Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8916 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mattbearcroft
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    its awesome
  2. AnonymousMC
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    This game will be outstanding at all acspects the gameplay is awesome and in a movie of it there is a dune buggy you can drive around with a lazer gun atatched to it valve has reallyoutdone there swelfs and im shure that this game will own any game soming out and will get the most buys nice job vavle!
  3. DeaneE.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Played the game up at Valve's offices. Let me say: disappointed, you won't be. This game would have been great even if it was just a room with physics objects and the manipulator. But they built a game around that awesomeness that shines in almost every area. You're in for a treat. :)
  4. OliverH.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    More sleepless nights and C-S-2!!!!!
  5. StealthGod
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Awesome game. The graphics are awesome, the audio is great, the story is as good as the first. I love it!
  6. J.D.
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Finally - a game to match the hype. The only pleading requests I have in order to fully justify perfection... Give us Team Fortress 2. Give us more CS:S maps and models. Give us HL2 based multiplayer options (e.g. grav gun deathmatch. with saws.) With the inevitable influx of user-made mods and maps we will probably be playing HL2 for the next 6 years. But don't rest on your laurels, Valve. We will only be expecting more from you next time. Expand
  7. J.J.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Good game bad story.
  8. Steinerwarriorhl2
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Best game ever. NO DOUBT. Who isn't a fan, play it and you will be a fan.
  9. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    well i havn't been able to play it because i don't have a internet connection at my house. i guess i'll just have to hope i can get a connection. Other wise the game seems to be really good. I'm a litle angry that the single player aspect of hte game requires an internet connection.
  10. JeremyB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral Everything I expected and more. Only one time before has a game delivered on what the hype promised. That other game was the first Half-Life of course. Developer Valve has done what all other contenders tried but could not accomplish. That being truly emmersing the player into the world that has been meticulisly created. Technical achievments aside, this game brings with it the visceral action and emotional components that you would normaly find only in a blockbuster hollywood movie. I just hope its not another 6 years before we get to play Half-Life 3. Expand
  11. JimmyD.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Simply Superb Perfect graphic, gameplay, tilt everything from sounds to killing woohoo good job valve.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    I tallied up your average for HL2; it comes to 96.75. So shouldn't it be rounded up to 97 and declared best PC game of all time? bite that Carmark. =) (you can edit that last bit out if you REALLY want Mr.Editor but you know it's true ;)
  13. JohnM.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Three words; oh, my and god! The graphics and physics are simply astounding! It looks like real life (even though my PC runs it on medium/ low settings). No game will be able to match this for a very, very long time.
  14. JakeV.
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever made and Ctf is kick ass I can't stop Playing... A+
  15. AnonymousMC
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    i live ij the uk and there is a mag called pcgamer and they have got hold of a full copy of the game and they gave it 96%, there highest review score evr. half-life2 sounds amazing. Its not my kind of thing but with that review even i would buy it.
    they say it will be released late november.
    Not long to go now then
  16. V.Z.
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this game is put together makes a replay less fun. Is it the story, that starts promising but becomes weaker? Is it the fact that the game is not as revolutional as the first (while Far Cry, sorry to say that, was)? I don't know. Anyway, Half-life 2 is a great, amazing trip the first time round, which would deserve a score of 11. But that's pretty much it. Oh, this score is only for single player, btw. I always wanted to try Counterstrike, but I still never did. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Dec 12, 2004
    6
    The more I play this game, the more I am starting to dislike it - it's rapidly becoming nothing more than a linear 'if-it-moves-shoot-it' style average game. Yes, the graphics are very good, but surely gameplay is more important? The original Half Life had style and innovation; Half Life 2 has half the content and very little character.
  18. Tomek
    Dec 13, 2004
    5
    I'm very confused with this game. It shouldn't be rated so high! There is one thing everyone forgot about... this game works bad even on best PCs on the market. I mean "audio stuttering" problem, which is discused widely on the internet forums. This issue makes all the gameplay thrashed in a while... all the key points in the plot are nothing more than one big I'm very confused with this game. It shouldn't be rated so high! There is one thing everyone forgot about... this game works bad even on best PCs on the market. I mean "audio stuttering" problem, which is discused widely on the internet forums. This issue makes all the gameplay thrashed in a while... all the key points in the plot are nothing more than one big ssss..tttt.uuuuu..ttttt.eeee..rrrr . This is annoying, yet unfixable by any official or unofficial patch. The game is really neat, but suffers from bad programming and bugs.... Expand
  19. Capiche
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    You idiot jeffthejiff. valve had been working on this game for years and you call it LAST MINUTE? they put years and years of their lives into something that you call LAST MINUTE????? the physics themself warrant years of toying, the graphics arent as advanced as doom but look just as good, and the gameplay is great.
  20. InTheBiz
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    As someone who works for EA [Ed: hmm...], and I'm not really supposed to admit that online, Halflife 2 is the most ass-kickinest, corpse-flinginest, physics perfected, polished piece of envy enducing ambrosia to have ever graced my computer. Having just finished it, I need to find a methadone clinic before I start suffering withdrawls. Mad-Props to the Valve crew.
  21. JimF.
    Dec 20, 2004
    0
    Hours spent installing, reinstalling, dealing with Steam, ATI video drivers, and stuttering problems: 7 Hours spent playing the game: 0 I am a very busy person, who at best has an hour a week for relaxing games. I got this game because I had three days off from work and wanted to play the highest rated game out there. I'm still waiting to play the highest rated game out there. Hours spent installing, reinstalling, dealing with Steam, ATI video drivers, and stuttering problems: 7 Hours spent playing the game: 0 I am a very busy person, who at best has an hour a week for relaxing games. I got this game because I had three days off from work and wanted to play the highest rated game out there. I'm still waiting to play the highest rated game out there. I'll be returning this disaster shortly, and getting something that doesn't raise my blood pressure. - Jim Expand
  22. RichieC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly A fantastic game, one of the best I have ever played. While an excellent game the first time around, it is even better the second time around. Only after the second play-through that you really begin to appreciate the finer details of the game. Also, I played throught the first time on normal difficulty, and thought that the AI was a step-backward. However, on hard, the AI is seemingly much better, and results in some more intense firefights. Give it a shot, if you haven't already. The finest gaming entertainment yet seen. Expand
  23. SingallZ
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    If anyone rates this game less then a 10, they don't own a copy and have never played an FPS. BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED, EVER!!!
  24. DuncanM.
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy machine? Expand
  25. LanceR.
    Dec 25, 2004
    5
    I havn't even got to play the game yet and i am already going to give it a 5. This steam thing is terrible. I have know idea why a company like valve would wish me to suffer like this. I could only imagine how many other people are going through this hell like me watching for hours as i verify that i actually bought the game. I have an idea, find a way to punish the people that steal I havn't even got to play the game yet and i am already going to give it a 5. This steam thing is terrible. I have know idea why a company like valve would wish me to suffer like this. I could only imagine how many other people are going through this hell like me watching for hours as i verify that i actually bought the game. I have an idea, find a way to punish the people that steal the game, not the ones who actually bought it. Anything with the steam logo on it will be on my "not with a 10 foot pole" list. Expand
  26. OmniboteSmith
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this Zaminiski. If you're going to ramble about nothing for twelve pages, dignify your thoughts by at least demonstrating a fourth-grade-level knowledge of spelling and punctuation. Your vast experience, stretching all the way back to Wolfenstein, has apparently turned you into a very confused and bitter person with no taste or insight whatsoever. It wears me out that a game this fantastic can be released, which absolutely excels from the art to the gameplay to the technology, and some hopeless, ignorant turd will attempt to deride it. WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO SAY? "This game is a game. It has lots of stuff in it that games have. People like this game--I will be praised for exposing it for what it truly is!" You are not wise, and your review is...well, it's embarrassing. Half-Life 2 is the long awaited reason to maintain faith in computer games. The only person who could reasonably assail such a production would be a console enthusiast that wants to discredit what is the ultimate validation of the PC gaming platform and the harbinger of that platform's inevitable domination. Expand
  27. Konocoon-con
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    I think that this game is smiply amazing. This game beats and graphics of any game. Story-line, perfect. Game play has a wonderful addiction.
  28. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    6 years in development, this sequel to the game that won over 50 game of the year awards is the greatest game to ever bless you computer. It's graphics make Doom 3, Halo 2, and Far Cry look like Pacman, and its overall story beats the sh#t out of everything else. It simply is the GREATEST GAME EVER, SO F*CKING DEAL WITH IT, B#ITCHES!!!! :D
  29. Carl
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  30. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    I try the demo of HL 2 and it was just to much like i never saw before, the graphic, the sound, it will be the game of the year, maybe the game of all time, but you will need a powerfull PC, video card and CPU to run this games
  31. AnonymousMC
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    It's great It's brilliant It reacts to everything that you do It's the best FPS ever made It's got such good graphics that I have had to upgrade my graphics card to a ATI Radeon 9600XT 256mb DDR with 8xAGP! If you want to buy any game it should be this one NO MATTER WHAT YOU SHOULD BUY THIS GAME! YOUR HAPPINESS DEPENDS ON IT!
  32. SteveM.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even Truly, one of the best games in years. I now understand why it has taken Valve over 7 years to release this amazing sequel. Everything, from the textures and animations to the physics and audio is flawless. Listening to the echo of a grenade explosion outside in a valley, then stepping indoors and hearing one give off a more muted and hollow sound is surely commendable. And I wont even mention how well the story is developed. Im just itching to play the third part of this amazing series. Expand
  33. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    Even a year after release, no other game has attempted to use physics in such an integral and ingenious way. It excels in every area. It did seem short to me however. Which leads to my complaint.
    The reason for a 9 score is that I really wanted TFC2, just as much as the single-player part. It should've shipped with HL2 instead of CS:S, which I couldn't care less about. I
    Even a year after release, no other game has attempted to use physics in such an integral and ingenious way. It excels in every area. It did seem short to me however. Which leads to my complaint.
    The reason for a 9 score is that I really wanted TFC2, just as much as the single-player part. It should've shipped with HL2 instead of CS:S, which I couldn't care less about. I spent more time playing TFC back in the day than any game before or since. Making the sequel a standalone product is unwise, IMO. Valve's generosity has declined over the years it seems.
    Expand
  34. DaBomb
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Solid singleplayer game - the graphics are amazing. Storyline is a little lame but who really plays these things for the plot? Anyhow, the free Deathmatch addon is incredible. and makes an 8/10 single player game a perfect 10!
  35. MattN.
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    There were parts of this game that I thought were brilliant unfortunately these just served to highlight the parts which were substandard. It does have great graphics but they lacked the wow factor of Far Cry or FEAR. The A.I was strictly average more like the A.I in Quake4 (though for some reason in Quake4 this doesn't detract at all from the game) and your own guys do nothing but There were parts of this game that I thought were brilliant unfortunately these just served to highlight the parts which were substandard. It does have great graphics but they lacked the wow factor of Far Cry or FEAR. The A.I was strictly average more like the A.I in Quake4 (though for some reason in Quake4 this doesn't detract at all from the game) and your own guys do nothing but get in your way. The puzzles seemed little pointless and added nothing as they were so simple. I did like the main characters and enjoyed the story overall particularly the last quarter of the game. I didn't experience any technical problems at all with game nor did I have any trouble with steam and apart from initial conatct to set up my steam account and verify my copy was genuine I have never needed a internet connection again to play this game. I didn't love it (it's no Far Cry) but I would definitely recommended it. Expand
  36. RobinH.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    A 'must have' for the serious gamer. The Steam setup procedure is somewhat annoying but understandable - I would like all games to adopt a similar procedure to stamp out ' software theft'
  37. RK
    Jan 17, 2005
    6
    Facial twitches alone don't make for a good game. I can't believe this game's getting such good reviews. We waited for HOW long for this game, and this is what they come up with? Technically, it's got good graphics and a physics engine and all that stuff. Like any id game. If you're going to blast id games for being shallow, then HL2 should get blasted as well. Facial twitches alone don't make for a good game. I can't believe this game's getting such good reviews. We waited for HOW long for this game, and this is what they come up with? Technically, it's got good graphics and a physics engine and all that stuff. Like any id game. If you're going to blast id games for being shallow, then HL2 should get blasted as well. The single player is nothing more than a tech demo. Wow, Steam is great. Now get back to work on actual games. The game is overly scripted, with little to no creativity allowed in how you decide to play the game. Games like Far Cry at least partially allowed you to explore other ways of getting your mission accomplished. The feel of the game is simply hollow. You have an environment that you can interact with, but most of the time, do nothing with except solve a few rather simpleminded puzzles. Even with the AI companions it feels lifeless. It's really like playing an unfinished alpha of a game. Games like Max Payne feel much more lifelike with a storyline (yes, storyline) woven in with the gameplay. With HL2, you're not really building up any decent plot, not meeting new characters (with any sort of frequency that break what seem to be incredibly long dry spells of unimaginative gameplay), or even building up your suit or weapons. You feel like you are, quite literally, just shuffling yourself from Point A to Point B for most of the game. There are other games that deserve a 97. Half-Life 2 isn't one of them. Not even close. Expand
  38. KeshR.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the I have heard complaints about two aspects in particular. Firslty, steam is a pain. Secondly, the game is too linear. So lets deal with this. On steam, its a pain, and in my opinion, for good reason. Piracy and illegal downloading is rife and while we may secretly indulge in a spot of less than legal activities when it comes to digital copyrights, we have to respect the concerns of the company. Why should they put up with people stealing their game? The system needs to be cleaned up true, but it is necessary. And personally I haven't found steam to be too troublesome. But the biggest potential criticism is the linear gameplay. Now there are two types of FPS out there really. There are those that are simply linear, and there are those that try to provide the player with freedom. Now personally I fidn that freedom of choice in games is an illusion in most cases, unless we are only talking about what type of weapon etc. In most cases your path is already determined, and only the storyline is affected. But if this is a big issue for you then you won't like HL2 And the fact is that you should already know this. The whole point of HL is to provide a movie like experience. There is a trade off between scirpting and freedom of gameplay. To make the whole thing more movie like, scritping is needed, otherwise the environment will become static. This comes at the cost of raw freedom of movement etc. Given that HL2 is full of scripting, the complaint that there isnt any freedom appears to be valid. But is it a problem? When you watch a movie, do you complain that you can't control the main character? This is how you should view HL2 for maximum enjoyment: you have the priviledge of being the main character in an amazing film. This is what HL1 did and unsurprisingly this is what HL2 does. To change it into some sort of free-roaming game would change the essense of the game, and no one would like that. The second argument against non-linear gameplay is that it increases the workload of the developers dramatically, so they have to cut down on the total length of the game. Now in my opinion HL2 is already too short, so anything less than this would reduce my score greatly. As for other smaller criticisms I have heard, most were minor gripe, but one in particular annoyed me. It seems some poeple are disappointed with the character expressions. This is incredibly unfair if you just comapre HL2's characters to what you find in other games, where developers have spent more time getting the exact way that people die right than the way people talk. I have given the game a score of 8, due to the short length, but if by the time you read this there is sufficient mod support, feel free to consider the score a 9 or even a 10, depending on the strength of the mods. Expand
  39. AnonymousMC
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    Disgusting Half-Life(1) was great and they turned around and made this piece of BS! Everyone seems to just concentrate on Alecs ( correct me if spelled wrong.If the game was more like nIntendo games with the originalaty maby i would of given it a 10 but choice is final.0 out of 5
  40. GuillermoS.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    An instant classic. One of the best sequels ever made. A perfect recreation of a distopic future. Truly fun to play complete with an interesting story. What else do we need?
  41. NateW.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    This just in: Ian F. is an idiot of epic proportions.
  42. Mike
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    I expected aliitle more from Half life 2, didnt like that the game was so linear. Other than that. Very good.
  43. ZastuN.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    everyone who rate it under 9 don't diserve to play it.
  44. SeanWar
    Jan 4, 2005
    0
    Really repetitive, nothing changes, doesnt come close to doom 3 when it comes to graghics.
  45. Jeremiah
    Jan 5, 2005
    8
    A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, A well designed FPS with lots of ambience, detail, and dynamic physics. Worth the price, but I must agree with other reviewers that it is overrated. It is ultimately a very linear FPS with less depth than a game like Deus Ex: Invisible War. My irritations include dealing with the required Steam program and frequent graphical/audio stuttering and long loading times. All in all, though, it's a compelling FPS, but probably not much reason to play twice because of it's linearity and scripted sequences. Expand
  46. AnonymousMC
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    I love this game - It's got a great atmosphere! I love how even my-non gamer friends watch the opening scenes in silence, drawn into the story.
    It's just a pity that STEAM sucks **so much** The AI didn't bug me to be honest, but, good lord - Steam? why.. why would they do that to us?! 2 days it took me the first time, nowadays a freakin' hour to install... This kind
    I love this game - It's got a great atmosphere! I love how even my-non gamer friends watch the opening scenes in silence, drawn into the story.
    It's just a pity that STEAM sucks **so much** The AI didn't bug me to be honest, but, good lord - Steam? why.. why would they do that to us?! 2 days it took me the first time, nowadays a freakin' hour to install... This kind of drawback is UNACCEPTABLE - game developers take note - we won't pay for products with this kind of drawback unless the game itself is REALLY good! It just shows how good the actual *game* part of HL2 really is.
    Expand
  47. SeanT.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This game rocks.
  48. NicoleM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    This game is better than chocolate.
  49. Philter137
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    An artistcally brillant game! The content is excellent! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is due to the irritating installation process and the steam application that HL2 requires to run.
  50. Warmonger
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    Great game,truly an experience in itself,there was only one thing that I did not like about the game. (besides steam that is)This may sound trivial but I absolutely hated the rocket launcher!! this has got to be the worst weapon that I've ever see, in any game!! please lose this weapon for the follow up!!
  51. Musides
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    The difficulty levels are poor, even on hard the game is very easy, and it is almost impossible to die. The game progress is entirely linear, no variation on game play is possible, and as usual in Half Life, you really have no idea *why* you are walking forward, just that you need to in order to play the game. Graphics, etc, are all great, of course.
  52. ThomasW.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome, the plot, graphics, steam is good, the engine, the ai is good despite what people say (just cos they have it on easy) the gravity gun, musides is wrong it isnt almost impossible to die etc etc.
  53. CharlieW.
    Apr 24, 2005
    8
    I have to part-way agree with Mister B. This game's graphics and effects are amazing, but the gameplay's innerworkings are lacking... at best. I was blown away when I first started playing it, but my disappointment mounted when I reached the third level. You spend an hour driving around on a stupid bike solving incredibly dumb puzzles. Yes, Ravenholme won me back for an hour, I have to part-way agree with Mister B. This game's graphics and effects are amazing, but the gameplay's innerworkings are lacking... at best. I was blown away when I first started playing it, but my disappointment mounted when I reached the third level. You spend an hour driving around on a stupid bike solving incredibly dumb puzzles. Yes, Ravenholme won me back for an hour, but no more, no less. Really, if you are going to choose between this 50 - 80 dollar game and the 20 dollar original Half-Life package, go with the original Half-Life. It is defenitely better. Trust me. Expand
  54. WadeS.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Easily the best FPS ever made and perhaps one of the greatest games ever made.
  55. RichH.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    How's this for a noncommital evaluation? I understand the hype and I understand the negative reaction to the hype. No, seriously, I give it a "10" because it's the most immersive game I've ever played, and that state is achieved by an incredible attention to detail. It's like you're right there in the scene and I don't know of any other game that can truly How's this for a noncommital evaluation? I understand the hype and I understand the negative reaction to the hype. No, seriously, I give it a "10" because it's the most immersive game I've ever played, and that state is achieved by an incredible attention to detail. It's like you're right there in the scene and I don't know of any other game that can truly make that claim (yes, I know there are some that *say* they can, but IMO they can't). I do have some reservations about the much-praised facial contortions--for the most part these are great, but there're some lapses. Dr. Breen is a good example. His facial expressions/gestures and voice don't quite synch up. Robert Culp's a great choice to voice unctuousness, though--I get such a kick listening to his oily voice on the various broadcasts and then, when I can't take it any more, using the Ggun to rip the console out of the wall and smash it. Apart from that, people have rightly faulted the so-called helpers (including the antlions, post-"Highway 17") and their annoying habit of getting in your way. People have also complained about the ending. I admit at first I didn't care much for it ("cheesy" was my initial reaction) but replaying "Benefactors" and "Dark Energy" together, I find the sinister atmosphere of the Citadel has kind of grown on me. The only thing about that last part I didn't like is having to rely for most of the time only on the Enhanced GravityGun. The fun of HL2 (as in HL1, only not as much) is weapon swapping, discovering to your delight that you forgot, say, that the crossbow could do so much long-range damage or that the best weapon against fast-moving zombies is sometimes the good old crowbar. In the last two levels, it's just blast, suck stuff up, and/or throw it. It gets old, quickly. All around, this game has significantly upped the standards we expect of FPSers and everyone, even those who aren't impressed with the game, should be thankful for that. Expand
  56. JulienC.
    Jun 18, 2005
    9
    Unbelievable, the ultimate video game experience, almost perfect. These game designers understood what a video game should be.
  57. CaseyC.
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    This was a great game and was a worthy sequal to the original. Playing the game was like watching an epic movie, with its awesome action sequences...but the bad was also that, It is way to linear. Everythings else is fine, especially if you have a top notch PC. Steam, ugg, don't get me started. If your have dial up, youll be spending all day getting it started. I just wish it was This was a great game and was a worthy sequal to the original. Playing the game was like watching an epic movie, with its awesome action sequences...but the bad was also that, It is way to linear. Everythings else is fine, especially if you have a top notch PC. Steam, ugg, don't get me started. If your have dial up, youll be spending all day getting it started. I just wish it was longer, it took Valve 8 years to make this game and it is just as long, if not SHORTER than Half Life1 which took just one or two. This is a great game and i highly reccomend it. It isn't the greatest game of all time though, In my opinion i think Far Cry is much better. But if your a PC gamer, get this game alongside with FarCry and Doom3 and have an ultimate Gaming marathon :) Expand
  58. TelyS.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    I've been playing games hardcore on all platforms since the Atari 2600. Half-Life 2 is the absolute pinnacle gaming has ever produced. It's lightyears ahead of the competition in all aspects of it's design. To the haters, a question. If you don't like Half-Life 2, what games DO you like?
  59. GeorgeM.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the best game ever made. Period. Genius game design.
  60. GregB.
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Ok for all of you who gave this zeros because of Steam...you don't deserve to play games. All you do is install it and open an account, if you had problems doing that...games aren't your thing. This games predecessor (HL 1) revolutionized gaming and this one continued with great graphics, huge firefights, and interesting characters and level design. Gameplay was awesome and the Ok for all of you who gave this zeros because of Steam...you don't deserve to play games. All you do is install it and open an account, if you had problems doing that...games aren't your thing. This games predecessor (HL 1) revolutionized gaming and this one continued with great graphics, huge firefights, and interesting characters and level design. Gameplay was awesome and the cliffhanger ending left me waiting for the expansion. A great game all around that kills Doom 3's limited environments and tiny hallway brawls. Expand
  61. SimonV.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Wow! This might be the best game ever made. Everything is the best ever, except for the AI!
  62. Jogilius
    Aug 29, 2005
    6
    + The Physics Engine. + The beginning. + The last section of the game. - Too much playing with the physics engine. - Trial and error kind of playing at some spots. - Just a dull tunnel run, excluding the beginning and the last parts of the game -> mostly not fun to play. - The game ends just as if the game makers just decided they were too lazy to continue the story. Doom3 has better + The Physics Engine. + The beginning. + The last section of the game. - Too much playing with the physics engine. - Trial and error kind of playing at some spots. - Just a dull tunnel run, excluding the beginning and the last parts of the game -> mostly not fun to play. - The game ends just as if the game makers just decided they were too lazy to continue the story. Doom3 has better action, better graphics, and better atmosphere. HL2 tries to be more than just a thrill-ride, but mostly fails at that, making the game just less enjoyable than Doom3 is. Expand
  63. RamiarH.
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Perfect is the right word.
  64. RoberioM.
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Eu não to aqui para falar de Half-Life, só vim aqui para fazer minha visita e deixar o voto pois ninguém vai entender porra nenhuma que eu to falando, é isso ae! Todos que postaram são americanos e gosto muito de deixar eles verem uma língua diferente ! =PP
  65. AlanH>
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game. I've had it installed on my system for a year now, been preoccupied with CounterStrike:S, and finally forced myself to sit down and play it. While I'm typically not all that into FPSs... select few if any, I absolutely loved HL2. Graphics are awesome (ok on my PCI... yes regular PCI vid card, but my 3.4ht makes up for it). Sound is phenomenal. Gameplay is superb. Fantastic game. I've had it installed on my system for a year now, been preoccupied with CounterStrike:S, and finally forced myself to sit down and play it. While I'm typically not all that into FPSs... select few if any, I absolutely loved HL2. Graphics are awesome (ok on my PCI... yes regular PCI vid card, but my 3.4ht makes up for it). Sound is phenomenal. Gameplay is superb. No question about it. Definitely recommended to anyone looking for a good game to kill some time on. Expand
  66. Bobbobbo
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  67. AnthonyB.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    You have to get this game its probably one of the best out there and always will be until the episodes get better.
  68. LucJ.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Extra Beautiful graphics.
  69. DevinT.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Not as good as farcry, I liked Farcry better because it is troppical and you get to rome the levels and do what ever the hell you want.
  70. BrandonT.
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    This is the only first person shooter game series where you actually have to use your brain.
  71. KayleeL.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    This game is totally awesome! I couldn't wait for it to come out, because I thought Half-Life was the most imaginative game of recent times and I expected Half-Life 2 to be even better! It was everything I thought it could be and more!
  72. AnonymousMC
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant!!!!! The graphics can run on some of the lowest graphics cards around, with still astonishing detail, and the fact that mods can be so easily created means that it will never get old, especially with things like Source forts, and soon to be portal, which are original, and HIGHLY addictive! WELL worth a ten. I was looking for an 11 option, but oh well...
  73. Sam
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Greatest shooter ever with plenty of originality. Also Genuinely scary at times.
  74. JayE.
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    This game is probably the best fps ever, along with its multiplayer juggernauts counter strike: source and day of defeat: source I dont understand how it has a 9.2 standing rating, perhaps because people arent rating it as to when it came out?
  75. StephenJ.
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    An excellent game, though I thought it was crashing my computer at first, but it turned out it wasnt so I could install it again, I was soo happy.
  76. JasperJ.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    This game is REALLY exciting, because it has a good story line, good graphics, good sound, everything in this game is good! I give it an 10!
  77. BobanB.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. The enviroment, especially the enviroment in city 17, is nothing else but the best in the history of computer games. The feeling of being the underdog and fighting against an awesome machine that seems to be able to crush you at will, but the longer you play, you fell more and more undefeatable. The feeling can't be described. If you haven't played it yet, DO IT Best game ever. The enviroment, especially the enviroment in city 17, is nothing else but the best in the history of computer games. The feeling of being the underdog and fighting against an awesome machine that seems to be able to crush you at will, but the longer you play, you fell more and more undefeatable. The feeling can't be described. If you haven't played it yet, DO IT OR YOU'LL DIE! Expand
  78. LukeM.
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  79. TeodorIkonomov
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  80. AnonymousMC
    Dec 4, 2006
    8
    its apparent that the Madeline V. girl has never played through the whole game. probably played single player for about an hour and couldn't figure out what to do.

    this game is all half-life 1 was, but more. boring weapons? they brought back everything except the weird ass alien weapons no one used in the first place. gravity gun? can you say gravity gun? not only did i play
    its apparent that the Madeline V. girl has never played through the whole game. probably played single player for about an hour and couldn't figure out what to do.

    this game is all half-life 1 was, but more. boring weapons? they brought back everything except the weird ass alien weapons no one used in the first place. gravity gun? can you say gravity gun? not only did i play through the single player in a matter of days because of being glued to my monitor, i was finding myself VERY satisfied and craving the next episodes. the story is GREAT and valve did a killer job keeping the hype up and actually delivering, something doom 3 failed to do.

    madeline, you suck, but half-life 2 does not.
    Expand
  81. LukeM.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  82. AnonymousMC
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Just because you have a problem with the game, doesn't mean you should give it a 0, look at what other people think, and their experience with the game. If your computer doesn't work with it, too bad. You should've looked up some info on te game's requirements before you bought it. Oh, whats that on steam... A DEMO! Try a game before you buy and bitch about it.
  83. AlexP.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    One of the best single player FPS shooters out there. If you've never played the original Half-Life game, you won't really understand this. Seems kind of short, then again I spent 20 hours a day on this until I beat it. A must-have.
  84. LukeM.
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  85. HenrikG.
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    When I heard of the game I thought the people were overrating the game. But when I tried it I was really suprised about the graphics, and the sounds, I mean I could stand at the beach and throw granades in the water for hours just to hear the boom under water and the eco it gave. Top grade for a Top game
  86. BlakeF.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    This is a game that had great story, sound affects,great guns, awsome engine great game.
  87. ChristopherH.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the best fps ever released..
  88. SeanT.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This game rocks.
  89. RafalK.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. Source pwnz all.
  90. LukeM.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  91. TonyT.
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    After going through the whole game I finally realized how amazingly clever this game really is. Each and every puzzle was unique and very nicely planned. The amazing physics also made this possible. Who wouldnt love shooiting the enemy off of cliffs. Thats my favorite. Amazing game!
  92. CarmineR.
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    This game is rediculously overated. The A.I. is abysmal, story linear beyond believe, and you spend pretty much the whole game on your todd being sent down some tunnel or what not. The plot is predictable and the weapons are awful. I also didnt understand why Gordon never spoke, making him seem like a social retard. On the plus side the engine has some nice graphics and fancy physics. A This game is rediculously overated. The A.I. is abysmal, story linear beyond believe, and you spend pretty much the whole game on your todd being sent down some tunnel or what not. The plot is predictable and the weapons are awful. I also didnt understand why Gordon never spoke, making him seem like a social retard. On the plus side the engine has some nice graphics and fancy physics. A decent enough game but does nothing to improve the legacy of HL1, and there a far superior titles out there now (Far Cry and Call of Duty 2), neither of which need the staming trud that is steam. Expand
  93. CameronM.
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever made! I hope Half Life 3 will live up to it's reputation as the other games hqve.
  94. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2006
    7
    The physics, graphics and audio are great, but the story and the gameplay is nowhere near the standards set by Half Life 1. The world is also nowhere near as wide, even though the previous environment was only a government facility, the city is a more restructive environment with less outside interaction. A disappointment as far as replayability.
  95. MichaelL.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    This game has changed the way people will look at FPS! the way it encorperates the weight system of every object, the amazing graphics and not to mention the engrossing story line. not playing this game is a crime and ALL halo fans will learn what a FPS game is.
  96. PhilP.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Incredible! The first game was amazing, and this one had me hooked even before the chopper fight!
  97. LukeM.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  98. AnthonyN.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Really good game!
  99. LukeM.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  100. YermakirumY.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Very good game.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]