User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 111
  2. Negative: 35 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2014
    1
    just milking the cash cow called Halo Just an average at best game to take your money STOP MAKING HALO GAMES IF YOU NEED MONEY MAKE A NEW GAME OR RERELEASE HALO 1-3 ON PC
  2. Dec 10, 2015
    4
    Halo: Spartan Assault attempts to profit off the name of the well-established Halo franchise but is ultimately a tepid, bland, and thoroughly unsurprising affair. The mobile trappings are still incredibly blatant even when transposed to a different platform, but what's most insulting is that the developers didn't even feel the need to switch anything up. The format (top-down shooter) isHalo: Spartan Assault attempts to profit off the name of the well-established Halo franchise but is ultimately a tepid, bland, and thoroughly unsurprising affair. The mobile trappings are still incredibly blatant even when transposed to a different platform, but what's most insulting is that the developers didn't even feel the need to switch anything up. The format (top-down shooter) is completely banal, the story is half-assed at best, and for some reason the worthless, nigh on insulting microtransactions have been carried over from mobile as well. On an overall scale, Spartan Assault would have amounted to nothing had it not been for the Halo branding; as is, it's still garbage. This is one that should've stayed on tablet. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2015
    2
    No co-op of any form on PC, which turns this from a mediocre top down shooter, into a mediocre top down shooter I can't even play with my friends. Why this feature got removed I have no idea.
  4. May 12, 2014
    3
    i just buyed because it was cheap and i had 5$ in the wallet to spare, i loved halo games, i played all the fps ones, but this one feels unfinished, like playing a beta, NO COOP in pc??? damm, no graphic options??? no mappeable buttons??? i played both with keyboard and with xbox 360 controller and it feeled weird and clumsi, added the lack of options it becomes into a problem that youi just buyed because it was cheap and i had 5$ in the wallet to spare, i loved halo games, i played all the fps ones, but this one feels unfinished, like playing a beta, NO COOP in pc??? damm, no graphic options??? no mappeable buttons??? i played both with keyboard and with xbox 360 controller and it feeled weird and clumsi, added the lack of options it becomes into a problem that you have no other option to get used to, microsoft can do it better with and update and more options, at the moment it just feels like a beta game.

    PS: you cannot adjust the distance of the camera, eyes hurt after a while.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    It’s almost absurdly simple. The thing I’ve always liked about twin-stick shooters is a sense of escalating chaos - the idea that you’re only just keeping a lid on waves of baddies. Spartan Assault never manages this: there just aren’t ever enough enemies on screen, nor do they ever feel particularly dangerous.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    70
    Halo Spartan Assault closes a hole in the games for Windows Mobile offer, remaining a forgettable title on PC.
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    58
    A smart top-down reimagining of the Halo experience, let down by mobile game monetization. [Nov 2013, p.66]