Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only for Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8, "Halo: Spartan Assault" is a new top-down action shooter that brings a "Halo" video game to touch-based devices for the first time in franchise history. Developed by 343 Industries in conjunction with Vanguard Games, "Halo: Spartan Assault" provides an accessible, pick-up-and-play experience for fans and newcomers alike.

    Set between the events of "Halo 3" and "Halo 4," "Halo: Spartan Assault" is a new chapter of the award-winning "Halo" universe that explores the first missions of the Spartan Ops program and dives deeper into the backstory of Human-Covenant wars. Play through the eyes of either Commander Sarah Palmer or Spartan Davis stationed aboard the UNSC Infinity as they fight never-before-seen battles against Covenant forces.

    With rich storytelling, intuitive controls, and best-in-class action, audio and graphics, "Halo: Spartan Assault" brings the epic scale and action of the "Halo" universe to mobile devices through unrivaled action and intensity.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    83
    The emotions Halo inspires, like panic from hearing your shield beep as enemies overcome you or the explosive joy you feel from throwing a well-placed grenade, are all on display here. Spartan Assault is a true Halo game, even if the series’ signature scope and size are scaled down.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    77
    Although smaller aspects such as in-app rip or missing multiplayer mode nerves, Spartan Assault is a worthy Halo offshoot that brings the big name no shame.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    75
    Halo: Spartan Assault translates the Halo-franchise to a top-down mobile shooter successfully. The (touch sensitive) controls can be too complex and the game could lean less on micro transactions, but other than that Spartan Assault is the mobile game that Windows (Phone) 8 sorely missed.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Vanguard's created a decent blaster which offers a couple of moments of genuine bullet-dodging glory: Halo's touch-screen debut is good-looking, colourful, and fun.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    70
    It's by no means Windows 8's killer app, but provided you have access to a Windows 8 device, you could do much worse than Spartan Assault.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    67
    Played with a mouse and keyboard Spartan Assault becomes a much more enjoyable experience, better able to recreate classic moments of Halo brilliance, but it’s still limited by hit-and-miss mission design and fiction that takes the urgency out of this fight for survival.
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    It’s almost absurdly simple. The thing I’ve always liked about twin-stick shooters is a sense of escalating chaos - the idea that you’re only just keeping a lid on waves of baddies. Spartan Assault never manages this: there just aren’t ever enough enemies on screen, nor do they ever feel particularly dangerous.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Halo: Spartan Assault is indeed a good game, but I'm disappointed Microsoft didn't put other Halo games like Reach, 3, 3 ODST, and more for the PC. Halo and Halo 2 PC did good. This is better than Halo Wars... because instead of controlling your whole army, you're controlling JUST one person. But Spartan Assault's campaign makes no sense and isn't apart of the official Halo series just a minigame kinda.

    Overall: Good, could have been better. Microsoft, port other Halo games for PC.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    I bought this game from Steam when it was on sale and I really like it actually, kept me entertained quite a while. The scoring system works and keeps you trying to best the previous score and keeps you involved. There was only one level that I got little frustrated with but all in all not a big minus. This game is however very small but does not lack replay value so it works as a big plus here. I haven’t played this on any other platform than PC so keep that in mind. I think this is one of those games that I will play again and again whenever I have time to spare. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Please note that this review is for the PC version.

    The game's theme and visuals are fantastic and what you would expect out of 343
    Industries. At the price of $6.99, it is a good way to waste a little time (and if you're a major Halo fan like me, yet another fix of knowledge into the Halo universe).
    All things considered, I only have three minor problems with it.
    1. The in-game currency to purchase weapons and upgrades is kind of sad, but I expected no less from Microsoft.
    2. The game crashes from time to time. Maybe every couple of hours it will just close without saving progress. This is only a minor inconvenience because there's usually a maximum of five minutes between each save.
    3. If you are someone looking for Xbox LIVE achievement points, this game will disappoint you. It has a meager 200 gamerscore, and the achievements themselves are frustrating to the point you think to yourself "to hell with it, I didn't need those damn 10 points anyway". This has a lot to do with the inability to map your own controls; which are kind of awkward.

    Overall I feel a distinct lack of content, and as much as a Halo fan-boy such as myself would love to slap a 10 on it and move on, this is metacritic and people come here for real reviews. If this game would have some future DLC (preferable without additional cost) and maybe some better integration with other Halo games (Spartan Assault has an XP bonus in Halo 4, but as someone who reached max rank in just over a month, that is useless to me).

    Final verdict: Worth the buy for a Halo fan, someone with $7 to dish for fun, or someone incredibly bored. Under any other circumstances, this game is probably not going to impress you.
    Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Pros: Beautiful Graphics Great Level/Character Design Dual Wielding Quick yet still fun levels Good Story Line Cons: Difficulty Controlling Vehicles
    Limited Weapons
    Some levels are so easy I could do it without my eyes open, seriously.

    Overall: This game is pretty good, great way to kill about 4 hours, it is almost worth the amount of money.
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    So far I'm not too impressed with this game.

    There are some positives to this game, visually it is a good looking game and I love the
    "twin-stick" shooter twist on the Halo universe. Which leads me to the negatives of this game, the "twin-stick" style is on the touchscreen versions of this game. The PC version is stuck with using a mouse and keyboard. Which makes the gameplay feel clunky and disorganized, especially when gameplay gets frantic. Why 343 didn't add support for the 360 Controller I do not know, the gameplay would be be a lot more smoother and fluid if they had do this. It's something I am hoping comes in a very near update.

    Visually: Thumbs Up
    Controls: Thumb Down, Fart noise

    Now on to gameplay:
    The level design is ok, however the levels are too short and it's way to easy to clear the levels. Loadouts are a joke, you are limited to having either the Assault Rifle or Magnum. You can change either one out for a Sniper Rifle for a set amount of XP which you earn as you play. You can also have the Spartan Laser or a Rocket Launcher for 30CR which is only available through micro transactions. Something that isn't needed and feels like a way to milk money out of the players. I am only three missions into the game so I can't say if the loadouts change throughout the game as you get to new areas, so I can't say for sure. What about the Needler or Plasma Pistol? You do have the option to turn on Skulls for a XP bonus, which would be ok if the "Free" weapon was something other than the Sniper Rifle.

    Gameplay: Thumb Down, Fart Noise

    If 343 can put out an update and balance some things out to Loadouts and Difficulty that would be great, and add Controller support. Something that should have been there from the start.
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    6
    Last Played: Sep 2014 (Xbox Controller)

    PROS: + Shooting… + Variety of missions + Mission length is just right

    CONS: - Sometimes hard to
    hit enemies – Auto aim can mess you up – Other UNSC guys supposed to help?

    REVIEW: Let’s be honest: you don’t buy a top down shooter made for a tablet but ported to PC and expect great things. Halo: Spartan Assault more than delivers on what you’d expect (though this doesn’t make it a great game by any stretch of the imagination). You get top-down bullety goodness and a nice variety of short (1-5 min) missions (5 missions per block and six blocks). I never really tried this game with a keyboard and mouse, but with a controller sometimes things can be hard to hit and I can’t even imagine trying to play this with a touch device. There is an auto-aim to help you peg the aliens, though I never did quite figure out when it kicks in, and sometimes I emptied the last of my rounds into the air, while other times a grenade I meant for a hard target got wasted on a stupid, squishy enemy. My last gripe is the other dudes, who occasionally fire their weapons, but mostly just seem to distract the baddies so you can waste ‘em. Was this game worth the $5 price tag? Iffy for me, but I think the US$1.69 I got it for on Steam sale was worth it. WIll I ever play it again now that I'm done? ...maybe
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    1
    just milking the cash cow called Halo Just an average at best game to take your money STOP MAKING HALO GAMES IF YOU NEED MONEY MAKE A NEW GAME OR RERELEASE HALO 1-3 ON PC Expand

See all 15 User Reviews