Counter-Strike PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 6637 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    Counter-strike(1.0 - 1.6 not source) is one of the greatest esport fps games(if not the greatest) in the gaming history and is still worth buying today. Graphics doesnt matter for a good gamer, gameplay does...
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    After all these years this shooter remains to be a classic that can't be ignored. No other shooter is as accessible, easy to play, simple nor skillful as this. It can be enjoyed anywhere with the 64MB portable version for LAN parties. It's all about aim, accuracy, quick reflexes but does have a strategical element since it is a tactical shooter and there's no respawning. This game was aAfter all these years this shooter remains to be a classic that can't be ignored. No other shooter is as accessible, easy to play, simple nor skillful as this. It can be enjoyed anywhere with the 64MB portable version for LAN parties. It's all about aim, accuracy, quick reflexes but does have a strategical element since it is a tactical shooter and there's no respawning. This game was a major turning point in the history of FPS, and this game is what made online multiplayer competitive gaming so popular. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    The greatest multiplayer shooter experience I've had since Quake 1. The e-sport scene also helped it alot, it's the only computer game I've really followed when it comes to e-sports (back when I followed the CPL etc). The design of the game was simple but very effective and delivered a multiplayer experience that few other games can match. The CoD and Battlefield titles, although good inThe greatest multiplayer shooter experience I've had since Quake 1. The e-sport scene also helped it alot, it's the only computer game I've really followed when it comes to e-sports (back when I followed the CPL etc). The design of the game was simple but very effective and delivered a multiplayer experience that few other games can match. The CoD and Battlefield titles, although good in their own right, never drew me in like Counter-Strike. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    The year was 2000. Half-Life had already taken the world by storm and the prospect of modding the game was increasing in popularity. Counter-Strike was one of those mods. One of the most popular game modifications ever, Counter-Strike blended chunky weapons with rewarding teamplay, with the goal for counter-terrorists in most of the maps to either defuse a bomb, rescue hostages, escort aThe year was 2000. Half-Life had already taken the world by storm and the prospect of modding the game was increasing in popularity. Counter-Strike was one of those mods. One of the most popular game modifications ever, Counter-Strike blended chunky weapons with rewarding teamplay, with the goal for counter-terrorists in most of the maps to either defuse a bomb, rescue hostages, escort a VIP to safety or prevent the terrorist team from escaping the area they're in. If you're on the terrorist team, however, the team goals are the opposite, naturally. One of the things that shines about Counter-Strike, though, is the amount of possibilities available. Don't feel like storming the enemy base guns-blazing? Why not sneak in via an air vent directly connecting to the room that the hostages are being contained in? Or perhaps you could draw your enemis out then snipe them from a distance? All the different ways you can win the match is ground-breaking. This, along with crisp, timeless graphics, a great selection of guns and the need for true teamwork, make Counter-Strike one of the best games of the decade. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best games of all time... Never forget the great times on this game! Miss it so much! If the Aus servers were still up and full, I would still be crankin out this classic. Source was a massive step backwards.
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I am playing Counter-Strike for 4 years, I have got played 1750 hours and I love this game. This game is number 1. on the wold and will never disappear.
  7. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Counter-Strike is not just the best FPS ever made, this is the best game ever made. Bar none. This game took up more of my High-School hours than all other games combined. I played in tournaments for this game where 2,000 people showed up - had local clans for this game - smoked with a national championship team for this game.
    Counter-Strike launched the real frenzy into online
    Counter-Strike is not just the best FPS ever made, this is the best game ever made. Bar none. This game took up more of my High-School hours than all other games combined. I played in tournaments for this game where 2,000 people showed up - had local clans for this game - smoked with a national championship team for this game.
    Counter-Strike launched the real frenzy into online multiplayer FPS - no other FPS had as many players at once, and at the time, this was the #1 most played online game. It held that title for YEARS.
    This is one of the best, most influential, and most copied games of all time. It will never get better than what this was, at the time.
    Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    By far, leagues beyond any other competitive online game made. This set the standard for every game to come in terms of competitive gaming. There's a reason why so many people gave up on CS:Source. 1.6 is the most perfect game ever made. Hopefully CS:GO doesn't **** it up.
  9. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    Best MOD for Half-Life. This game has the best multiplayer you have played (the problem is the damn LAG) and a very simple plot that is police and terrorists. Definitely the best game of VALVE
  10. NishantN.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    VERY WELL PROGRAMMED GAME! I have just started and heave never left my computer since day 1, very addictive game and best way to release anger on people over the world!
  11. StefanS.
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Theres nothing compared to this.. its extreme!
  12. JeremyN
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Best game ever, very addictive played since early 2000 thanks to some friends still hoooked onto it but not a 24/7 player :P but im pro :P kekek lah!!

    GO australian cs :P lol
    Thats the only game i play on my computer praactically :P becoz i dont have the time to play other games... so counterstrike has made my fun time whenever i had some free time from my commitmments :D
  13. MarcelP.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Jogabilidade x Grafico O counter-strike é o unico q varios players em todo o mundo podem jogar por SKILL... Um computador médio pode roda-lo.. e essa é a graça. Os demais jogos funcionam da seguinte forma. O mais rico e o melhor pc q fazem o player jogar bem, e nao o skill.. COUNTER-STRIKE pra sempre
  14. DominikE.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    It's the best game, I've ever played!
  15. RaymondD.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    this game owns, u cannot get sick of it. if you do get bored, you can download all these amazing things too like paintball, soccerjam, surf maps, skins, and many more!
  16. HolgerT.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    one of my all time favorites. the grafics may be out of date, but its still fun to play it. are there any other games that have survived over the years? speaking of quake 2, serious sam? non of them has this attention world wide. and the best on that game...cheap and you dont need a high end pc as you will need for doom3, utk7 or other games these days. a perfect 10 for me.
  17. Bor
    May 30, 2006
    10
    The Best Game!!!
  18. MrS.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Don't know where to start with this game, played this for sooo long now and I don't tire from it, I don't play Source the old school just entices me back even after not playing it for months!! This game has led to a brief stint in running our own events, making new friends and finding people playing this game in my own town and even road! Never have I played a game that is Don't know where to start with this game, played this for sooo long now and I don't tire from it, I don't play Source the old school just entices me back even after not playing it for months!! This game has led to a brief stint in running our own events, making new friends and finding people playing this game in my own town and even road! Never have I played a game that is so much more than just a game! Source is nowhere near as good as 1.6 if anyone from Valve/Steam is reading this, all you need to do to make Counter-Strike perfect is just do up 1.6 graphic wise, no fancy stuff and people will love it all over again!! The gameplay is just brilliant and you'll play with different players from all over the country/world. Expand
  19. SpencerB.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Although old and basic this game is the most unique of all first person shooter games and has many hooked for life!
  20. dominicks
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    The game is well known for leagues and lanning! I been to the majority of the following. CAL, OGL, CPL, WCG, ESL, XPL, ESEA, CEVO, LAN Tourny and more. This game relies on skill, fast reaction, and good hearing. Its a balanced game, and its the most addicting game I own. I am a proud supporter of Counterstrike and I rate this a 10/10 for just badassness and all around funness and laughs. The game is well known for leagues and lanning! I been to the majority of the following. CAL, OGL, CPL, WCG, ESL, XPL, ESEA, CEVO, LAN Tourny and more. This game relies on skill, fast reaction, and good hearing. Its a balanced game, and its the most addicting game I own. I am a proud supporter of Counterstrike and I rate this a 10/10 for just badassness and all around funness and laughs. -[BE]Sauced? Rates this a 10/10. Expand
  21. Ic3
    Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Counter Strike este cel mai bun joc online jucat vreodata..Cel mai popular dar in acelasi timp si jocul cu cele mai multe posibilitati de trisat..Coduri multiple au fost create de amatorii de profil.Iar pentru aceasta esenta acestuia este alterata. Expand
  22. vaz
    Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. The game of my life, already 10 years playing. Best multiplayer FPS game in history, nothing can compares, maybe Doom II. Since ESEA joins the market, cheaters are no longer a problem
  23. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    wtf counter strike the game of all games the game which revolutionized the fps market has 319 negative rewievs hu are these limy fuks giving cs a bellow 10 . This game deservs nothing less than a 10 if u think it does then u are the worlds biggest nub. you should go home n play COD . Well coming back to the topic this game is awsome I mean there must be some reason y this game is the mostwtf counter strike the game of all games the game which revolutionized the fps market has 319 negative rewievs hu are these limy fuks giving cs a bellow 10 . This game deservs nothing less than a 10 if u think it does then u are the worlds biggest nub. you should go home n play COD . Well coming back to the topic this game is awsome I mean there must be some reason y this game is the most played game even now after 11 years of its launch Expand
  24. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Best Multiplayer game of all time nothing comes close to this, the more you play this game the more hooked you become it is fun at all levels of ability. Especially as you do not need the best of computers to run it makes it a game for everyone who likes shoot em ups which involve thinking instead of mindless slaying.
  25. May 25, 2012
    10
    10/10. The best online FPS of all time. The game is perhaps one of the greatest games to play competitively. Anyone should give it a try! I bought this in 2004 and I still play it, almost 8 years later.
  26. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the greatest fps ever (if not the greatest of all times) one game that is difficult to forget for every hour of fun and entertainment that I had playing it, back in the day, when it came out pubs were full of people playing CS and out of them all people talking about it, about crazy things they did, about funny things that happened in the game... it was a craaaze,This game is one of the greatest fps ever (if not the greatest of all times) one game that is difficult to forget for every hour of fun and entertainment that I had playing it, back in the day, when it came out pubs were full of people playing CS and out of them all people talking about it, about crazy things they did, about funny things that happened in the game... it was a craaaze, great times for sure great times long gone...

    What else can I say, this was the game that started everything for me. CS1.0-1.6, Go go go!
    Expand
  27. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    A beacon of online gaming, that despite being a dated title, so many players come back to it because of the well defined game mechanic. There's no great depth of content, just a simple yet enjoyable platform for team deathmatch, with map objectives thrown in. Years ago I spent at least 1,000 enjoyable hours playing it.
  28. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This is a game you will never ever forget, even your dad's grandfather's sister's uncle will enjoy this charm! Buy, download, install, play!
  29. HenningMeyer
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Counter Strike 1.6 is the best game i have ever played.
    I play my first time on a Atari and my opinion is there no beter then Counter Strike. The Gameplay makes realy fun but the only tho thinks i ever find not so good on this game is the graphic and the many cheaters in the game!!! thx to Siera !!!
  30. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    The best online FPS in gaming history. Other games like this are much worse than this masterpiece. You should absolutely try it out. If you love to shoot people or play in a great community, this is your game. Graphics is pretty old, but who cares about that... The only point in this game is you to be better and have fun. And these are guaranteed.
  31. BrunoF(Sicherheit)
    May 6, 2006
    10
    EU jogo CS 1.5/1.6 a mais de 4 anos... já tive minha epoca de jogatina, mas eu parei muitas vezes, mas como sempre acabo voltando a jogar com vapor total. o jogo eh excelente , é obvio que no ano em q estamos (2006) a tecnologia é muito mais avança do q antigamente, entao naum podemos comparar jogos atuais com o querido cs. obrigado bom dia a todos
  32. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    wtf counter strike the game of all games the game which revolutionized the fps market has 319 negative rewievs hu are these limy fuks giving cs a bellow 10 . This game deservs nothing less than a 10 if u think it does then u are the worlds biggest nub. you should go home n play COD . Well coming back to the topic this game is awsome I mean there must be some reason y this game is thewtf counter strike the game of all games the game which revolutionized the fps market has 319 negative rewievs hu are these limy fuks giving cs a bellow 10 . This game deservs nothing less than a 10 if u think it does then u are the worlds biggest nub. you should go home n play COD . Well coming back to the topic this game is awsome I mean there must be some reason y this game is the most played game even now after 11 years of its launch Expand
  33. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Counter Strike 1.6 Will be and forever be the Best CS game ever made. The graphics old but god The game play is PERFECT. Guns feel just right no awp scope blur :)

    Just a perfect and competitive game.
    Expand
  34. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Best competitive FPS ever. I was a 1.3 man myself always playing at an internet cafe so my experience was always playing with excellent ping in this game and usually in the company of at least one friend. The atmosphere was always an enjoyable one with this game and the thrill of playing against better players and winning was one of the best experiences I've ever had in all my yearsBest competitive FPS ever. I was a 1.3 man myself always playing at an internet cafe so my experience was always playing with excellent ping in this game and usually in the company of at least one friend. The atmosphere was always an enjoyable one with this game and the thrill of playing against better players and winning was one of the best experiences I've ever had in all my years playing games. This game is the classic squad based competitive game with the best maps ever made. Expand
  35. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This game is legendary this should have 0 negative review's those people are noobs on xbox DONT LISTEN this game is legendary the game of the century beutfiful i played 148 hours of it 636 hours of source and 100 minutes of condition zero (found by my steam time) but yeah source is my favorite CANT WAIT for CS:GO The Mod Creator's Did AWESOME SO LEGENDARY BUY IT NOW
  36. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    The most influential multiplayer FPS of all time. This game in 2012 was still in the top 3 played games every single week, 12 years after it's release. If that doesn't say something then I don't know what does.
  37. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Possible wait THE BEST MULTI FPS EVER CREATED UHHHHHHHHH 150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars150 chars
  38. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    This was fantastic for its time and was easily the best FPS out there. People still buy it and that's because it is worth buying. (Although, watch out for the pro veterans who have played this game since it came out) 10/10
  39. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    This game is just classic. It basically invented the multiplayer first person shooters on the Pc. It's a very fun game. People will be still talking about CS's impact for years to come.
  40. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    When a mod becomes so popular that it outshines the game it was modded off of and spawns 2 sequels, you know it is an excellent mod. This game is fun for hundreds of hours, even in spite of the minor glitches. This game stands the test of time.
  41. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    This is my whole childhood. I played more than any other game, and still like to play it sometimes. I watched the competitions, and saw the amazing players (Spawn, cogu, etc) moves. It was amazing.
  42. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    I made my first PC because of this game. I made my second PC (2014) because of this game. BEST MP exp out there. cannot say enough about the fun, the mods, the mechanics of this game. It is simply perfect in the sense of getting good at anything [sports - skills otherwise]. I played CS 1.5 and was ADDICTED, and built a PC after xbox 360 got me back into gaming after my old PC failed (henceI made my first PC because of this game. I made my second PC (2014) because of this game. BEST MP exp out there. cannot say enough about the fun, the mods, the mechanics of this game. It is simply perfect in the sense of getting good at anything [sports - skills otherwise]. I played CS 1.5 and was ADDICTED, and built a PC after xbox 360 got me back into gaming after my old PC failed (hence the 360 :P). CS is still and will continue to be the best game i have ever played to date. The mods, the beyond amazing times ive had with friends, it just never ends... I TRULY wish that more people would play this game because of its unbelievable sport, its comradery. ITS FUN!!. Try it, get good at it, invite some friends, if you tell me its bad I will call you a bold faced LIAR!!!!! Next gen anything cant compete with this! Expand
  43. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    shel be there;)
    ====================
    After all these years this shooter remains to be a classic that can't be ignored. No other shooter is as accessible, easy to play, simple nor skillful as this. It can be enjoyed anywhere with the 64MB portable version for LAN parties. It's all about aim, accuracy, quick reflexes but does have a strategical element since it is a tactical shooter and
    shel be there;)
    ====================
    After all these years this shooter remains to be a classic that can't be ignored. No other shooter is as accessible, easy to play, simple nor skillful as this. It can be enjoyed anywhere with the 64MB portable version for LAN parties. It's all about aim, accuracy, quick reflexes but does have a strategical element since it is a tactical shooter and there's no respawning. This game was a major turning point in the history of FPS, and this game is what made online multiplayer competitive gaming so popular.
    Expand
  44. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Counter Strike is the best shooting game, i've ever played. The 'real cs', where you plant bombs etc. is not 10/10 gaming, but look at all those great mods! The greatest thing in cs is playing mod servers, and you do not need to download them from your web, you just simply double click that server, and that's it! At first I recommend to play normal cs, if it gets boring try other servers.Counter Strike is the best shooting game, i've ever played. The 'real cs', where you plant bombs etc. is not 10/10 gaming, but look at all those great mods! The greatest thing in cs is playing mod servers, and you do not need to download them from your web, you just simply double click that server, and that's it! At first I recommend to play normal cs, if it gets boring try other servers. Oh and original maps aren't that great, except de_dust2. You must try cs even if you think it has low graphics. Gameplay is much more important than graphics, remember that! Expand
  45. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    No doubt, Counter Strike is one of the best multiplayer shooters ever, but it haves two problems. First, it haves so much cheaters in the game, that always playing with annoying cheaters is frustrating. And the second one is the enemy AI when you play with bots, it is stupid that you will laugh watching bots playing. Despite from those problems, Counter Strike is great and addictive. 81 out of 100
  46. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Greatest FPS ever made, i still prefer CS Source, but i have to admit, this is THE ONE ! No other online shooter come close today, to find a game, you really have to look back at Quake 3 or Unreal.
  47. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    the graphics are horrible but the game is very good. Sample, repetitive and addictive. the perfect formula to create one of the best FPS in the world.
  48. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    10/10

    This game has so many features, To Mods, To gameplay changes, For a game of its time, it has so many great things going for it. The game is still really good and very popular. Ive probably put more hours in this game then any game ive ever played. And thats saying alot as much as i get bored

    If you get past the older graphics. Its actually a very nice starter FPS
  49. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Es el mejor juego de FPS Online del Mundo e.e, si contar que tiene un largo historia de exitos desde el estreno de Half Life y Counter Strike es el mejor Mod
  50. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Miami isn't on here but thats an obvious reason to give this xbox live rip off a 1.0 get yourself the real deal for Xbox on Ebay for 99Cents, Xbox live version rules the PC version
  51. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    It was and probably is still a great game, however, nowadays, the game is full of bugs, and most online servers want to hack your configuration files so you can't play on any other server than theirs.

    Still, it is THE game if you are looking for some old-school LAN action with your friends at home, or just a little bit of fun at work.
  52. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    An Half Life mod from Minh Le that ended up as an FPS classic. That conquered hearts of millions of gamers. For its simplicity and replayability. Not to mention some of the most balanced maps that are easy to remember and learn. And people still play competitive matches. Its like an Phoenix that cant die.
  53. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    During it's time, it was by far the best Team FPS game with a very popular and successful eSports following. Even after a decade since its release, it is still a mechanically smooth game.
  54. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This game would have to be THE best game I have ever played.
    I have been playing this game for 11 years now and still cant get enough of it.
    Everytime I play on a server, I cant help but remember the good old days back in 2006 when there were so many servers/game types to choose from, alongside a huge community with all the fun and laughs involved with people you met in-game. Even
    This game would have to be THE best game I have ever played.
    I have been playing this game for 11 years now and still cant get enough of it.
    Everytime I play on a server, I cant help but remember the good old days back in 2006 when there were so many servers/game types to choose from, alongside a huge community with all the fun and laughs involved with people you met in-game.
    Even though there arent as many servers around today and people playing this game online have lessened, the game is still equally as fun and competitive.
    People trash talking you just tend to ignore, others become really fun to play against as you will find yourself constantly in sessions with them and bettering your skills against people that are better than you.
    Its one of those games where you will die countless times from people who have had much more experience than you and know everything for each map, but you just cannot hate on it.
    You will rage quit, but jump back on in 5 minutes.
    I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes the fps genre (not including call of duty) as this game is far more competitive than so many shooters today so you probably wont last unless you explore classics.
    This game introduced me to online gaming and it has left so many good memories. I guarantee it will never be forgotten.
    10/10 hands down.…
    Expand
  55. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Counter-Strike (1.0- 1.6) is specific game. This game requires skill, feel, team work and tactics. You'll get skill with hours and hours of playing. I play this game long six years. On first look, I thought "This game sucks!" but game is awesome. Gameplay is reason why is this game specific. All these guys who gave score 1-4 are noobs who gave up. In this game I learned more things than inCounter-Strike (1.0- 1.6) is specific game. This game requires skill, feel, team work and tactics. You'll get skill with hours and hours of playing. I play this game long six years. On first look, I thought "This game sucks!" but game is awesome. Gameplay is reason why is this game specific. All these guys who gave score 1-4 are noobs who gave up. In this game I learned more things than in all games I was played. Believe me, don't give up! I was a noob and everyone was making fun of me, but it's just a step to be good player.Counter-Strike 1.6 will never die! Expand
  56. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Counter-strike give me a memorable and a great impression,i have been a main role in my whole game life.Until now,Counter-Strike Still give me a lot of fun!She is the King of FPS!
  57. May 19, 2015
    9
    It is one of the most common multiplayer games and manages to be really played today .
  58. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    The next evolution in the first person genre. This game inspired Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, and now every game wants to be a first person shooter because of this game's success. Best damn shooter I've ever played in my life.
  59. Mar 4, 2015
    10
    One of the best counter-strike games(Or fps for that matter). It keeps it original simplicity with some additional new features.

    If you love FPS games, this game should be in your library ASAP!
  60. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    This is probably the best fps games anyone can ever play. It began just as a Mod for the Half-life but it has proven itself more than enough as a standalone.
  61. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    The best FPS and will remain the best forever. Released in 2000 and 15 years later still has active people on servers and is packed with fun gamemodes and maps! Tactical gameplay is magnificent, gameplay is fantastic. Graphics are not a problem because it means any operating system can run this game. I have been playing since 2007-8 and I am still an active player, my name on Steam is myThe best FPS and will remain the best forever. Released in 2000 and 15 years later still has active people on servers and is packed with fun gamemodes and maps! Tactical gameplay is magnificent, gameplay is fantastic. Graphics are not a problem because it means any operating system can run this game. I have been playing since 2007-8 and I am still an active player, my name on Steam is my username here.

    A great quote ai found from a meme---"A game that looks good is impressive for a few months...but a game that plays well is impressive forever".
    Expand
  62. Jul 3, 2016
    8
    It came out a lot of years ago and still remain popular. I remember being addictive with this game a few years ago, and I'm happy that I cancelled playing it since it took a lot of time. But I would definitely say that it is awesome. But not today.
  63. QuicktriggerkJerL
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Not "one of the best games ever" not "very fun". Counter-Strike 1.6 is THE best game ever made and if anyone dissagrees has not felt the amazing feeling of CS 1.6.
  64. MasonK.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    Being ive played many of the up to date games (bf2, cod2, doom3, quake4) and own all of them, i like this game far more than any others. Cod2 is the runner up. This game is about playing a fun game, who gives a sh.t about graphics?
  65. TimF.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    It's the best game on world better than Source and better as all other games but not better then (World of Warcraft).
  66. KenYe
    Mar 30, 2008
    9
    This game is the only game that I have bought and continued to play as time passes. This game is addictive and very fun. Just killing one person in a regular server makes me feel good on the inside. I would recommend this game to anyone who like shooting games. The reason I gave it a nine is because steam and some server administrators neglect the "cheaters". This game can be addictive This game is the only game that I have bought and continued to play as time passes. This game is addictive and very fun. Just killing one person in a regular server makes me feel good on the inside. I would recommend this game to anyone who like shooting games. The reason I gave it a nine is because steam and some server administrators neglect the "cheaters". This game can be addictive enough that it affected my grades, for me at least. Expand
  67. MisterToxiKiller
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Cool game... it doesn't seem too much if you don't play it in team but when it cames that I have no words.I love CS.
  68. LOLPicks
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    This game traveled along time into 1.6, and now CZ, and then today, CS:S arrived. If you like CZ or CS:S DO NOT forget about CS 1.6--1.0 It is like the creator of CS:S and CZ, Hope they make a another good cs game! NO CS ONLINE I HATE IT BADLY!
  69. EgorM.
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    Counter-Strike is the best FPS game in the world.
  70. JerryT.
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!
  71. TerryK.
    Oct 2, 2006
    8
    I LOVE this game because it is fun, but then while you play too much, it gets boring. I give this an 8.
  72. KristianH.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    No info needed. CS is simply THE one.
  73. EgorM.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Counter-Strike is the best FPS game in the world.
  74. ViktorB.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    This is a very good game to use training. If you're good at this, you are good at other FPS-games. It's a very simple game that don't demand too much from your computer, like other games do. I LOVE Counter-Strike!
  75. SebastianG.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    This game is the best of valves games, I think.
  76. MilL.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This is just the Best Online FPS (First Person Shooter) Game. Thats Why.
  77. ShantA.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    this game is number 1 ive played for 5 years now and im still gonna play as long as its there.
  78. GoldwinL.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    I played counterstrike for almost 6-7 years i started playing 1.1 and 1.3 untill i reached 1.6 and it's the best game i ever had in my whole life, the worlds best game ever, i played from philippines to taiwan, 100 percent it's me [[[_GOLDWIN_]]=LIN=CEBU
  79. OliU.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    I think its one of the best games ever.
  80. HenrikBreum
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Never seen a game that was so playable. There are a number of addons which makes the game even better than the original.
  81. PeterSchneider
    May 6, 2006
    10
    I never played a better shooter. CS 1.6 is still the best one i know. I'll never stop playing it!
  82. BradT.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    this is the only game i will ever play i think... i dont like source because of the hunchback like characters.... this game i go to lan centers while im on vacation just to play i guess its addicitve but i do enjoy this game the most and still after 3 years of playing i still learn new tricks every day!
  83. SeanB.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    One of the best first person shooters I have ever played. Even with a new market of games, this game still has the ability to keep up and be more fun than games like World of Warcraft.
  84. NickS.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    i mean come on guys, this is the absolutely best and most played game in the world. i mean when you start playing this game and people kill you, you want to get better and the better you get the more you want to play it. once you sit down "to play a round or two," you get up two hours later figuring out you are late to work. i mean its so fast, addicting, and realistic, that what more i mean come on guys, this is the absolutely best and most played game in the world. i mean when you start playing this game and people kill you, you want to get better and the better you get the more you want to play it. once you sit down "to play a round or two," you get up two hours later figuring out you are late to work. i mean its so fast, addicting, and realistic, that what more could you wish for? as far as graphics a game does not need ot have the most awesomest looks to be the best. you want graphics, play source, you want lots of fun, play cs1.6 there is not enough i can tell you about this, just try it for yourself and you will figure it out as days and days are gonna go by, but you still playing counter strike without EVER getting tired of it. Expand
  85. LeroyV.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    i really like this game,, u can play it really well with a bad computer,, te only thing to worry about is that u didnt got liquid blood,, it are squars of blood.
  86. J.O.
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    Good Game but not perfect.
  87. PhillipT.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Hey id just like to say that this is a primo game and worth upgrading. And that is why it has been labled No.1 online multiplayer game.
  88. TheoP.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    Ive played this game for like 3 years now and i newer get tired on it ive played half-life 1-2 and ive played soure and like many many of the mods on half-life 1-2 and no game is like the regular c-s. it owns all. c-s is a game for all players in the world. i love this game.
  89. EdgarZ.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    The Best Game In The World... If you use steam - you can fully enjoy this FPS!
  90. RynM.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Though the game seems repetative, your playing against different people every time, so the competition changes. If you play them again, they use different stuff. Yes speaking in 2006 terms graphics arn't that good, But for this game comming out in 2000, the graphics are amazingly good. The game was meant to be realistic because most people like it. This is probally the best game Though the game seems repetative, your playing against different people every time, so the competition changes. If you play them again, they use different stuff. Yes speaking in 2006 terms graphics arn't that good, But for this game comming out in 2000, the graphics are amazingly good. The game was meant to be realistic because most people like it. This is probally the best game I've played besides the first video game I ever played, and only because doom is what turned me towards video games. Expand
  91. TomH.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Addictive and thrilling, one of the best games around, even today.
  92. YermakirumY.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Very good game.
  93. Bor
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    The Best Game!!!
  94. DanielJ.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    the best game i have ever played. Its always differnt with the huge number of players playing all the time u can never be bored.
  95. pkstar
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Man, the best game in the whole world! I think that they'll never do any similar game with such anwser from the players! GG Cs 1.6
  96. ErikJ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I love this game so much, I've played it for a long time and I still play it! Some how I don't change game. Very good teamplay/groupplay.
  97. AntonA.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    I love this game!
  98. ItaloM.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    It's the best game This game is addictive...I have played this game for 4 years now, and I'm still addicted to it. In the later years, it will be in the hall of fame (or should be) as the greatest game of its time.
  99. AdamG.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Most relevant game of the past seven-or-so years, dethroner of the ever-popular Quake series (no offence meant), what else to be given but a ten?
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Buy it, download it, whatever; just get on board and enjoy. Sure-fire fun for the online enthusiast.
  2. Spank!
    90
    It combines the best of team based gaming with an authentic and therefore exciting approach to tactical ops.
  3. The core of the game is remarkable.