Hammerwatch PC

Hammerwatch Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A hack and slash action adventure, set in a fantasy pixel art environment. Play solo or co-op in this adventure from bottom to top of Castle Hammerwatch. Kill hordes of enemies with varied looks and features through four unique environments with traps, hidden secrets and puzzles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Games Master UK
    Sep 18, 2013
    77
    Exploring dungeons, gathering loot and puzzling your way through the provided arenas is banter baiting fun, however. [Nov 2013, p.75]
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    75
    Hammerwatch is good fun if you can looks past its armor chinks, and especially if you dig the kind of old school challenges it dishes out on the later levels.
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    The deciding factor for Hammerwatch depends on if you’re planning on playing it cooperatively. If you've got a buddy or two who would play through the game with you and you enjoy some mindless hacking and/or slashing, then it will not disappoint.
  4. PC Gamer UK
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    It's great to revisit the dungeon crawler genre's crude beginnings, but don't go alone. [Dec 2013, p.89]
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    There's precious little depth lurking in Hammerwatch, then, but if you've got a few friends handy or are willing to wait around online for the worryingly small community to make itself known, this is genuine old-fashioned skeleton-bashing with a gloriously tidal approach to chucking in the enemies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    A blast from the past!

    This game has kept me in front of the screen for far too long. I don't understand the negative reviews; it's obvious
    A blast from the past!

    This game has kept me in front of the screen for far too long. I don't understand the negative reviews; it's obvious what kind of game this is, even before you buy it an old school, pixelated action RPG. The controls are perfect in my eyes, WASD to run and arrow keys to do everything else.

    Now I've never played Gauntlet, nor have I played any other game that is even remotely close to this, all I know is that this was BOUNDS of fun. There's never a dull moment. It's an intense, unforgiving hack and slash jewel. Finding secret areas in a game has never felt so rewarding (keep your eyes open!).

    The game is challenging, especially while you get used to it. Unless you turn on 'crutches' like infinite lives, you only have a set amount of extra lives before it's game over. This just makes it that much more rewarding to finally beat that boss and progress into the next level.

    Complex level design, exhilarating puzzles, fast-paced action, online co-op (personally only played single-player) and hours of focus makes this one a must-own in my book, especially considering the cheap price tag.

    I'm sitting here trying to think of cons, to create a more balanced review, but I'm honestly struggling to find any. I'll let other users take care of that part, it seems like that is something people like to do. I'm going to play some more.
    Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    It's hard, and it's fun. Sometimes it makes you mad, but I think that's not a bad quality in a game at all. It's frustrating, but it certainlyIt's hard, and it's fun. Sometimes it makes you mad, but I think that's not a bad quality in a game at all. It's frustrating, but it certainly doesn't end up feeling any more monotonous than any game it resembles. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    There are quite a few games that are valued not for their modern graphics or epic storyline, but purely for their gameplay. Hammerwatch is oneThere are quite a few games that are valued not for their modern graphics or epic storyline, but purely for their gameplay. Hammerwatch is one of them. It's gameplay is very similar to Mage Gauntlet's on iOS, so if you like that game, grab Hammerwatch without even thinking.

    The fighting mechanics in the game can be described as something between those of Crimsonland and Rogue Legacy. Hammerwatch's difficulty is adequately challenging and somewhat similar to aforementioned games, but can still be configured to make the game easier or even harder.

    Personally, I like the game a lot. Tomorrow is a working day and I should have been in bed for a couple of hours now, but I keep playing. This game deserves 10 points, but I'll give it 9 solely because of Mage gauntlet, which is - just a bit - but better.
    Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    The game is a dungeon crawler with more or less big maps.
    It shines on coop specially if each player chooses a different class and there is
    The game is a dungeon crawler with more or less big maps.
    It shines on coop specially if each player chooses a different class and there is workteam
    I've played a good amount of hours solo and with the wife, and it's much more fun on coop.
    Also, there is a big difference (IMO) trying to play on keyb/mouse and with a gamepad
    Gamepad works much better then keyb/mouse
    The statistics part of the game needs to be overhauled, since it's pointless ATM
    The local coop option, I think the saving does not work as it should
    Other than that, the game is fun
    Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2016
    7
    A really fun multiplayer game.

    Graphically lofi but excellent at what it does. Punishingly difficult with the default settings unless
    A really fun multiplayer game.

    Graphically lofi but excellent at what it does.

    Punishingly difficult with the default settings unless you have the time/skill to put into it.

    Playing with a novice gamer we eventually played it with some cheat modes on just to see it all, and it was still great fun. Would like to play it again properly.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    The game is fairly good. It has that retro style and even though it seems simple, playing well takes some practice. A lot of stuff is hidden,The game is fairly good. It has that retro style and even though it seems simple, playing well takes some practice. A lot of stuff is hidden, so you have to pay attention to find nice things
    Playing alone is ok, but with more people it gets a lot better. So if you plan to buy this game, get some friends to buy the 4-pack
    Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    1
    The game is rather good itself despite old-looking graphics, but thx to constant save crashes it is unplayable in CO-OP. So for me itThe game is rather good itself despite old-looking graphics, but thx to constant save crashes it is unplayable in CO-OP. So for me it basically ended up in a waste of money, because I wanted to play with my friends. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews