User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9061 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobbyJ.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    This is game is just... WOW, Valve really outdone themselves with this one, in fact, theyve outdone every other game out there, I mean the graphics, sound, and every thing else. This game is a definite buy for any PC gamer. :)
  2. AnthonyS.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Best game ever made. Period. This game, its gameplay, graphics, storyline, and creativity are simply and utterly flawless. It is undeniably the first game in history to ever surpass all expectations of a video game. Add to that the amazing multiplayer capabilities that the game is open to, and we have ourselves a winner.
  3. RonitC.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Does Half Life 1 proud...buy this game.
  4. DeaneE.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Played the game up at Valve's offices. Let me say: disappointed, you won't be. This game would have been great even if it was just a room with physics objects and the manipulator. But they built a game around that awesomeness that shines in almost every area. You're in for a treat. :)
  5. OliverH.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    More sleepless nights and C-S-2!!!!!
  6. BlakeC
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    It ROCK's
  7. MarcD.
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    A well-polished FPS with, both, a strong single and multiplayer mode. Fans of CS will love the new Source version and the people who loved the pacing of the original Half-Life will relive the love affair they had with the first game's single-player campaign. Great stuff.
  8. S.S.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    it's about time, and it's FREAKING unbelieveable.
  9. Flanders
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    I love the texture resolution in this game.. things look almost real. As for gameplay, I was able to rip the TV out of the wall, walk it down the hall, and chuck it in the face of the guard... awesome!
  10. SteveA.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    All incredible, but what's up with the ending?
  11. BrianS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best game I have ever played. Storyline, characters, physics, graphics. its all the best ever done in a game.
  12. LindenC.
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    Awesome but not perfect, not sold with half life source and all that without paying more thats bullsh*t.
  13. CrayHorse
    Nov 28, 2004
    8
    Half-Life 2 is good, but grossly overrated. Yes, the graphics are eye-popping on the latest video hardware, and the physics is a lot of fun. But the game has long repetetive stretches which are mind-numbingly tedious. Unlike Halo 1/2, riding the vehicles in Half-Life 2 is so tedious that I've come to dread their appearance. At the end of the day, Doom 3 is a better game and a better Half-Life 2 is good, but grossly overrated. Yes, the graphics are eye-popping on the latest video hardware, and the physics is a lot of fun. But the game has long repetetive stretches which are mind-numbingly tedious. Unlike Halo 1/2, riding the vehicles in Half-Life 2 is so tedious that I've come to dread their appearance. At the end of the day, Doom 3 is a better game and a better gaming experience. Expand
  14. SpankMonkey
    Nov 27, 2004
    9
    Game very good but not best. Starcraft is still better. to TONY THE PIRATE how much did you pay for you're 'copy' of HL2? ;) hahaha my bad.
  15. JakeV.
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever made and Ctf is kick ass I can't stop Playing... A+
  16. TomV.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there It's refreshing to see that not as many people are attempting to earn some sort of geek-cred by dissing this stupidly fantastic piece of gaming artistry. J.J. either has not played the game, or is droolingly stupid. Giving a game like this anything below an eight doesn't make any sense. The art, the technology and the game design are all unprecedented, and that's all there is to it. It's not counter-culture to disrespect the faultless and flawless, it's just criminally stupid, and anyone who does it ought to be ashamed. Expand
  17. DaveyZ.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Anyone who says this game is overrated doesn't know what they're talking about. This game was ridiculously intensely fun all the way through. The game was pretty long and i still cursed and was disappointed when it ended...the ending sequence was so fun. Linear game? Yes...it is a fps (most of them tend to be). If you want a non-linear game play vampire bloodlines...you'll Anyone who says this game is overrated doesn't know what they're talking about. This game was ridiculously intensely fun all the way through. The game was pretty long and i still cursed and was disappointed when it ended...the ending sequence was so fun. Linear game? Yes...it is a fps (most of them tend to be). If you want a non-linear game play vampire bloodlines...you'll come crawling back to hl2 w/in 10 minutes. Best game made up till now. Expand
  18. Batmanactually
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive I played this game like crazy its so awesome!!!!!! beat it like an hour ago...I wanted to play more...I didnt want it to end!!! everyone giving it under an 8 just dont know anything about fps games...this game had tons of work put into it thats why it is so great...and Cray Horse you said that Half-Life 2 got repetitive...and you said Doom 3 was a better game...Doom 3 is the repetitive and worse game...I beat Half-Life 2 in 3 days...I havent even bothered to beat Doom 3 even after 3 months... Expand
  19. InTheBiz
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    As someone who works for EA [Ed: hmm...], and I'm not really supposed to admit that online, Halflife 2 is the most ass-kickinest, corpse-flinginest, physics perfected, polished piece of envy enducing ambrosia to have ever graced my computer. Having just finished it, I need to find a methadone clinic before I start suffering withdrawls. Mad-Props to the Valve crew.
  20. Capiche
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    You idiot jeffthejiff. valve had been working on this game for years and you call it LAST MINUTE? they put years and years of their lives into something that you call LAST MINUTE????? the physics themself warrant years of toying, the graphics arent as advanced as doom but look just as good, and the gameplay is great.
  21. DavidC.
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    Best first person shooter since.. well, since Half-Life. Not my favourite genre, but I am absolutely _loving_ this. The most visceral experience I've ever had from a PC game.
  22. V.Z.
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this game is put together makes a replay less fun. Is it the story, that starts promising but becomes weaker? Is it the fact that the game is not as revolutional as the first (while Far Cry, sorry to say that, was)? I don't know. Anyway, Half-life 2 is a great, amazing trip the first time round, which would deserve a score of 11. But that's pretty much it. Oh, this score is only for single player, btw. I always wanted to try Counterstrike, but I still never did. Expand
  23. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2004
    7
    The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single player component, and while the physics system is very, very nice, without the grav-gun, it'd be a non-issue. Good game, but I thought Id did better. Expand
  24. Steinerwarriorhl2
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Best game ever. NO DOUBT. Who isn't a fan, play it and you will be a fan.
  25. SamN.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Wow.
  26. JayL.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Everything that Doom 3 in all it's disappointment wasn't. Simply amazing.
  27. ArenM.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Excellent gaming experience. My only beef is the long load times throughout the game. This however can be overlooked due to the perfection of every other aspect. BUY IT!
  28. EricW.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    A beautiful piece of art, perfection in it's purest state. Half-Life 2 set the new bar for game devolopment. The mod community will insure your investment for years to come.
  29. BuddyLove
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    I bought the DVD version of this game and it totally still rocks. This year's best FPS and the most gorgeous graphics. You will not be disappointed. It also include the first Hlaf Life & Counter-Strike: Source.
  30. DougD.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a kind. What brings this review down to a 9 for me is the story. It had so much potential, but ultimately fails which is truly awful because it puts a minor dent in the armor of the best FPS since the original Half Life. Expand
  31. BitBurn
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Installation was brutal. Had to restart like 5 times because one of the file wouldn
  32. DavidM.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    It is the best game ever. I Love it.
  33. Dimi
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    #best physics engine in a fps ever, you can "feel" and handle objects in a way never possible before. #most details textures in a fps ever, extremly detailed walls etc. #rich story compared to other fps. no doubt doom3 and others have a hard time matching the story depth in HL2. i believe that there are to many fps released nowadays, all fps gives you a feeling of quantity rather than #best physics engine in a fps ever, you can "feel" and handle objects in a way never possible before. #most details textures in a fps ever, extremly detailed walls etc. #rich story compared to other fps. no doubt doom3 and others have a hard time matching the story depth in HL2. i believe that there are to many fps released nowadays, all fps gives you a feeling of quantity rather than quality. But this one feels no doubt a as meaningful and supereb release, even tough we have seen much of this before, the above mentioned makes this propably one of the best FPS to date. Expand
  34. RetR.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Amazing.
  35. Cyberxero
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily Wooooohoooooooooo!!!This game is by far the probably the best FPS ever to be made.The graphics are beautiful, the sound is great, A.I is simply awesome, physics are a real treat and gameplay is just awesome. It for sure beats Doom 3, Halo 2 and even Farcry as an FPS. The story line is perfect just as the first Half-life story line was. The game is frantic, intense and almost scarily real.Over all if you saved up enough for a FPS dont hesitate and go for HL2. Truly the best FPS out there. PLus if your done with the campaign,there is a multiplayer mode sort of like tactical-ops but wayyyyyyyyy better!! So go and buy HL2 now! =) Expand
  36. K.M.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    You heard all the accolades and rave reviews...so I can't praise this game any further...all I can add, after playing the first few chapters, is that never before have I been so involved as a character in a game. Wow - every bullet I dodge, every hit I take, every inch I fall, it all feels like it's so real...no, it is real, or at least after a while your mind's gonna tell You heard all the accolades and rave reviews...so I can't praise this game any further...all I can add, after playing the first few chapters, is that never before have I been so involved as a character in a game. Wow - every bullet I dodge, every hit I take, every inch I fall, it all feels like it's so real...no, it is real, or at least after a while your mind's gonna tell you so. This in my humble opinion is the greatest achievement in action gaming, bar none. Don't take my word for it, grab your crowbar and step into the world that is City 17. Games like this are few and far in between. Enjoy it while it's here folks. Expand
  37. MickT.
    Nov 18, 2004
    7
    Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most.Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most. i give this game 7/10. Expand
  38. MattW.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    The best game ever. better than anything else, halo 2 good game, but nothing compared to this. the story is great and i think it sets the scene perfectly for a sequel. and how good that would be.
  39. Mr.Fajardo
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    Like 6 years ago, HL 2 will make you to forget ANY FPS around. Let the mods begin !!
  40. TheSourceG
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    The best game Ive ever played. Its just out of this world. The graphics are so good you really feel like your there. Takes physics to a whole new level. I guess its true, good things come to those who wait.
  41. BrianR.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Load times aside (steam or otherwise) this is one of the best crafted games out there.
  42. DigitalDevil
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Get it now!
  43. Ben
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game is the best fps i have ever played. the physics are freaking amazig.
  44. BlakeT.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable!
  45. JeremyB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral action and emotional components that you would normaly find only in a blockbuster hollywood movie. I just hope its not another 6 years before we get to play Half-Life 3. Expand
  46. StealthGod
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Awesome game. The graphics are awesome, the audio is great, the story is as good as the first. I love it!
  47. J.J.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Good game bad story.
  48. BobB.
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    It's hard to believe Valve managed to pull such an honorable follow-up to the number 1 FPS ever made. Outstanding! However, I thought it was a little short. Or was I that absorbed into the action that time went that fast?! ;-)
  49. SammyJ.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    An absolutely stunning game. The Gamespot review is way off. Not that HL2 is flawless, but it's so close you don't care. This game will blow you away, whether or not you were a Half-Life fan to start with. Way better than Halo 2 or Doom 3.
  50. J.D.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Valve. We will only be expecting more from you next time. Expand
  51. OmniboteSmith
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this fantastic can be released, which absolutely excels from the art to the gameplay to the technology, and some hopeless, ignorant turd will attempt to deride it. WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO SAY? "This game is a game. It has lots of stuff in it that games have. People like this game--I will be praised for exposing it for what it truly is!" You are not wise, and your review is...well, it's embarrassing. Half-Life 2 is the long awaited reason to maintain faith in computer games. The only person who could reasonably assail such a production would be a console enthusiast that wants to discredit what is the ultimate validation of the PC gaming platform and the harbinger of that platform's inevitable domination. Expand
  52. ChrisD.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever, this game has had so much effort put into it. But then again, it has been 5 years in the making. I think this beat the crap out of halo 2 which is a boring FPS that has no skill to it. Best game EVER and will stand the test of time.
  53. LokeszHarm
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Very impressed with the emotional expression of the human characters. Bit disappointed with sound quality. The same tech problems as hl1, this time on my totally upgraded super turbo PC! Maybe they have still the same sound programmer?
  54. Half-life2Fan
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    This game is the best I have ever seen!!!
  55. Bobby
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Amazing singleplayer game, it keeps you in the game full time. Beautiful graphics, beautiful sound, beautiful animations everything is beautiful
  56. JeromeD.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Completely awesome, best game i've ever played, probably best game i'll have played for quite some time to come. Valve owns all.
  57. EricH.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" While I wish there were decimals between 9 and 10 (after all, it wasn't perfect), this has definitely been the most enjoyable First-Person Shooter I have ever played. The levels are very linear, but that didn't stop the gameplay from being amazing. The AI, despite what some have said, is pretty good. You can sneak up behind them, there isn't any of that "line of sight" crap. In conclusion, this game comes with my unqualified recommendation... if you make it through steam. Expand
  58. Mickj
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I'm sorry, u probably wont want to post this but i didnt know how else to get in touch with u [Ed] . how many of these user reviews to do have to look at every day and does the one person do all of them for all of metacritic? [Ed: A bunch, and yes, it's just me.]
  59. DivineMethod
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    The source engine and the graphics have a lot going for it, but when it comes down to creativity this game falls short. 10 for graphics 10 for the feel of the game 9 for the sound 8 for the fun level 5 story/ script.
  60. Konocoon-con
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    I think that this game is smiply amazing. This game beats and graphics of any game. Story-line, perfect. Game play has a wonderful addiction.
  61. MattB.
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    Cant get much better than this people! (Once you get past Steam) It is the best game I have ever played when it comes to the fps genre. Hopefully expansions in the same vein as Opposing Force are forth coming soon! Thanks Valve....
  62. JanP.
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Nice engine, ending sucks. Waiting for mods.
  63. DuncanM.
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy machine? Expand
  64. TonyThePirate
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    Very good game. The graphics are great.....very realistic....doesn't burden your graphics card heavily (like Doom 3). The plot is good and Valve sure did a good job in getting the player immersed in the game. I was totally hooked the first time I played it. I'm not done playing but I look forward to it when I have the time.
  65. SingallZ
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    If anyone rates this game less then a 10, they don't own a copy and have never played an FPS. BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED, EVER!!!
  66. AlessandroT.
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    Yes, they got it. Valve did another masterpiece, opening the road to a new generation of FPS/adventure games. The storyboard and gameplay are amazing. Great interaction with the environment and beautiful graphic, which runs smooth on a average today computer. I generally prefer squad-based games like Hidden and Dangerous or Operation Flashpoint, but this actually beats all of them as Yes, they got it. Valve did another masterpiece, opening the road to a new generation of FPS/adventure games. The storyboard and gameplay are amazing. Great interaction with the environment and beautiful graphic, which runs smooth on a average today computer. I generally prefer squad-based games like Hidden and Dangerous or Operation Flashpoint, but this actually beats all of them as depth in gameplay. Sometimes Half life 2 is violent or disturbing, with strange form of mutants, aliens and blood, but by the way this is modern science fiction! Great game Expand
  67. MarioP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    8
    It is a great game :fun,addictive,very fluid graphics.My concern is that the game is only 1.19 gig long and valve should have gave us a couple of levels more...for the wait.Also i wish it would have a bit more textures and thoses zombies ...com on !!!!they are not very well designed...overrated i think....
  68. MankeeOfDoom
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    An absolutely exhilarating experience. Easily the best game of the year. It even beats out the original. The most immersive piece of interactive entertainment I've had the pleasure of playing. 'Tis the win.
  69. SamuelA.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    BUY IT, BUY IT and buy it.. its a really great game, i love it, the most beathiful game ever made.... PERFECT, just a bit to short!
  70. ScottF.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. Just like it says on the back of the box,"... the best game ever made". I happened to download it month's in advance through steam. so to all you people buying it in stores, tough shit. i just had to hit play the day it came out. the game is breathtaking, from its opening sequence all the way through. forget doom 3, forget far cry... this is the game you'll tell everyone about. ive been addicted to counter-strike for the past 4 yrs and to see what theyve done with that is simply amazing. im hooked all over again. amazing game. Expand
  71. MyP.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 is near perfect. You simply can't compare a pc game to a console game. Anyone who thinks Halo 2 is better doesn't even know how advanced Half-Life 2 really is. Does Halo 2 have mod support? Is Halo capable of supporting 128 players? Are Halo 2's graphics at all improved from the original? There are countless reasons why Half-Life 2 is better. When I bought Half-Life 2 Silver for $60, I didn't just get Half-Life 2. I also got Counter-Strike, Counter-Strike: Source, Half-Life, Half-Life: Source, Day of Defeat, Day of Defeat: Source, Deathmatch Classic, Opposing Force, Natural Selection, The Specialists, Sven CO-OP, Digital Paintball, Earth's Special Forces, Zombie Panic, Firearms, The Battle Grounds, Vampire Slayer, Hostile Intent, The Trenches, International Online Soccer, Half-Life Rally, Adrenaline Gamer, Science and Industry, Action Half-Life, Frontline Force, The Ship, and hundreds more you can download, and even more that are in developement as Half-Life 2 mods. Expand
  72. JimmyD.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Simply Superb Perfect graphic, gameplay, tilt everything from sounds to killing woohoo good job valve.
  73. JohnM.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Three words; oh, my and god! The graphics and physics are simply astounding! It looks like real life (even though my PC runs it on medium/ low settings). No game will be able to match this for a very, very long time.
  74. AndrewC
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    The most immersive and compelling game I have ever played. A thrilling experience from start to finish.
  75. X.X.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever made. and the people who gave it a five just didnt have the machine to run it properly or just doom fan boys.
  76. JohnB.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    Sorry Zaminiski, but I rate games on how fun they are to play, not on what someone who's a bit too earnest in their dislike of the game and who throws in a Far Cry advert tells me. Half-Life 2 is a truly fun experience. Simple as that. Nitpick all you want (Crates and scripted events? Outrage!), it's executed extremely well with lots of polish, the graphics are superb, the Sorry Zaminiski, but I rate games on how fun they are to play, not on what someone who's a bit too earnest in their dislike of the game and who throws in a Far Cry advert tells me. Half-Life 2 is a truly fun experience. Simple as that. Nitpick all you want (Crates and scripted events? Outrage!), it's executed extremely well with lots of polish, the graphics are superb, the combat is extremely good, and it is remarkably immersive. I can't wait to play it again. Expand
  77. DanM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    7
    Great game, some bugs, but Steam is really what killed my vote. If not for steam i'd give it a nine.
  78. B.G.
    Dec 16, 2004
    9
    Brilliant game. The action is fast paced and involving, the environments (let alone the graphics) are superb, and most importantly it takes more than an afternoon to beat it. Unfortunately the story makes you long for a HL 3, the AI is a cool but easy to defeat, and I would have like 1 or 2 more guns. All in all its a fantastic game but not quite a 10.
  79. BOBM.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Finally a sequel to half life! Anyone who does not like this game never kicked alien ass or busted melons in half life, (that is to say...had a sniper rifle in half life and popped some government black opps head). Ha ha ha. {more of a Opposing Force issue} The secret goverment lab mentality created in half life was terrific! Complete with snake-like government agents, and tax payer Finally a sequel to half life! Anyone who does not like this game never kicked alien ass or busted melons in half life, (that is to say...had a sniper rifle in half life and popped some government black opps head). Ha ha ha. {more of a Opposing Force issue} The secret goverment lab mentality created in half life was terrific! Complete with snake-like government agents, and tax payer dollars going to waste. I wonder why there are not more games in this vain considering the current political climate? I'm glad it continues....what will the next generation of graphics bring to the gaming world? Expand
  80. RichieC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly much better, and results in some more intense firefights. Give it a shot, if you haven't already. The finest gaming entertainment yet seen. Expand
  81. LukeM.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  82. Jon
    Jan 1, 2005
    7
    While playing through this game I kept waiting for the awesome moments I had been hearing about for the past month from my friends. Driving under the docks and knocking out the supports, Ravenholm being scarier than Doom 3, the GG being able to pick up anything and hurtling it... etc. The fact is I played this game and didn't feel that electricity and near ecstacy that other people While playing through this game I kept waiting for the awesome moments I had been hearing about for the past month from my friends. Driving under the docks and knocking out the supports, Ravenholm being scarier than Doom 3, the GG being able to pick up anything and hurtling it... etc. The fact is I played this game and didn't feel that electricity and near ecstacy that other people felt. For most of the game I felt like I was being advertised to for this great new engine Valve has created. Instead of "OMG THAT WAS AN AWESOME MOMENT!" it was "alright- i solved your puzzle using your engine... now what?" The most fantastic moments I had during this game had nothing to do with the engine. Commanding a group of aliens and attacking a Combine base, throwing a grenade behind a wall and watching bodies go flying just before whipping out my shotgun and blasting my way through a group of enemies. Half Life 2 does nothing new in the genre- it is simply an improvement on the physics games like UT2k4 have given us while giving us some awesome action. This is definitely not the "end all" that gamers were promised, but somehow the PC hype machine managed to make it so. Summary: HL2 is a very fun game that doesn't do anything new and markets a physics engine to other developers. Expand
  83. SteveM.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even mention how well the story is developed. Im just itching to play the third part of this amazing series. Expand
  84. ZastuN.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    everyone who rate it under 9 don't diserve to play it.
  85. KDog
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading Steam updates and Ads before I was allowed to touch the real game. Now, I recognize why it was done, Valve was POed that their code got stolen by hackers in mid production a year and a half ago, and they had to delay for more than a year to rewrite it. But this is taking it a bit too far. I really hope games don't begin to adopt a system of gameplay like Steam, or I won't be buying too many more games in the future. I knew about Steam before I bought it, and the only reason I actually did buy was because it was Half Life 2. Anything else I would have seriously reconsidered. Overall: Game is incredible, Steam stinks. Expand
  86. Jeremiah
    Jan 5, 2005
    8
    A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, it's a compelling FPS, but probably not much reason to play twice because of it's linearity and scripted sequences. Expand
  87. JaneDoe
    Jan 9, 2005
    7
    Overrated. Can't compare with Far Cry, Deus Ex, Call of Duty, or Medal of Honor.
  88. Cheese
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    HL2 is the best pc game to date.... it eats up DOOM 3 and there is just so much to do in the game... if u have a pc.. u should have this game.
  89. DaBomb
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Solid singleplayer game - the graphics are amazing. Storyline is a little lame but who really plays these things for the plot? Anyhow, the free Deathmatch addon is incredible. and makes an 8/10 single player game a perfect 10!
  90. RobinH.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    A 'must have' for the serious gamer. The Steam setup procedure is somewhat annoying but understandable - I would like all games to adopt a similar procedure to stamp out ' software theft'
  91. DanielC.
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    A good game, although only just average to today's standards. The excellent physics engine and awesome pixel shader effects make this game a real treat to play, but the overly-scripted events, insufficient AI, and bad plot ruin the overall experience. Having been spoiled by Far Cry, Call of Duty, Doom 3 and other shooters I can only give this game a score of 7.
  92. SteveJ.
    Jan 19, 2005
    7
    The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be enjoyable. The story line was good too. Overall I enjoyed this game, but feel the overhyped accolades by most review sites are caused by their fear of not fitting in. The game falls flat on the absolute linearity of the gameplay. There's only one way to go. It is so well done that I didn't mind it for the most part, but there is really no ingenuity involved to play the game. You just slog from one sequence to another. Still a pretty good game that would be much better without Steam. Expand
  93. KeshR.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the company. Why should they put up with people stealing their game? The system needs to be cleaned up true, but it is necessary. And personally I haven't found steam to be too troublesome. But the biggest potential criticism is the linear gameplay. Now there are two types of FPS out there really. There are those that are simply linear, and there are those that try to provide the player with freedom. Now personally I fidn that freedom of choice in games is an illusion in most cases, unless we are only talking about what type of weapon etc. In most cases your path is already determined, and only the storyline is affected. But if this is a big issue for you then you won't like HL2 And the fact is that you should already know this. The whole point of HL is to provide a movie like experience. There is a trade off between scirpting and freedom of gameplay. To make the whole thing more movie like, scritping is needed, otherwise the environment will become static. This comes at the cost of raw freedom of movement etc. Given that HL2 is full of scripting, the complaint that there isnt any freedom appears to be valid. But is it a problem? When you watch a movie, do you complain that you can't control the main character? This is how you should view HL2 for maximum enjoyment: you have the priviledge of being the main character in an amazing film. This is what HL1 did and unsurprisingly this is what HL2 does. To change it into some sort of free-roaming game would change the essense of the game, and no one would like that. The second argument against non-linear gameplay is that it increases the workload of the developers dramatically, so they have to cut down on the total length of the game. Now in my opinion HL2 is already too short, so anything less than this would reduce my score greatly. As for other smaller criticisms I have heard, most were minor gripe, but one in particular annoyed me. It seems some poeple are disappointed with the character expressions. This is incredibly unfair if you just comapre HL2's characters to what you find in other games, where developers have spent more time getting the exact way that people die right than the way people talk. I have given the game a score of 8, due to the short length, but if by the time you read this there is sufficient mod support, feel free to consider the score a 9 or even a 10, depending on the strength of the mods. Expand
  94. WillP.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    The Ability of the user to affect almost everything around him, when mixed with the imaginative and stunning weaponry make for pure excellence. The in-game water effects are simply stellar.
  95. GregA.
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle ground" and yet it took ages to load and save that it did take the fun out of the moment. I'll also say that I played it on the hardest setting yet there were very few occasions when I had to scavenge for ammo or health, there always seemed to be enough if you were prepared to look for it. Yes the game is linear but its a story and I can't imagine how (or why) you would want to play it with full freedom, it would just take too long. There is one scene where you need to find two batteries in order to open a barricade. As a test I used the gravity gun to eject a battery over the cliff face - I turned around and saw another battery fall out of thin air back to its original spot...so bascially you can't just do anything you want otherwise the game wouldn't progress. Speaking of which, the gravity gun was an ingenious inclusion in the game, it just made yet another FPS a lot more interesting. Moving tables about to shield yourself, or throwing petrol drums at guards was pretty cool in my books. Not as great as the original but it was a solid game with lovely gameplay and worth every cent. Expand
  96. Rafael
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    I´ve been playing this game only for a few hours but it´s enough for me to say that this is probably the best first person shooter game i ever played. I can´t wait for the day when they will release some kind of computer glases so you´ll be totally inside of a 3D game. This game is awesome!!!
  97. MichaelR.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This really is one of the finest games I've played in a while, and is amazing scalable. I can play it just fine at 1024x768 on a Radeon 9600SE.
  98. Mike
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    I expected aliitle more from Half life 2, didnt like that the game was so linear. Other than that. Very good.
  99. AB
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    To describe how amazing this game is would be as hard as letting go of it. The graphics are incredible, the sound is perfect, and (most importantly) the gameplay is superb. Plus, you can use a gravity gun to throw babies at people. It doesn't get much better than this. Oh, wait a minute. Yes, it does. You can also make cars fall on enemies. And when the mods come out it may get EVEN To describe how amazing this game is would be as hard as letting go of it. The graphics are incredible, the sound is perfect, and (most importantly) the gameplay is superb. Plus, you can use a gravity gun to throw babies at people. It doesn't get much better than this. Oh, wait a minute. Yes, it does. You can also make cars fall on enemies. And when the mods come out it may get EVEN better (if that's possible). Expand
  100. WilliamR.
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Rarely does a mega-hyped game live up to it's hype. Half-Life 2 was perhaps the most hyped game of all time. And if anything, it exceded the hype, and indeed all expectations.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]