart.
  7. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  8. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  9. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  10. GeorgeZ.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    this is the best game i have ever played, it has excellent storyline, non-stop action, suspense, and excellent. this game will keep any gamer playing for hours!
  11. TerenceC.
    May 23, 2006
    8
    This game is probably one of the best games I have ever played in my entire life. The storyline is so involving, the gameplay is addictive and is imense, and the ai of the enemies is so incredible. The only flaws this game has is that it requires more aliens, an explanation of how them aliens learnt how to talk, and why they befriended the humans, and one major flaw is that if ypou have This game is probably one of the best games I have ever played in my entire life. The storyline is so involving, the gameplay is addictive and is imense, and the ai of the enemies is so incredible. The only flaws this game has is that it requires more aliens, an explanation of how them aliens learnt how to talk, and why they befriended the humans, and one major flaw is that if ypou have not played the original Half-Life then it's quiet boring and very confusing. Expand
  12. AlP.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    The best single player FPS ever.. The graphics, ai, lighting, effects, water, physics and sound are all above the competition. It's well programmed product allows gamers to experience the half life 2 in a flawless and error free environment. To walk away from this game without a few stains in your pants would obviously mean you changed them.
  13. EvanC.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. I really like we dont go to raven holm. It had a nice element of realism.
  14. SamN.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Wow.
  15. VuN.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    I can only say I love it so much I bought the complete Valve Game Package.
  16. MasterN.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    It's the best game I ever played, i have a worse Cpu(celeron 2.4 Ghz 133 Fsb 128 Mb Cache) and the game just plays well on the highest resolution and texture filter. It's the best programmed game i ever played. Physik engine is perfect, lightning effects are perfect and everything in the game is perfect. A Thanks, programming this game, for the Valve-team.
  17. AnthonyD.
    May 24, 2006
    9
    I loved the game however I was disappointed with the ending of it.
  18. SamN.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Wow.
  19. ChicoritaK.i
    May 27, 2006
    9
    not really perfect in physical calculation (eg. you can see the rain in water, and some objects' shadow through the wall) but i think this is the best of those fps/fpa game.
  20. mattbearcroft
    May 27, 2006
    10
    its awesome
  21. MagnusT.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Splendid graphics, the best physics you have ever seen in a game, uncompromising audio and an amazing story mode to back it up. The game was a little too easy for any standard, but that small falice can be overlooked when faced with this, the undoubtedly best game in FPS history to date.
  22. BalazsS.
    May 28, 2006
    9
    Incredible! What I didn't like that there are only a few monsters in the game and the ending is a slapdash work not to mention the weapons.
  23. LukeM.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  24. LukeM.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  25. BjornF.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    This game is probably the best ever. It's so realistic, when others are talking, they are looking you in the face. When you walk the natural laws are in charge. And you don't finish it in a week, it takes time. The thing I really love is that you have to think to get further in the game, and often move things around or push a button to get to the next level! It's just the This game is probably the best ever. It's so realistic, when others are talking, they are looking you in the face. When you walk the natural laws are in charge. And you don't finish it in a week, it takes time. The thing I really love is that you have to think to get further in the game, and often move things around or push a button to get to the next level! It's just the best game I'll ever played! Expand
  26. MathewO.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Best. Game. Ever. It has physics, great storyline, stunning graphics and great gameplay. I can't get bored of this game!
  27. LukeM.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  28. LukeM.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  29. DrewS.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    It may be impossible to match the ambience this game created.
  30. MattiasL.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This game has great graphics, good use of ram, has great mods - It totally rocks.
  31. MarkC.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Even though Half LIfe 2 was delayed for so long, it showed us that patience is really something. The game just gets better with each update. I can hardly wait for Half Life 3.
  32. LukeM.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  33. SolidSnake
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    The End is not the best, but the Game is one of the best I ever played. The Gafik ist a revolution.
  34. MarcoP.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    The game is beautiful under all aspects but the italian language isn't perfect.
  35. J4Y123
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    I would rate it 20/10 if i could, the only problem with the game was "Steam." When i bought the game i was so Pis**d Off because i could not play it because i did not have the internet at the time so i installed it on someone else's computer to play it, later to find out they didn't have a good enough graphics card so that didn't help. Then eventually i got the internet and I would rate it 20/10 if i could, the only problem with the game was "Steam." When i bought the game i was so Pis**d Off because i could not play it because i did not have the internet at the time so i installed it on someone else's computer to play it, later to find out they didn't have a good enough graphics card so that didn't help. Then eventually i got the internet and the i still couldnt play it because the disc was already registered to another comp. and user >:( in order for me to play it i had to send it away to get checked etc.. and i just really couldn't be bothered. So i went out and bought it for the Xbox to find out that it was the best game i had ever played :) so i had to get it for the pc because i was soon to be selling my xbox so i could get an Xbox 360 and this is one game i have to have. So once i bought it AGAIN for the pc if ound out it was even better than the xbox version, the graphics and lightig was practically twice as good and the physics engine etc. Expand
  36. PaulB.
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    This game was amazing. I hear all of the complaints about Steam; I had trouble with it myself until I looked around the forums enough. The physics are excellent, but, unfortunately, there isn't much the physics are used FOR. And I have heard the complaints about loading times; I have a Dell XPS 400, and the loading times do not interrupt the game badly at all, although slower This game was amazing. I hear all of the complaints about Steam; I had trouble with it myself until I looked around the forums enough. The physics are excellent, but, unfortunately, there isn't much the physics are used FOR. And I have heard the complaints about loading times; I have a Dell XPS 400, and the loading times do not interrupt the game badly at all, although slower computers I can understand. The graphics are good, as are the facial expressions. And everyone's problem with a linear game: what's wrong with it? I felt like I was playing in a movie. Also, the fact that one doesn't see oneself in cutscenes is great, because it makes the player seem as he is the character, rather than some random watching entity. True, the Allied AI does indeed suck. You can send your squad elsewhere, whoop-de-do. However, the enemy AI is amazing, on hard mode. There have been several times when I thought I was safe, but not even my trusty crowbar could save me. The enemy AI runs like soldiers, covering eachother while moving and throwing grenades just for the stun effect. Why can't the Allied AI be that great? Actually, there is a good reason. The Allies are just civilians with guns and stuff, they aren't trained soldiers like the Combine. Expand
  37. Zero
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    the level of detail is carefully precise and astoundingly in-depth. when played on a wicked system, this game is nothing less than impressive. gameplay and AI both flow very well and the game is quite long enough without ever getting boring, i've only beat it twice.
  38. KennyW.
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    The source engine is awsome not only does half-life2 use it but thier is so much that you can do with it that wasn't used in half-life2 they could of put a grappling hook in hl2 but they didn't cause people would go into the less detailed areas of the maps, but one of the mods for hl2 called garry's mod let's you do pretty much anything and you will be able to do more The source engine is awsome not only does half-life2 use it but thier is so much that you can do with it that wasn't used in half-life2 they could of put a grappling hook in hl2 but they didn't cause people would go into the less detailed areas of the maps, but one of the mods for hl2 called garry's mod let's you do pretty much anything and you will be able to do more when garry releases GMOD 10 people mostly use gmod for comics and stuff like that. Expand
  39. StevenP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    how can you not give this game a ten? great graphics, gameplay, physics, voice overs, enemies, weapons, controlls, etc. half life is the best FPS series ever, and anyone who isnt buying it because of the price should know it is worth every penny!
  40. DaveM.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    The best PC game of all time. Plays like an immensely good book or movie; you will be sad when it's over. That said, it will take you quite a long time to reach the climax. Half-Life 2 is a paragon in gaming and not to be missed by anyone with a PC.
  41. MarcO.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    The fact that HL2 can have mods attach to it gives it a big boost. This is the greatest game in history.
  42. TaylorB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Excellent game. I've seen all these few negative reviews saying that the story sucks and the a.i. is horrible. You people dont know what youre talking about. The a.i. is the best out there, and i have yet to find a better story or better interaction with the characters. it has the best physics of any game out there, and while the weapons arent the best, the gravity gun is fun. as for Excellent game. I've seen all these few negative reviews saying that the story sucks and the a.i. is horrible. You people dont know what youre talking about. The a.i. is the best out there, and i have yet to find a better story or better interaction with the characters. it has the best physics of any game out there, and while the weapons arent the best, the gravity gun is fun. as for steam, i dont have a problem with it. True fans of half-life 1 will givei it at least a 9. Expand
  43. FredrikK.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Best game i ever played, it really made you like you are a part of the world and the story.
  44. PatS.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Best game for the PC. Awesome graphics and an awesome storyline. For the people who say there is no storyline, try to actually watch and listen in the environment rather than just trying to get from point a to point b in order to beat it. Also, you dont NEED to be online on steam in order to play hl2. The first time you do to register the game, but after that, its optional for offline Best game for the PC. Awesome graphics and an awesome storyline. For the people who say there is no storyline, try to actually watch and listen in the environment rather than just trying to get from point a to point b in order to beat it. Also, you dont NEED to be online on steam in order to play hl2. The first time you do to register the game, but after that, its optional for offline play...morons. Expand
  45. MatthewM.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    i have beaten this game over 5 times and it is the best game ever.
  46. TUsion
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    The best PC game I have played to date! Incredible graphics, which can be run on surprisingly low-level systems, great story and interactivity.
  47. BlakeC
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    It ROCK's
  48. JohnV.
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    The game looks pretty nice, plays well, but the story isn't deep at all. there is basically no story, just random missions on a list. Took me 10 minutes to install and play, so im not complaining about that. Weapons were very unoriginal, and AI was very stupid.Game play is Awesome, and Ravenholm rocks more then Doom (at some parts). Not as good as Far Cry or Half life 1, but The game looks pretty nice, plays well, but the story isn't deep at all. there is basically no story, just random missions on a list. Took me 10 minutes to install and play, so im not complaining about that. Weapons were very unoriginal, and AI was very stupid.Game play is Awesome, and Ravenholm rocks more then Doom (at some parts). Not as good as Far Cry or Half life 1, but definitely better then games like CoD2. Expand
  49. Tommy
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Just the best first person shooter ever created! It got graphics, action, killing and a really good engine!! Worth every penny!
  50. nemesis
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    great game in 32 bit but 64 bit well thats another story, it has lots of bugs
  51. KevinJ.
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    Awsome game! The first time I played it, I was lost in the story and played for hours. Scalable engine makes this game good on even budgeted systems, yet is one of the best looking games out there.
  52. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  53. DavidF.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    best game so far. Great graphics, great story, great characters, and a lot of neat puzzles to boot.
  54. TimoS.
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    New level of fps playing. Story, the World, sounds, figures, etc: everything is in it's own class. I've been playing Valve's games since they have been available and never dissapointed. Still this is something much more than I could have ever expected or imagined even in my wildest dreams or hopes! This goes far beyond normal gaming experience: this is a journey, it is the New level of fps playing. Story, the World, sounds, figures, etc: everything is in it's own class. I've been playing Valve's games since they have been available and never dissapointed. Still this is something much more than I could have ever expected or imagined even in my wildest dreams or hopes! This goes far beyond normal gaming experience: this is a journey, it is the half-life. Expand
  55. nils
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    the game is my 2.big love near my girlfriend fine story, big action, and physical engine is so nice,sounds and music is bombastic better as doom and loser game fear.
  56. JackHander
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Maybe this is the best game ever. The story is so nice, like the gameplay too. Great game!
  57. MorpheusL.
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    This is one of the greatest game ever created. A great game worthy of hall of fame!
  58. CalebG.
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    Out of all the FPSs I have played, like Doom, Quake, F.E.A.R., ect. this is by far the best and greatest FPS of all time. I find myself looking at my collection of PC games thinking about what I want to play and it always comes back to Half-Life 2. This game has taken so many hours of my life and I dont want them back.
  59. MichaelP.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    Exciting, edge-of-your seat game that immerses you in the very realistic, alternate world of Gordon Freeman.
  60. MarcoC.
    Jun 16, 2006
    9
    It's a good game. I play it with all full graphic details, and it's nice to watch. The water and the sky are really well done, and the HDR is there!
  61. AdamD.
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    this game is brilliant. hands down. valve is once again masters in their craft. valve holds such a high standard for the games they make, and it shows here in this game. it takes the original and kicks it in the ass and tells it to go home. it does the same to most shooters for that matter.
  62. PutinVladimir
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    COOL!!!
  63. GraemS.
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    A very gripping experience, taking you through this futuristic underground railroad. The ammunition capacity is realistic, the length of the game is great, the sound is pretty cool, and the graphics are near top-notch. But them greatest of all is the story. This game has one of the most fantastic and entertaining stories I have ever experienced! This is a truly revolutionary game, (in A very gripping experience, taking you through this futuristic underground railroad. The ammunition capacity is realistic, the length of the game is great, the sound is pretty cool, and the graphics are near top-notch. But them greatest of all is the story. This game has one of the most fantastic and entertaining stories I have ever experienced! This is a truly revolutionary game, (in terms of enjoyment) and should not be missed by anyone who enjoys the genre(s). The great thing about the Source engine is that you can be playing off of a medium-low end computer and still enjoy decent gameplay. But if you want to max it out, I recommend using a quality rig. ottom line: This is a fantastic, amazing, enthralling, and revolutionary game. Expand
  64. Bobbobbo
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  65. eXperionHL2.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    I like this game very much, the AI could be better, but so far i just like it so much. and it was a bit annoying with steam, but smart thinking... But Doom 3 has the stuff in .pk4 files, but Half-Life 2 doesn't but the load time is alot faster. This game owns, its even playing in 2006 ! I am happy with that.
  66. SamJ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    LOVE it!
  67. TrevorD.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    great game, and also great for lan partys. it's graphics engines are superb. Definatly the best FPS i have ever played.
  68. ScottC.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Great game. if you dont play it you deserve all bad that comes to you, you Tibia loser.
  69. LukeM.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  70. RyanB.
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Pros: This game is sooo much fun. The ragdolls are so much fun, all of the objects follow the laws of physics(meaning no more floating cinder-blocks when they get thrown into the water). The NPCs for the enemies I find are truly amazing. They'll hop over fences, rappel down walls, and even throw stuff at you. Also, the zombies are so sweet. They're all gory and guts and stuff. Pros: This game is sooo much fun. The ragdolls are so much fun, all of the objects follow the laws of physics(meaning no more floating cinder-blocks when they get thrown into the water). The NPCs for the enemies I find are truly amazing. They'll hop over fences, rappel down walls, and even throw stuff at you. Also, the zombies are so sweet. They're all gory and guts and stuff. And also, they'll throw stuff at you. Cons: Horrible teammate AI. Just Horrible. (Except for DOG). If you just simply love the Havok physics and ragdolls, but want to get more freedom just randomly throwing headcrabs against walls, go download Garry's Mod. It's so amazing. Expand
  71. DeanM.
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    the variety of half life with less obvious puzzle tedium. graphics have made the game even more immersive than the original. oh and giving it a permanent place in my heart.
  72. KeeganB.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    This game has great graphics great gameplay great storyline and amazing scenery and puzzles along with non-stop action. Who wouldnt want this game?
  73. MathewM.
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    AMAZING grafficts, outstanding player animations, and Lighting, and the source engine added some of the best effects I have ever seen in a PC game.
  74. RetR.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    Amazing.
  75. ArthurFreda
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    The graphix are out of this world. The only one ever bad thing is the long ass loading. But all in all the game is the SHIT! I love all the cool things u can do on it. Like along with it u get a sample of counter strike scource with u can play online with tonsof people. But the bottem line is if u like first person scince fiction games this is the one for u!!!
  76. KrestenM.
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Genious gameplay, super stunning graphics, great sounds, and good multiplayer games afterwards. Totally a masterpiece!
  77. SeanT.
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    This game rocks.
  78. AnsonG.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    HL2 is the best 1st person shooter on PC i ever played. The graphics and display was amazing and gameplay was well-designed. Come on, why not like this game? This game was a famous they ever created. For those who gave below 3 u just moaning because u havent play Half-Life(1998) or u have a crap computer. So why u guys judged already? Do u know what is the story happened at previous HL2 is the best 1st person shooter on PC i ever played. The graphics and display was amazing and gameplay was well-designed. Come on, why not like this game? This game was a famous they ever created. For those who gave below 3 u just moaning because u havent play Half-Life(1998) or u have a crap computer. So why u guys judged already? Do u know what is the story happened at previous Half-Life(1998)? Do u know how many weapons? And do u know what happened to the ending? So please STOP moaning. This game is probably is a best and should buy this one. Expand
  79. DmitriyS.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Best of the games!!!
  80. JamesG.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    great game! i couldnt get off it! love all the weapons, characters and alike. Gordon Freeman is at his best in this one!
  81. GarrettD.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Holy Crap! Tihs game is great, completley smooth game play with 3.4 GHz Processor and 2 GB RAM. If you have this game I hate you! Episode 1 is just as good!
  82. AndreasK.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    I've finished it tree times and it just doesnt ever get boring! This is the best fps game i hav EVER seen! Though i wish there was a sniper rifle too.
  83. ArtZ.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Just the best game I ever played. Excellent graphics, nice AI, good weaponry, beautiful gameplay. Congratulations to its developers.
  84. NathanG.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    The BEST game i've ever played in my entire life! I can't beleave what will Valve create next with the amazing source engine! I just love this game so much, and all the mods including Garrys Mod! I'm just waiting for Natural-Selection and TFC to come out with New and imporved physics and graphics! and more! Great job Valve!
  85. JacobS.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    By far the most intense, addictive fps i've ever played.
  86. FernandoM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    For sure Half Life 2 in an incredible game, even not being perfect. Obviously there are some things to improve, there always is, but they're not too many... If producers could make a game more shooting and hard puzzles and less useless enroling scenes it would be nice... the engine is perfect.
  87. LukeM.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  88. willmaster510
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    this is the best 1st person shooter on PC I ever played .this game is way better than halo or gta its sweest damn game I ever played way to go velve And sierra.
  89. BrandonR.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Perfect by comparison to other FPS games, HL2 is the best game to ever hit the PC. It engages the player through so many different levels - everything from the anticipation of fear to the fun of using military tactics to command your team of resistence volunteers against an alien-dominating society. Nothing better than HL2 has yet been produced to date.
  90. ScottL.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    This is a game that is like a drug. You get addicted to it. This is a fast paced and exciting pc game. It never gets old or boring.
  91. LukeM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  92. RobertA.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Best game to date. The engine is amazing.
  93. TomppaHakla
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    This is the best action shooter game ever!!! Nice graphic's and NICE STORY!!! i can't stop foe playing this again and again and again..
  94. JeffreyH.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    One of the best FPSs ever.
  95. TomJ.
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    This game is great; it twists in both amazing graphics with amazing gameplay. Something many other games fail to accomplish.
  96. MatheusR.
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    the best game i see in my life.
  97. Paul
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Not only does it have awesome graphics, and amazing visuals, but it continues to be a very playable game that puts you in many different types of scenarios and not one part of the game feels like a previous part.
  98. ZachB.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Greatest game ever to hit pc or any system the graphics gameplay sound are outstanding the onyl bad thing abotu this game is how creepy it is at 1:00 at night and zombies are attacking you at night.
  99. SamN.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Wow.
  100. MarkS.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    this game is awesome, you gotta get it, the physics, the models, the skins, details, graphics, action, puzzles, everything, gotta get it.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]