Half-Life Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Half-Life combines great storytelling in the tradition of Stephen King with intense action and advanced technology to create a frighteningly realistic world where players need to think smart to survive. Half-Life has won more than 50 Game of the Year awards from publications around theHalf-Life combines great storytelling in the tradition of Stephen King with intense action and advanced technology to create a frighteningly realistic world where players need to think smart to survive. Half-Life has won more than 50 Game of the Year awards from publications around the world, and was named 'Best PC Game Ever' in PC Gamer's November 1999 issue. [Sierra] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 100
    A masterpiece of epic proportions, the "Saving Private Ryan" of first-person shooters.
  2. I have yet to play a more immersive game period. From the word "go", I found myself completely engulfed into the pseudo world that is unfolded before your eyes. [6 "drips"]
  3. It isn't everyday that you come across a game that totally revolutionizes an entire genre, but Half-Life has done just that.
  4. It combines a balance of tense action, puzzle solving, story, and fun that has yet to be equaled on in the FPS arena.
  5. 95
    It constantly presents you with variety, surprises, and new challenges to keep you hooked. It is a tour de force in game design, the definitive single player game in a first person shooter.
  6. The closest thing to a revolutionary step the genre has ever taken. Through a series of subtle and artistic design decisions, Half-Life creates a reality that is self-contained, believable, and thoroughly engaging.
  7. Unfortunately, Half-Life’s puzzle-oriented play leads to some problems. On several occasions, you’ll be forced to make almost impossible jumps. The difficulty of such maneuvers finds you making 10, sometimes 15 attempts. The frustration distances you from a story that should have you absorbed.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 505
  1. NicholasG.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    I just completed Half-Life, and boy am I tired. I've gotten little sleep these past 3 days, my eyes have been glued to a monitor for I just completed Half-Life, and boy am I tired. I've gotten little sleep these past 3 days, my eyes have been glued to a monitor for hours and hours on end, and I would do it all over again many times. Of all of the games I've ever played, none have ever reached the level of absolute excellence of this game has. It raised the bar back in 1998, and is still a very stunning action/story oriented game that every gamer should play. Expand
  2. BillB.
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    It's awesome.
  3. mikeg
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    THIS game has Extraordinary Graphics,Very Beautiful Gameplay,Movie like Sequences, and Awesome Sound! I hope people who play this game will THIS game has Extraordinary Graphics,Very Beautiful Gameplay,Movie like Sequences, and Awesome Sound! I hope people who play this game will last a life time in there hearts because this game still ROCKs all others ever made for the PC Valve i love your Work! please keep kickin ass on the best game series you have made in the Years and in the years to come! Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I'm never sure if the people who give games like this 0's are mentally handicapped or trolling. I hope it's the latter. I played half-life 2I'm never sure if the people who give games like this 0's are mentally handicapped or trolling. I hope it's the latter. I played half-life 2 in 2006ish. I was 15 years old. I loved Half-life 2. I'm now 22 and I just decided to buy half-life because idk, for whatever reason I just decided I had never played the first one and it was time. It was released in 1998 and I beat this game in 2 days because it was that good. I couldn't stop playing the campaign. After 15 years of it's release, accounting for generational differences in games, it's a top 5 best game of all time. Expand
  5. ThadM.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    I was bored and on my steam and i wanted to read some of the reviews of my games i was so amazed to see that some people actually gave half I was bored and on my steam and i wanted to read some of the reviews of my games i was so amazed to see that some people actually gave half life less than a 10 half life changed gaming it was more than just like ever other stupid game that made you shoot and then shoot and then shoot some more.The Ai was amazing for the time and the storyline was by far the best in any fps at the time if you can somehow rate this game badly you are not a gamer and do not respect the field you need to just go play with your myspace and never game agian. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2016
    10
    Un clásico, buena jugabilidad, super divertido, buena historia, buena atmósfera, increíble para la época que salio. El padre de muchos FPS deUn clásico, buena jugabilidad, super divertido, buena historia, buena atmósfera, increíble para la época que salio. El padre de muchos FPS de hoy en día... Un juego que todos deberían jugar. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jul 4, 2008
    0
    That game is awful. Not to mention frustrating. First of all, the parts where you have to ride around in vehicles are horrible. Those partsThat game is awful. Not to mention frustrating. First of all, the parts where you have to ride around in vehicles are horrible. Those parts are long, boring, and frustrating due to the horrible controls. But the vehicle part of the game was only the first thing that made me hate it.
    Then on top of that you have annoying characters. If it were possible, I would have killed all of my allies within the first 5 seconds of meeting any one of them. And believe me, I tried. Alex is the worst by far. Everyone is useless and annoying. Seriously, every five minutes it's "Oh, look, Freeman's here. He'll do all of our work for us because we're lazy/incompetent/useless." If I was Freeman, I'd just let everyone die. Or better yet, kill them all myself. The only thing that would get me to consider playing the sequels would be if I got to go on a murderous rampage killing all of my allies.

    You waste more ammo than anything. With any automatic weapon, it seems that at best 1/3 shots hit their mark. It's impossible to aim with them because instead of your spray pattern being affected by how long you hold the trigger, it follows some kind of pattern. Your first shot might hit its target. It might not. It's horribly frustrating.

    I bought the Orange Box back in January after hearing how great it was. Worst $50 I've ever spent, since the only good part of the whole thing is Portal. About 4 months ago I got killed somewhere near the end of the game. After this, I exited the game and haven't played it since. I have no desire to go back and finish it, or play Episode I or II.
    Expand

See all 505 User Reviews