Halo: Combat Evolved PC

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 414 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 414
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamF.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Amazing game. I played this twice in fact and still can't get over the graphics and gameplay. People Rating this Low are complaining about low frame rates and terrible graphics .One guy quoted he had a celeron!!! Give me a break...Get a Good computer and stop Ranking on possibly the greatest Sci-Fi FPS Ever! Anyone giving this lower than a 9 needs serious help. The only negative Amazing game. I played this twice in fact and still can't get over the graphics and gameplay. People Rating this Low are complaining about low frame rates and terrible graphics .One guy quoted he had a celeron!!! Give me a break...Get a Good computer and stop Ranking on possibly the greatest Sci-Fi FPS Ever! Anyone giving this lower than a 9 needs serious help. The only negative about this game is that some levels get repetitive (Library - Flood) Way Too Much. other than that it rocks! Expand
  2. ADD
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    GREATEST GAME EVER, i dont care, i havnt got a brilliant comp, but the graphics are still good! great multiplayer, and mouse works better than xbox controller!
  3. AndrewL.
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    I played Halo on X-BOX and loved it. Then i heard it was coming out for PC and I had to have it. I ended up getting it, and have played it every day. The graphics are great and the sounds are perfect (why do people think it sucks, when it's really just there comp. that sucks).
  4. GeorgeC.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    Hey this game is totally awesome in xbox... now its hitting pc with new weapons and new vehicle, it will only get better than the x box version so its gonna be 10 for sure since the original is already a "10" game.
  5. Hotshot34
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    I've never played Halo for the Xbox and I naver will. But this game is the best game ever and its fun torturing the grunts by shooting their feet with the pistol. If you don't like this game your a freak!
  6. PatrickH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Just as good, if not better, than the XBox version. Banshees are awesome, and the internet style of linked play is second to none.
  7. HillBillyJIMWWF
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    This game was amazing when I played it on xbox, and its even more amazing now on my pc with high crystal clear resolutions and new level/weapons. What an amazing phenomenon this game is. Almost as good as Farcry.
  8. Werdson
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    It doesn't get much better than hiting a grunt in the face with a pistol.
  9. John7grain
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    Wow this game is perfect.
  10. John7grain
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    Wow this game is perfect.
  11. JimM.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    One of the best games. I have an AMD 2000XP, 1GIG PC133 SDRAM and an ATI RAdeon 970(non pro) and run the game at 1024X768 . The game runs fine for me. Super fast like the rest of my games. What is wrong with you people. Don't u know how to tweak ur system? Owell if your half way smart get this game and it should run great for u too. I'm talking about the single player and not on-line .
  12. JohnB.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played I have it for Xbox also and it is so cool. Now it's came out for PC. I have it. It is so totally awesome! All of those who oppose really have PROBLEMS!
  13. PhillipR.
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    "I've played the 1.5 beta........." I don't really think you can base your opinion on a trial version der bud. HALO prolly won't be the greatest FPS ever for PC, but I promise it will be remembered as one of the best.
  14. Dan
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Simply amazing multiplayer!
  15. [Anonymous]
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    I bought an xbox for this game, it just died 2 days ago and im ready to get a new comp for this and some strategie games, Im ready to play online PROPERLY (xconnect sucked) and have a load of mod and modding tools at my disposal, give me halo or give me death.
  16. PaulR.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This is the first game out for xbox, and people still play it , its not too good when u play alone, but when u do i system link, and there are 12 people in ur basement, killing a fighting for first place, halo, is the best.
  17. ChrisD.
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    This game is not the best when you play one player but the multiplayer kicks butt!
  18. JoeS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome it is a lot better than xbox version the new levels everything is just great.
  19. CarlosR.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    This is bad ass you get new levels two new guns you should problably get this game it kicks but if you dont get then whats the point sitting there in the can and reading the script over and over again if you want new levels new vhicles and guns then stop getting in the can and buy it.
  20. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Halo is one of the most soul-moving games ever made, in that it gives you the feeling you are taking part in something great and very important. The level design is not physically brilliant, but the atmosphere always is.
  21. MastaGunZ
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Simply put, Halo is a great game, and defined the fps genre for the current-gen systems.
  22. halopcgmr
    May 29, 2007
    10
    THe People at the last review that said it was impossible to play at the second level THEY WERE WRONG.they probaly have cheap pc and didnt even play online i give it a 10. they should have more enemies like scott said like in halo 2 but its the best game i played so far as fear.
  23. infernoyourmom
    May 8, 2008
    10
    An amazing game ESPECIALLY with the Custom Edition of the game allowing completely custom maps, weapons, vehicles and what nots.
  24. Gosumaster
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    OK this game is god- your all just pissed cuz u have sh.tty comps. ok you say u have a 5600 big deal- the rest of your system probly blows @$$. just cuz u cant afford a system capable of the godlyness of this game, doesnt mean you should bring it down.
  25. ScottG.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Its totally awesome, I just think there should be more enemies.
  26. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Seeing that the average user review is 6.4 i must say there is something wrong with you! Halo is one of the greatest fps's ever on gamespot and ign's top ten fps's it was 2nd in both. the game is now 7 years old and some people are posting review complaining about graphics? It's a 7 year old game. Yes it did not have an online multiplayer for the 360 but it is by far my favorite fps with aSeeing that the average user review is 6.4 i must say there is something wrong with you! Halo is one of the greatest fps's ever on gamespot and ign's top ten fps's it was 2nd in both. the game is now 7 years old and some people are posting review complaining about graphics? It's a 7 year old game. Yes it did not have an online multiplayer for the 360 but it is by far my favorite fps with a great campaign and it was extremely fun to play with friends. I am now realising this is a p.c review. FUDGE IT! I'm posting it anyway Expand
  27. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I think that Halo: Combat Evolved defined FPS Gaming, this is the game that changed the way we played FPS Games. The online multiplayer is very addictive and it is a really good to play online with friends. I read some of these reviews that you noobs have wrote and I feel sorry for you because you are the ones that we pwn online. I think that it is a game that gamers will will keep playersI think that Halo: Combat Evolved defined FPS Gaming, this is the game that changed the way we played FPS Games. The online multiplayer is very addictive and it is a really good to play online with friends. I read some of these reviews that you noobs have wrote and I feel sorry for you because you are the ones that we pwn online. I think that it is a game that gamers will will keep players for many years to come. Expand
  28. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    this game is great has great weapons great ai especially on legendary the music just heals the soul and it has that touch of perfection for a sci-fi shooter with the most amazing architectures i have seen in a shooter
  29. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    It's Halo plus some new features like the Custom Edition, online multiplayer, new vehicles to use in multiplayer such as the Banshee and the Rocket-equipped Warthog, and new weapons such as the Fuel Rod Cannon and the Flamethrower. Plus, Bungie has a little something for the PC/Mac version: If you use the product key code on bungie.net, you get access to use the Halo nameplate for Halo: Reach!
  30. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.
    There are ten fairly long, open playable campaign (story-mode) levels in Halo: Combat Evolved and even more multiplayer (versus-mode) levels. You can play with one or two players in the campaign or up to sixteen players in multiplayer, which is great
    This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.
    There are ten fairly long, open playable campaign (story-mode) levels in Halo: Combat Evolved and even more multiplayer (versus-mode) levels. You can play with one or two players in the campaign or up to sixteen players in multiplayer, which is great fun when youâ
    Expand
  31. May 18, 2014
    10
    This game had it all. It had balance, skill, and was revolutionary. It wasn't quite as good as quake, but it was a refreshing competitor to the best PC fps. For a console game it still remains the king to this day. No other halo, battlefield, or call of duty comes close to the competitive nature this game was built with. A true arena shooter. It's a shame Bungie strayed away from thisThis game had it all. It had balance, skill, and was revolutionary. It wasn't quite as good as quake, but it was a refreshing competitor to the best PC fps. For a console game it still remains the king to this day. No other halo, battlefield, or call of duty comes close to the competitive nature this game was built with. A true arena shooter. It's a shame Bungie strayed away from this formula as the series progressed. Expand
  32. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that.... the only thing different about this game is the fact that because it is on the computer you could CUSTOMIZE AND MOD IT. which is freaking AMAZING. I know this is not related to the game but ever play Halo:custom edition? simply fantastic. if
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that....

    the only thing different about this game is the fact that because it is on the computer you could CUSTOMIZE AND MOD IT. which is freaking AMAZING.

    I know this is not related to the game but ever play Halo:custom edition? simply fantastic.
    if halo for the xbox got a 97 without the ability to create god like player/ fan based mods then this game should have scored the equivalent or higher than the xbox version
    Expand
  33. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Polished. Its solid like Quake but updated for the next generation. Couldnt ask for more

    Halo:REACH updated the game engine. Play that for the next leap
  34. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    One of my most favorite childhood games a fun and addicting shooter with a great story and it can run on most PC's and with mods and Custom edition you will not want to stop playing this game!
  35. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This Halo game is the one that started it all. It brought us even greater Halo games, those being Halo 2, Halo 3, and to some extent Halo: Reach. The multiplayer on the PC is still up, so go get this game and experience the awesomeness of the first Halo game.
  36. May 1, 2014
    10
    Halo: CE shaped modern FPS games, and also has one of the best stories, entangled in one of the best soundtracks of any game ever made. The atmosphere in the game was simply amazing. Sure the graphics are dated, it's from 2001 for god's sake, this was a launch title for the original Xbox! The game was revolutionary in its time, its a classic.
  37. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A great game full of action, adventure, great multi-player, and a great storyline. It has taken Sci-fi first person shooter to a whole new level. It has an amazing gallery of weapons, vehicles, enemies, and good guys. Outstand graphics and affects. An absolute must play before climbing up the franchise!
  38. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    I seriously can't believe this game was released so many years ago, and yet in 2015 it is still a blast. "Graphics don't matter" you'd say, and you'd be right. The gameplay is simple, yet brilliant, only minus being the lack of zooming while aiming, but that I can live with. Now, the plot is really great, the whole "struggle to save humanity" is quite the idea, and I've gotta give it toI seriously can't believe this game was released so many years ago, and yet in 2015 it is still a blast. "Graphics don't matter" you'd say, and you'd be right. The gameplay is simple, yet brilliant, only minus being the lack of zooming while aiming, but that I can live with. Now, the plot is really great, the whole "struggle to save humanity" is quite the idea, and I've gotta give it to Bungie, that Cortana got me even in the "yet-somewhat-squareish" form. Overall the game has mineor flaws and just shows what is coming in Halo 2, 3, 4, Reach, ODST and 5- great plot and gameplay. And for that time, nice graphics. Expand
  39. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    REVIEW BASED ON
    > Played the campaign until about halfway through
    > Countless hours spent playing the multiplayer COMMENT Simply put, this is the best FPS of all time GAME SHAKER + The glorious campaign, which mixes some survival elements to a sometimes dark atmosphere and the feeling of being stranded PROS + The endless fun you can have by playing the multiplayer + Bungie
    REVIEW BASED ON
    > Played the campaign until about halfway through
    > Countless hours spent playing the multiplayer

    COMMENT
    Simply put, this is the best FPS of all time

    GAME SHAKER
    + The glorious campaign, which mixes some survival elements to a sometimes dark atmosphere and the feeling of being stranded

    PROS
    + The endless fun you can have by playing the multiplayer
    + Bungie loves this game even to this day (I'm looking at you, patch 1.10)
    + The meticolously crafted multiplayer maps

    CONS
    - None. This game is utterly brilliant
    Expand
  40. Ron
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    There are definitely some issues that need to be fixed concerning peoples perception of framerates. I have 2 machines one is the AMD 2600 on simple MX440 and the other is AMD 1300 also on MX440 and both machines run smooth as silk. My pal has a P4 HT 512MB on a 5600 card and the game really stutters. We are using the same drivers! I really love the game's storyline and the lovely There are definitely some issues that need to be fixed concerning peoples perception of framerates. I have 2 machines one is the AMD 2600 on simple MX440 and the other is AMD 1300 also on MX440 and both machines run smooth as silk. My pal has a P4 HT 512MB on a 5600 card and the game really stutters. We are using the same drivers! I really love the game's storyline and the lovely scenery. If its too slow on your system play something else. Expand
  41. FredM.
    Oct 6, 2003
    9
    So what if this thing is a bit slow...I run a 2.4Ghz Pentium4 with 256Mb RAM and a 64Mb GeForce4 at 1024x768, on WinXP, and at the MAXIMUM GRAPHICS, it's only a BIT slow! And it ONLY slows at all at extremely high graphics, such as when a Covenant gun overheats in your hands. Does that happen often (if it does, you need to learn to conserve ammo better...)? Deal with it, you pansies! So what if this thing is a bit slow...I run a 2.4Ghz Pentium4 with 256Mb RAM and a 64Mb GeForce4 at 1024x768, on WinXP, and at the MAXIMUM GRAPHICS, it's only a BIT slow! And it ONLY slows at all at extremely high graphics, such as when a Covenant gun overheats in your hands. Does that happen often (if it does, you need to learn to conserve ammo better...)? Deal with it, you pansies! I have lived somehow without an Xbox thus far, and so this is the best thing since Half-Life! You don't like it? Go play your Gamecube (that was sarcastic). And if you want to complain about the fact that the game seems outdated, that's because it is! Released for the Xbox in 2001, it is bound to be old by now! The second Halo is already out! This is just a supplemental to those who don't have an Xbox or want to take it to the next level with a really good gaming computer. If you don't like it, buy an Xbox and play it there. Expand
  42. HeadCrab
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    The game is good, there's no disputing that, really. However, there is a small issue of choppy frame rates, even on more higher-end systems. Now, there's also you people who complain about system performance, while running a 64mb GeForce 4 MX440 card, or a Celeron, and that rare GeForce 2. Of COURSE your going to experience system lag, because quite simply, your hardware is The game is good, there's no disputing that, really. However, there is a small issue of choppy frame rates, even on more higher-end systems. Now, there's also you people who complain about system performance, while running a 64mb GeForce 4 MX440 card, or a Celeron, and that rare GeForce 2. Of COURSE your going to experience system lag, because quite simply, your hardware is outdated. I realize that it's expensive to upgrade, but the future of technology is ever evolving, and thus demands more and more from the end user, like it or not. Get better parts to end your sufferings. Or play older games. Expand
  43. LenardN.
    Sep 26, 2003
    9
    Halo..... although 2 years old, great gameplay never get's old. The AI is stil the best at the moment (after 2 years even!). MOH is a great game, but Halo is better IMO and many critics. Unreal 2.. ahem... why did i mention that game? lol....... Battlefield 1942 has a pathetic singleplay and a laggy online play. NOLF 2.. good game but Halo is stil better. Half-Life... RESPECT. But Halo..... although 2 years old, great gameplay never get's old. The AI is stil the best at the moment (after 2 years even!). MOH is a great game, but Halo is better IMO and many critics. Unreal 2.. ahem... why did i mention that game? lol....... Battlefield 1942 has a pathetic singleplay and a laggy online play. NOLF 2.. good game but Halo is stil better. Half-Life... RESPECT. But stil that is years old. The great FPS wil come out in the fourth quarter of 20024. Until then... Halo is the great FPS for now and i doubt that certain FPS wil stil beat it (HL 2 wil beat it, Deus Ex 2 wil beat it.. but that is it). Pick this game up now! Expand
  44. OrbitalShock
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    This games has the best gameplay on my pc!
  45. SnowW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Fast, beautiful and fun multiplayermaps. People say it's old and stuff, but they don't pay attention to its fun but only its name. I'd give this a 9 because I've had some lag with it once, no more. The grphics are nice, but aren't the best. so I'd still give it a nine out of ten.
  46. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Halo is truly the most innovative shooter since goldeneye. It set a new standard for the future FPS's to come. It is not only fun to play, but the graphics are excellent. Although there is not multiplayer on the xbox version, if you get games on the PC you will have the best multiplayer fun in years.
  47. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Halo brought us a fascinating and unique plot, lush textures, and an unusually compelling soundtrack. In hindsight it doesn't seem so great, but when issued it was way ahead of its time.
  48. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    I played this years ago. It was a fun game. I played multiplayer a lot. Mods were very cool, going up the mountains in some maps. My favorite maps were death island, the two snow maps, and some of the smaller maps. I liked oddball, ctf, bfm racing.
  49. ZxZ
    Jun 5, 2013
    9
    very good game with action everywhere, quite addictive although history can be boring so strong is the multiplayer going to be can spend hours and hours playing
  50. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Accounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move whileAccounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move while standing, move it slightly and you move while crouching) Expand
  51. Nick
    Oct 3, 2003
    8
    I have a P4 2.4GHz and a Geforce 4 Ti 4400 and I am running Halo at 1024x768 with high detail. Almost no slowdown, even in very large areas. Oh, and the gameplay is as good as the reviews say. In comparison, Unreal 2 and Chrome are weak...
  52. DemonicAngel
    Nov 29, 2003
    8
    I'd been waiting for Halo to arrive for PC for a long time, so when it finally arrived I was psyched. I installed and booted it... and was shocked. Why was it running so slowly? In all seriousness, the graphics, whilst very attractive, simply aren't as awesome as I'd expect from a game with this low level of performance (and my PC is no slouch, either). That aside, Halo is I'd been waiting for Halo to arrive for PC for a long time, so when it finally arrived I was psyched. I installed and booted it... and was shocked. Why was it running so slowly? In all seriousness, the graphics, whilst very attractive, simply aren't as awesome as I'd expect from a game with this low level of performance (and my PC is no slouch, either). That aside, Halo is one of the most fun shooters I've played for a while. Enemies are pretty smart, and will dodge in and out of cover and try to flank you. Graphics, as mennioned, are cool. Sound is adequate, though some of the voice acting is a bit dodgy, and the plasma weapons sound underpowered. The story is fairly standard sci-fi fluff, but it's done well, with humour at appropriate points to balance out the seriousness. If your system can handle it, definitely worth a play, just so you can see what the fuss was about. Expand
  53. MarcB.
    Mar 26, 2006
    8
    Heyyo, Great game. But the port to PC was a poor one that ran horrible and the netcode too was horrible, and they should've upgraded the graphics to PC standards as the textures were quite blurred. But luckly, even with these problems, that solid Halo gameplay was still present.
  54. Marmoo
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    Having completed Halo on Xbox many years ago i was happy when my bro bought me this last week, i have not tried the story game as i have done that, i was more interested in the online multiplayer. I can say i have no probs running it and it runs smooth on a dated cpu now (2.94ghz celeron, 2 gig ram, 160g hd and ATI 256mb graphics), i was impressed with the speed of online game but am Having completed Halo on Xbox many years ago i was happy when my bro bought me this last week, i have not tried the story game as i have done that, i was more interested in the online multiplayer. I can say i have no probs running it and it runs smooth on a dated cpu now (2.94ghz celeron, 2 gig ram, 160g hd and ATI 256mb graphics), i was impressed with the speed of online game but am struggling with the pace of it lol. playing with keyboard and mouse is a bit cumbersome so looking to but a controller - on the whole - very happy with product - cant understand why people have rated this game so low, especially those who cant get it to run - how can you rate he actual quality of the game without playing it- what a bunch of noobs lol. Expand
  55. Andredre
    Nov 1, 2003
    8
    Well, the game run just fine in my comp. with P4 1.5 and 256 MB ddr ram and GF 2 MX 400 64 MB. The game run at 40 fps on 800x600, and it's playable enough for me.
  56. DarrylM.
    Oct 13, 2003
    8
    I don't know why everyone is having problems running this game on P4/Athlon systems. Halo runs just fine on my old PIII866 w/720megs of RAM and a 64meg GeForce 4 MX 440. I do have the resolution at 800x600 though. All in all it's still a fun game!
  57. GetFitWithGilbertMulroneycakes
    Oct 18, 2003
    8
    Hmm. It's a good game alright - one of the best console FPSes evereverever - only, now it's on PC, it's, it's, it's out of date. It took two sodding years to port it over, and now it feels like, well, a two-year-old game. Buy it if you like, but bear in mind that Half-Life 2 - which makes this game look even older than it is - is just around the corner. Mmm, Hmm. It's a good game alright - one of the best console FPSes evereverever - only, now it's on PC, it's, it's, it's out of date. It took two sodding years to port it over, and now it feels like, well, a two-year-old game. Buy it if you like, but bear in mind that Half-Life 2 - which makes this game look even older than it is - is just around the corner. Mmm, Half-Life 2... Expand
  58. KimJ.
    Sep 19, 2007
    8
    Great game, but it really ads nothing to the table. it would be sick if they added a weapon like the carbine in this issue, or some other weapon from the halo drawing boards or even from halo 2. i must admit, it runs slowly and repetitivly at times, but its a great game. another complaint i have is the fact that the game becomes a one man army type game after the middle of the game. it Great game, but it really ads nothing to the table. it would be sick if they added a weapon like the carbine in this issue, or some other weapon from the halo drawing boards or even from halo 2. i must admit, it runs slowly and repetitivly at times, but its a great game. another complaint i have is the fact that the game becomes a one man army type game after the middle of the game. it just makes it a little lame. when marines are with you, you almost feel a duty to keppt them alive, for some reason or another. If you read storm of steel, you could recognize this as the bond that happens between men in trenches. Without debate, its a great game, even if its on the PC. it would just be nice if they actually changed some flaws from the x-box instead of litterally taking the same exact game and just putting a PC sign on it. Of course, if you arent a moron, then you cant play halo 2 for the PC, kuz you need vistas. Expand
  59. MichalW.
    Nov 16, 2003
    8
    A good game. It looks pretty, loads fast, has a great music score, and most of all - it's really enjoyable and satisfying to shoot at all these aliens...
  60. BitBurn
    Nov 7, 2003
    8
    Never as smooth as the Xbox version, but this game always seems to keep me coming back for more.
  61. StevenD.
    Dec 14, 2004
    8
    This game isnt 2 bad i hardly played the Xbox version the only time i did was at my friends house, but i do have it for pc and its not all that bad all it needs is a coop mode (which by the way there are rumors of bungie working hard at it), bungie couldent put coop on system link on Xbox nor could they do it over the internet or lan because of AI issues...but other then that halo pc isntThis game isnt 2 bad i hardly played the Xbox version the only time i did was at my friends house, but i do have it for pc and its not all that bad all it needs is a coop mode (which by the way there are rumors of bungie working hard at it), bungie couldent put coop on system link on Xbox nor could they do it over the internet or lan because of AI issues...but other then that halo pc isnt a bad game and its not a waste of money..if your a modder go get the halo editing kit and the halo CE patch from file planet. Expand
  62. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Halo is a good game. The graphics were a bit dull when I played it when I wars about ten. The AI need to be better because they are so dumb sometimes. I have to hand it to them Halo had an awsome
    stroy line. Out of all Halo gets an 8 from me.
  63. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Halo is more famous on the xbox , than on PC, but the team did a great work on putting effort in this version. Is not the best PC game but is still superb.
  64. Sep 4, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game! Not only do you get an exciting single player campaign, but you get an awesome multiplayer expeirence! The campaign is engaging yet at times a little boring, but it is still fantastic! Your first play through is unforgettable. The multiplayer is even better and very fun to play! There are tonnes of maps with many game modes and even a game mode creator! And thereThis is a fantastic game! Not only do you get an exciting single player campaign, but you get an awesome multiplayer expeirence! The campaign is engaging yet at times a little boring, but it is still fantastic! Your first play through is unforgettable. The multiplayer is even better and very fun to play! There are tonnes of maps with many game modes and even a game mode creator! And there are always people playing online. It does not have the best of graphics but this is because it was made early 2000's. Not many games back then did.

    Graphics: 8/10 (for its time)
    campign: 9/10
    multiplayer: 10/10
    Expand
  65. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    I liked it a lot. Campaign was just as fun and it added a few new weapons (such as the fuel rod) to the game. Multiplayer was a ton of fun but it suffers from extreme lag if anyone in your match has lag. Also it features quite a few bugs and glitches as well. Overall it was an enjoyable game that was well worth playing imo.
  66. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Although Halo probably isn't as good as much of the hype it got, it's still a pretty good game. Most of the time it's a matter of going in guns blazing, rather than using stealth or strategy, but it's still pretty fun to go around blasting aliens and mutants. The game's storyline is good--though it could have used more developing--and the banter is fairly amusing. Many of the levels canAlthough Halo probably isn't as good as much of the hype it got, it's still a pretty good game. Most of the time it's a matter of going in guns blazing, rather than using stealth or strategy, but it's still pretty fun to go around blasting aliens and mutants. The game's storyline is good--though it could have used more developing--and the banter is fairly amusing. Many of the levels can get rather confusing as you try to navigate around endless corridors on spaceships and fortresses, but all is forgiven once you hop into a Warthog and drive around running over enemies or chase down a screaming grunt and pistol whip him! Expand
  67. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    I haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For some reason there's no minimap and destination points only appeared in a few missions for me which can make the levels very confusing and I did get lost more than a couple times. The level design is also pretty bland and repetitive, especially in theI haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For some reason there's no minimap and destination points only appeared in a few missions for me which can make the levels very confusing and I did get lost more than a couple times. The level design is also pretty bland and repetitive, especially in the mission with 343 Guilty Spark. Having to go through 4 floors of the same looking environment sure got stale. Those are my two main flaws with the game but it has tons of positives as well. The guns are awesome and feel great to shoot and there's a good variety of them as well, my personal favourites are the pistol and the plasma pistol. I dunno why, I guess I just like pistols. The vehicles are also amazing and I was blown away by how smoothly they controlled for a game that came out in 2001, especially the banshee which I had a blast with. I found the story pretty good for a shooter as well but I wish they could have started to give Master Chief more of a personality in the first game.

    The multiplayer is great fun and I was pleasantly surprised that it's actually still pretty active on the PC version, I always see servers that are full and thriving with players even after 11 years. I'm not a huge fan of the maps that take place in an interior because they can get very chaotic when the only available weapon is set to rocket launcher. I did love the outdoor maps and my favourite is Timberland for it's size and beauty.

    Overall a great game and still worth playing even after over a decade, it's at it's best in multiplayer though since the singleplayer campaign is pretty dated.
    Expand
  68. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    The soundtrack is awesome and the graphics are really impressive for a 2003 game. The campaign is lengthy and the story is good, and most of the levels are pretty fun. Except for the library. Multiplayer, however, is super fun considering its age. Pistols and sniper rifles are too OP though.
  69. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    NOTE: This is a single-player review.

    In terms of a port, it's actually quite good. The gameplay is engaging (especially with the improved control of the PC), the graphics are nice for an older game and it runs fairly well. It's also a very difficult game, seeming near impossible on the highest difficulty. Halo has a few flaws, though. The level design can be extremely repetitive,
    NOTE: This is a single-player review.

    In terms of a port, it's actually quite good. The gameplay is engaging (especially with the improved control of the PC), the graphics are nice for an older game and it runs fairly well. It's also a very difficult game, seeming near impossible on the highest difficulty. Halo has a few flaws, though. The level design can be extremely repetitive, having you walk through copies of the same hallway more than once.

    Despite the semi-average level design, it's definitely an enjoyable game. If you like first-person shooters, play this game.
    Expand
  70. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    By itself, halo combat evolved is nothing much. just an average game. But putting in Custom edition and playing all those different maps and mods makes the game so much better
  71. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Solid sci-fi FPS with fantastic well written plot and impeccable AI. The level design however is quite repetitive and the dialogue seems out of sync with the characters. Much fun to be had pummeling grunts with warthogs and destroying hunters! 8/10
  72. HungryMan
    Oct 5, 2003
    7
    This is a pretty average game, allthough the storyline is great. I dont know why everyone is complaining about how slow it runs? Im only using P4 1.6GHZ 512mB pc2100 GF4mx440 and game runs at very decent rate at 1024 with details turned down. Maybe it's something to do with winXP(as i presume that's what most people are running) because it plays fine on ME.
  73. DawnRipper
    Oct 1, 2003
    7
    I'll rate this at 9.9 - 100 if, just if, and if big daddy micro$oft didnt rush this game out before HL2. This game is just like unreal2 and matrix they rush this out ang we get bugs and bugs and bugs...
  74. JamesF.
    Sep 19, 2003
    7
    I have a beta 1.5 version of this game for PC, and it still plays like it's on a console. The game was great for console, but I don't think Halo is gonna hold up amongst Half Life 2 and call of Duty and the other Q4 games. It was great on the console cause consoles have never had a good solid FPS, but as far as PC goes...we've seen better games, and I think people are gonna I have a beta 1.5 version of this game for PC, and it still plays like it's on a console. The game was great for console, but I don't think Halo is gonna hold up amongst Half Life 2 and call of Duty and the other Q4 games. It was great on the console cause consoles have never had a good solid FPS, but as far as PC goes...we've seen better games, and I think people are gonna realize it really quick. Expand
  75. JonathanS.
    Feb 18, 2004
    7
    While a decent game it definitely disappoints me. I played it on a 1gh system with a Geforce 3 Ti 200, and it ran like crap. Then I upgraded to a 2.8gh w/ 1gb ram and Radeon 9800 pro and it runs fine. Extremely repetitive gameplay, ok story (we have heard the save the unverse thing to muc), and bad engine really bring this game down. On the upside are good multiplayer and the vehicles, While a decent game it definitely disappoints me. I played it on a 1gh system with a Geforce 3 Ti 200, and it ran like crap. Then I upgraded to a 2.8gh w/ 1gb ram and Radeon 9800 pro and it runs fine. Extremely repetitive gameplay, ok story (we have heard the save the unverse thing to muc), and bad engine really bring this game down. On the upside are good multiplayer and the vehicles, along with a fantastic ending. I only wish Bungie has stuck to the origonal idea before they decided to make it an Xbox game. Expand
  76. AnonyomousAnonyomous
    Mar 4, 2008
    7
    Pretty good game from time to time, not really that good for playing the whole day. But a really bad part about this is that it does NOT have anti-cheat protection, it has a little but not any protection against aim bots.
  77. ComputerIlliterates!
    Nov 2, 2003
    7
    With all settings cranked up to the Max, The game doesn't look bad at all. Anyone having system performance probably doesn't know how to tweak there system or update there drivers. Even my older a$$ computer can run this near perfect. To reply to the idiots here! Yes indeed you can play this above 60Hz, I have my refresh rate set at 100Hz! Anyone who has a Geforce FX 5200 and With all settings cranked up to the Max, The game doesn't look bad at all. Anyone having system performance probably doesn't know how to tweak there system or update there drivers. Even my older a$$ computer can run this near perfect. To reply to the idiots here! Yes indeed you can play this above 60Hz, I have my refresh rate set at 100Hz! Anyone who has a Geforce FX 5200 and has issues, Hmmmm I wonder why maybe because the FX Sucks, especially the 5200..... Expand
  78. May 23, 2011
    7
    It may seem strange, but the thing that really stood out about Halo: Combat Evolved to me was the music. It's really, really good. Seriously. Check it out. Other than that, the gameplay is solid and feels tight. You've probably played games like this a hundred times before, but only because Halo did it first. Not as good as some other first person shooters, not even from that time, butIt may seem strange, but the thing that really stood out about Halo: Combat Evolved to me was the music. It's really, really good. Seriously. Check it out. Other than that, the gameplay is solid and feels tight. You've probably played games like this a hundred times before, but only because Halo did it first. Not as good as some other first person shooters, not even from that time, but definitely worth a play, if only because its classic status. Expand
  79. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    I've played the single player multiple times and have enjoyed the game for the most part. It is a classic. It does have shortcomings though which make it a pass for anyone who has it on Xbox. The most fun I had with this game was LAN multiplayer with friends. Don't play public servers.
  80. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    It's like Doom with better graphics, but not as good gameplay!
    The game is awesome in the first few levels but gets very hard at time!
    I strongly recommend!
  81. Jan 11, 2015
    7
    Straight into the action as we try and escape the Pillar of Autumn by killing waves of the Covenant. The graphics do look dated but I still really enjoy this game and it is good to just switch it on and play for a bit. The missions are quite long and can feel repetitive after a while, but checkpoints are really useful, as it would be impossible to complete a level without checkpoints.
    Its
    Straight into the action as we try and escape the Pillar of Autumn by killing waves of the Covenant. The graphics do look dated but I still really enjoy this game and it is good to just switch it on and play for a bit. The missions are quite long and can feel repetitive after a while, but checkpoints are really useful, as it would be impossible to complete a level without checkpoints.
    Its good every once in a while to appreciate the older games. We are on the verge of playing Halo 5: Guardians, but we shouldn't forget the game that started it all
    Expand
  82. Feb 15, 2017
    7
    Oyun başlangıçta beni kendisine çok sıkı bağladıysa da zaman içinde oyundan çok sıkıldığımı hissettim. Bunun birinci nedeni ise neredeyse oyunun çok büyük bir kısmının hep aynı yerde oynanması. Bölüm tasarımları hakkında gerçekten de çok düşünülmemiş. Ayrıca oyunun son bir kaç bölümü o kadar zordu ki hala nasıl bitirdim ben bu oyunu diyorum kendime. Tüm bunların dışında 2003 yapımı birOyun başlangıçta beni kendisine çok sıkı bağladıysa da zaman içinde oyundan çok sıkıldığımı hissettim. Bunun birinci nedeni ise neredeyse oyunun çok büyük bir kısmının hep aynı yerde oynanması. Bölüm tasarımları hakkında gerçekten de çok düşünülmemiş. Ayrıca oyunun son bir kaç bölümü o kadar zordu ki hala nasıl bitirdim ben bu oyunu diyorum kendime. Tüm bunların dışında 2003 yapımı bir oyun için grafikleri, seslendirmeleri ve senaryosu fazla güzel. Expand
  83. RancornGore
    Oct 3, 2003
    6
    So I got Halo and Freedom Fighters this week. First I played FF and was truly stunned by amazing graphics and the fantastic ability to actually command your fellow soldiers into action. That game is a true masterpiece imo! Then I started playing HALO,really high hopes for this one 2, because XBOX version was great and PC graphics could make it even better. But once I started playing it So I got Halo and Freedom Fighters this week. First I played FF and was truly stunned by amazing graphics and the fantastic ability to actually command your fellow soldiers into action. That game is a true masterpiece imo! Then I started playing HALO,really high hopes for this one 2, because XBOX version was great and PC graphics could make it even better. But once I started playing it was like going back in time. Graphics feel really dated and worst of all the framerates would only be appreciated by your grandmother.....It is NOT a bad game, its just that there are so many games today that are so much better, like e.g. Freedom Fighters or Chrome. HALO is most of all a really BAD conversion I think. I would not recommend anybody to encourage such activities by buing this game..... Expand
  84. CarlC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    6
    Good game for playing with your buddies. Did not find it challenging for clans. Not really hard for an FPS, more of a spray n pray kind of deal. No one really makes custom maps.
  85. Keith
    Oct 13, 2003
    6
    I agree with all the comments about this being a VERY choppy game. I dont quite understand what the problem is, but Microsoft needs to get a patch out....QUICK! Other than the horrible frame-rate its a cool game.
  86. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    The game is not really that great. I had enough trouble with the game. Since the frame rate to the problems created by the game. .
  87. Travis
    Oct 9, 2003
    5
    This game has the slowest frame rate of any FPS I've seen. When I went out to test the game before I bought it the game was on an Alienware computer. Even when I was playing it on that it ran choppy. So i said ok maybe its a crappy computer(yea right!), so I'll tried it on mine. Ohhh boy did it suck 3 FPS and thats at the highest I got.
  88. Brian
    Aug 20, 2007
    5
    Simply put, Halo brought nothing to the table. In single player or multi-player. the game has its moments but niether single player nor multi-player required much skill. There was nothing "new" or "revolutionary" about it. It may be fun to play from time to time, but it is by no means a standard-setter.
  89. Lutar
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Average game. Nice graphics, really good plot. However, all the time you are in the same environment and shooting the same enemies which makes the game a bit boring after some time. Plot is the strongest aspect of this game.
  90. JeffR.
    Oct 1, 2003
    5
    A medicore prt of a game that was never as good as it was hyped to be. if halo had not been the only good xbox game for over a year, if it had come out for PC as originally intended, it would never have been slathered in so much praise. this particular port, the final version of which i've been playing for a few days now, is incredibly disappointing - in my opinion the disappointmentA medicore prt of a game that was never as good as it was hyped to be. if halo had not been the only good xbox game for over a year, if it had come out for PC as originally intended, it would never have been slathered in so much praise. this particular port, the final version of which i've been playing for a few days now, is incredibly disappointing - in my opinion the disappointment of the year. it runs terribly even on my fairly good system (amd 2800, 1 gb ram, geforce 4 4800), so badly in fact that its only really playable at 640x480 with medium to low settings. on no available cards is it really capable of shining performance, which is absolutely ridiculous given the obscene amount of time gearbox had to optimize it. there is no excuse for this type of consumer-rape, and i'm appalled at the reviews this game is getting. thumbs down. Expand
  91. FidoMaster
    Nov 8, 2003
    5
    Holy sh.t. Everyone who is bitching about the framerates on their GeForce f....ing TWOS should get a new f...ing computer, preferably one newer than 2001. That goes for you too, Mr. NVIDIA Vanta. The only people who have any right to complain about framerates are the people with actual computers, not silicon excrement. Jeeeeesus.
  92. PatrickS.
    Dec 20, 2003
    5
    Level design was terrible! Did anybody else notice you just went from one area to another that looked exactly the same? The game was kind of short too, I beat it in a day so don't pay $50 for it. The game play was fun, I'm not gonna front, but the indoor levels were worst of all: boring, and the play just couldn't make up for it.
  93. RandallS.
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    An alright game. The graphics are good for it's age and so is the sound. I think the biggest error they made when making the game, is switching from fighting covenant to fighting the flood, which just pits you against hordes of little guys so all you do is spray fire most of the time. I'd much rather the flood was never incorperated in the game and you only fought covenant.
  94. StevenB.
    Oct 9, 2003
    4
    First of all, anyone who rated this game at a 5 or 6 or higher are imbiciles who don't know what a REAL PC FPS game is like with REALISTIC framerates!! Thats right, realistic framerates would be 55-60 MINIMUM for non corrupt online play! Not 15-35, especially on an awsome 2.2G computer with plenty of memory and a Radeon 9800 Pro! The graphics aren't even good. Damnit I'm First of all, anyone who rated this game at a 5 or 6 or higher are imbiciles who don't know what a REAL PC FPS game is like with REALISTIC framerates!! Thats right, realistic framerates would be 55-60 MINIMUM for non corrupt online play! Not 15-35, especially on an awsome 2.2G computer with plenty of memory and a Radeon 9800 Pro! The graphics aren't even good. Damnit I'm pissed! Microsoft, FIX THIS CRAP! Expand
  95. MarcelloC.
    Oct 13, 2003
    4
    This game is really horrible. not only it is way too slow to be acceptable by today standards (i have problems playing it a 800x600 minimum details on a xp1800 with geforce2 400) but the gameplay is simply boring. you get stuck in endless corridors which have no visual difference one from the other, then you have to make your way back. the enemies are often stupid and theirThis game is really horrible. not only it is way too slow to be acceptable by today standards (i have problems playing it a 800x600 minimum details on a xp1800 with geforce2 400) but the gameplay is simply boring. you get stuck in endless corridors which have no visual difference one from the other, then you have to make your way back. the enemies are often stupid and their characterization is almost non-existent (you don't think "die! you ugly b@#*@°% alien!"... it's more like "uh.. now i shoot another bunch of colored polygons". worst FPS i ever played. m Expand
  96. EviLAnGeL
    Sep 27, 2003
    4
    Pfff. Some of you are either quite, quite insane or you haven't bothered to actually play the PC version before you rate the game. First of all you cannot have refresh rate fix installed at the same time as halo so all your opengl games will blind you at 60Hz as long as you have halo installed. Second. You cannot have anti aliasing on with a GeForce 4200 and probably most Nvidia and Pfff. Some of you are either quite, quite insane or you haven't bothered to actually play the PC version before you rate the game. First of all you cannot have refresh rate fix installed at the same time as halo so all your opengl games will blind you at 60Hz as long as you have halo installed. Second. You cannot have anti aliasing on with a GeForce 4200 and probably most Nvidia and maybe even ATI cards. This means that the game will be jaggy and look as smooth as something from 1998. Thirdly. Even WITHOUT anti aliasing the game runs VERY slowly. Even after turning all shadows and specular lights off and most of the other effects. it was STILL slow jerky as hell in fact. Fourthly Bad voice animation and timing in cutscenes makes things even worse. And just a million other crappy things. For instance when most characters talk their lips don't even move. And I don't mean they don't move in sync I mean they DO NOT MOVE. Basically I don't know what the hell is going on over at Microsoft games but if these and other games developers cannot start making good PC versions of XBOX games then just stop it. I don't care if they are easier for you to convert instead of starting from scratch, but I'm not paying good money for your shoddy work. All PC games that have been converted from XBOX should come with a warning or a reduced price tag if we have to expect this shoddiness. Expand
  97. Kholdstareo1
    Sep 3, 2006
    4
    this game isn't deep, the enemy is stupid, the graphics are bad (but good for when it came out, i guess) your freinds are stupid, and the whole game consists of running around shooting aliens. nothing strategic. nothing to nmake you think. just twitchy point-and-click action.
  98. Oct 17, 2010
    4
    It's boring, repetitive, and it's generic. There isn't any thrill in this game, it's just get it, get out, kill things, and mission complete. Quite disappointing.
  99. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    A game most suitable for age 8 to 14. One of the alien bot model looked like a crab and moved like a toddler in diaper. Most of the models in the game are TOYS and TOYS, toys for 5 to 8 y.o. When you ran out of ammo of a specific gun, you need to held the same gun in hand before you can pick up the same dropped gun model by your feet. Max mouse sensitivity is too slow on some Compaq madeA game most suitable for age 8 to 14. One of the alien bot model looked like a crab and moved like a toddler in diaper. Most of the models in the game are TOYS and TOYS, toys for 5 to 8 y.o. When you ran out of ammo of a specific gun, you need to held the same gun in hand before you can pick up the same dropped gun model by your feet. Max mouse sensitivity is too slow on some Compaq made mice. Texture resolution compared to UT2003 is weak, model detail is pathetic. AI skill is average. I can clocked the game with difficulty Heroic without using the rocket launcher or the pistol that has the zoom view. The Warthog armored vehicle are not meant to be driving in some locations but if you know how you can actually drive the Warthog into some building structure's broad corridors and later when backing you way out and leaving the place you can used the mounted gun at the back of the vehicle to take out those harder to kill beasts (not meant to be played that way). Not many games has the projectiles fired from the a small handheld gun that has the lock-on effects of a missile. If you know how (editing game scripts), a game like Tread Marks, all of the game's fired projectiles from all the weapons could have the lock-on effect of a missile, including the fired cannon shell from those tanks. There are a lots of games out there released around 2002 and 2003 that can be a very good replacement for this game Halo, other than paying over priced $ just for a little Halo and Microsoft, I'd rather spent the $ on multiple games like UT2003, Unreal 2 and Tread Marks, and many more. Microsoft (Microft) is wasting their time by making Halo 2 Vista and above only, they kicked the XP users out for some nuts! I tried to copy Halo 2 from one hard disk partition to another, it takes over 30 minutes to finish, and there are about 4 prompts (about between 6 minutes per pop up prompt) that asked me if I'd want to move the read-only file or not, then another prompt that asked me to move a network file or not, AND THEN it's the system file, AND THEN it's a WTF file ... blah blah blah! Why can't Microsoft just ask me from the very start of the file transaction that if I'm a 12y.o-window-user or not, and that I know what I'm doing so just transfer all the files once and for all! I need to wait by my PC for over 30 minutes because there will be pop up prompts now and then telling me that Microsoft hired people that only knows how to feed donkeys like Billidiot Noob Gate$, so it's must be some illness as why everyone should be playing Halo and Halo 2. The up thing about Halo was that it has some flying and land vehicles that you'll see in UT2004, but I don't even play UT2004's vehicles either! Expand
  100. Sep 21, 2016
    4
    Halo. I was dreaming about this game. Someday I am going to buy an Xbox and play this game of games. When I realized I can play Halo on PC, I immediately get the game. I am playing Halo. Download. Click the mouse. And there it is.

    I do not have enough memory. Well, ok, I it is too old to recognize. The game crashes. Ok, I close the Mozzila and it runs smoothly. The videos. And the menu.
    Halo. I was dreaming about this game. Someday I am going to buy an Xbox and play this game of games. When I realized I can play Halo on PC, I immediately get the game. I am playing Halo. Download. Click the mouse. And there it is.

    I do not have enough memory. Well, ok, I it is too old to recognize. The game crashes. Ok, I close the Mozzila and it runs smoothly. The videos. And the menu. Oh my. Actualy not as good as the (Brutal) Doom, which I have been playing lately. Where the music and the feel and sounds prepare you for the slaughter to come. Halo has.... the mouse is way to fast, lets tone it down. I saw a video where it had those vocals and textual recap of the story. You know, what happened on Reach and the lore and situation on the Covenant and Spartans. That was awesome. The vocals really fit the desperation of humans fighting a losing war against the aliens. Not the case of this menu though. It is just menu, who cares

    Profile, Campaing, Heroic, and I am off. The ship that... looks like a beer bottle, the ridicolous glass command center and...oh my, I am such a supersoldier has to be thawed from the ice prison. That is pretty good. Lets fight off the Alien scum. Wait a minute, what kind of Alien scum, what the hell is going on? You know, some introduction to the story that some fan was able to do about 100 times better then one of the most famous developers? Oh, and what about that huge piece of space decoration no one seems to care about. Should I care about it? Noone cares about it. Well, seems like it lacks any importance to the events.

    Not as awesome as I imagined, but it is the gameplay that matter and this is the god damn Halo. I am off to kill some xeno scum. Actualy I do not even have a weapon and have to navige coridors full of aliens to get to the brige where the captain gives me his empty pistol. Wait a second, is this real? Well, it is. But that is all forgotten already, because I finaly get to fight the aliens. The first three koopa "enemies". That are so dumb I can stand right in front of them and it still takes them a minute to kill me. On teh second highes difficulty. I can pass right thrue them without bothering wheter they exist or not. Because that is what shooting them is. A bother. These little **** are so miserable, there is no point in killing them. The big ****, called Elite for some reason, are only slightly better. Probably because it takes about two magazines (120 bullets!) from the pea shooter to kill them. Why is that a fun thing to do, I do not know. Anyway. The tactic is to concentrate fire on the big **** which staggers them and pass the smaller, because they are more dangerous to themself then to me.

    At this moment, the only reason why I keep playing Boro, is because I am still hoping it is going to get better. Worth playing and all. I crash on the ring and told to avoid the patrol. I do not not and wonder why, because it cannot even hit me, not to mention kill me. How the hell did humanity lose to idiots of this magnitude? No matter, I venture forth. Kill few aliens, get to the marines in the strange bulding, head where the arrow points.At least I think the arrow on the pea shooter is there to tell me where to go, because the "radar" is pretty useless. Walk into some kind of tunels and then realize I somehow skipped the part of the game where I fight off few drop ships and then ride the Warhog or what. So I cannot continue, because there is a big hole in the ground. Reload. This time I do kill every alien and wander the building untill the game decides to continue. And experience the classical idiot vehicle controls. But I ride. And it is as good as the combat. Even running the scum over is not satisfying.

    The best moment is when I ride the Hog into an abyss. That was fun. Then I quit the game, because I do not see any reason why I should continue. It might be because I play the best FPS of all times, the Brutal Doom, but Boro is simply incomparable to masterpieces like Max PAine, Mafia, Modern Warfare 1 or even Medal of Honour and is severely lacking in every direction. It is not entirely great to play as a character who does not even reassure a soldier he is not going to day while I am breathing or similiar American pathos. Well, they all died so I guess Chief was correct, still, it is not as awesome. Gameplay is ridicolous, guns are joke, there isnt any story worth of mentioning. Why play this game?

    So the only score the game is going to get is it runs at all and the art direction. I do not care about graphics, level design, framerate or any of that silly things, but when an enemy is not even worth shooting, I consider that a bad game.

    The only explanation I have is it is a game for children, but in that case I did not get the M rating.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. The Xbox is all about high resolution graphics. The PC version outdoes the original with better graphics with hardly any loading time. The models are fairly good but the enormous amount of activity that occurs on-screen makes the graphics that much better.
  2. Surprisingly taxing even on very fast PCs with tons of RAM and the latest video cards. Halo for the PC also loses the original version's much-vaunted cooperative play mode. But in spite of all that, and in spite of the very high standards for first-person shooters on the PC, Halo is still an incredible action game. It's a true classic.
  3. A decent storyline, lots of NPC interaction, and graphics that you have to see to believe. Anyway, if you are even remotely a fan of FPS games, this is an absolute must have, and one hell of a ride.