Half-Life 2 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7368 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2004 PC Game of the Year] By taking the suspense, challenge and visceral charge of the original, and adding startling new realism and responsiveness, Half-Life 2 opens the door to a world where the player's presence affects everything around him, from the physical environment to the behaviors -- even the emotions -- of both friends and enemies. The player again picks up the crowbar of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, its populace dwindling. Freeman is thrust into the unenviable role of rescuing the world from the wrong he unleashed back at Black Mesa. And a lot of people -- people he cares about -- are counting on him. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. This is a jaw-dropping, exhilarating game. It's the game you'll remember for years.
  2. Half-Life 2 isn't flawless, just like any great work of art, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece.
  3. Half-Life 2 is a first-person shooter. But in action, storytelling, technical achievement, atmosphere and intensity it has far outdone its peers. Valve just hit the top note no other PC game developer could reach...The excuse that 'it's just a game' won't cut it anymore. [Dec 2004, p.102]
  4. It's a beautiful game with fantastic design and writing that's a little short but delivers boatloads of action in what time you do end up playing.
  5. The great graphics, incredible physics' engine, impressive sound/music and engaging story line all add up to a classic game.
  6. You will be hard pressed to find a FPS that looks better than Half Life 2 when it is played at its max settings.
  7. 85
    I think this is probably the worst teammate AI I've seen in an FPS since "Daikatana." It's like every one of your followers are the Redshirt sidekicks from "Star Munchkin."

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. AnonymousMC
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Oh my goodness! half life 2 is THE most fun i have ever had in a game . the physics are fantastic and are fun to play with. the storyline is scary and graphics go along way in expressing the feel of the game . THIS IS THE BEST GAME Expand
  2. BenF
    Apr 20, 2010
    10
    This game is FPS at its best! No matter how many times you play it, youll either crap your pants or have your mind explode out of the sheer awesomeness of this game!! Incredible puzzles, Frightful and disgusting enemies, superb dialogue, and best of all a gun like no other that allows you to turn every day items to super destructive items of terror!!! I dont care if you're the world's greatest gamer, if you havnt played this game...you havnt lived yet. Expand
  3. JBW.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    This is the perfect game, in every way. First, anyone who has a problem with Steam should not be downgrading half-life 2, because you are rating the game, not anything else (although I do admit that it does not make sense that you have to be on the internet to play a single player game). The graphics are amazing, better than F.E.A.R., better than PREY better than DOOM 3, better than Resistance, better than any thing I have ever seen.EVER. because the environments are beautiful, technology-wise and artistic-wise. Nothing feels over shiny, and they do not use any cheap texture tricks (DOOM 3). Everything is just as gritty or as polished as you would expect it to be. The gameplay is amazing..........absolutely amazing. It ranges from just curiosity of discovering phun with physics in City 17, to intense and gripping gameplay in Ravenholm, to running away franticly from a strider in the later levels, to OH MY GOD the gravity gun is now freaking awsome in the last chapter.The weapons are not necessarily diverse, most from the first game, but with the gravity gun, you don't really need many more diverse weapons.(although the little antlion food thing is cool too.) The enemys can be soldiers, helicopters, bugs, or even 3 story tall STRIDERS. And they all interact well with you and the environment. Few games make you feel for the characters like this one, especially with excellent voice acting. Last I would like to say that I just don't get how people could give this game a 1, i mean, we are all entitled to our opinion, but a 1, on a game like this, come on, do you have a grudge? are you a halo fan that doesn't want any game to steal its flare. i mean be fair, if you think that some movie knockoff deserves a 3 or a 4 how can you seriously say that Half-Life 2 deserves a 0? There, I put that out there I'm done, I hope you at least found this review to be fair, because I tried my hardest not to go crazy and verbally punch you guys. Expand
  4. MarkW
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    I was amazed the first time I played Half Life 2. I still find myself going back to replay the gamer years later.
  5. JamesT.
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    Just as revolutionary as the original where FPS are concerned. Gripping story, believable AI, amazing graphics, great game play and so much replay value... What else could you as for? Spawned just as many mods, just as many followers and its legacy lives on. Concerning the violence, it is not over the top, and is justified. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Half-Life 2... Where do I start. Even now I am still in awe by just how amazing this game is. I wish I could rate this something like 9.9/10; if it weren't for a few minor things than it would have gotten my full appraisal.

    The gameplay is varied, you could either be trying to avoid walking on sand to attract antlions, driving around in different vehicles, or shooting through hoards of zombies/combine. Along with this, the game uses a physics engine to make gameplay varied, either in puzzles or in combat.
    The story is immersive, well paced, and interesting. Superb dialogue. Along with all of this, the game looks and runs very well.

    The game had minor faults. Some areas would feel a little too long, i found myself really only using the shotgun and SMG, the other weapons I would use only once my ammo ran out. The rocket launcher I used basically when I absolutely needed to e.g when trying to take down a helicopter. The ending was great, but left more questions than answers.

    Overall, the game was just astounding and surprisingly good. If you are a fan of first person shooters you need to play Half-Life 2.
    Expand
  7. EvanT.
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    The worst game ever it is all fake and the guns are crap. do not get this game!

See all 1807 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.