Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8654 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BernhardF
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    I thought HL2 was a fantastic game, and that the water was especially impressive, although for some totally inexplicable reason they forgot to add any displacement physics, meaning that stuff put into the water mysteriously contains water even if its solid. I really enjoyed the Nova Prospekt level too. Ravenholm was tolerable, but after a while, the fun of beating headcrabs with a crowbar I thought HL2 was a fantastic game, and that the water was especially impressive, although for some totally inexplicable reason they forgot to add any displacement physics, meaning that stuff put into the water mysteriously contains water even if its solid. I really enjoyed the Nova Prospekt level too. Ravenholm was tolerable, but after a while, the fun of beating headcrabs with a crowbar kinda wears off. Four things missing from this game: 1) Displacement physics in the Source engine 2) A dual-wield weapon/item hold system- anyone else remember the chair-pistol wield from Return to Castle Wolfenstein? I liked that. Also, wielding 2 pistols in Route Kanal would be fun. 3) The sniper rifle. There is actually code for one there somewhere, honest, but its not a usable weapon as there are no models. 4) Flyable vehicles. Okay, so we have a boat level, a car level, a foot level... why not stick a chopper on the roof of that building by the citadel and fly through C17 strafing the striders? Finally, I have had no problems with Steam, in fact, I love it. It makes it so much easier to have a combined game browser (all my non-steam games have shortcuts there), and a chat feature which shows the game you are playing and if it is a multiplayer game, a join the server feature. Finally a reliable game organisation and multiplayer co-ordination system that works. And yes, I've tried most of them. GameSpy is adequate. GameShadow is a waste of space. HyperLobby is tolerable. But Steam? For me, it is great. No problems ever. Expand
  2. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    actual health and armour instead of regen health? check more then two weappons carried at a time? check old fasioned guns a blazeing action instead of cover and kiss your a$$ goodbye borefest? chec half-life to is real retro gamers paradise bringing back everything that older gamers loved about fps while keeping the story telling and graphics on par with more modern fps styles, it actual health and armour instead of regen health? check more then two weappons carried at a time? check old fasioned guns a blazeing action instead of cover and kiss your a$$ goodbye borefest? chec half-life to is real retro gamers paradise bringing back everything that older gamers loved about fps while keeping the story telling and graphics on par with more modern fps styles, it deserves it's criticle acclaim. Expand
  3. J.Riekkinen
    Apr 8, 2005
    9
    Truly a great game. The atmospere is stunning, voices and music are nice, storyline's fascinating, graphics are amazing and the physichs best ever seen, and they're used well to bring us some logical puzzles. But it has some flaws. The long loading pauses are bigger problem than you might think - they split the gaming into too small pieces. Also, though most weapons are great, Truly a great game. The atmospere is stunning, voices and music are nice, storyline's fascinating, graphics are amazing and the physichs best ever seen, and they're used well to bring us some logical puzzles. But it has some flaws. The long loading pauses are bigger problem than you might think - they split the gaming into too small pieces. Also, though most weapons are great, some, for example the Overwatch Pulse Rifle, aren't that good. Expand
  4. DylanC.
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    This game would get a 10 from me, but for a few things. The ending is one of the worst I've seen in a game. It does nothing that endings are supposed to do (wrap the story up, answer an unanswered question or two, etc). The gameplay, while fun, is quite linear. If you're looking for something like Fallout (or even the GTA line), you won't find it here. The AI is pretty poor This game would get a 10 from me, but for a few things. The ending is one of the worst I've seen in a game. It does nothing that endings are supposed to do (wrap the story up, answer an unanswered question or two, etc). The gameplay, while fun, is quite linear. If you're looking for something like Fallout (or even the GTA line), you won't find it here. The AI is pretty poor as well. Friendlies will pretty much either follow you, or charge the enemy, which means they are either in your way, or dead. Having worked with the mapping software a bit, I can see the enemy AI is only decent if you have a fairly linear level (you know where the player is coming from), and you take plenty of time to set up "cover points" and such. If you don't specify where the NPCs can find cover, they pretty much operate on the same AI level as the friendly NPCs. As for the good parts, there are a good number. As I said, the gameplay, though linear, is very fun. There are a number of weapons that will fit most players' playing styles. The graphics are the peak of current generation games, along with great implementation. The game also works fine on a wide variety of systems. It will run decent on a 5 year old computer, yet can make full use of a new powerhouse computer. As a last note, one of the best parts of the Source (and previously the Half-life) engine is its modability. Through these mods, developers can create a single or multiplayer experience that fixes all the gripes I have about the game, besides the storyline. Overall, I would recommend this game as a "must-buy", as what the game doesn't have out of the box, others can do for it. Expand
  5. SamJ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    LOVE it!
  6. eXperionHL2.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    I like this game very much, the AI could be better, but so far i just like it so much. and it was a bit annoying with steam, but smart thinking... But Doom 3 has the stuff in .pk4 files, but Half-Life 2 doesn't but the load time is alot faster. This game owns, its even playing in 2006 ! I am happy with that.
  7. ArthurFreda
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    The graphix are out of this world. The only one ever bad thing is the long ass loading. But all in all the game is the SHIT! I love all the cool things u can do on it. Like along with it u get a sample of counter strike scource with u can play online with tonsof people. But the bottem line is if u like first person scince fiction games this is the one for u!!!
  8. RodigG.
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Very good game. A little bit too short ^^ but very nice =)
  9. R.Rodriguez
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I wasn't disappointed playing this game. I used the easy level on the first go around and still it was difficult. Having the girl show up after I had gone through hell to finish a level and in the end was the biggest irritant. I did feel the game was a too short.
  10. NicholasL
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Half-life 2 is a really good game. The story is really great done and it's full of action. It's a little scary sometimes and you often get frustrated when you get stuck( but not much =P ) I give it a 9
  11. AllanD
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    A game that keeps you glued to the screen finding ways to complete your task as well as killing.. Cool game.. Always enjoyed it and still do now in 2010!!
  12. JoeC
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Do not trust dsgv edvadt's comment as it lacks both truth and proper spelling. Instead believe that this game has an incredibly immersive plot, a wide range of graphics settings and excellent first-person gameplay.
  13. DavidC.
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    Best first person shooter since.. well, since Half-Life. Not my favourite genre, but I am absolutely _loving_ this. The most visceral experience I've ever had from a PC game.
  14. BobB.
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    It's hard to believe Valve managed to pull such an honorable follow-up to the number 1 FPS ever made. Outstanding! However, I thought it was a little short. Or was I that absorbed into the action that time went that fast?! ;-)
  15. GregW.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Awesome game. Builds on the original in terms of rivalling movies and books in character depth, a story that can enthrall you if you take the time to actually listen to what the AI says (Looking at you Ian F). Why a 9 and not a 10? Linear, although that seems to be par for the course in terms of FPS's (excluding Far Cry), and steam, which although it proved no problem to me, was a Awesome game. Builds on the original in terms of rivalling movies and books in character depth, a story that can enthrall you if you take the time to actually listen to what the AI says (Looking at you Ian F). Why a 9 and not a 10? Linear, although that seems to be par for the course in terms of FPS's (excluding Far Cry), and steam, which although it proved no problem to me, was a pain in the rear for a dial up friend of mine. Expand
  16. AndrewB.
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    Arguably the single most immersive game ever made. The story line was a fabulous continuation of the original and the game managed to use its spectacular physics engine without becoming overly gimmicky. In an article by PC Gamer it was stated that EA was trying to make the citizen cane of gaming, but considering this game i think you need look no further than valve. My one beef with this Arguably the single most immersive game ever made. The story line was a fabulous continuation of the original and the game managed to use its spectacular physics engine without becoming overly gimmicky. In an article by PC Gamer it was stated that EA was trying to make the citizen cane of gaming, but considering this game i think you need look no further than valve. My one beef with this game is that the ending was a complete dissapointment, total cliff hanger. Expand
  17. GregA.
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle HL2 is a great game so I'll get the little annoyances out the road now. Having to go online each time is a pain, fortunately I now have broadband but could not imagine how annoying it would have to be to be on dial up. But the pirates are the only ones to blame...so blame them! Secondly I have a pretty good PC @ 2.1 Ghz, 512 RAM and a Radeon 9600XT...something I would call "middle ground" and yet it took ages to load and save that it did take the fun out of the moment. I'll also say that I played it on the hardest setting yet there were very few occasions when I had to scavenge for ammo or health, there always seemed to be enough if you were prepared to look for it. Yes the game is linear but its a story and I can't imagine how (or why) you would want to play it with full freedom, it would just take too long. There is one scene where you need to find two batteries in order to open a barricade. As a test I used the gravity gun to eject a battery over the cliff face - I turned around and saw another battery fall out of thin air back to its original spot...so bascially you can't just do anything you want otherwise the game wouldn't progress. Speaking of which, the gravity gun was an ingenious inclusion in the game, it just made yet another FPS a lot more interesting. Moving tables about to shield yourself, or throwing petrol drums at guards was pretty cool in my books. Not as great as the original but it was a solid game with lovely gameplay and worth every cent. Expand
  18. KDog
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading This game is nothing short of incredible. Graphics and Physics are asounding. In terms of comparing it to Farcry, I'd say they're pretty close. HL does water manipulation far better. The only thing that ticks me off is Steam - the software required to run HL2. That program is a pain in the butt, and not having a high speed connection meant I had to spend four hours downloading Steam updates and Ads before I was allowed to touch the real game. Now, I recognize why it was done, Valve was POed that their code got stolen by hackers in mid production a year and a half ago, and they had to delay for more than a year to rewrite it. But this is taking it a bit too far. I really hope games don't begin to adopt a system of gameplay like Steam, or I won't be buying too many more games in the future. I knew about Steam before I bought it, and the only reason I actually did buy was because it was Half Life 2. Anything else I would have seriously reconsidered. Overall: Game is incredible, Steam stinks. Expand
  19. MikeL.
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    The only reason I don't rate it a 10 is that I don't know what the "perfect" game is. This is an awesome game that thrusts you into another world. The realism is uncanny. I turn off all the lights in the "computer room" and slip into Gordon Freeman's body. What a rush! Those galloping ghouls that debut in Ravenholm will freak you out! The situations that you find yourself The only reason I don't rate it a 10 is that I don't know what the "perfect" game is. This is an awesome game that thrusts you into another world. The realism is uncanny. I turn off all the lights in the "computer room" and slip into Gordon Freeman's body. What a rush! Those galloping ghouls that debut in Ravenholm will freak you out! The situations that you find yourself in often require you to stop, take stock of your surroundings, and figure out how to think your way out of the dilemma. I wish I could erase my memory and play it anew over and over again. Expand
  20. Giovanni
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    Its a great game but too overhyped, there are better games in terms of gameplay that still offer scripted storyline like far cry. The use of physics is a great addition and the graphics are fantastic, the AI is not so good. Overall a great game worth playing and buying but not as perfect as the reviewers say.
  21. DavidG.
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Uses multi-sensory techniques to immerse you in a virtual world. Audio in particular is awesome. Maybe not a real challenge compared to some killer FPS, but probably better at RPG simulation for those who like living in an alternate reality--though it is linear, so don't expect to create your own story. Another little annoyance is the game's broken into relatively small bits Uses multi-sensory techniques to immerse you in a virtual world. Audio in particular is awesome. Maybe not a real challenge compared to some killer FPS, but probably better at RPG simulation for those who like living in an alternate reality--though it is linear, so don't expect to create your own story. Another little annoyance is the game's broken into relatively small bits with load times between them. With no cut scenes to chew on, waiting a few seconds for loads is a shruggable offense. As for peeps other complaints: I use DSL to connect to the Internet and haven't had any problems so far with Steam, I loaded the game from DVD in about ten minutes, and I haven't seen any real bugs or evidence of bad programming. Expand
  22. ShawnH.
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    I'm not going to say anything that hasn't already been said, so I'll make it short and sweet. Great graphics, great sound, great game. The gravity gun is tons of fun. My son loved it when I "starfished" Combine soldiers by shooting them straight up in the air and watching them spin like a top. Also, shooting soldiers into energy streams and watching them somersault in slow I'm not going to say anything that hasn't already been said, so I'll make it short and sweet. Great graphics, great sound, great game. The gravity gun is tons of fun. My son loved it when I "starfished" Combine soldiers by shooting them straight up in the air and watching them spin like a top. Also, shooting soldiers into energy streams and watching them somersault in slow motion was endlessly entertaining. The game ran fine on my system, which surprised me considering how detailed the graphics were. The ending was disappointing and was obviously designed to leave the door open for Half-Life 3. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    I will agree with some of the critics of HL2 that it doesn't break a ton of new ground in terms of gameplay. Honestly, though, that's really kind of a side issue because the game is so immersive, that it makes up for any and all other shortcomings. It simply has one of the most compelling and immersive storylines that I've ever seen in a video game. It puts most modernI will agree with some of the critics of HL2 that it doesn't break a ton of new ground in terms of gameplay. Honestly, though, that's really kind of a side issue because the game is so immersive, that it makes up for any and all other shortcomings. It simply has one of the most compelling and immersive storylines that I've ever seen in a video game. It puts most modern Hollywood movies to shame really; it's a video game epic. Expand
  24. Baby-stealingdingo
    May 13, 2006
    9
    In response to the more reasonable critics: HALO was hyped. HL2 is not. The story is a continuation of HL1, and the ending is meant to be a cliff-hanger. There are more episodes on the way. What FPS does not have a basically linear story? If you want an RPG, go buy an RPG. Problems with Steam/load times/installation: get a better machine. Too easy: turn up the difficulty. That's what In response to the more reasonable critics: HALO was hyped. HL2 is not. The story is a continuation of HL1, and the ending is meant to be a cliff-hanger. There are more episodes on the way. What FPS does not have a basically linear story? If you want an RPG, go buy an RPG. Problems with Steam/load times/installation: get a better machine. Too easy: turn up the difficulty. That's what the slider is there for. Call of Duty, Doom 3 and Far Cry are better: Justify it. Doom 3 consists of walking around in darkness waiting for a demon to jump out of a closet at you. There is no strategy. Far Cry is a great game but that doesn't mean HL2 needs to be rated 0. Call of Duty I & II? Again, great games but not any better than HL2. A final note, the online play for HL2 is outstanding; deathmatch, counter strike are well supported and have tons of players and maps. The tool kit included with HL2 is excellent, as is the map builder. Expand
  25. SpidyB.
    May 16, 2006
    9
    its almost an perfict game and to play it its al fun and an good story in the game zo it is one of the best games till now.
  26. AdamL
    May 6, 2006
    9
    This game was amazing, all the comments that say that this game was horrible, stupid, etc. they are dumbasses. seriously. They are being stupid, they are pointing out all the flaws in this game. Of course the AI isn't perfect, its a game. Those peopl who say that the ending was stupid and dropped off, its meant to. If you know anything about half life or half life 2, you'll This game was amazing, all the comments that say that this game was horrible, stupid, etc. they are dumbasses. seriously. They are being stupid, they are pointing out all the flaws in this game. Of course the AI isn't perfect, its a game. Those peopl who say that the ending was stupid and dropped off, its meant to. If you know anything about half life or half life 2, you'll understand that it's meant to be this way. People have dedicated years into make this an awesome game and it still is one. Compare all the negative reviews to the positive, you'll see how good this game really is. It is amazingly good, not to mention has a ton of mods out there so you get around 100 games in one. and most of them are actually good, rather then the crap that lots of other modders put out for other games. I have to say that the story is slightly liniar, but the amazing fights and battles make up for it. It is an intense game. Maybe those people who gave it negative reviews should try it on some other mode then easy, maybe that'll make the game more fun, when there is actually a challange. Expand
  27. ChrisE.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of all time if there was a 9.8 score I'd give it that but the game wasnt PERFECT but sure damned close to it....I LOVE THIS GAME....Good Job Valve! :)
  28. JosaihB.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    About the game missing an easy-hard scale, what the heck man, it has one (easy, medium, hard). Great game, one of the best ever, makes games like Halo 2 that promise so much look like last nights dinner.
  29. JoeK.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    GREAT GAME!
  30. DanieRossi
    May 7, 2006
    9
    é il miglior gioco che abbia mai visto... unico problema è che dura poco.
  31. Quincunx
    May 7, 2006
    9
    Amazing game, I stills say Half-Life 1 was the best of all time, but this is great.
  32. Z.B.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Very good climax, storyline and even better graphics. Small levels are still a bit annoying (especially at earlier parts of game). Weapons could be more realistic (sounds, weight). Almost as dragin in as 1 HL.
  33. MarcoC.
    Jun 16, 2006
    9
    It's a good game. I play it with all full graphic details, and it's nice to watch. The water and the sky are really well done, and the HDR is there!
  34. MarcoP.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    The game is beautiful under all aspects but the italian language isn't perfect.
  35. KevinJ.
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    Awsome game! The first time I played it, I was lost in the story and played for hours. Scalable engine makes this game good on even budgeted systems, yet is one of the best looking games out there.
  36. AnonymousMC
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    Some parts were extremely annoying, and the ending was not that great, but left for a sequel (the episodes). Some parts, especially the airboat ride, are incredibly well done. The controls are fluid and the graphics are spectacular. All this, combined with the surround sound (I HIGHLY recommend headphones) immerse the player in a game full of emotion, problem-solving, ass-kicking, andSome parts were extremely annoying, and the ending was not that great, but left for a sequel (the episodes). Some parts, especially the airboat ride, are incredibly well done. The controls are fluid and the graphics are spectacular. All this, combined with the surround sound (I HIGHLY recommend headphones) immerse the player in a game full of emotion, problem-solving, ass-kicking, and interaction beyond almost anything I've ever seen. Expand
  37. MarkS.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    this game is awesome, you gotta get it, the physics, the models, the skins, details, graphics, action, puzzles, everything, gotta get it.
  38. Dajmin
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    The Source engine is a fine piece of work, and as a showcase for it you can do no better than HL2. You can actually see emotions on character's faces, you can watch the physics react as it would in real life. The storyline is very well done, and sure it has it's cliche's, but I think sometimes they're necessary. It has funny moments and it's "But...but..." The Source engine is a fine piece of work, and as a showcase for it you can do no better than HL2. You can actually see emotions on character's faces, you can watch the physics react as it would in real life. The storyline is very well done, and sure it has it's cliche's, but I think sometimes they're necessary. It has funny moments and it's "But...but..." moments, and basically all of Ravenholm scared the crap out of me! If you've not seen it yet, you'll understand why "we don't go to Ravenholm". HL2 is no longer new, but I think the graphics are aging quite well. It's supposed to look gritty and realistic, so expecting "bloom" lighting is a little silly despite it's appearance in almost every game since Guild Wars. Since no game is perfect and there are a couple of things about HL2 that I'd like to see improved (AI has already been mentioned, and I'd like to have seen more choice in the vehicle levels - take the boat and go the fun way or go by an alternate land route, for example) and expanded on, I'm giving HL2 a 9. Probably 9.5 if I had the option :) Well worth the cost! Expand
  39. Anonymous
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    With me believing on rating a game as a game I`d have to say Half Life 2 is brilliant. Of the many comments involving (Half Life 2 is jerky and slow on my pc) the simple answer is : Don`t play it on a rubbish computer then. Half Life 2 is a grerat looki ng game with cracking framerates (on decent computers) and a great storyline. And the A.I. I found that the enemies on my game were With me believing on rating a game as a game I`d have to say Half Life 2 is brilliant. Of the many comments involving (Half Life 2 is jerky and slow on my pc) the simple answer is : Don`t play it on a rubbish computer then. Half Life 2 is a grerat looki ng game with cracking framerates (on decent computers) and a great storyline. And the A.I. I found that the enemies on my game were constantly hiding for cover and helping each other get to me. The only downer is that the first level just slaps you in a level and leaves you to figure it out. I didn`t find Steam to be a problem as I was up and playing within 25 minuites of getting home and popping the disc in. Seriously folks you can`t say a game is bad because your PC and internet can`t handle it. Nuff Said Expand
  40. jeremyw.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Practically perfect game in every point. Graphics are excellent, story is ok, which takes a part of the score off. Otherwise every point in the game is beautiful including the gameplay and the weapons you can have.
  41. calvinMiller
    May 6, 2007
    9
    Great fun game. Excelent Graphics.Addicting.
  42. Cory
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Steam is still tedious, as many others have pointed out. The physics engine, however, is probably one of the best futures of this game. Gordon's low capacity of ammo serves a nice challenge, since the weapons tear through bullets faster than a squirrel through trees. The ending was a bit of a let down, though.
  43. RyanD.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics and a very good story line.
  44. MattWood
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Actually 9.5. Excelent game. The only thing that could be improved on is the enemy AI. Everything else is perfect.
  45. WorldBearer
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly annoying when trying to navigate tight passageways or attack a group of enemies. All in all however, brilliant game. Expand
  46. VikR
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing, I love the fact that you can mod the brains out of it... and the storyline was intense. Unfortunatly the story line was short (took me about three days, i was hoping for something that would atleast last me a week) and for some reason the game isnt one which you can play more than once without it being terribly boring. I give it a 9.
  47. BjörnK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    Great gameplay; astonishing, authentic environment and atmosphere. Compellingly one of the best FPS ever.
  48. LiZard
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, this is just sad how many illiterate, stupid people there are out there. As for me, I give it a 9 for the awsomeness it contains. Although I was dissapointed how I couldn't take a turret with me from Nova Prospeckt. I brought it into the teleporter, but to no avail. I'll miss you, Mr. Turret. *sob* Expand
  49. AlexR.
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    Haven't actually got the game yet, but a friend has it and seems really good, however the seems to complicated for my pc to run it well enough to play, so thats the major complaint, but the gameplay on my mate's comp is really good, so all is good about the game itself really.
  50. DavidK
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    The overall novelty value that the game has is fantastic. The ragdoll addition to gaming is great, but I found this game to be to say the least "unusual". The ending is atrocious but then they would not have had the Episode Expansions that they did. The environment is topnotch. And if you like a good fps this game is for you.
  51. AnonymousMC
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    I played the first Half-Life, I do have to say the first Half-Life was much more challenging. However, Half-Life 2 has a better first person shooting system (I don't die in 2 seconds). Graphics are great even for its' time. I think the reason why this game really gets a nine is because the story is amazing. 9 out of 10.
  52. ByonH
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    I was amazed with the context throughout the storyline in the first parts of the game. One thing I disliked was the limited amount of weapons, but other then that, the game is worth the time, and is on my list for replay
  53. NatP
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    Immersive gameplay, Good voice acting, Revolutionary, Awesome visuals for its time. AI could've used a little polish though. Hands down one of the best FPS I've ever played!
  54. OliverH.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    More sleepless nights and C-S-2!!!!!
  55. V.Z.
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this I wouldn't go as far and give it a ten. in fact, I almost gave it an 8. Half-Life 2 is another Half-Life, so if you liked the first game, you will love playing through the second. ONCE. The game has little replay value, and scripting in general can't be blamed for it. I played the first Half-life a couple of times and had fun. I got the feeling that something aobut the way this game is put together makes a replay less fun. Is it the story, that starts promising but becomes weaker? Is it the fact that the game is not as revolutional as the first (while Far Cry, sorry to say that, was)? I don't know. Anyway, Half-life 2 is a great, amazing trip the first time round, which would deserve a score of 11. But that's pretty much it. Oh, this score is only for single player, btw. I always wanted to try Counterstrike, but I still never did. Expand
  56. DuncanM.
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy I've never been a big fan of pc gaming but this game has changed that. It's like being in a movie and just so exciting. Don't understand all the comments about needing an amazing pc to play, mine's not anything special and the games runs and looks amazing. Maybe people just need to set it up right for their system instead of trying to run it on max settings on a crappy machine? Expand
  57. Konocoon-con
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    I think that this game is smiply amazing. This game beats and graphics of any game. Story-line, perfect. Game play has a wonderful addiction.
  58. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    Even a year after release, no other game has attempted to use physics in such an integral and ingenious way. It excels in every area. It did seem short to me however. Which leads to my complaint.
    The reason for a 9 score is that I really wanted TFC2, just as much as the single-player part. It should've shipped with HL2 instead of CS:S, which I couldn't care less about. I
    Even a year after release, no other game has attempted to use physics in such an integral and ingenious way. It excels in every area. It did seem short to me however. Which leads to my complaint.
    The reason for a 9 score is that I really wanted TFC2, just as much as the single-player part. It should've shipped with HL2 instead of CS:S, which I couldn't care less about. I spent more time playing TFC back in the day than any game before or since. Making the sequel a standalone product is unwise, IMO. Valve's generosity has declined over the years it seems.
    Expand
  59. AnonymousMC
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    I love this game - It's got a great atmosphere! I love how even my-non gamer friends watch the opening scenes in silence, drawn into the story.
    It's just a pity that STEAM sucks **so much** The AI didn't bug me to be honest, but, good lord - Steam? why.. why would they do that to us?! 2 days it took me the first time, nowadays a freakin' hour to install... This kind
    I love this game - It's got a great atmosphere! I love how even my-non gamer friends watch the opening scenes in silence, drawn into the story.
    It's just a pity that STEAM sucks **so much** The AI didn't bug me to be honest, but, good lord - Steam? why.. why would they do that to us?! 2 days it took me the first time, nowadays a freakin' hour to install... This kind of drawback is UNACCEPTABLE - game developers take note - we won't pay for products with this kind of drawback unless the game itself is REALLY good! It just shows how good the actual *game* part of HL2 really is.
    Expand
  60. Philter137
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    An artistcally brillant game! The content is excellent! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is due to the irritating installation process and the steam application that HL2 requires to run.
  61. Warmonger
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    Great game,truly an experience in itself,there was only one thing that I did not like about the game. (besides steam that is)This may sound trivial but I absolutely hated the rocket launcher!! this has got to be the worst weapon that I've ever see, in any game!! please lose this weapon for the follow up!!
  62. JulienC.
    Jun 18, 2005
    9
    Unbelievable, the ultimate video game experience, almost perfect. These game designers understood what a video game should be.
  63. DevinT.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Not as good as farcry, I liked Farcry better because it is troppical and you get to rome the levels and do what ever the hell you want.
  64. ChicoritaK.i
    May 27, 2006
    9
    not really perfect in physical calculation (eg. you can see the rain in water, and some objects' shadow through the wall) but i think this is the best of those fps/fpa game.
  65. KennyW.
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    The source engine is awsome not only does half-life2 use it but thier is so much that you can do with it that wasn't used in half-life2 they could of put a grappling hook in hl2 but they didn't cause people would go into the less detailed areas of the maps, but one of the mods for hl2 called garry's mod let's you do pretty much anything and you will be able to do more The source engine is awsome not only does half-life2 use it but thier is so much that you can do with it that wasn't used in half-life2 they could of put a grappling hook in hl2 but they didn't cause people would go into the less detailed areas of the maps, but one of the mods for hl2 called garry's mod let's you do pretty much anything and you will be able to do more when garry releases GMOD 10 people mostly use gmod for comics and stuff like that. Expand
  66. nemesis
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    great game in 32 bit but 64 bit well thats another story, it has lots of bugs
  67. AnonymousMC
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    Overall awesome, Steam is what brings the game down though. Sure, it's nice to be able to get all your games in one program, but it's the bugs of Steam and absolutely horrid support for it that make me hate it.
    As mentioned there were some issues with the physics engine and such, but ultimately, it's a game. It's meant for entertainment purposes, it will never be as
    Overall awesome, Steam is what brings the game down though. Sure, it's nice to be able to get all your games in one program, but it's the bugs of Steam and absolutely horrid support for it that make me hate it.
    As mentioned there were some issues with the physics engine and such, but ultimately, it's a game. It's meant for entertainment purposes, it will never be as realistic as some people want it to be unless they just go out and kick the chair themselves instead of having a 3d virtual avatar do it for them.
    As for the game: I've played it on both an old (6 years now) and new (1 month) old PC. Both worked fine if you know how to tweak your visual settings. My gripe with this: At first Steam started automatically updating everything, which is where the "gotta have the awesome PC to run it" thing came in. Too many features being added without consent.

    So really, Game = 15, but Steam's updates, support, and bugs bring it down.
    Expand
  68. FernandoM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    For sure Half Life 2 in an incredible game, even not being perfect. Obviously there are some things to improve, there always is, but they're not too many... If producers could make a game more shooting and hard puzzles and less useless enroling scenes it would be nice... the engine is perfect.
  69. EthanP.
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    Beautiful game with intricate details and gameplay, the only real downfall is the length of the game, it took me a total of 8 hours to complete without stoping to play games with the physics. Could also use a little more freedom in your path beacuse it seems a little linear right now.
  70. MattA.
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    Great game, Looks amazing if you have a good computer.
  71. DennisC.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    WOW, I played it and the physics were great, also the graphic, but I think, that one little thing is of an importance and not to neglect: The game is to linear sometimes and it has some bugs/faults ! Otherwise excellent!
  72. RaulL.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Why are all enemis alike (example: all zombies have same clothes).
  73. BrettD.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Incredibly smart. Fascinating in it's ability to influence those around the character. Bone chilling twists of fate. The storyline is superb. The game is a must have for any gamers portfolio!
  74. PhilipW.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    One step closer to the perfect game: Plenty of freedom to play with the environment! The ending was rather a let-down, but everything leading up to it was top-notch.
  75. AnonymousMC
    Oct 21, 2007
    9
    Just beat it on the Orange Box. Pretty good game, worth playing once or twice, but I didn't find it as amazing as what most people said. I'm sure it's story (while a little disappointing) and its physics were revolutionary, I absolutely hated the driving missions (especially the airboat) and it felt a little repetitive with little variety to the enemies. Mostly striders,Just beat it on the Orange Box. Pretty good game, worth playing once or twice, but I didn't find it as amazing as what most people said. I'm sure it's story (while a little disappointing) and its physics were revolutionary, I absolutely hated the driving missions (especially the airboat) and it felt a little repetitive with little variety to the enemies. Mostly striders, soldiers, antlions and headcrabs. Great game but not the greatest. Expand
  76. ScottD.
    Oct 20, 2007
    9
    Awesome, could be longer (larger levels or more of them). Thanks !
  77. DohneB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    I just finished HL2 for the first time (got myself the orange box) - almost exactly 3 years after its' original release and it was a blast - time certainly hasn't hurt this game in any way! solid action with lots of variety! 9 out of 10! Excuse me, now i'm on to EP1 ;).
  78. MichielF.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    By far the best game in the series. Better than Episode 1 and much, much better than Episode 2. E2 has way too many problems running on machines that it should run on! ! ! !
  79. AnonymousMC
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    i'm no expert in game reviewing, but as far as i'm concerned, i'm sad i finished it so fast :) HL2, HL2 LC, HL2 EPO .. anyway, maybe it's not the best game ever, who said that ? but it a game that makes me want more .. realistic too, and it gets better and better .. about the HL1 being better .. not necesarely true .. anyway .. not the best, but one of the best
  80. ErikB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Just finished it and found it to be a compelling and completly fufilling gaming experience.
  81. AnonymousMC
    May 24, 2007
    9
    Possibaly one of the best shooters ever. keeps to the same shabaz as half life one yet still makes you feel your playing something completly new. Also has to be one of the best ending in any game ever. There are still some flaws though. Even though i am a die hard half life fan im not afraid to mention its major flaws. First the teammate AI is preety bad. The will take out 1 or 2 guys andPossibaly one of the best shooters ever. keeps to the same shabaz as half life one yet still makes you feel your playing something completly new. Also has to be one of the best ending in any game ever. There are still some flaws though. Even though i am a die hard half life fan im not afraid to mention its major flaws. First the teammate AI is preety bad. The will take out 1 or 2 guys and leave you with 10.; Finnaly my biggest problem is the installation time is out the door. I know i dont have the best computer but almost a full day to install thats crazy. But end the end it was all worth it beacuse Half Life 2 is a great game. I highly Recomend it. Expand
  82. ChristianS.
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Very good game, best action game ever!
  83. CaleS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    This is a near perfect game, the physics, the graphics, and everything about it is awesome but there are just a few glitches that really draw from the expirence. Like you can pick up a piece of something and jump and all of the sudden you are flying. Something this realistic shouldnt have that big of a glitch.
  84. WayneW.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Incredible FPS game in every aspect. I wish the original could be redone with the same quality graphics.
  85. CapuMagig
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Its good, but hey, HL1 was better when comparing with time. But still, Hl2 is good, tho its way too short :S
  86. Johnna
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    Great game - only thing keeping from a 10 is the lack of none linear play.
  87. CharlieR.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Except for the improved graphics and vehicles, Half-Life (Rating of 10 in my book) was much more fun, more varied, had a better storyline and played much longer. I like to replay it far more than HL2.
  88. JustinB.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    Big fan of Half life great gameplay and story. I thought the tunnle level was kind of boring and the AI was a little weak and steam is a headach for me snice I have a slower internet connection. However the physics graphics plot and gameplay do make up for these minor downsizes.
  89. BenK
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Masterpiece. Eric H does not know what he's talking about. What exactly were you promised slick? Badly modified quake engine? That engine was built strictly to develop Half-Life 2. If you think there's no plot than your really not paying attention. It has as much plot as Fahrenheit 451 or a novel of such epic ideas.
  90. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    What can I say, 3 years later, about HL2 that hasn't already been said? Not much, I guess. It gave me great satisfaction to find myself in such an interesting, well-sculpted virtual world. Yeah, it was linear, but the presentation was nothing short of fantastic. Call me strange, but I was so awed when I saw my first, Nazi-like, Orwellian enforcer. As I stopped and stared, all I heardWhat can I say, 3 years later, about HL2 that hasn't already been said? Not much, I guess. It gave me great satisfaction to find myself in such an interesting, well-sculpted virtual world. Yeah, it was linear, but the presentation was nothing short of fantastic. Call me strange, but I was so awed when I saw my first, Nazi-like, Orwellian enforcer. As I stopped and stared, all I heard was the click-click-click of the observer drone and the constant droning of propaganda from the speakers on the wall. I was hooked. Nothing gets me more than an environment that is gripping, believable, and immersive. Not like that cluttered, illogical crap you get from Bioshock and others. HL2 just got better from there. Above average weapon selection. The gravity gun was a pleasure to work with. Interesting enemies to fight. Good story. And all of it so beautifully, visually and sonically, presented. I love the sound of that one later assault rifle (with the bouncing ball as the secondary): it was so satisfying to use (too bad it ran out of ammo so quickly!). Presentation will make or break a game like that. Thank goodness Valve got it right. Cons? Too short. =) Expand
  91. AllanC.
    Mar 19, 2008
    9
    Crashed a few times, but other then that? SOLID.
  92. Mr.T.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    @Mr.A: How about... revolutionay Graphics, Physics + PHYSICAL MIRACLES. Even games after HL2 used Physics just to show its possibilitiy, not to use it as a gaming element.
  93. ThomasH.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    Ok, I'm tired of people posting comments saying thins like "steam sucks, physics engine makes things killz u when you touch them WTF" or "engine is good but game to liniar n' boring not enough boomz" In response to the first quote which actually is a lot like the actual review its based on, throw out your 10 year old computer running on windows 98 if you want to continue to play Ok, I'm tired of people posting comments saying thins like "steam sucks, physics engine makes things killz u when you touch them WTF" or "engine is good but game to liniar n' boring not enough boomz" In response to the first quote which actually is a lot like the actual review its based on, throw out your 10 year old computer running on windows 98 if you want to continue to play games. The engine hasn't been as buggy as you stated since the beta, and if objects hit you at 50 km per hour, your gonna get damaged in some way. Its probably your old computer thats making the engine so bad, so for your deity's sake, (and if your an atheist I can see why your so critical) get a computer that can run windows xp (stay away from vista) in response to the later quote, also creepily close to the original review, go play halo. Oh wait is that to liniar for you too? How bout you go play Oblivion, an rpg with no liniar game play, oh wait no explosions... well how bout you go play DOOM 3, I'm sure you will be happy with blowing zombies and demons to bits, and the campy acting as well. Anyways the reason I rate this a 9 is because its a great game overall but the reason I don't rate this a 10 is they could have made it slightly more challenging, and because they took out so much from the original game idea (like awesome weapons) that would have made the game so much better. If they had started out with this and not taken anything away I would have given it a 10, but because it was great but could have been so much better I rate it a 9. Expand
  94. Maslab
    May 19, 2008
    9
    No game is perfect, but Half Life 2 probably hits the mark closer than most. But poor AI most all around just makes enemies too easy. Its understandable if the enemies are zombies or Antlions, but armored, trained soldiers should be able to figure out what a grenade is, and to properly use cover. Awesome graphics, no fault there, and controls are easy, and what can I say about the grav No game is perfect, but Half Life 2 probably hits the mark closer than most. But poor AI most all around just makes enemies too easy. Its understandable if the enemies are zombies or Antlions, but armored, trained soldiers should be able to figure out what a grenade is, and to properly use cover. Awesome graphics, no fault there, and controls are easy, and what can I say about the grav gun that hasn't been said before? Its just amazing. Expand
  95. TimW.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Fun,nice to look at!
  96. ZekkoD.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    Ok, about what that Nick C. said is false and yes, he is the biggest pussy I've ever seen. I'm 14 and probably the biggest FPS fan at this age. I played from Ultimate Doom to Bioshock. F.E.A.R is the most scariest FPS. Ok, back to the Half Life series. Since I played Half Life 1, I finished it and loved it, it was a masterpiece. Then the Expansions, and then The Orange Box, and Ok, about what that Nick C. said is false and yes, he is the biggest pussy I've ever seen. I'm 14 and probably the biggest FPS fan at this age. I played from Ultimate Doom to Bioshock. F.E.A.R is the most scariest FPS. Ok, back to the Half Life series. Since I played Half Life 1, I finished it and loved it, it was a masterpiece. Then the Expansions, and then The Orange Box, and then Bioshock. :))... ok the orange box is the best deal in gaming history, plus it has all the half life 2 series. The 9 is from the bad jeep/airboat and low-poly graphics. Expand
  97. elliotw
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Half life 2 review Half life 2 is undoubtedly one of the greatest fps
  98. DannyC
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    This game was great and epic...immersing story line i think the first use rating from Biosaber B is a bunch of crap. hes the kind of person that likes to play games that dont challenge you
  99. NelsonJ
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    A fantastic game. It stimulates both my twitch reflex and my spatial awareness. In fact, it's so immersive that I get nauseous if I play it for too long.
  100. DougD.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a This game floored me the moment I stepped off the train. It's graphics and physics engine is truly incredible. Although Jon Carmack (Founder, lead developer of id; DOOM) shouldn't lose any sleep over his masterpiece, the SOURCE engine is truly amazing. Eyes follow your moves while their head moves in the other direction, awesome. The physics, like the graphics, are also one of a kind. What brings this review down to a 9 for me is the story. It had so much potential, but ultimately fails which is truly awful because it puts a minor dent in the armor of the best FPS since the original Half Life. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]