Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Halo 2 for Vista is a solid game that probably won't appeal to anyone who's played any recent high-profile PC shooters.
  2. 60
    The long delay, outdated graphics, crazy system requirements and the clunky Games for Windows LIVE system are show-stopping obstacles to what should have been a great port of a great game more than a year ago.
  3. Games Master UK
    66
    It wasn't as good as the original when we got it on Xbox; on PC it's just too little, too late. [Aug 2007, p.81]
  4. 60
    The original Halo's story was better.
  5. Considering people were claiming Halo 3 wasn’t stretching the limits of graphical prowess on the Xbox 360 in the recent beta test, it’s doubtful that a barely upgraded Halo 2 is going to wow anyone.
  6. PC Gamer
    67
    Halo 2 for the PC is too little, too late. [July 2007, p.66]
  7. With a 360 controller plugged into your PC Halo 2 for Vista is a decent, if rather dated FPS. For a game that is spearheading Microsoft's new operating system though, it's just not good enough.
  8. Ultimately, if you've had your fill of Halo 2 on the Xbox then there's not a lot to lure you to buy the game again for the PC.
  9. I expected more of Halo 2 on Vista, and I suspect that you’ll feel the same way too.
  10. Halo’s track record has been impeccable up to this point, but its first outing on the PC comes off as little more than a ploy to get users to upgrade to Vista.
  11. Although the game received a significant facelift with high-resolution textures to provide a sharper look, the graphical progression of more recent shooters leaves this improved Halo 2 feeling like a 2004 game.
  12. Halo 2, you see, isn't truly awful, it's just achingly, repulsively mediocre, with a galumphing, clumsy story, poorly orchestrated action and bad music. It lacks bombast to the point where the nuclear destruction of a city on Earth doesn't seem all that dramatic. [June 2006, p.80]
  13. Halo 2 is Vista only. It doesn’t offer any new features, gameplay, graphics, or audio. It took three years to arrive. But it is still Halo 2 and does rock to play with friends.
  14. PC Format
    65
    Christ on a bike, though, it's ugly. I mean like school bus traffic accident ugly. [June 2007, p.52]
  15. PC Zone UK
    60
    The Halo 2 Vista experience is as forgettable as it is tardy and somewhat deptressing. [July 2007, p.72]
  16. Though Microsoft's Games for Windows Live is an interesting system, they shouldn't have used a poor port of Halo 2 to demonstrate it, and instead focused on creating a great new title for the PC.
  17. The soundtrack for Halo 2 is absolutely a work of art.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 219
  2. Negative: 82 out of 219
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Now my review is going to be based on when this was released and not what it is compared to the games of "now".

    Halo 2 was one of those
    Now my review is going to be based on when this was released and not what it is compared to the games of "now".

    Halo 2 was one of those games for me that I was addicted to; the totally immersing story, the enemies the vehicles and most certainly Master Chief.

    Granted the graphics were not a good on the Xbox version but on the the PC version they were improved immensely. I have very fond memories of Halo 2, very fond memories indeed that probably set me onto my current gaming life.
    Full Review »
  2. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    4
    Horrible.....not nearly as good as the original and probably should have stayed on the shelf...yuck.
  3. Barny
    May 29, 2007
    0
    I found that when playing against the xbox live players they have a totally unfair advantage, while the pc owners have to play with the I found that when playing against the xbox live players they have a totally unfair advantage, while the pc owners have to play with the floaty sluggish controls i discoverd that the xbox players all have auto targeting, so while the pc owners may have more acurate cotrol the xbox players only need to look in your direction to kill you, and the microsoft live thing for pc gamers is a total joke and i recomend pc owners not to use it. Full Review »