Halo 2 PC

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 214
  2. Negative: 81 out of 214
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZxZ
    Jun 5, 2013
    6
    halo basically is the original, same gameplay, same game modes and it does not feel like a new experience, this is a sign that better graphics do not make a good game
  2. gl0xor
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    Perhaps if this game had been released a decade ago, this would actually be worth playing. Yet, considering the plethora of fantastic PC FPS already availible, Halo 2 (and Halo 1 for that matter) fail to distinguish itself from the pack. From the singleplayer to the mutliplayer, the Halo series is the definition of the word 'over-rated'.
  3. Mr.Orange
    Dec 4, 2007
    6
    An FPS that does not withstand the test of time.
  4. JayYau
    May 12, 2007
    6
    (I just selected any rating by the way)

    Just like to point out that PC Gamer UK gave Halo 2 on the PC an incredibly high 66%, citing its problems as being A) Generic gameplay B) Poor graphics C) Lack of notable changes from previous game D) Windows Live! restrictions E) Poor console translation (Xbox controls can be found on the screen instead of keyboard controls) F) Vista only
    (I just selected any rating by the way)

    Just like to point out that PC Gamer UK gave Halo 2 on the PC an incredibly high 66%, citing its problems as being
    A) Generic gameplay
    B) Poor graphics
    C) Lack of notable changes from previous game
    D) Windows Live! restrictions
    E) Poor console translation (Xbox controls can be found on the screen instead of keyboard controls)
    F) Vista only despite not being DX10-worthy
    G) No 'emergent gameplay'
    H) And probably a severe feeling of disappointment
    Expand
  5. PhilipH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    6
    Not much better or worse than the first one. Better graphics (except for all the glitches) but worse story and gameplay. Mostly a waste of time. This should have killed the developement of the Halo franchise.
  6. TimS.
    May 19, 2007
    5
    It's all been said before. An average shooter, poor single player, decent multiplayer ruined by Live, awful PC translation, well below average graphics. It's four years old, and it really shows. I'm only here because a ridiculous 10/10 score on the BBC ceefax page filled me with righteous rage. That guy is an absolute tool. It's a decent, out of date 5 out of 10 game. It's all been said before. An average shooter, poor single player, decent multiplayer ruined by Live, awful PC translation, well below average graphics. It's four years old, and it really shows. I'm only here because a ridiculous 10/10 score on the BBC ceefax page filled me with righteous rage. That guy is an absolute tool. It's a decent, out of date 5 out of 10 game. No more. Now, if you'll excuse me I'm going to go wait for Half Life 2 Episode.2 to welcome me back to gaming in 2007. Collapse
  7. TommyR.
    Jun 23, 2007
    5
    Awesome game, but...the controlling is hard and it's very laggy.
  8. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    Sadly this one did not deliver... The campaign was uninspires, the graphics were dated (for the xbox version) and the gameplay was just not as fun. However, the multiplayern was amazing! this game would have received a 2 from me if it were not for the multiplayer! Luckily this time round there are acheivements but you will need an internet connection if you wish to gain them. The campaignSadly this one did not deliver... The campaign was uninspires, the graphics were dated (for the xbox version) and the gameplay was just not as fun. However, the multiplayern was amazing! this game would have received a 2 from me if it were not for the multiplayer! Luckily this time round there are acheivements but you will need an internet connection if you wish to gain them. The campaign is full of un-needed levels that feel as if they are only there for the sake of it, but playing as the other side is actually alright!

    Campaign: 2/10
    Graphics: 7/10 (2/10 for the xbox version)
    Multiplayer: 9/10
    Expand
  9. Feb 27, 2016
    7
    I think it's a great game. Good plot. Good voice acting. Great graphics. I enjoyed it as much Halo 1 and more than 3 and 4. I absolutely refuse to buy an xbox 1 just so I can play Halo 5. The reason that I didn't give it a 10 score is because of the mouse control, which absolutely sucked until I found a player who figured out how to make mouse control smooth in Windows 7 Thanks forI think it's a great game. Good plot. Good voice acting. Great graphics. I enjoyed it as much Halo 1 and more than 3 and 4. I absolutely refuse to buy an xbox 1 just so I can play Halo 5. The reason that I didn't give it a 10 score is because of the mouse control, which absolutely sucked until I found a player who figured out how to make mouse control smooth in Windows 7 Thanks for nothing Microsoft. But once you cure that annoying and game wreaking problem this game becomes thoroughly enjoyable and replayable. This is my third time. Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    This game is a mixed bag, for while it does some new and very good things, it also does some rather lamentable ones too. The story is about as good as the first game's, but because of the split narrative it becomes more confusing. The ability to control the Arbiter, who has a nifty cloak, is fun at first, but eventually it just becomes a drag to frequently switch between characters. IThis game is a mixed bag, for while it does some new and very good things, it also does some rather lamentable ones too. The story is about as good as the first game's, but because of the split narrative it becomes more confusing. The ability to control the Arbiter, who has a nifty cloak, is fun at first, but eventually it just becomes a drag to frequently switch between characters. I liked the levels where you are on earth fighting alongside the Marines against Covenant forces, but was fairly bored with those against Flood or Rebel forces. In the end, if you liked the other Halo games, this is probably worth playing, but it's more significant for what carried over into future games than for what it did itself. Expand
  11. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    KInda old for the series but still a good game except the graphics still not use to it i really hate the games for windows service is like rubbish it this can have the halo 1 severs its great
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. While the single player may end like a car crash, the multiplayer seems to live forever.
  2. The first Halo's roots shined through on the first port of the series, and once again the controls are tight and exemplary for use in PC or console style controls.
  3. Although the game received a significant facelift with high-resolution textures to provide a sharper look, the graphical progression of more recent shooters leaves this improved Halo 2 feeling like a 2004 game.