Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8446 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonT.
    Apr 20, 2007
    7
    I like Half-Life 2. It's a pretty good game, but there are just a couple little things about it that irk me. I'm not talking about long load times, stuttering, bugs, etc. Most of those have been updated out of existence by now and were probably due to my comp being strictly middle of the road anyway. No, I'm talking about this sequels storyline being almost completely I like Half-Life 2. It's a pretty good game, but there are just a couple little things about it that irk me. I'm not talking about long load times, stuttering, bugs, etc. Most of those have been updated out of existence by now and were probably due to my comp being strictly middle of the road anyway. No, I'm talking about this sequels storyline being almost completely disjointed from the original, and the way the game keeps rubbing the physics engine in your face (BTW Max Payne 2 had Havok Physics as well and IMO utilized it better.) First off, I'm a huge fan of HL1 and kept looking for some explanation of what happened to Xen, these Combine guys raise a whole new slew of questions and leave the old ones completly unanswered. We aren't even given much of a hint as to how all the supporting cast of HL1 made it to City 17 from Black Mesa. When I first played, it made my head spin. It's like they took the characters from the 1st and dropped them into a completely different storyline. And yes, the 1st time they gave me a physics based puzzle I thought "wow, cool!" when every other puzzle turned out to be a variation on this theme, I started to get a little peeved. That said, the story is still enjoyable, the graphics very impressive, the combats fun, and for those of you worried about the A.I. it does get better when you turn up the difficulty. Still a little annoying that they don't start off on the level of the marines from HL1 though. It's definitely worth your time and money, just...well...do yourself a favor and pick up the 1st one too. It's still what I spend most of my time on. Expand
  2. JulianM.
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    Well.... 96%?? Excuse me? Maybe it's graphically good and has good physical engine. But remember- it appeared in November. And what appeared in march the same year? Far Cry. And it got only 89 %, while it's much better better than HL2 and makes it look funny.
  3. AndrewM.
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    A good FPS game that is fun, but its creative effort can't compete with the previous game.
  4. Jon
    Jan 1, 2005
    7
    While playing through this game I kept waiting for the awesome moments I had been hearing about for the past month from my friends. Driving under the docks and knocking out the supports, Ravenholm being scarier than Doom 3, the GG being able to pick up anything and hurtling it... etc. The fact is I played this game and didn't feel that electricity and near ecstacy that other people While playing through this game I kept waiting for the awesome moments I had been hearing about for the past month from my friends. Driving under the docks and knocking out the supports, Ravenholm being scarier than Doom 3, the GG being able to pick up anything and hurtling it... etc. The fact is I played this game and didn't feel that electricity and near ecstacy that other people felt. For most of the game I felt like I was being advertised to for this great new engine Valve has created. Instead of "OMG THAT WAS AN AWESOME MOMENT!" it was "alright- i solved your puzzle using your engine... now what?" The most fantastic moments I had during this game had nothing to do with the engine. Commanding a group of aliens and attacking a Combine base, throwing a grenade behind a wall and watching bodies go flying just before whipping out my shotgun and blasting my way through a group of enemies. Half Life 2 does nothing new in the genre- it is simply an improvement on the physics games like UT2k4 have given us while giving us some awesome action. This is definitely not the "end all" that gamers were promised, but somehow the PC hype machine managed to make it so. Summary: HL2 is a very fun game that doesn't do anything new and markets a physics engine to other developers. Expand
  5. AlexH.
    May 7, 2007
    7
    The game was quite sweet, but I think they could have made more out of it... When I play, I don't feel like Gordon nor I am really depressed of the atmosphere... (...and I guess I actually should be ;) )
  6. B'chandrasekarB.
    Aug 4, 2007
    7
    the game has high quality but the game play isent as great as they say it is . Still it is one of the top games out there
  7. SteveJ.
    Jan 19, 2005
    7
    The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be The Steam set up is so annoying for anyone on a modem that I'll never buy another Valve/Steam product again. For the game, if you're lucky enough to get it running, it is beautifully done as far as the environment goes. The gameplay is fun and the graphics are the best out there, except for Far Cry. (Make sure you have a fast GPU) I found the game to work well and to be enjoyable. The story line was good too. Overall I enjoyed this game, but feel the overhyped accolades by most review sites are caused by their fear of not fitting in. The game falls flat on the absolute linearity of the gameplay. There's only one way to go. It is so well done that I didn't mind it for the most part, but there is really no ingenuity involved to play the game. You just slog from one sequence to another. Still a pretty good game that would be much better without Steam. Expand
  8. JaneDoe
    Jan 9, 2005
    7
    Overrated. Can't compare with Far Cry, Deus Ex, Call of Duty, or Medal of Honor.
  9. JoeD.
    Jun 27, 2005
    7
    I don't know why people are so enamoured with this game. It definitely is not worth 10. Why? Far too linear. There is hardly any reply value. The game isn't that much different to Doom 3 gameplay wise. Just has better scripted events, more varied enemies and slightly better AI. Why couldn't Valve spend more of their time developing superior AI? The enemy AI is below average I don't know why people are so enamoured with this game. It definitely is not worth 10. Why? Far too linear. There is hardly any reply value. The game isn't that much different to Doom 3 gameplay wise. Just has better scripted events, more varied enemies and slightly better AI. Why couldn't Valve spend more of their time developing superior AI? The enemy AI is below average at best, no where near as smart as the AI in Halo 1/2 or Far Cry. The graphics are great, although Doom 3 still looks better. The story needed more work, it's still all too shrouded. WIth games as linear as this the story has to be very strong, and it's just too weak and vague here. Real shame, this could have been outstanding, especially with the engine used. The whole experience, even despite some very memorable moments, was for me a little empty once i'd completed the game. Expand
  10. BobI.
    Aug 1, 2005
    7
    The game is great but it is confusing at times given so little company support. I purchased the game from CompUSA and it came with no manual and a very small player Quick Reference Card. What makes it a great game is the depth of environmental control the player has. You do a lot more than shoot the enemy. You must use your environment to get out of predicaments. Whether it be using The game is great but it is confusing at times given so little company support. I purchased the game from CompUSA and it came with no manual and a very small player Quick Reference Card. What makes it a great game is the depth of environmental control the player has. You do a lot more than shoot the enemy. You must use your environment to get out of predicaments. Whether it be using gravity and pullies to get a ramp to move into place or operating a crane to move your vehicle, there are a variety of problems that go far beyond the shoot-em up experience. Graphics are excellent and play is not bad even on my mid-level system according to game recommendations. The story line is not always clear or even presented in depth but it is there. Battles get intense and require numerous re-loads that are slow at times. The use of Internet connectivity is not clear or explained so installing this on your computer and then registering leaves one feeling anxious about what goes on in the background both when playing and when not playing. As I said before support is weak from my experience. I sent an email to support asking some of these questions and received no reply. Expand
  11. AW
    Nov 16, 2006
    7
    This game had breakthrough physics, and it was awesome watching the guys collapse or get tossed around like dolls. The gravity gun was a unique weapon and really drew away from mainstream guns put in games today. However, this game also failed in a lot of aspects. While the potential and hype was driven up after years of suspense and waiting, the game just did not deliver. Though it kept This game had breakthrough physics, and it was awesome watching the guys collapse or get tossed around like dolls. The gravity gun was a unique weapon and really drew away from mainstream guns put in games today. However, this game also failed in a lot of aspects. While the potential and hype was driven up after years of suspense and waiting, the game just did not deliver. Though it kept my attention long enough to finish the game, I just was not impressed by it. The levels were pretty cool, though the city did get a little old after a while. The haunted city was probably the best atmosphere created in the game. But here's the biggest kicker: The weapons SUCKED. Yes, though the grav gun was unique, I ended up not using it for much of the game, because there aren't always objects to pick up and launch at people. Instead, you are stuck with a bunch of the same boring weapons as the first game - WITHOUT the aliens weapons. The only new gun I can remember besides the grav gun is the other combat rifle that also has a powerful (but generally unused) secondary fire. The random bullet pathing did not make it any better as you often waste a lot of bullets firing any of the smg/rifles from a distance any other than what you'd call short (which is a lot of the game). The boring weapons combined with a so-so story line was not exhilirating in my book. Top it off with the same gameplay as the first game, and you've got HL2 - which had the potential to be so much more. Expand
  12. RossH.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    Thought the graphics and physics were incredable for a game. However, i dont think valve worked hard enough on the gameplay and storyline such as on hl1, every level was something interesting. hl2 is to predictable in most cases.
  13. Jag
    May 2, 2008
    7
    Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones were kind of limited so enemies would come out and shoot and maybe grab some cover in the process. Normally you will kill them before you see them doing something truly eye catching. The A.I isn't bad its just not amazingly impressive. The graphics are great. Reflections on the floor move as you do and texters are high rez. Character modles may not be impressive at first but if you take the time to see the lip synchronization and facial expressions. Characters are great and well developed. One of the icons of Half-Life 2 is the gravity gun. This unique weapon lets you pick up any object man sized and under and fling it at enemies. A but what would this weapon be without wicked good physics? These physics are very good. every thing not bolted down can move with the proper amount of force applied to it. However the only thing bad that came out of these physics is the puzzles you will encounter throughout the game. There are just a little to many. I personally didn't like it because this lead to an annoying lack of combat and the ability to move on. I had no problem solving most of them and it is satisfying when you do but when you look back on it it seems like a waste of time. One every now and then is fine but they went a little overboard here. sometimes you'll end up stopping you vehicle every five minutes because of there. Speaking of the vehicles the sequences were pretty cool apart from what was mentioned in the previous sentence. Even though you will end up having to stop look around and find a path. this can be really annoying after a while especially when you are being chased by a chopper. The story was a bit disappointing at the end and was slow moving through out the game. But now for some good things. The game does a real good job of immersing you. You really feel like you want to help the people and have a pretty good idea of whats going on. The arsenal was a decent size and had some unique stuff in it. overall this game is worth picking up. Expand
  14. J.J.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Good game bad story.
  15. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2006
    7
    The physics, graphics and audio are great, but the story and the gameplay is nowhere near the standards set by Half Life 1. The world is also nowhere near as wide, even though the previous environment was only a government facility, the city is a more restructive environment with less outside interaction. A disappointment as far as replayability.
  16. JustinF.
    May 16, 2006
    7
    Not bad - a little disappointed in the ending - I felt that there was another slice of tense action necessary to fulfill my needs. Also, a bit easy!
  17. NaitZ.
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Its a great game, but some stuff aint just exellent.. it should be more realistic, and the teamplay is bad, I see one problem about it, You always play alone in battles in singleplayer, theres never npcs to help you, its much funnier if you always can get support.
  18. vidman
    Oct 17, 2007
    7
    The most overrated game in existence. I give it a 7; everyone else gives it a 10. I bought this game off of Steam and encountered zero problems. I beat this game in 3 sessions. For the first 7 hours, I was pretty happy and couldn't wait for the story to unfold. Then next 5 hours was fast paced and still left me waiting for the story to unfold. It felt like I was only 1/3 to 1/2 way The most overrated game in existence. I give it a 7; everyone else gives it a 10. I bought this game off of Steam and encountered zero problems. I beat this game in 3 sessions. For the first 7 hours, I was pretty happy and couldn't wait for the story to unfold. Then next 5 hours was fast paced and still left me waiting for the story to unfold. It felt like I was only 1/3 to 1/2 way done with the game because so many questions were unanswered. Then finally, the last 3 hours of left me disappointed. It didn Expand
  19. DaveK.
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    Honestly, aside from the physics engine, it's nothing revolutionary. Grav gun is fun, but underutilized. The game progresses very linearly compared with some modern shooters like Far Cry, but is still a very entertaining experience. A solid followup to one of the top 5 games released at this point. A cliffhanger ending opens up for episodic content well. Of course, CSS makes this Honestly, aside from the physics engine, it's nothing revolutionary. Grav gun is fun, but underutilized. The game progresses very linearly compared with some modern shooters like Far Cry, but is still a very entertaining experience. A solid followup to one of the top 5 games released at this point. A cliffhanger ending opens up for episodic content well. Of course, CSS makes this worth buying 10x over. Expand
  20. OliverM.
    Aug 3, 2007
    7
    im choosing to vote 7 for this, not so much the game, but the engine. Its worth buying the game and putting up with steam jsut to have access to the various mods that have been produced. On my try of the game (after a day installing, no joke, non broadband and various problems calling for reinstillation) i was amazed by the opening sequence in the train and shortly after the station and im choosing to vote 7 for this, not so much the game, but the engine. Its worth buying the game and putting up with steam jsut to have access to the various mods that have been produced. On my try of the game (after a day installing, no joke, non broadband and various problems calling for reinstillation) i was amazed by the opening sequence in the train and shortly after the station and city 17. I didnt want that bit to send, the city so lifelike, the cps bullying you, being able to peep into houses to see peoples gettin beaten up, people talking quietly about their supressors and various scanners looming the town. I carried on playing enjoying the long sojurn of the airboat, being different from the footsloggin before then. Ravenholm was impressive, the atmosphere created was nice, although over use of traps and the ability to get well and truly lost along with at one point a perminant spawning of zomibes. It was at this point where my family lost the internet... no internet, no steam, no halflife 2. So for a long time i went back to games like deus ex (deus ex being my favourite all time game). when my family got broadband i started playing hl2 again, finally realising how to get passed the respawning zombies n out of ravenholm. The mines wernt very impressive, they could have done better and the spinning blade cart at the end is... unusual to be round in a mine. The buggy part was fun being able to stop at place but antlion sandtraps wernt impressive, my pc isnt powerful, i get low fps and its hard for me to control various props, as such i noclipped passed the sandtraps. Nova prospekt fun until the point where over 50 troops attack you... the city 17 fighting was nice, i would have like dit if the citizens helped a lil more tho. The citadel at the end is stupidly easy, it seems more like a kiddys play gorund than a gran finale for such a game, being able to kill entire squads of combine elites in 1 shot isnt fun. Over all throughout the game some areas are lacking finishing touches, making them look bland and pointless (most of the blk mesa place) also throught the game you are constanly forced to comprehend wiht pointsless annoying and trivial physics puzzles, wat makes this worse is that most of them involve cinder blocks which have a habit of either a) sliding nicly off or b) knocking all the other cinder blocks then sliding off. so on my replays i often noclip past the various jumping and physics puzzles. The ai is somewhat dissapointing, from the reviews and teasers i was expecting npcs ot take cover, neil, grenade, supply covering fire and find alternate routes. For some scripted squences this does happen but youll often find in the way of self preservation and npc will stand still for a few seconds then either die of shift slightly sideways out of view, only to come bk into view to die, i mean shoot you. The city at the end was particularly nice, with the striders causing lot sof damage, it can be annoyign when you get lost in the rubble or cant find ammo crates to dispell the multiple striders on your tail. Some points are confusing wiht little differnce between them giving the impression of goign round in circles when really your on the opposite side of the building and while being fun the characters are far and few. I woudl have prefered to see more variation in the npcs behavior, more subplots woven in (like maybe jsut discovering a couple trying to escape), less physics puzzles, less steam and situatiosn where the character cna have an impact on the world instead of the same things happening everytime you play. Conclusion, amazing on first try, quickly looses freshness but some of the mods created are uttly superb (notably garrys mod and insurgency) its also worth triyng out counterstrike source. A warning to any who are interested tho you need constant inernet access better pc than mine and alot of pacience to put up with the evil steam. thnx 4 reading Expand
  21. jamesr
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    Its a good game, but not the best of all. I dont understand why that much people rate it with 10... A lot of games are better than this
  22. LysanderS
    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    I really don't understand what all the fuss is/was about, i mean it's a mediocre shooter, with a below average storyline. The only parts which stand out are the physics puzzles. It's probably worth your time, and like i said, the physics can be fun, but aside from that, it's just another FPS.
  23. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    7
    I consider 7 to be average. I mean compared to the first half of half-life the puzzles and enemies of half-life 2 are laughable and unimaginative. The only good qualities of this game is that it has good graphics and sound but that is a flaw in trying to make a lasting impression because, in the future( I can't believe it either) graphics and sound will be better than this, thus, in I consider 7 to be average. I mean compared to the first half of half-life the puzzles and enemies of half-life 2 are laughable and unimaginative. The only good qualities of this game is that it has good graphics and sound but that is a flaw in trying to make a lasting impression because, in the future( I can't believe it either) graphics and sound will be better than this, thus, in essence, this game is no more than a technological demonstration because its not really that imaginative. Expand
  24. MickT.
    Nov 18, 2004
    7
    Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most.Very good production quality but the story bites. i prefered halo 2 over this. now before all u halo haters come and beat me up i have one very simple explanation. i did not feel involved in the story as much as i have other titles( eg. zelda oot and halo) i appreciate the (mostly) good reviews on this site. as aposed to halo 2 where a million people gave it a hundred. deserved 98 at most. i give this game 7/10. Expand
  25. DanielC.
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    A good game, although only just average to today's standards. The excellent physics engine and awesome pixel shader effects make this game a real treat to play, but the overly-scripted events, insufficient AI, and bad plot ruin the overall experience. Having been spoiled by Far Cry, Call of Duty, Doom 3 and other shooters I can only give this game a score of 7.
  26. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Nov 29, 2006
    7
    It is very rare for a game to have a story that people actaully care about. But I kinda stopped caring after I entered City 17. Half-life! Kinda Crazy, a little Creepy (little), pretty inventive (it's great that people will state how much they hate the orginal, but how many games have since added its elements to their own. How many heros can you name with a super suit with shields?) It is very rare for a game to have a story that people actaully care about. But I kinda stopped caring after I entered City 17. Half-life! Kinda Crazy, a little Creepy (little), pretty inventive (it's great that people will state how much they hate the orginal, but how many games have since added its elements to their own. How many heros can you name with a super suit with shields?) The gameplay is ok, but I wasn't interested in being a lame knock-off of neo from the matrix in glasses, i wanted to shoot aliens. Instead, we get the stupid ai combine, who will run from a grenade and straight into your fire. The puzzles are also just them showing off their new physics and gravity gun. By the way, the gravity gun is stupid. There. I said it. Shotgun rules ( even though it was downgraded... actually, ALL the weapons were downgraded) because this game is not much differen than the original: run forward, solve puzzles, and you'll rarely fight in large arenas, just close quarters. The dialouge scenes are annoying and way to long. Other than that, good graphics and pretty gripping gameplay, save the lack of variation amongst the enemies. Wait! There is one more bad thing. Ravenholm=not scary and pointless. This level was just an excuse for the gravity gun, but a handy crowbar, shotgun, and .357 are actually the best weapons, at least for me. Hopefully they will be more creative in the future and stop trying to make another bad post-apocalpyse-revelution-thing that we've all seen 1,000 times over. The game is very intense at points. Really intense. Ever try fighting a helicopter with a pistol in a radiated canal? Well, life gets a helluva lot worse for Mr. Freeman later on, but for us, it's pretty damn fun. Keep making stuff like that. Expand
  27. GarrettW.
    May 23, 2006
    7
    Awsome game, awsome story but playing it makes me nauseous just because it's very fast and with alot of movement.
  28. FilipO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    7
    Nothing special, really. Quite the disappointment actually. The puzzle were mediocre and the game itself was good - but not a masterpiece.
  29. EeroS.
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Good looking, but pooring fps. Better story than most of fps, but not so good that I could say that it was even medicore.
  30. PaulW
    Nov 16, 2008
    7
    How odd that people talk about being emotionally moved by a game that, whilst leaving you to your own defences like Metroid Prime in parts, doesn't have the moments of stunning beauty, accentuated by a beautiful score, such as when you walk into Phenandra Drifts. Half Life 2's best parts are Route Kanal and We don't go to Ravenholme which is a brilliant reminder of overall How odd that people talk about being emotionally moved by a game that, whilst leaving you to your own defences like Metroid Prime in parts, doesn't have the moments of stunning beauty, accentuated by a beautiful score, such as when you walk into Phenandra Drifts. Half Life 2's best parts are Route Kanal and We don't go to Ravenholme which is a brilliant reminder of overall better games with an almost surreal film noir feel (like Max Payne 2) crossed with the survival horror of Resident Evil and Silent Hill. To its credit, this game has more moments of bleak surrealness such as disengaging from a hovercraft, after a very lonely trek, only to find yourself in a camp of headcrabs. If the game had been marketed and regarded as a surreal masterpiece rather than as just one all about AI, physics or character expressions, records that it could only hope to keep for a short time (it never had the best character expressions- the Gamecube Resident Evil remake did by far) then I would have scored it a bit higher. Apart from the sections I have mentioned, the game's graphics never seemed impressive to me on the Xbox and seem relatively prehistoric now. The hyperbole about this game is ludicrous- I had much more fun and emotional investment in playing Metroid Prime, Resident Evil (the remake), and Uncharted- Drake's Fortune. Expand
  31. RichK.
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    As far as first person shooters go, it's certainly one of the best. But simply improving another idea (no matter how much) does not mean original. It's basically a better version of every other FPS. Quite an accomplishment but only to the FPS genre. Not to mention it'll cost you a few hundred bucks to upgrade your computer if you wanna run it.
  32. ChrisO.
    Dec 15, 2004
    7
    The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single The game is good, but I don't think it's the second coming that everyone seems to think it is. The graphics are good, but inferior to Doom 3's and even FarCry's, level loading occurs way to often and takes way too long and pulls you out of the mood, Steam sucks badly, disappointing multiplayer (yay! more Counter Strike!!), no variety in enemies, too linear single player component, and while the physics system is very, very nice, without the grav-gun, it'd be a non-issue. Good game, but I thought Id did better. Expand
  33. DanM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    7
    Great game, some bugs, but Steam is really what killed my vote. If not for steam i'd give it a nine.
  34. JonahR.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    Great looking engine, but the single player is only fun once. The lack of co-op play, and a really poorly delivered story separate this game from the truly great games.
  35. Dec 24, 2010
    7
    A pretty okay game that makes up for a mediocre shooter model by containing an incredible amount of variety. I'd doubt it's actually a shooter at all, but rather an action adventure game, considering the content. You're never doing the same thing for more than an hour throughout the entire game. The story is run-of-the-mill and characters are put in only to say your name and praise youA pretty okay game that makes up for a mediocre shooter model by containing an incredible amount of variety. I'd doubt it's actually a shooter at all, but rather an action adventure game, considering the content. You're never doing the same thing for more than an hour throughout the entire game. The story is run-of-the-mill and characters are put in only to say your name and praise you like you're Jesus, but the way it's told, mainly through allusion and details in the environment, is brilliant. Expand
  36. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    Really? Are people still raving about this after all these years? To be fair the gameplay's solid enough, the graphics are still surprisingly good and ther's just enough variety and twists to keep you playing till the end. I'll give HL2 it's due; it's still a good game (and fairly influential too) but certainly not the great game it was in 2004. Hate to break it to you fan boys but all theReally? Are people still raving about this after all these years? To be fair the gameplay's solid enough, the graphics are still surprisingly good and ther's just enough variety and twists to keep you playing till the end. I'll give HL2 it's due; it's still a good game (and fairly influential too) but certainly not the great game it was in 2004. Hate to break it to you fan boys but all the things HF2 did that seemed ground breaking and/or mind blowing back in the day have been improved and expanded on many times now. Try playing any of the Uncharted games, Resident Evil 4 or Gears of War then tell me the plot, atmosphere or pacing is so great. Expand
  37. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers. It's only a well-made shooter. It lasts for over 20 hours, but it has only 4 or 5 real plot twists, and all the other twists are related to the action! (like ravenholm). It seems good at the train station, but soon you'll discover the city isn't real. It's just a lot of combine soldiers. And then you'll have to kill 100 people and 20 monsters to get to the other level, where you'll drive a boat and kill another 100 people and this time 30 monsters. Then someone comes to you and says hey, I'm your father! And then you're like "Noooo!", and kill a couple hundred more. The plot can be written this short:
    - Gordon joins resistance
    - Eli is captured
    - Mossman is a traitor
    - Alyx is captured too
    - Mossman is a traitor again, so prisoners are freed
    - they blow **** up

    So what kind of plot is that?? But anyway, it's nice to play in the parts where it's well made and not too repetitive. For example the lighthouse, turret defense and driving parts I liked.

    After all, a well made linear FPS is always better than a non-linear game gone wrong. For example Far Cry 2 tries to create a free world, but it fails miserably.
    Collapse
  38. Aug 28, 2011
    7
    Half-Life 2 feels overall quite polished. Yet I must say, I can't rate it higher than a 7/10. Some parts are simply too long (especially the vehicle-parts), while others come short. There is a good variety of weapons and though you will use each at least once, you want some maps in the end where you just can freely choose your favourite gun. You won't regret finishing the game, but somehowHalf-Life 2 feels overall quite polished. Yet I must say, I can't rate it higher than a 7/10. Some parts are simply too long (especially the vehicle-parts), while others come short. There is a good variety of weapons and though you will use each at least once, you want some maps in the end where you just can freely choose your favourite gun. You won't regret finishing the game, but somehow it feels like most of the choices you make, are already made by the developers for you. On the good side: The scripted events are placed perfectly and far better than in most later games I've played. And they make up for a good alternation. Expand
  39. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    I will begin by saying that if you thought that the original Half-Life was one of the best gaming experiences ever, you will be grossly disappointed by Half-Life 2. The differences and lack of continuation easily outnumber the similarities. First, there was the unexpected motion sickness. I was surprised to discover, upon Google searching, that many others also were put through the sameI will begin by saying that if you thought that the original Half-Life was one of the best gaming experiences ever, you will be grossly disappointed by Half-Life 2. The differences and lack of continuation easily outnumber the similarities. First, there was the unexpected motion sickness. I was surprised to discover, upon Google searching, that many others also were put through the same discomforting extreme nausea. In short, the game is repetitive, surprisingly linear, lacking severely in storyline, and not much really happens. You just go from point to point, without not very much explanation. I should also mention that you should expect to spend between two and three hours driving around in vehicles; which I did not appreciate in any way. I like the Combine soldiers; they are cool, but besides them, there truly aren't many interesting enemies or a good variety of them. Another letdown is that you cannot inflict damage to friendly NPCs like in the original Half-Life. This really bothered me. Also, why are Vortigaunts suddenly my friends, without any explanation whatsoever? Squad members are close to useless and have no real point in being there except for acting as decoy and getting in the way of your path. Valve decided it was a good idea to include incredibly annoying and cheap techno music at times, which disrupts the dark mood and atmosphere. There are too many situations where you are forced to shoot at the same, ever repeating, large, uninteresting targets with an RPG. The boss fights (if you can even call them that) are not creative at all. They are uneventful, uninteresting, and anti-climatic. Overall, Half-Life 2 lacks a story, depth, and creativity. It took me about 21 hours to complete. Expand
  40. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    In Valve's "Half Life 2", each and every level is unique and cool. The graphics are pretty sexy if you compare it with the standard rate. However, The gameplay was too original; i've played these kind of puzzle FPS before. I'm not saying its bad; there's a profound story and shocking visuals that covers this up, but I expected more than just running around in cars and boats, stopping byIn Valve's "Half Life 2", each and every level is unique and cool. The graphics are pretty sexy if you compare it with the standard rate. However, The gameplay was too original; i've played these kind of puzzle FPS before. I'm not saying its bad; there's a profound story and shocking visuals that covers this up, but I expected more than just running around in cars and boats, stopping by for some zombie kills and ammo, and repeat that stuff all over again. In conclusion, it's a solidly great game that will entertain you as a game no more or no less Expand
  41. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    There is a good structure of level design, which varies from: run and gun, tactical shooting, alien survival, and the physics puzzles. The physics, by thw way, are amazing. Each object behaves like you'd imagine it to, and it all adds more depth to the game. Also, I'm a huge fan of how the involve all the story and dialog in the game itself, (without taking you into a cut-scene).
    Overall,
    There is a good structure of level design, which varies from: run and gun, tactical shooting, alien survival, and the physics puzzles. The physics, by thw way, are amazing. Each object behaves like you'd imagine it to, and it all adds more depth to the game. Also, I'm a huge fan of how the involve all the story and dialog in the game itself, (without taking you into a cut-scene).
    Overall, the game is a great advancement in the area of First Person Shooters.
    Expand
  42. Aug 11, 2014
    7
    Half-Life 2 is a cool game. Tricky and exciting. I like it. The gravity gun. The big bugs. They are endless and really annoying. But once you kill their momma and take its organ they will all become your slaves. Your loyal army. I really liked that part. But I find the story uninteresting.
  43. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    This is not perfect or revolutionary but it sets the benchmark. This is the quintessential linear FPS game by which all other linear FPS games are compared.
  44. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    IMHO Half Life 2 is a good game, but for some odd reason, is quite overrated. The game has a great focus on story and a wonderful sense of atmosphere. But for some reason, it feels flat and largely quite boring. In parts the lengthof levels is too long and I find the pacing quite tedious. Also the story does nothing for me. I can only assume that Half Life 2 introduce a generation ofIMHO Half Life 2 is a good game, but for some odd reason, is quite overrated. The game has a great focus on story and a wonderful sense of atmosphere. But for some reason, it feels flat and largely quite boring. In parts the lengthof levels is too long and I find the pacing quite tedious. Also the story does nothing for me. I can only assume that Half Life 2 introduce a generation of younger gamers to the story based FPS and/or immersive sim/fps (perhaps those who did not experience Looking Glass games etc?). Good for them. Just not for me.
    TLDR: Good. But not best game ever.
    Expand
  45. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    I just beat it for the first time so here is an unbiased non nostalgia review.

    Overall for the time when it came out the game is outstanding. You can see that it inspired many aspects in other games and is worth playing. However taken with a grain of salt the game (like most popular historical games) is over hyped due to the mystery of half life 3 and the nostalgia it brings to many.
    I just beat it for the first time so here is an unbiased non nostalgia review.

    Overall for the time when it came out the game is outstanding. You can see that it inspired many aspects in other games and is worth playing. However taken with a grain of salt the game (like most popular historical games) is over hyped due to the mystery of half life 3 and the nostalgia it brings to many.

    Gameplay: The game does a great job of incorporating puzzles without it being too obvious forcing you to think and use your mind without hand holding. The shooting is good but I admit having only a crossbow with a zoom is a bit annoying, I get that modern games make it too easy with every gun having a scope but none is a downer. Some of the difficulty also just becomes annoying at times instead of challenging, I found part of this mainly to do w/the graphics/lighting making it hard to see what you need to do.

    Graphics: Stand the test of time and makes you think less of modern games that they have not improved more.

    Story: This was my biggest complaint. I understand there is half life 1 and the half life 2 episodes but standing alone the story is not good. It is not clearly explained when only a little summary here and there would make it better. You do not really have a purpose in the game as you are just directed from point A to point B helping a resistance (but not with any goal or objective). You should not have to read wikis and time lines and history of things to understand the story of a game.

    Gameplay: 4/5
    Graphics: 5/5
    Story: 2/5
    Expand
  46. May 26, 2013
    7
    I'm just not as high on this game as everybody else. There is some good FPS fun fighting various kinds of creative enemies. There will be a few moments where you will kill lots of enemies at once with a car, toilet, or bouncy disintegrate thing where you will sit back and admire your work. Some of the guns are still more creative than current FPS guns. However, while its moments are great,I'm just not as high on this game as everybody else. There is some good FPS fun fighting various kinds of creative enemies. There will be a few moments where you will kill lots of enemies at once with a car, toilet, or bouncy disintegrate thing where you will sit back and admire your work. Some of the guns are still more creative than current FPS guns. However, while its moments are great, there is way too much shooting waves of basic soldiers without any of the creative others from a far distance, which is not only boring but annoying because only one gun has sights. There are too few opportunities to use the gravity gun, the very fun weapon which is really the signature piece of this game. And while I said the guns are very creative, they fall to often under the linear spell where they are used in one situation well and disregarded for the rest of the game. Basically this game is fun (and only 10 bucks) but very, very over acclaimed. Expand
  47. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Meh, it's okay.
    Half-Life 2 does a lot of things right. It looks great, plays great, has a large interconnected world, and has a fairly interesting story with cool characters.
    Except the game feels somewhat tedious. Every level is similar to the last later on in the game. You kill the same/similar enemies over and over again. Every now and then there is a driving section to break up the
    Meh, it's okay.
    Half-Life 2 does a lot of things right. It looks great, plays great, has a large interconnected world, and has a fairly interesting story with cool characters.
    Except the game feels somewhat tedious. Every level is similar to the last later on in the game. You kill the same/similar enemies over and over again. Every now and then there is a driving section to break up the tedium, but those suck.

    This game is really overrated. I've played much better FPS games than Half-Life 2; games that were far less tedious and less boring. It's a good game, just not that great.
    Expand
  48. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    i personally think that half life 2 is the most overrated game of all time i can't see anything special about this game you're running from soldiers hitting some soldiers killing zombies and that's it the story is not good as it seems and the protagonist is so boring he never says a word the entire game in the end it isn't bad but it doesn't deserve all that hype about it
  49. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    I do not understand why this game is getting such praise. It is middle of the road in terms of game play; It is a shooter. At this point, it has been done and there is not much else you can do to improve upon it. At least I have not seen that much yet. The story is good, granted, but I feel it could be better... And the ending feels like it ran out of money half way. 7 at best.
  50. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    I'm very disappointing.

    Yes, this is a good FPS, it will entertain you. You will kill aliens and gards of city 17 with the greatest hero of video game, he shots and that's all. He never talks a word, or something, just follow his friends to save the world. You will like the world where you evoluate and the alliens jumps and attack you with suprise, I was scary. And for a lot of
    I'm very disappointing.

    Yes, this is a good FPS, it will entertain you.
    You will kill aliens and gards of city 17 with the greatest hero of video game, he shots and that's all.
    He never talks a word, or something, just follow his friends to save the world.
    You will like the world where you evoluate and the alliens jumps and attack you with suprise, I was scary.
    And for a lot of hours, you will like that, but take episode 1 and 2, because the end of the game isn't the "real" end.

    I like this but, I'm amaze of the Half life 2's reward. All gamers say "Best game of the decade" and ultra-fanboys say "Best game ever of all times for the centuries to the centuries".
    I love half life 2 but I didn't see something of marking.

    Maybe it's me and my tastes of sh**
    Maybe the game undergo the old age, the evolution of FPS, and that's not "actual"
    Maybe the game was overestimates since its sold.
    Maybe the game is always overestimates.
    I don't know.

    For conclusion. Yes, you will enjoy for 15h hours the pleasure to control "the Freman" and kill ennemies, with difficulties for many times (congratulations to striders).

    And maybe you will join the anothers gamers for say "This is the most experience gaming of the world".

    Or you should can say "What the hell No multi No openworlds A lot of sh**"

    Or you will think like me "Maybe I miss something, or the game takes 9 years, or another reason but I don't receiveid the best experience ever.
    But I enjoy this game and Freeman accomplished the first objective of a game entertain the gamers. And thanks for this Valve"

    (Sorry for my english, I'm french)
    Expand
  51. Jun 25, 2014
    7
    The correct way to make a standard fps.
    Good story, unique enemies, cool characters, and for 2004, it was pretty good!
    The only thing it lacked was weapon variety, but that's easily overlooked.
  52. Aug 5, 2014
    7
    I liked it, Half-Life 2 is a good atmospheric FPS, but is it something more, something breathtaking that should blow everyone's mind as everyone in this world seems to think? Hell no, I feel absolutely the same way about Half-Life 2 as I did with the first Half-Life, it's good, yes, but that's it, for some reason both Half-Lifes are extremely, but I mean EXTREMELY over-hyped and overrated.I liked it, Half-Life 2 is a good atmospheric FPS, but is it something more, something breathtaking that should blow everyone's mind as everyone in this world seems to think? Hell no, I feel absolutely the same way about Half-Life 2 as I did with the first Half-Life, it's good, yes, but that's it, for some reason both Half-Lifes are extremely, but I mean EXTREMELY over-hyped and overrated. It's a really good FPS, don't look for anything much more here. 7/10 Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Half-Life 2 has been an interesting yet mixed experience… At times throughout playing the game my interest just fell completely flat and I couldn't play it any-more and yet at other times I just couldn't stop playing… So I feel the story and action elements were very much hit and miss, however the graphics are flawless. I’m unsure if they've ever been updated but for a 2004 game it’s gotHalf-Life 2 has been an interesting yet mixed experience… At times throughout playing the game my interest just fell completely flat and I couldn't play it any-more and yet at other times I just couldn't stop playing… So I feel the story and action elements were very much hit and miss, however the graphics are flawless. I’m unsure if they've ever been updated but for a 2004 game it’s got incredible textures! The most frustrating thing about this game is when Gordon is joined by a group of soldiers and they continually trap you in rooms by clogging a doorway, minor issue but seriously annoying… Spinning more positively, the enemies were great, the majority of the environments were interesting and it was a generally good game. Expand
  54. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    breaking it down:
    hl2 is a brilliant masterpiece, or to be precisely: the engine is the best since...well hl1 i guess.
    the new, sharp looking graphics and awesome, never seen before physics, were state of the art back then and have brought us many, MANY great looking games. apart from this half life 2 is a dumbed down ripoff of the first game, the story is poor/hollywoodstyle with
    breaking it down:
    hl2 is a brilliant masterpiece, or to be precisely: the engine is the best since...well hl1 i guess.
    the new, sharp looking graphics and awesome, never seen before physics, were state of the art back then and have brought us many, MANY great looking games.

    apart from this half life 2 is a dumbed down ripoff of the first game, the story is poor/hollywoodstyle with little surprises.
    even worse: the intend of the devs to make it EPISODE 1(to sell more eps after the first) is a good indicator for how they write storys...they didnt!
    as an fps it was slower, the enemies where not as "smart" and, apart from the hand-holding(the robot/girl), the unlimited grav gun really messed it up for me(get a chunk of trash/barrel/whatever and shoot at enemy-->instakill), leaving you with enough ammo at any given time.

    i wont even start about steam.

    try black mesa, the hl1 mod for hl2 engine and see for yourself.

    BUT if you are not such an old ***** as myself, and dont know about the glorious times of fps games,
    when enemys tried to actually kill you, instead of running for cover, it sure looks like a well made game.

    i think it doesnt deserve 9,2 user and 96 meta score, and thats just my personal op.

    8/10 (back then and 7 now because ooolllddd)
    Expand
  55. May 3, 2014
    7
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Half-Life 2 expands on it's predecessor and makes everything about it even better. Try the episodes as well.
  56. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    I've played this game when it first came out in 2004, and now, after 10 years, I've decided to play it again. I remember, I loved this game back then, it had some awesome graphics which was well optimised as well, and loved the different uniqe parts (ie. driving a buggy, etc.). Now, the game is basically OK, but it has a lot of flaws. First, it happened to me a lot that I got stuck in someI've played this game when it first came out in 2004, and now, after 10 years, I've decided to play it again. I remember, I loved this game back then, it had some awesome graphics which was well optimised as well, and loved the different uniqe parts (ie. driving a buggy, etc.). Now, the game is basically OK, but it has a lot of flaws. First, it happened to me a lot that I got stuck in some terrain object/wall piece/etc., which is pretty frustrating in the middle of combat. The "helpers" are more like a pain in the @ss rather than helpful, they are always in the wrong place and one just can't move freely because of them (especially in the heat of a battle). But my biggest concern is the story: throughout the game, I didn't have a clue what is happening. It was always like "Run, Gordon!" "You have to go to place B!" and so on. And there are no cutscenes or other story telling points, only your companions, who tell you you have to do this and do that. It was just a big running, with lot of fights, but for what and why, it was not clear to me.

    So it's still a good game which is worth playing, but I think it's just overhyped - there are lot of others which I played through more times and enjoyed more.
    Expand
  57. May 19, 2015
    7
    Pros:
    + incredible pacing/level design
    + well thought out world
    + solid controls
    Cons:
    - lack of soundtrack
    - lackluster story

    Final score: 7/10, 3/5
  58. Feb 17, 2016
    7
    I'm actually impressed with Half-Life 2 as I were extremely let down with Half-Life. Half-Life 2 isn't as boring as Half-Life 1. Better story which is why I'll give it 7 out of 10
  59. Nov 12, 2015
    7
    I do not enjoy this game that much but i do understand how people do enjoy it.
    I think it is overated but is by no means a bad game.
    Overall a pretty good game
  60. RobS.
    Sep 9, 2006
    6
    Good graphics but the game's too linear.
  61. LeriO
    Apr 20, 2009
    6
    This game has a really nice motor physic which give him a lot of interest. But the game is too short while "interactive" cinematcis are too long. The Ai is random and sometime stupid and the puzzles are just here to spend your time. There is also nothing much told us about the history in the game and, the fact that internet is needed to play a single-player game is quite annoying. This game has a really nice motor physic which give him a lot of interest. But the game is too short while "interactive" cinematcis are too long. The Ai is random and sometime stupid and the puzzles are just here to spend your time. There is also nothing much told us about the history in the game and, the fact that internet is needed to play a single-player game is quite annoying. Eventually, it could be a lot better if they were more adds like a new Ai, more chapters and more weapons. Expand
  62. MatthijsM.
    Feb 8, 2005
    6
    I don't get what makes people get turned on from this game. So many promises but nothing actually came true. - Totally usable environment (picking up a few wooden cabins?) - Great AI (the stupidest AI from bots ever...) - Briliant Graphics (Seen better on lots of games) The game is not worth the money, HalfLife 1 still is a classic which had lots of good moments but to me Half Life 2 I don't get what makes people get turned on from this game. So many promises but nothing actually came true. - Totally usable environment (picking up a few wooden cabins?) - Great AI (the stupidest AI from bots ever...) - Briliant Graphics (Seen better on lots of games) The game is not worth the money, HalfLife 1 still is a classic which had lots of good moments but to me Half Life 2 is just a disgrace to the first part. Thats what the 6 is for. Expand
  63. [Anonymous]
    May 17, 2006
    6
    Mediocre, at best. Nowhere near impressive enough to warrant the hardware requirement and unacceptable load times that DON'T plague a myriad of other similar-and-better games both in and out of the FPS genre. Utter technical failure combined with a lackluster story and embarassingly bad character interaction.
  64. BradleyJ.
    Jun 7, 2008
    6
    Game is too overrated, most who played this, didnt play it on hard. I did. 1 reason the game wasn't hard was because the code was leaked over the internet. The game was originally to be released in 2003, but since the game was leaked, it came in 2004. Game set on hard, is practically normal difficulty. Don't expect a whole lot from this game.
  65. CallumM.
    Sep 16, 2008
    6
    Quit sucking dick. Looking back on it now, the game is mediocre at best. The only innovative thing about this game is its implementation of physics. The only time I've seen good AI is when characters have retreated to cover. Then again, not a fair example, considering 90% of the enemies are zombies/monsters and behave as they should, even if they are retarded.
  66. StevenH
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    Most overrated game on this site. Still no story, setting is a mishmash of sci-fi cliches, the whole thing is one scripted event and linear box canyon, and there was no multiplayer until terrible multiplayer was patched in.
  67. Mikael
    Jun 20, 2009
    6
    Good game, good graphics and good sound. However its plagued with weak team AI in your so called team mates makes part of the game more frustrating than fun. They are in the way, the trigger traps and then stand in the way when you try to avoid what they set off. Are they all double agents for the opposing side ?
  68. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    well i havn't been able to play it because i don't have a internet connection at my house. i guess i'll just have to hope i can get a connection. Other wise the game seems to be really good. I'm a litle angry that the single player aspect of hte game requires an internet connection.
  69. AnonymousMC
    Dec 12, 2004
    6
    The more I play this game, the more I am starting to dislike it - it's rapidly becoming nothing more than a linear 'if-it-moves-shoot-it' style average game. Yes, the graphics are very good, but surely gameplay is more important? The original Half Life had style and innovation; Half Life 2 has half the content and very little character.
  70. RK
    Jan 17, 2005
    6
    Facial twitches alone don't make for a good game. I can't believe this game's getting such good reviews. We waited for HOW long for this game, and this is what they come up with? Technically, it's got good graphics and a physics engine and all that stuff. Like any id game. If you're going to blast id games for being shallow, then HL2 should get blasted as well. Facial twitches alone don't make for a good game. I can't believe this game's getting such good reviews. We waited for HOW long for this game, and this is what they come up with? Technically, it's got good graphics and a physics engine and all that stuff. Like any id game. If you're going to blast id games for being shallow, then HL2 should get blasted as well. The single player is nothing more than a tech demo. Wow, Steam is great. Now get back to work on actual games. The game is overly scripted, with little to no creativity allowed in how you decide to play the game. Games like Far Cry at least partially allowed you to explore other ways of getting your mission accomplished. The feel of the game is simply hollow. You have an environment that you can interact with, but most of the time, do nothing with except solve a few rather simpleminded puzzles. Even with the AI companions it feels lifeless. It's really like playing an unfinished alpha of a game. Games like Max Payne feel much more lifelike with a storyline (yes, storyline) woven in with the gameplay. With HL2, you're not really building up any decent plot, not meeting new characters (with any sort of frequency that break what seem to be incredibly long dry spells of unimaginative gameplay), or even building up your suit or weapons. You feel like you are, quite literally, just shuffling yourself from Point A to Point B for most of the game. There are other games that deserve a 97. Half-Life 2 isn't one of them. Not even close. Expand
  71. Jogilius
    Aug 29, 2005
    6
    + The Physics Engine. + The beginning. + The last section of the game. - Too much playing with the physics engine. - Trial and error kind of playing at some spots. - Just a dull tunnel run, excluding the beginning and the last parts of the game -> mostly not fun to play. - The game ends just as if the game makers just decided they were too lazy to continue the story. Doom3 has better + The Physics Engine. + The beginning. + The last section of the game. - Too much playing with the physics engine. - Trial and error kind of playing at some spots. - Just a dull tunnel run, excluding the beginning and the last parts of the game -> mostly not fun to play. - The game ends just as if the game makers just decided they were too lazy to continue the story. Doom3 has better action, better graphics, and better atmosphere. HL2 tries to be more than just a thrill-ride, but mostly fails at that, making the game just less enjoyable than Doom3 is. Expand
  72. CarmineR.
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    This game is rediculously overated. The A.I. is abysmal, story linear beyond believe, and you spend pretty much the whole game on your todd being sent down some tunnel or what not. The plot is predictable and the weapons are awful. I also didnt understand why Gordon never spoke, making him seem like a social retard. On the plus side the engine has some nice graphics and fancy physics. A This game is rediculously overated. The A.I. is abysmal, story linear beyond believe, and you spend pretty much the whole game on your todd being sent down some tunnel or what not. The plot is predictable and the weapons are awful. I also didnt understand why Gordon never spoke, making him seem like a social retard. On the plus side the engine has some nice graphics and fancy physics. A decent enough game but does nothing to improve the legacy of HL1, and there a far superior titles out there now (Far Cry and Call of Duty 2), neither of which need the staming trud that is steam. Expand
  73. ScottE
    Nov 5, 2007
    6
    I was rather disappointed with this game. The hype and praise this game did not seem to reflect the actual game. Game play was inventive at first and then rather bland, alternating between lots of options to vast emptiness. The physics engine allows you to do quite a bit, but often gets in your way as well. Control set up is outdated and needs an update. Weapons tend to lack ammo or I was rather disappointed with this game. The hype and praise this game did not seem to reflect the actual game. Game play was inventive at first and then rather bland, alternating between lots of options to vast emptiness. The physics engine allows you to do quite a bit, but often gets in your way as well. Control set up is outdated and needs an update. Weapons tend to lack ammo or effectiveness, and specific weapon areas are prone to endless reload chests, removing any challenge. Squad AI for what sections you have a Squad range from ADD mental to not helpful, and also remove enemy challenge from levels. Overall the game is average. Expand
  74. StuartW.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    After all the hype of this game I finally got it with the Orange Box. After playing for a bit I have uninstalled the game, bored with the very linar gameplay. While the graphics were good I could not call it the best of the time. I can go on about this game but I am so glad I never brought it new. The engine will release good games much like the orginal but with newer and better engines After all the hype of this game I finally got it with the Orange Box. After playing for a bit I have uninstalled the game, bored with the very linar gameplay. While the graphics were good I could not call it the best of the time. I can go on about this game but I am so glad I never brought it new. The engine will release good games much like the orginal but with newer and better engines now coming out HL2's engine will just be another one in the pile to chose from. Amazing that a company that had so much time to make a good game they still chose to not stress the player with too many options on how to play. I give it a 6 as while the engine is good, the gameplay and hype have ruined what could of been a good game. Expand
  75. PeterM.
    May 20, 2007
    6
    Carrot-on-a-stick gameplay is unsatisfying. In-game physics detract from the game with trivial "puzzles" that only waste your time. Vastly overrated.
  76. BobFreeman
    Aug 22, 2007
    6
    6/10 !! I just tried the demo... Ok, we are on 2007. HF2 still have beautiful gameplay and graphism music and sound. But I am sorry I don't like. The game is fully scripted, ennemies appear from nowhere. I don't feel free during the game. I have quited the demo before finishing the last level because it's boring, there are too many ennemies for nothing. I am angry...
  77. Whocares?
    Oct 15, 2008
    6
    I can't understand why people like this so much, yes the physics are nice and all, but I get puzzle after puzzle forced on me, and they're not even interesting, they're just, use generic artificial gravity this, throw switch that, it's just not fun, expressions on faces are nice, but nowhere near perfect.
  78. yoyo
    Feb 17, 2008
    6
    Boring, boring, boring, this game was made for noobs that get distracted easily and settle for an average FPSs with no plot, and dumb scripted AI Con- In game, you play a slightly retarded mute who in known by all, you get you hand held most of the game, so there is hardly any thinking involved, when you beat the last boss you end up feeling like you accomplished nothing more then Boring, boring, boring, this game was made for noobs that get distracted easily and settle for an average FPSs with no plot, and dumb scripted AI Con- In game, you play a slightly retarded mute who in known by all, you get you hand held most of the game, so there is hardly any thinking involved, when you beat the last boss you end up feeling like you accomplished nothing more then waisting your time. Its like a bazillion MBs to install, and it takes longer to load levels then it takes to beat them. Pro- There are a quite a few mods that made the MP version fun. Expand
  79. [Anonymous]
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    A good game let down only by its terrible ending! Not as good as Half-Life!
  80. DemonicAngel
    Dec 28, 2004
    6
    This game is possibly the most overhyped and overrated game to be released for the PC since the original Half-Life. -- GOOD STUFF: graphics are very nice, if not up to the standards of Doom3. Character animation is wonderful, and the facial expressions are extremely convincing, which helps you to care about the people you'll be fighting alongside. Sound design is also good, though This game is possibly the most overhyped and overrated game to be released for the PC since the original Half-Life. -- GOOD STUFF: graphics are very nice, if not up to the standards of Doom3. Character animation is wonderful, and the facial expressions are extremely convincing, which helps you to care about the people you'll be fighting alongside. Sound design is also good, though again the sound engine can't compare to Doom3's. -- BAD STUFF: the game is completely linear, and whilst there are some nice set pieces scattered about infrequently, for the most part the gameplay is fairly samey. And where's this supposed deep storyline? So far all I've had are flimsy justifications to go from one place to another, backed up by a plot that has so far been lacklustre both in its content and its execution. And the bugs... let's not even go there. -- Out of this game and Doom3, I'd take Doom3 every time. It may be just as repetitive, if not more so, but it can scare me, it makes me feel something. Half-Life 2, like the original, makes me feel cheated. Expand
  81. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Its a fun game, but it is nothing like Half life 1, the first half life game was probably the best game of its genre, but half life 2 is just a generic fps. It has realy stellar graphics and engine. It has decent acting, but its story falls flat on just shooting combine and running away from combine, but the gameplay was realy well made, i want to give this game a lower rating but theyIts a fun game, but it is nothing like Half life 1, the first half life game was probably the best game of its genre, but half life 2 is just a generic fps. It has realy stellar graphics and engine. It has decent acting, but its story falls flat on just shooting combine and running away from combine, but the gameplay was realy well made, i want to give this game a lower rating but they just nailed it off to be a regular game, it is nothing special. Expand
  82. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    An overrated game, though I am reviewing it 7 years later from release. The plot is pretty poor, the characters are extremely boring, I don't have empathy for anyone here. The gravity gun is fun for a bit, then it is used outside of what is expected from the developers - I was using it to make staircases, and have other "fun" outside of the scripted level. Very good at the time, but nowAn overrated game, though I am reviewing it 7 years later from release. The plot is pretty poor, the characters are extremely boring, I don't have empathy for anyone here. The gravity gun is fun for a bit, then it is used outside of what is expected from the developers - I was using it to make staircases, and have other "fun" outside of the scripted level. Very good at the time, but now somewhat boring. Expand
  83. Apr 25, 2011
    6
    Bad History, Bad Graphics , Very Bad songs and extreme boring. I really don't like this game and don't understand why it gets so good score. Its my opinion and never gonna be back.. Valve create huge games but this game, he best production sucks.
  84. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    "Gordon Freeman!?" "Gordon Freeman!" "Gordon Freeman??!" Graphically, HL2 has aged gracefully, gameplay has not. Dry, extended sections of shooting the same character model over and over again, dull, stupid AI that bumrushes (enemy) or constantly gets in the way (friendly) and annoying platforming sections (still) in a FPS whose character slips and slides around, uncontrollably at times."Gordon Freeman!?" "Gordon Freeman!" "Gordon Freeman??!" Graphically, HL2 has aged gracefully, gameplay has not. Dry, extended sections of shooting the same character model over and over again, dull, stupid AI that bumrushes (enemy) or constantly gets in the way (friendly) and annoying platforming sections (still) in a FPS whose character slips and slides around, uncontrollably at times. Overrated when it came out, and overrated now. Expand
  85. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    You spend a lot of this game doing repetitive tasks. The game is very linear and each sort of 'stage' or 'chapter' in the game seems to be really dragged out. For example the chapter called 'Water Hazard' (I think that's what it's called) you tend to end up being able to guess what you have to do next as you've done it a billion times already. Often you'll also find yourself going onYou spend a lot of this game doing repetitive tasks. The game is very linear and each sort of 'stage' or 'chapter' in the game seems to be really dragged out. For example the chapter called 'Water Hazard' (I think that's what it's called) you tend to end up being able to guess what you have to do next as you've done it a billion times already. Often you'll also find yourself going on really long-winded routes to overcome one obstacle, which is obviously just to make the game last longer.
    However I do agree that it's a very innovative and original game, and the graphics and physics are impressive.
    Expand
  86. May 6, 2012
    6
    This game was okay, as I am a fan of FPS games in all of their glory, I gotta say I can spot a linear game from a mile away. I have played through the entire game (plus Ep.1 and 2) and it was a average game but it wasn't mind-blowing in my opinion. I am also not saying the game was bad, hence me scoring it a 6.
  87. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. I really did. It's just way too gimmicky. There only a few types of enemies - Headcrabs, zombies, soldiers, and antlions are basically the only enemies you really see in the game. The vehicle levels are atrocious and it focuses far too much on gimmicks like the gravity gun (though the ending segment with the high-powered gravity gun was awesome). Overall,I really wanted to like this game. I really did. It's just way too gimmicky. There only a few types of enemies - Headcrabs, zombies, soldiers, and antlions are basically the only enemies you really see in the game. The vehicle levels are atrocious and it focuses far too much on gimmicks like the gravity gun (though the ending segment with the high-powered gravity gun was awesome). Overall, it just lacks a lot of the personality and atmosphere of the original Half-Life. If you want a great story-based FPS, go buy the original Half-Life on Steam now, and pass up this one. You won't regret it. Expand
  88. Mar 29, 2013
    6
    I played this game back when it came out, and sure it was fun, but it wasn't as great as it's made out to be. Sure I'll be hated for this, but the game is really just an above average shooter. The enemies are extremely repetitive and the AI is pretty useless considering 70% of the time they just stand still and shoot. Ravenholm isn't scary and the zombies are easily killed. The best partI played this game back when it came out, and sure it was fun, but it wasn't as great as it's made out to be. Sure I'll be hated for this, but the game is really just an above average shooter. The enemies are extremely repetitive and the AI is pretty useless considering 70% of the time they just stand still and shoot. Ravenholm isn't scary and the zombies are easily killed. The best part of the game is the story and characters, for that it deserves genuine praise. From a 2004 point of view, some aspects were groundbreaking, but fact is, you can't give a game so much praise just because it's amazing in some areas, and average in others. I know this isn't popular opinion, but I genuinely feel this way about the game. Overrated? Yeah, I'd say so. Not too much, but still by a bit. Expand
  89. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    Good game.
    If every software house did a game like that, we would all be happy: challenging gameplay, good story, pretty good graphics and good longevity.
  90. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    Moderators are deleting my post? because I am rating the game low? Really!?!?! Well keep doing it mods cuz I am going to put my 2 cents out there 1 way or another.

    People are only giving this game high rating to counter-act the people giving 0-4 red scores. This game is massively over hyped, or people have low expectations, hell if you just came from playing HL1 or Solitaire, or barney
    Moderators are deleting my post? because I am rating the game low? Really!?!?! Well keep doing it mods cuz I am going to put my 2 cents out there 1 way or another.

    People are only giving this game high rating to counter-act the people giving 0-4 red scores. This game is massively over hyped, or people have low expectations, hell if you just came from playing HL1 or Solitaire, or barney & friends you should be having much more fun on this game than those.

    However the facts are this is a completely 100% linear lane, only can be argued by the fact they have "puzzles" in the game, its just a nuisance and something added in to make you think, and force the game to take longer than it should. I like the fact they make me think but atleast make the puzzles fun. I mean really stacking boxes, or holding down the E button to lift/drop gates, etc... Its not fun! Why do people think this is fun, to give a game a 10 is like saying its perfect These puzzles are fun for you? If they're great! but please don't give it a 10 these puzzles are not fun.

    Along with the puzzles. There is no weapon, or character progression, EVERYTHING IS >>>SCRIPTED
    Expand
  91. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    They say this was a really great game and I bought it on steam. I played this game for 15 hrs and all I can say is it is not engaging and really boring. It is a big letdown and I dont even know why it is great. Maybe in the middle of the game it got good? Maybe if I get time i will try to continue but so far it is boring as hell. Borderlands was great and engaging, this one is not.
  92. May 6, 2014
    6
    Even in 2004 when this game came out I felt this game was only slightly above average. Don't really understand why so many people love this game. Probably only entertaining part was the puzzling section. Basically linear game play without even a cinematic to make things interesting. Felt like I was playing the first Halo, and that game at least had a good multiplayer, unless you count CS.Even in 2004 when this game came out I felt this game was only slightly above average. Don't really understand why so many people love this game. Probably only entertaining part was the puzzling section. Basically linear game play without even a cinematic to make things interesting. Felt like I was playing the first Halo, and that game at least had a good multiplayer, unless you count CS. Counter Strike may be competitive, but the Source engine is definitely showing its signs of age. And why should I be talking about Counter Strike if this is a review on Half Life? Im not going to even talk about the multiplayer that Half Life 2 came with because that just straight up sucked when I actually found people to play with. I will give this game a six for slightly above average. Expand
  93. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    Ten years ago this game was set a new benchmark for the whole gaming industry, many considered this the best/ or one of the best games ever made... Ten years later however things have change.. and in short this game has not aged well...
    With a silence protagonist you try to save the world.. no side quest, extremely linear, just a handful of different enemies and not very challenging... by
    Ten years ago this game was set a new benchmark for the whole gaming industry, many considered this the best/ or one of the best games ever made... Ten years later however things have change.. and in short this game has not aged well...
    With a silence protagonist you try to save the world.. no side quest, extremely linear, just a handful of different enemies and not very challenging... by today's standards this is a very average game.. However this a testament of how much the gaming experience has evolve and grown over the years...
    Expand
  94. Apr 15, 2014
    6
    Some issues, firstly, the character you're playing as does not utter a single word during the game, it felt like I was playing Pokemon with guns mixed with that alien film, I found the game to be extremely racist in terms of the liquid based hazards, the clear water is nice and non-poisonous, the multicolored liquid is the opposite, just what sort of racist ideologies are Valve trying toSome issues, firstly, the character you're playing as does not utter a single word during the game, it felt like I was playing Pokemon with guns mixed with that alien film, I found the game to be extremely racist in terms of the liquid based hazards, the clear water is nice and non-poisonous, the multicolored liquid is the opposite, just what sort of racist ideologies are Valve trying to force onto us!?
    Overall, fun game with nice mechanics and a good mix of puzzle solving and action, nice one Valve.
    I give it a six.
    Expand
  95. Apr 4, 2016
    6
    This is a unique blend of platforming, puzzling, driving and shooting . The game is fast paced, tense and ultra-responsive. The game makes ample use of physics and it is still fun to interact with them to this day . There are some genuinely fun sections and the overall design of the levels feels fresh, playful, and rarely repetitive Ironically, the main reason for which this game isThis is a unique blend of platforming, puzzling, driving and shooting . The game is fast paced, tense and ultra-responsive. The game makes ample use of physics and it is still fun to interact with them to this day . There are some genuinely fun sections and the overall design of the levels feels fresh, playful, and rarely repetitive Ironically, the main reason for which this game is regarded as one of the best FPS of all time, is precisely because shooting is far from being the only scope of the game. That said, the game suffers from some serious pacing issues, where certain sections are dragged way too long to the point of annoyance. This game could have easily been 30% shorter and that would have made it that much more enjoyable. The visuals are clean and easy on the eyes yet the overall audio-visual experience is quite dull; Half-life 2 is just not a very pretty game, it has never been. Pair that with a lackluster story, and few annoying design choices, and you end up with an experience that despite being remarkable in more than a few ways is hard to qualify as anything more than "pretty good". So here you have it, Half-Life 2 is a pretty good game that is commendable in many respects and despite not being deprived of charm, ultimately fails to inspire. Expand
  96. Jeffthejiff
    Dec 4, 2004
    5
    I'm not sure what everyones getting at about this game. It just seems like a last minute lodge-together of different game genres and styles. One minute you could be driving a beach buggy, the next you could be in Resident Evil. The storyline is non-existant or at least incredibly obscure. And the ending... well, it just made me laugh. Worst Ending Ever. Altogether it just felt like a I'm not sure what everyones getting at about this game. It just seems like a last minute lodge-together of different game genres and styles. One minute you could be driving a beach buggy, the next you could be in Resident Evil. The storyline is non-existant or at least incredibly obscure. And the ending... well, it just made me laugh. Worst Ending Ever. Altogether it just felt like a technology preview to me: just showing what games could possibly do, but forgetting to actually put a game in there somewhere. Expand
  97. Z.Zaminiski
    Dec 6, 2004
    5
    To all you rate HL2 higher than 5 you are not doing HL2/valve or fellow gamers any favours. do NOT encourage valve to create another slightly-above average game. if you like to compare with doom3, then HL2 rates perhaps 7. i dunno who the raters are and they dont know me. however, my FPS-credentials started with the original wolfenstein 3D, so i've seen/played almost all theTo all you rate HL2 higher than 5 you are not doing HL2/valve or fellow gamers any favours. do NOT encourage valve to create another slightly-above average game. if you like to compare with doom3, then HL2 rates perhaps 7. i dunno who the raters are and they dont know me. however, my FPS-credentials started with the original wolfenstein 3D, so i've seen/played almost all the 'worthwhile' FPS until HL2. for all the new innovations (physics, facial mimic) valve fails to make the most of it. with physics we have little and easy puzzles that involves weight and counter weight - in kinder-garden are we? for human-face mimicry, minimal use in-game and lots for "story-line cut-scene". meaning it does little for gameplay. immersion you say? well, was the FinalFantasyMovie conviced anyone it was real? it was not mean to be right? but just what computer technology is capable of. we are not suppose to fall-in-luv with high-polygon-count characters are we? HL was alot better in terms of innovations, puzzles, challenges. one weapon missing from HL2 arsenal is the strategic trip-laser-mine. why is it left out in HL2? HL2 puzzles are contrived. contrived to demonstrate the physics abilities of the game engine. ramps for the airboat? who place them there? surely not the combine who must be stationed there to stop rebels? antlion sand-traps? oh my, are we having fun 'walking' about with metal doors? yawn. then there's the countless crates freeman must destroy! oh the humanity! and what is inside these big boxes but one single clip or couple of litty bitty things. who left these around? the rebels? why didn't the combine who 'own' the place clear it up? a few nice touches were when rebels throws freeman stuff/supplies! the countless explosive-barrels! how conveniently place near combine troopers for freeman to pick off. the countless barrels! are the level-designer somewhat confused? while the levels do not seemed like levels because the environment/architecture is convincingly real the gameplay suggest an arcade shooter. there are places were if freeman do not rush the 'nest' of combine they don't stop pouring out. scripts and why they are bad. that said it all actually. more scripts=more movie like but this is a game...remember? the things that happened by scripts/triggers MUST seem incidental or a direct cause of player's actions. the player in real-time causes stuff to happen, thus the joys of interacting with the game-world. like closing a door would stop a dumb flesh-zombie from entering. if the game-world pretends to be the real-world then everything should be happening simultaneously at will. the arrival of an interactive-agent, you, would immediately begin to cause effects on the environment and NPCs but thru AI not scripts. bad scripts example: it is somewhat odd dog knew to open a gap BEFORE freeman knew he had no where else to go? or if you reload a segment over and over the scripts played like a broken record? this indicate poor AI to AI interactions and AI to player interactions. Scripts are cheap and their novelty wears thin fast. scripts are much too linear, just like HL2 game/level design. exploration and wondering around is discouraged. there are a few 'secret' places to find for rewards but freeman was just being strung along. HL2 didn't try to be rainbow6. the squad you "command" are just as dumb. they mill about blocking your way or utter polite 'sorrys' and try to get out of your way. they cannot obey a simple (of two) command to stay out of trouble. while they seem to admire freeman they just never listen to him for long. there are so many thing poorly done with HL2 that it felt rush. very abrupt ending. instead of a scientist caught in something way, way over his head which he must overcome in HL, freeman becomes little more than a puppet-on-a-string. the mysterious G-Man acts mysterious, like a angel or devil nearby but not involved other than to have this condensening tone of speech. one just expected much more from valve but it does not materialize. the only thing that did was the G-man, at the end to stop the show... HL2 is merely counting on existing HL-fans and not trying to win new ones, not with short gameplay (someone 'compress' gameplay to about 3-4hrs), not with low replayability (if you knew what you knew you would play it over and over again because each time it is a little different or just as fun), not with weak (copied and mixed up from originals like 1984, aliens, resident evil/zombie flicks/starship-troopers/matrix) story line, not with steam. much like when valve came out of HL little known newcomer Far Cry does a good job (it is also linear but you can take your own sweat-time) surpassing kings of the hill - the Doom and HL series... ok for all high-raters, play it again sam? then rate it again. Expand
  98. Bor
    May 7, 2006
    5
    The Best Game!!!
  99. Mr.Anderson
    Jan 30, 2008
    5
    Probably the most over rated FPS game on PC ever. HL2 doesnt do anything new and is quite boring, maby a little over mediocre at best. The only thing innovative in the HL series is the gravity gun, but there were many other games that featured the ability to lift objects before HL and after.
  100. Sirklick
    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    I really wanted to like the single player because I enjoyed playing multiplayer deathmatch so much. The games engine is quite impressive -especially for its day- but the single player is a lackluster experience overall. Linear plot, little character development, no moral delemas or ambiguities, zero interaction with the story... the list of basic story-telling tenants that are lacking in I really wanted to like the single player because I enjoyed playing multiplayer deathmatch so much. The games engine is quite impressive -especially for its day- but the single player is a lackluster experience overall. Linear plot, little character development, no moral delemas or ambiguities, zero interaction with the story... the list of basic story-telling tenants that are lacking in this game is quite lengthy. The game did nothing to keep me interested but randomly throw stuff in my path for me to shoot. Level design and feel is unimaginative and dull. The various "levels" do not look or feel like they belong in the same world. To progress through the levels you complete boring and completely out of place physics puzzles (if you can even call them that) that ruin the pace of the game and doing nothing for the story or player immersion. This games single player was developed for the headcrab controlled zombie audiance. Remove the crab, it is ok to have expectations! Expand
  101. Jan 6, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. It's only a well-made shooter. It lasts for over 20 hours, but it has only 4 or 5 real plot twists, and all the other twists are related to the action! (like ravenholm). It seems good at the train station, but soon you'll discover the city isn't real. It's just a lot of combine soldiers. And then you'll have to kill 100 people and 20 monsters to get to the other level, where you'll drive a boat and kill another 100 people and this time 30 monsters. Then someone comes to you and says hey, I'm your father! And then you're like "Noooo!", and kill a couple hundred more. The plot can be written this short:
    - Gordon joins resistance
    - Eli is captured
    - Mossman is a traitor
    - Alyx is captured too
    - Mossman is a traitor again, so prisoners are freed
    - they blow **** up

    So what kind of plot is that?? But anyway, it's nice to play in the parts where it's well made and not too repetitive. For example the lighthouse, turret defense and driving parts I liked.

    After all, a well made linear FPS is always better than a non-linear game gone wrong. For example Far Cry 2 tries to create a free world, but it fails miserably.
    Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]