• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hard Reset is a cyberpunk FPS by Flying Wild Hog.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    A challenging, rewarding and sublime homage to the early days of the first-person shooter - with a few modern twists. [Dec 2011, p.58]
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    80
    A few technical hiccups here and there, a super-short campaign, and an almost nonexistent story weren't enough to hinder my enjoyment of Hard Reset.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    80
    Hard Reset is a something special, a budget priced game that brings together familiar shooting mechanics with aspects of modern shooters. Other games have tried to create this interesting balance but few have succeeded the way Hard Reset does. It's a great experience for anyone looking for a fun, exciting, and different take on a saturated genre.
  4. Sep 14, 2011
    75
    Hard Reset is a very decent debut - a game that reminds (in a very nice way) all PC gamers of the somewhat forgotten times of simple but exciting shooters. It's very pretty, very explosive and very short. But still it's worth the money the developers want for it and, perhaps, with sufficient sales they will be able do create a true bestseller in the future?
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    70
    Shooters like Serious Sam and Painkiller are hard to come by these days. Yes, Hard Reset is full of plot holes, the ending is too silly even for a pulp paperback novel, and there is no blood and flesh – only gear-wheels and oil. But even will all of this, Hard Reset is fun enough if you want to just blow off some steam.
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    70
    Overall, this is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do: Be an oldschool manshoot, but with modern elements in the mix that make it more enjoyable, and a suitably bonkers Cyberpunk plot (albeit without any real hacking... ah, well, can't have everything).
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    You can see things worth admiring here. The promise of sandbox combat emerging from the interplay between environment and gun-modes never comes good, instead devolving into a repetitive, gruelling bedlam - but that promise alone is more than many shooters offer. To make anything of it, however, Hard Reset would need to go right back to the drawing board.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 102
  2. Negative: 18 out of 102
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Inccredible fun and great looking. A return to form for fast-paced PC shooters. Buy it so we can get more like this, developers like FlyingInccredible fun and great looking. A return to form for fast-paced PC shooters. Buy it so we can get more like this, developers like Flying Wild Hog are all too rare these days. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This is quite easily the greatest FPS I have ever played.. It's also by and large the best looking game you will see. It puts any other AAAThis is quite easily the greatest FPS I have ever played.. It's also by and large the best looking game you will see. It puts any other AAA FPS to shame because of the fact that it is made exclusively with PC technology in mind.. It is not created to play well on crappy antiquated console technology that is 5 years behind the PC. The mechanics and gameplay harken back to classic fast paced, actioned packed FPS games of the past when the industry wasn't coddling the masses. If you want a challenge, if you want something beautiful and if you want gameplay like you've never experienced before this is your game. Graphics: 10/10
    Ga
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    When they said, that this game is going to be like old-school fps, I thought it's some cheap buzz, but they succeed. It's fun, and fast-pacedWhen they said, that this game is going to be like old-school fps, I thought it's some cheap buzz, but they succeed. It's fun, and fast-paced game. There is TEN guns, with few types of ammo. Campaign is rather short, about 7h, but it's really enjoyable.
    And the best in this game is really good graphics, I hope more developers make pc exclusives, because playing some horrible looking games on FHD just burn my eyes.
    Sound effects should be tweaked, but if don't mind few glitches it's ok.
    Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    (Review En Español) qué puedo decir?.Primero que nada, que el Unreal Engine 3 hace que el juego se vea estúpidamente bien y que las armas se(Review En Español) qué puedo decir?.Primero que nada, que el Unreal Engine 3 hace que el juego se vea estúpidamente bien y que las armas se sienten ponchudas y poderosas (Como curiosamente ocurre con otros juegos hechos con este motor), como en la vieja escuela, donde incluso el arma más debil se siente cabrona. Hard reset es un shooter old-school que vale cada centavo invertido en el. Eso si, debes de estar consciente de que es lo que estás comprando, ya que este no es un shooter que trata de mostrar una historia épica y situaciones pendejas, sino uno donde todo se resuelve como debe de ser, a tiros con múltiples explosiones. Pero de todos modos, ¿qué importa la historia cuando puedes pegar de tiros a todo lo que se mueva? Esto es algo así como la carta de presentación del juego, y lo demuestra MUY bien. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    7
    Very nice graphics. However, the graphics do not set the atmosphere: no enemy contrast, bad level design, impossible Normal mode - i couldVery nice graphics. However, the graphics do not set the atmosphere: no enemy contrast, bad level design, impossible Normal mode - i could not pass through a mission in normal mode, the difficulty is really unbalanced. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    Hard Reset is a pretty good game. You had better be ready for a game that does tax your graphics card. The graphics are great, and the sound.Hard Reset is a pretty good game. You had better be ready for a game that does tax your graphics card. The graphics are great, and the sound. The game is a pretty good fps, although I would wait until it goes down in price for a quick grab from Steam. It is a relatively "dark" themed story, which seems to be the norm? these days? I have to be honest and say that I have seen much better fps's out there, so just wait for a sale and you won't be disillusioned. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    Boring repetitive beta full of bugs. This is not old-school, it is just an unfinished beta. It is extremely short: not the 4 hours I have readBoring repetitive beta full of bugs. This is not old-school, it is just an unfinished beta. It is extremely short: not the 4 hours I have read elsewhere, but just 4 minutes. The rest of the 4 hours are infinite repetitions of the same boring unfinished graphics demo. Expand

See all 102 User Reviews