Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time gamers will play as friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger as well as Harry Potter, switching between characters and utilizing their key attributes and skills to resolve challenges and overcome enemies. The three friends will need to combine their strengths and master aFor the first time gamers will play as friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger as well as Harry Potter, switching between characters and utilizing their key attributes and skills to resolve challenges and overcome enemies. The three friends will need to combine their strengths and master a variety of new spells as they face Harry's most terrifying opponents yet: the escaped convict Sirius Black and the Dementors, the sinister guards of Azkaban prison. From the opening scene on the Hogwarts Express to the climatic finale on the shore of the great lake at Hogwarts, the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban videogame will immerse players in the magical world of Harry Potter. Players will unravel the mystery surrounding Sirius Black and his escape from the infamous wizard prison Azkaban, as they take part in the most exciting and challenging Harry Potter videogame adventure yet. Gamers will encounter a host of new characters and creatures, engage in a variety of sub-quests, fly on a Hippogriff, reveal the secrets of the Marauder's Map, and take on their friends in multiple two-player challenges. [Electroinc Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It is easy enough for a kid to master and offers enough depth for adults to enjoy.
  2. Assorted reference devices, including the handy Marauder’s Map as well as shields and character cards to collect, add a little more depth to the action. The game remains faithful to the spirit of the book, but it is perhaps a little too linear and predictable.
  3. Adds real depth to familiar characters and locations. Gamers not used to the Hogwarts world may still be impressed by the novel approach to the gameplay, the magical graphics and the well-balanced learning curve.
  4. Fans of the books and films will enjoy the chance to explore the Hogwarts grounds and do things like ride Buckbeak the hippogriff and collect all of the Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans, but there's not a lot in this game to appeal to your average Muggle.
  5. Harry’s third PC outing falls short with simplistic easy gameplay and won’t hold fans’ attention for too long.
  6. For casual gamers and casual Harry Potter fans - diehards may be let down. [Nov 2004, p.82]
  7. With very little effort Harry Potter the Prisoner of Azkaban can be finished in a single evening which indeed stands out as a serious drawback. Once you complete it, chances are slim that you'll want to try the whole thing again.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. MeganM.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    This game was wicked!Totally brilliant! I'm actually on the last day right now... i dont want the game to end! so much fun though! I This game was wicked!Totally brilliant! I'm actually on the last day right now... i dont want the game to end! so much fun though! I still need to find 4 dragon wizard cards before i find them all! Expand
  2. JohnS.
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    Totally brilliant!!! If you have enjoyed playong the other two games get this one now!!!!!
  3. F.G.
    May 19, 2004
    9
    I loved it! I got it out early, because my friend was a key programmer, and i beat it in the first week!
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    These games just keep getting better and better. There was a solid graphics overhaul from the second gme which drastically improved the game.These games just keep getting better and better. There was a solid graphics overhaul from the second gme which drastically improved the game. I felt that this game was a little bit too short, but it was very fun. It is probably the nicest looking of the three, but the game itself is too short. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it is a decent and enjoyable game, it simply is too short. When I was a kid playing the game it took me only a few (did not have many other games I played, so I replayed many games) times through to get every single collectible besides the Harry Potter card due to my complete ignorance of the fact it was free in the shop. EA attempted to throw in a gimmick of controlling the entire trio (unless they got separated for plot related reasons) but it was poorly done. Each of the characters gained a special spell that would aid them, and only them but these were only reachable in the challenge rooms, or the story which is a shame, because each of them are pretty cool. Harry gets an ice spell for fighting salamanders and skiing down slopes and collecting cards and other items along the way. Ron gets a long range pull spell which can be used as a grappling hook to pull stuff that's far away, and swing like a monkey. Hermione's spell is the most boring. It allows you to turn statues of bunnies, and dragons alive. While they are under your control, you are free of danger (unless you forgot to kill an enemy before you decided to change the statue you moron) which pulls away from the excitement of the game. For the most part, they are used for easy puzzles, except for a race during the final exam. Unfortunately, the only other use of your friends is to pull a triple spell which just takes a little extra time to pull off. The card collecting has not been improved in the slightest, if you get all of the cards you get to have a go in the reward room, which is just a sh*ton of beans, pumpkins, and cauldrons to collect (the in-game money) while you are under a time limit. This would be a good idea, but by the time you have all of the cards there isn't really anything for you to spend it on. They do let you in the reward room for completing other challenges, but the cash boost isn't needed anyway. The story is solid, pulls away from the movie and books from time to time, but that gives freedom to the writers of the game. The sound quality is good, and the music score is nearly (if not) identical to the movie. The puzzles are easy and do not require much thought at all. This is forgivable, for it was made for kids. There are also little mini-games which you can play throughout the game. These games can be a little challenging, but are just not that much fun. Two of which are just combat with a few tweaks, and the other one is riding Buck Beak against a time limit. To me, it seems like a rushed game, which could have been so much better if it was just a little harder, and longer. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    6
    A decent game, but a disappointment compared to its predecessors. (and unfortunately, that downward trend would continue with the series inA decent game, but a disappointment compared to its predecessors. (and unfortunately, that downward trend would continue with the series in the future.) Incredibly short- a few hours should do the trick- and not challenging in the least. Worthwhile if you're a fan, but don't expect too much. Expand
  7. eagameseagames
    Sep 15, 2004
    1
    I had problems getting my microsoft joystick to work with this game (on PC). So I contacted eagames help. They told me that it is simply notI had problems getting my microsoft joystick to work with this game (on PC). So I contacted eagames help. They told me that it is simply not compatable with game controllers on PCs. A bit pathetic I think. Particularly after the problems before with XP incompatability with Philosopher's Stone and given the clear profits to be made with the Harry Potter games franchise, I think it's about time EAgames got their act together. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews