User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9064 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MasonAlbright
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Easily the best FPS ever.
  2. seancutt
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    woot
  3. tommitochondria
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    best damn porno i have ever seen
  4. Anglez
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    I've played many games in my day, but this game was unlike any other. It was created as if VALVe knows what the players want in a game. A game where nearly any object can be used as a weapon. The storyline may seem as if it doesn't follow the path of Half-Life 1, I thought the same too, but I was very wrong. It completely makes sense and everything fits in perfectly. Half-Life I've played many games in my day, but this game was unlike any other. It was created as if VALVe knows what the players want in a game. A game where nearly any object can be used as a weapon. The storyline may seem as if it doesn't follow the path of Half-Life 1, I thought the same too, but I was very wrong. It completely makes sense and everything fits in perfectly. Half-Life isn't just a game, its a revolution in gaming as you know it. Say goodbye to non-physics games after this. Expand
  5. ChrisWeinand
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Still the best game I ever played.
  6. KyleBarrett
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. From the enticing storyline to the innovative source engine. A lot of people don't realize how in-depth and many features the source engine has.
  7. RobbertJonker
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I have playing the game sinds 3 weeks ago, and now i end the game. Not a great end. I think (i hope) soon part 3 will come! 1 of the best game ever if you ask me.
  8. JoniK_K_K_K
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    This game is GOOD!!!
  9. ChrisDaleng
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I've played many good games in my life, but this take the cake! 10 / 10 !
  10. je
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 was great. The graphics were awesome. They never ceased to amaze me throughout the game. The music, when played, boosted your morale. And, finally, the story line was good.
  11. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  12. jeanbernard
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    Exelent
  13. simonKotaleski
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    The best Sci-Fi thriller ever!
  14. AndrewG
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    While I went through a CS phase, I never took the time to play either Half-Life or Half-Life 2. Now that I finished HL2, I cannot wait to play Episode 1. HL2 is easily one of three best games I've ever played.
  15. DoranN.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    This game is even more awesome than the first half life and it is something everyone will surely enjoy.
  16. timb.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, awseome weapons, fantastic enemies, amazing surroundings. it blows other games out of the water.
  17. EmanuelKumlien
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Best game ever. period.
  18. JonathonH.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Story is amazing. Followed Half-Life greatly. Insane graphics.
  19. SpencerK.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    I do belive this is the best game ever, and episode one was a great compliment, and episode 2, TF2, and portals are said to be here Oct. 10th I'M SOO Excited!!!
  20. MightySanta
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 is one of the best games ever made. If you don't have it you must get it!
  21. CheteN.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    If bioshock took 100 This game deserve at least 200.
  22. LukeM.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  23. AF
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    This is simply one of the best games ever made. I had to vote just to cancel out Eric H's completely insane ramblings below.
  24. SamJ.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    LOVE it!
  25. MalteB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely great game ... the graphics, the atmosphere, the game-design ... perfect! :)
  26. GeorgeS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Saying that Half-Life 2 deserves any less than a definite 9, and basing that opinion on the versatility of the engine is shocking. The evidence is there. It is one of the most modded games to date (Perhaps HL1 would stop it exclusively), and games are still being released on it. Have you SEEN team fortress 2? Half-Life 2 is 3 years old, and could still hold out today flawlessly. Outstanding.
  27. stevenw.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    It was the best game I have ever played. It had a great story to it too. It was like the best and favourite movie I have ever seen and you get to be a part of it!
  28. AuldS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 serves to remind everyone just how far computer gaming has come. I've been a gamer since the days of the Amiga. Never in all those years did I dream that one day games would be this good. As for the use of steam, Valve have every right to protect themselves from piracy.
  29. PatrickA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Its a great game to all you who havnt played it yet? DO IT KNOW!. its a very nice in game story and graphics.
  30. killtacular
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a ten. notice how all the bad ratings are because of steam not because of the game itself. this game has the best physic engine of any game I've ever seen and awesome graphics even for an aging game (3 years) and the episodic releases only make it more spectacular. Even Halo 3 and all its hype doesn't stand up to this because Half-Life 2 is This game deserves nothing less than a ten. notice how all the bad ratings are because of steam not because of the game itself. this game has the best physic engine of any game I've ever seen and awesome graphics even for an aging game (3 years) and the episodic releases only make it more spectacular. Even Halo 3 and all its hype doesn't stand up to this because Half-Life 2 is only single player and without multiplayer Halo 3 would be a piece of trash compared to HL2. I agree steam is a friggin' pain in the a**. but once you get it working its worth it. And this game should be rated by gameplay, mechanics and graphics. not by steam's irritating problems. Expand
  31. KangS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This is the revolutionary games of the century and to deny it would be naming yourself as one of the people who doesnt know games. This game packs amazing graphic, awsome AI, and every thing is effected by the players presence. Not to mention an awesome storyline that can only be matched by greatest Hollywood blockbusters.
  32. bjarkeg.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 have the best story to a action play, ever. And the very nice graviti gun is just so fun.
  33. AndreasH.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    bought orange box (first time of getting half life 2) about a fortnight ago and have to say even now in 2007 it is still a brillant game. It should still be in games top tens i hope episode 1 and 2 are just as good
  34. FranciscoS.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    The best game of all times, I'm waiting the Orange Box of Valve, that will be the best of bests. Cuando llegue la Caja Naranja el vicio va a ser tan poderoso que voy a viciarme hasta pasar todo el HL2 de nuevo.
  35. SHaneH.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    HL2 3 years after purchasing still takes all for Fps Story and Fps Multiplayer mainly due to a rediculously high replay value!!! Bar None one of the best games of all time!!!!! Insaine Innovation Valve KEEP IT UP !!!!!!
  36. JeffC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    As with the original half-life, a giant leap forward, creating the benchmark against all contemporary games must measure themsleves. All praise to the team. Anxiously awaiting the mext chapter.
  37. AravindaP.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    The best game I've ever seen! VALVE has done the best job ever to make this game come to life. The scripting is revolutionary. If only other games were like this...
  38. DenisN.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is a greate game with super graphics and very interesting story line!!! Keep it up !!! Hope Episode Two would be as good as Half-lefe 2 or even better!!!
  39. lastRebel
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is indeed an FPS which remains leaps and bounds ahead of its competition, even still in late 2007. Having played many, many games of this genre, this is still one of the best. While everyone was talking about Halo, I proudly represented HL2. This game was definitely ahead of its time, and still perseveres.
  40. WesF.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    All of you who rated this game below a 6 are idiots. You didn't even rate the game, you rated your experience with steam. Complete idiots. If you have a sense of intelligence which most of you do, the game is completely worthy of a 10. This game nears perfection in every way. It was a giant leap forward in graphics, physics, and AI. The only slight issues possibly considered are All of you who rated this game below a 6 are idiots. You didn't even rate the game, you rated your experience with steam. Complete idiots. If you have a sense of intelligence which most of you do, the game is completely worthy of a 10. This game nears perfection in every way. It was a giant leap forward in graphics, physics, and AI. The only slight issues possibly considered are minuscule. Slight bugs with the AI... and depending on your view, the ending may disappoint. Otherwise why would you give a lower score? The Half-Life series has been a revolution in gaming, and the second one as well. Justify your reasons before you make yourself look like an idiot. Expand
  41. AndréB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    No comments for tis game! I can't even describe it! Play and see with your own eyes!
  42. Joseph
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Half-Life 2 includes many kinds of gameplay, and mixes them together rather well in this first person adventure
  43. GeorgeB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best games out there. Lots of action without overdoing it. THUMBS-UP Guys!!!
  44. RobinW.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The original HalfLife took First Person Shooting with puzzles to a new level. It didn't do anything wildly new, but it did everything brilliantly. Characterisation, Plot exposition, Set pieces, Atmosphere, Humour - all were carried off to perfection. How could they improve on this? 2 excellent expansion packs, and many years later, Halflife 2 was their answer - and boy, was it worth The original HalfLife took First Person Shooting with puzzles to a new level. It didn't do anything wildly new, but it did everything brilliantly. Characterisation, Plot exposition, Set pieces, Atmosphere, Humour - all were carried off to perfection. How could they improve on this? 2 excellent expansion packs, and many years later, Halflife 2 was their answer - and boy, was it worth waiting for. This time, Valve weren't content with just doing all the things you'd expect from a modern FPS, and doing them well - they reinvented them all. Each level of the game conveys a different style of playing; whether it be solo, pair or team based combat, full out battles or cunning stealth, HalfLife 2 delivers. The biggest shock to the system is how well the physics model works - far from being a gimmick as it could so easily have been, it immerses you completely with the game world, and becomes another tool to use in solving the puzzles and fighting the enemies. HalfLife2 is a masterpiece. If you haven't played it, you've missed out massively. Expand
  45. RobertD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Great history, great adventure, great game! :)
  46. JasonB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    H-L 2 is amazing! Great combination of intense action and a compeling storyline.
  47. ChristofferL.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    What I like with the game, you can play with the physics in the world. Because of HL2, other thirdpartysoftwares has created awesome games, like Gmod 9 and 10, Sourceforts and much other. This game also includes episode 1 and 2 to extend the games history. And the first time I played HL2 it really looks great when NPCs die. Ravenholm and the Citadel is my favorite part. But still there is What I like with the game, you can play with the physics in the world. Because of HL2, other thirdpartysoftwares has created awesome games, like Gmod 9 and 10, Sourceforts and much other. This game also includes episode 1 and 2 to extend the games history. And the first time I played HL2 it really looks great when NPCs die. Ravenholm and the Citadel is my favorite part. But still there is more of this game that scares me: The ocean. First time I would try to swim over to the end of the map I meet up with carnivorous leeches! I thought that I would hit an invisible wall instead. This is the best game ever made. But still there is many that hates this game because they mean there is more action on CS:S than HL2. I hope there will be a HL2EP3! :D Expand
  48. Edgar
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Episode two was flawless but for its length. If there was ever any doubt about the versatility of the Source engine, it has been washed away by the many mods and successful games that have been made with it, not to mention the constant forward momentum of its evolution as features are added. If valve plays their cards right, they can ride source into the next decade of the interactive Episode two was flawless but for its length. If there was ever any doubt about the versatility of the Source engine, it has been washed away by the many mods and successful games that have been made with it, not to mention the constant forward momentum of its evolution as features are added. If valve plays their cards right, they can ride source into the next decade of the interactive business without losing pace or falling behind in the relentless rat race of of graphical evolution. However, even when that line is crossed, and when the Source engine has exhausted all of its capabilities, it will undoubtedly go down into history as one of the most ingenious gaming engines ever developed. Expand
  49. EricB.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant, the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. the puzzles and game play in Half-Life 1 was astounding as it was a few years ago, but with the advanced graphics and physics emulation Half-Life 2 has to offer, along with the traditional game play and the genius maps and environments Valve's team has so skillfully created, Half-Life 2 will most definitely Absolutely Brilliant, the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. the puzzles and game play in Half-Life 1 was astounding as it was a few years ago, but with the advanced graphics and physics emulation Half-Life 2 has to offer, along with the traditional game play and the genius maps and environments Valve's team has so skillfully created, Half-Life 2 will most definitely blow any gamer right off his or her feet. Expand
  50. RaymondA.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Fast, Great team work needed to win, I love the Piro.
  51. JamieH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    absolutely incredible best game of the year =]
  52. Bombero
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, there were some bugs on the first release back in 2004 that frustrated me, but the gameplay, graphics and AI were excellent. One of my favourite games, I highly recommend it to anyone interested in PC gaming.
  53. AaronG.m
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A truly amazing experience.
  54. TheChad
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome!! I recommend Half Life 2 and Episode 1 and 2 to everyone I know.
  55. Jim
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. Great graphics and physics engines, the game blew my mind on what a first person shooter could be. Top notch scifi apocolyptic story.
  56. LukeM.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  57. mikel.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    great game , only one game to me better ..... Tribes vengeance is the only game better.
  58. SockFoot
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, and so well paced. The game always feels like it's pushing you, but it never overwhelms you. First time through it is better than sex.
  59. JonH.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Good story, good action, great all-around play.
  60. TravisO.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing, Valve did it again. If you would have asked me before if they could have made a better game then the first Half Life I wouldn't have thought so but HL2 has surpassed all my expectations, they have truly out done themselves this time. so to the team at Valve I say, Bravo!.
  61. LukeM.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  62. OlegB.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Thrilling story, fantastic physics engine, unforgettable combat sequences, great music and voice acting!
  63. FelipeZaghetti
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Because its a Very Very COOL
  64. sneffd.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Well what can i say that hasent allredy ben said about this game wait i know all my 10 R belong to this.
  65. LukasK.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Wow! One of the best games, i've ever played!
  66. JacobP.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game. Excellent story, stunning graphics and many hours of fun.
  67. HaraldR.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made!! The guys behind this game has an extreme wild fantasy that makes Half-Life 2 to a werry impressive game. Half-Life 2 has altso a brethbreaking good action.
  68. Spiker
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The fact that it's still being compared to other games today (even in the graphics department) is a feat that amazes me. An incredible ride, one that should not be missed by anyone.
  69. PutinVladimir
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    COOL!!!
  70. FernandoF.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    brilliant.
  71. RobertP.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    The best game ever. It has everything. It´s like watching a movie. You get the now the characters. I played it trough a hundred times, never get bored.
  72. ChickenHorse
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    By far the best Sci-fi FPS I have played! Physics are amazing Graphics look amazing and very good story line!
  73. PeterB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Classic. Hours and hours of immersive fun. Original ideas, great graphics, variety - just a brilliant game. My only tiny gripe is that the machine gun is a bit feeble.
  74. RemcoV.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Excelent game with a great story, good weapons and i simply loved it.
  75. Dude
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever MADE!! Its So Real And Is Long And Fun. The Best Graphics I've Ever Seen So Far.
  76. FranzP.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Its one of the most impressive games ever!!!
  77. jACOB
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever made for it's time it's revolutionary and is still in the top 3 best fps shooters ever next to bioshock and the classic doom =P but this is the best physics ever that I have seen and is absolutely amazing.Definitley worth the current 20$ or get in O.B(Orange box) not to mention gmod 9 or 10(10 bucks) witch requires this.
  78. pieman
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This game rules,next to Halo it's my favorite game.There's plenty of mods for it such as Counter-Strike,Garry's Mod 10,The Ship and many more.This game has beautiful graphics and very tence at times.I remember Half-Life 2 coming out like it was yesterday,people still want it!Although Half-Life 1 was a big success i think Half-Life 2 is a bigger success.Lets hope for another This game rules,next to Halo it's my favorite game.There's plenty of mods for it such as Counter-Strike,Garry's Mod 10,The Ship and many more.This game has beautiful graphics and very tence at times.I remember Half-Life 2 coming out like it was yesterday,people still want it!Although Half-Life 1 was a big success i think Half-Life 2 is a bigger success.Lets hope for another Half-Life! Expand
  79. JoelF.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This game is just amazing, even if you find one moment where you dont like the game, the next moment makes you regret thinking such blasphamey, MAKE A HALF LIFE 3
  80. DrakH.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This game rules even tho it only takes me 6 hours to play trough :D
  81. TeodorIkonomov
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  82. MathewP
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This is the best game that played for years, it just impacted me, it is so damned funny.
  83. KoKel.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    I always look for plot, and there is alot here. Awesome graphic detail, and the weapons are just too sweet.
  84. StuartW
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Astoundingly good. The story, characters, and game play interact into an incredibly engrossing whole.
  85. AuhudyqG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Greatest game ever. It never fails to capture your complete attention. Ravenholm map in particular has great atmosphere few Fps hope to achieve.
  86. NickG.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It is much better than Half Life 1. I like the plot and duration.
  87. JuhaszB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    It's the best game ever. One and only.
  88. GuiguiL.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    The best game ! With Episode One and two, the saga is the best VideoGame Saga ever created !
  89. JimA.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Breathtaking. Superb. A masterpiece of the most epic proportions. While not flawless, the good FAR outweighs the bad. By far the greatest game I have ever played. I got it and played it once for PC when it came out, I got it in the PC version of the Orange Box and played it a second time, and I got it in the 360 version of the Orange Box and played it a third time. Never once in any of my Breathtaking. Superb. A masterpiece of the most epic proportions. While not flawless, the good FAR outweighs the bad. By far the greatest game I have ever played. I got it and played it once for PC when it came out, I got it in the PC version of the Orange Box and played it a second time, and I got it in the 360 version of the Orange Box and played it a third time. Never once in any of my three runs through the game, was I ever not astonished by the epic scale of this work of art. If you have not yet played Half Life 2, then I have but one question for you: WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Expand
  90. CharlesS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This is the best game for ever! Anybody whatever say!
  91. ThomasP.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best games, I´ve ever played.
  92. MartinO.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    A fully enjoyable game, from graphics to gameplay. Difficult enough on easy to challenge, yet not make you want to pull your hair out. Excellent storyline. 10/10
  93. VianneyC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Half Life, since the first game, was innovator, i've never played a game like this before. It is a turnign point for the first person shooters.
  94. TiberiuC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Revolutionary engine that still delivers in 2007. The game itself is like a good movie, only much better. Perfectly crafted and a worthy successor to Half-Life.
  95. Walladish
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    The game makes your world look borring and not funny but.. in HL2 its totally differint. Its making one curious and THIS world is much more exciting and interesting so, GO TO HELL "netjak"!
  96. EdC.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    One of the most engrossing games ever. I was glued to my screen for hours straight. Although linear at times, the game has such a high variety of environments that it never ceased to bore me. The enemy AI, despite what some seem to say was extremely bad, I thought was pretty good. True, enemies were never really faced with complicated decisions of tactics and the like, but they did flank One of the most engrossing games ever. I was glued to my screen for hours straight. Although linear at times, the game has such a high variety of environments that it never ceased to bore me. The enemy AI, despite what some seem to say was extremely bad, I thought was pretty good. True, enemies were never really faced with complicated decisions of tactics and the like, but they did flank and use cover. And they didn't rush you blindly (unless they had a shotgun). I also liked the lack of ammo that kept you scrounging or finding new ways to make use of the gravity gun, which, by the way, is simply put the most ingenious weapon ever designed in a video-game. Lastly, the story was excellent. Without an engrossing story, even the best of games can get tedious. This was an almost cinematic story, dishing out plenty of plot twists, reslationships, character backgrounds, and was generally just a really well-implemented part of this game. Any interested should buy. Any uninterested should buy anyway. Expand
  97. BuckyD
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    If a game can make you forget that your playing a game, its a damn good game. This is one of those games.
  98. BradD.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    A great game, takes you deep into the story line and gives a variety of killing options. One of the greatest FPS ive ever incountered.
  99. ErnstR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    I think this is and will be the best and will shoot the rest!
  100. ToniD.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Gordon Freeman must survive... Only 10.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]