Half-Life 2 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2004 PC Game of the Year] By taking the suspense, challenge and visceral charge of the original, and adding startling new realism and responsiveness, Half-Life 2 opens the door to a world where the player's presence affects everything around him, from the physical environment to the behaviors -- even the emotions -- of both friends and enemies. The player again picks up the crowbar of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, its populace dwindling. Freeman is thrust into the unenviable role of rescuing the world from the wrong he unleashed back at Black Mesa. And a lot of people -- people he cares about -- are counting on him. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. This is a jaw-dropping, exhilarating game. It's the game you'll remember for years.
  2. Half-Life 2 isn't flawless, just like any great work of art, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece.
  3. Half-Life 2 is a first-person shooter. But in action, storytelling, technical achievement, atmosphere and intensity it has far outdone its peers. Valve just hit the top note no other PC game developer could reach...The excuse that 'it's just a game' won't cut it anymore. [Dec 2004, p.102]
  4. It's a beautiful game with fantastic design and writing that's a little short but delivers boatloads of action in what time you do end up playing.
  5. The great graphics, incredible physics' engine, impressive sound/music and engaging story line all add up to a classic game.
  6. You will be hard pressed to find a FPS that looks better than Half Life 2 when it is played at its max settings.
  7. 85
    I think this is probably the worst teammate AI I've seen in an FPS since "Daikatana." It's like every one of your followers are the Redshirt sidekicks from "Star Munchkin."

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. MartinB.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    very exellent game , they should make more like it.
  2. BenF
    Apr 20, 2010
    10
    This game is FPS at its best! No matter how many times you play it, youll either crap your pants or have your mind explode out of the sheer awesomeness of this game!! Incredible puzzles, Frightful and disgusting enemies, superb dialogue, and best of all a gun like no other that allows you to turn every day items to super destructive items of terror!!! I dont care if you're the world's greatest gamer, if you havnt played this game...you havnt lived yet. Expand
  3. JBW.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    This is the perfect game, in every way. First, anyone who has a problem with Steam should not be downgrading half-life 2, because you are rating the game, not anything else (although I do admit that it does not make sense that you have to be on the internet to play a single player game). The graphics are amazing, better than F.E.A.R., better than PREY better than DOOM 3, better than Resistance, better than any thing I have ever seen.EVER. because the environments are beautiful, technology-wise and artistic-wise. Nothing feels over shiny, and they do not use any cheap texture tricks (DOOM 3). Everything is just as gritty or as polished as you would expect it to be. The gameplay is amazing..........absolutely amazing. It ranges from just curiosity of discovering phun with physics in City 17, to intense and gripping gameplay in Ravenholm, to running away franticly from a strider in the later levels, to OH MY GOD the gravity gun is now freaking awsome in the last chapter.The weapons are not necessarily diverse, most from the first game, but with the gravity gun, you don't really need many more diverse weapons.(although the little antlion food thing is cool too.) The enemys can be soldiers, helicopters, bugs, or even 3 story tall STRIDERS. And they all interact well with you and the environment. Few games make you feel for the characters like this one, especially with excellent voice acting. Last I would like to say that I just don't get how people could give this game a 1, i mean, we are all entitled to our opinion, but a 1, on a game like this, come on, do you have a grudge? are you a halo fan that doesn't want any game to steal its flare. i mean be fair, if you think that some movie knockoff deserves a 3 or a 4 how can you seriously say that Half-Life 2 deserves a 0? There, I put that out there I'm done, I hope you at least found this review to be fair, because I tried my hardest not to go crazy and verbally punch you guys. Expand
  4. Nastyguard
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    By far the best game of 2004, and is still one of my favorite games ever! The game is great overall, it has polish through the roof! Even though VALVE today is known for amazingly polished games The gameplay is amazing! Shooting enemies is very satisfying, and since there are many enemies to shoot - you'll be neither frustrated by the combat nor will you be bored without it, since times without enemies are very rare. But when there are no enemies to fight, the game presents you with a variety of puzzles, mostly physics based. The physics of the Source Engine are one of the best out there, and considering this game is pretty old - it's kind of surprising. Although there are 2 complaints I have about the gameplay: 1) There aren't enough guns. Considering HL1 had so many of them, this one falls pretty short. The addition of the Gravity-Gun basically makes up for it. 2) The Teammate AI is pretty poor. The enemies handle great by taking cover, throwing grenades, working in teams to defeat you. Considering that, it's kind of surprising your teammates are so dumb. They rarely hit enemies, often get stuck somewhere and they do some other things, that you wouldn't want your teammates doing. The graphics are also a marvel to look at, even 5 years after its initial release. You play in huge, beautiful landscapes with great detail. Models are also beautiful, especially thanks to the incredible facial animation VALVE managed to put in their game. I have 0 complaints with the graphics. The sound is also great, featuring a pretty good soundtrack (although rarely heard), great sound effects (people who were making them probably had the hardest job ever, since the items you shoot from the gravity gun against other items make a sound varying depending on which items you shoot at which, so they had to make a hellish amount of combinations) and an amazing voice crew, with every single character talking in a very believable manner, which along with the realistic facial animation make for a pretty great atmosphere. The game is pretty long, lasting about 10 hours through your first playing, and for some reason - I keep wanting to replay it again and again over time. And I also forgot to mention the story. The story unfolds in a near flawless fashion. It's weird that Gordon never speaks (again), but it can be easily forgotten. You'll be hooked by the storytelling and drawn into the action naturally. A story that even beats HL1, in my opinion. I had very little to none complaints about this game, and I think it deserves a 10. The complaints I did have, however, are really minor and you'll barely even notice them while playing this amazing gaming experience. If you still haven't played the game - what the hell are you waiting for? BUY IT NOW! I suggest getting the Orange Box, since it comes with HL2 and both of the episodes, Portal - which is an amazing puzzle game that you'll find very unique and fun to play, and Team Fortress 2 - which is an amazing/cartoony Online MultiPlayer shooter, that'll have you hooked. Story - 10 (8 if you haven't played HL1) Gameplay - 9 Sound - 9 Graphics - 10 Lasting appeal - 10 Overall (average score) - 9.6 ~ 10. Expand
  5. AdamJ.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    How can any game match up to this? I mean, such a moving first chapter makes you hate the combine and then reunited with old friends from 20 years before. Then some of the scariest zombies there are and an epic ending. Games don't get better than this. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    What's to say that hasn't been said already? It's a Half-Life game. It's one of the best FPS's with great game effects ever published. If you haven't played this game...well, you're missing out. Even as dated as it is the game is still unbelievably fun to play. Expand
  7. EvanT.
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    The worst game ever it is all fake and the guns are crap. do not get this game!

See all 1802 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.