Harvester Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You wake up one morning to a town full of strangers and inexplicable sights. You share your home with your not so perfect family and your supposed fiance lives next door. The you are plunged into a nightmare. Your fiancee is missing and you find a hideous bloody skull and spinal chordYou wake up one morning to a town full of strangers and inexplicable sights. You share your home with your not so perfect family and your supposed fiance lives next door. The you are plunged into a nightmare. Your fiancee is missing and you find a hideous bloody skull and spinal chord drapped across her bed! Is it hers? What is going on? The only clue left behind is an engraved MOON", a mysterious organisation that controls the town in ways you don't (or can't) understand. Is the order behind this gruesome execution? What invitation to enter, "THE ORDER OF THE HARVEST are their motives? One thing is certain. You're going to get to the bottom of this killing or die trying. [Merit] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Harvester really does combine slick packaging, with true depth of gameplay and innovation. For those with a liking for the strange, unusual and downright revolting, or just a taste for great adventure games, I can''t hesitate to recommend it.
  2. Definitely not for the squeamish. [Dec 1996, p.82]
  3. There's nothing actually revolutionary going on in Harvester, but it's a creepy game featuring tried-and-true adventure mechanics with entertaining twists and some truly disturbing full-motion video segments that will follow you to bed and snuggle up nice and cozy in your dreams.
  4. A dated adventure with sub-standard full-motion video, puzzles that had been used numerous times, trivial item collection and drab conversations with bizarre characters. Potential oozed from the box, but was never achieved.
  5. The designers may have thought they were making some sort of social statement, but the intended point is lost in all the sound and fury of oozing eyeballs and babies being hacked apart. It'll play well with the teens, because they'll think it's edgy and funny (missing the parody and irony, assuming they're actually there), but adults will no doubt find it stupid.
  6. The game has little merit, as either an adventure or a story. The premise is ludicrous, the graphics are mostly pedestrian, the voice-overs distinctly amateurish, the puzzles unimaginative, and the ending quite unsatisfying.
  7. There was clearly some black humour and some quirky characterisations, and some of the more confronting material is clearly included for shock value. It all, however, gets lost in the wash.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    godlike game I love every feature of it and i hope it remains in the history of gaming forever. its so goodgodlike game I love every feature of it and i hope it remains in the history of gaming forever. its so good .................................. Expand
  2. MartinD.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Super! whatta game! everything rules - especialy GORE GALORE he he he he he Harvester ;)
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Harvester is absolutely brilliant. Whoever gives this game a bad review simply doesn't understand what it is about. Written almost 20 yearsHarvester is absolutely brilliant. Whoever gives this game a bad review simply doesn't understand what it is about. Written almost 20 years ago, it satirizes movie and video game tropes in ways that modern satires only wish they could. It's bizarre how everyone seems to be so fixated on the gore aspect, while ignoring the fact that the game cleverly utilizes it as a means to portray the subtle violence of society itself. Child abuse, incest, spousal abuse, rape, murder, adultery, racism, homophobia, corporal punishment, capital punishment, religious fundamentalism, gun culture, cannibalism, nationalism, these are all themes you come across from the very start of the game. If Harvester had been released today, it would have been deemed a masterpiece. Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Best Game! Gore! Blood! Story! This game is freakin' good even in 2014! I recomend you play this game!
    The Story is fantastic! Brilliant Game
    Best Game! Gore! Blood! Story! This game is freakin' good even in 2014! I recomend you play this game!
    The Story is fantastic! Brilliant Game for those who like horror games!
    Expand
  5. Jet$tream
    May 30, 2004
    10
    How can anyone say anything bad about this game,if you have played it you will know that the graphics are great for its time plus the movie How can anyone say anything bad about this game,if you have played it you will know that the graphics are great for its time plus the movie sequences are sick as hell reminds me of the old 80's games like Night Trap on the mega cd Yet another game that was banned and for what ....i mean think about it the games nowadays are alot more violent and disturbing and yet,Games like harvester night trap ect got banned for violence....so in other words so should every other game today,I really want the old classic games to come back Night Trap is so 80's its like the freddy Kruger films but your acting as part of it ...Anyways i definitely give this game a 10 its more of a game that will appeal to the older generation as it will definitely scare the hell outta the kids lol.ive played everygame out there you can name and Harvester will not be beat the new games nowadays are great yea we have the graphics sound gameplay ...But Harvester is the only game that would scare you..its very sick and twisted and thats me all over lol,one more thing there is a certain issue with later systems than windows 95 even if you install it from Dos it will always be the same outcome Either you install it and get to the (New Game) and it asks you to insert CD1..Which is already inserted..Or the fact that when you install it from dos it simply says you do not have enough pysical memmory Even tho you have way over the limit..A simple bug Yet the problem is im not aware of a patch for this game as it was banned,you can get it working usualy by editing the Config.ini For windows version,Or for the Dos version i reccomend editing the install log and removing Text from the 3rd line downwards until it says nothing about pysical memmory being not enough,i spent 5 hours trying to get this game working and when i did i loved every minute of it,Shame about the programming but Nothing is perfect thats life. Expand
  6. MillerG
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever. I still attempt to play but my computer is to fast and the cds are all scratched up and it doesnt run properly. IOne of the best games ever. I still attempt to play but my computer is to fast and the cds are all scratched up and it doesnt run properly. I have a suggestion though think about today and this game with the Nintendo ds touch screen would be perfect I would pay good money to see that happen for all you homebrewers out there! Collapse
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    este juego es impresionante, seguramente no le guste a mucha gente, mas bien va dirigido a un publico especifico tiene unos dialogos al maseste juego es impresionante, seguramente no le guste a mucha gente, mas bien va dirigido a un publico especifico tiene unos dialogos al mas puro estilo fallout con sus consecuencias sociales, osea puedes caerle bien o no a una persona segun lo que le digas.
    historia: 8,5/10 puede que lo sobrevalore un poco pero esta historia en su tiempo fue taaaaaan original (y lo sigue siendo) que me encanta, tiene un punto que te deja todo el juego enganchado. resumiendo: (sin spoilers) te despiertas amnesico perdido en un mundo raro de "pelotas" en el que la gente esta como el protagonista de la naranja mecanica (al principio de la pelicula) y vas descubriendo a su gente,sus costumbres y lo que hacen.... mejor no os cuento mas y lo descubriis vosotros.
    graficos: 7/10 este juego utiliza los graficos que estaban a la moda en su epoca al estilo mortal kombat (los personajes son actores)
    innovacion: 10/10 donde vas a encontrar un juego como este en otro sitio
    sonido: 6,5/10 bueno, el juego viene a españa doblado al castellano de españa no latino pero con algunas irregularidades. los efectos son muy normalitos tirando para serie de dibujos animados
    diversion: 7,1/10 puede y seguramente te vas a quedar atascado en mas de una situacion y vayas a buscar un tutorial en youtube, que te va a costar porque el juego ahora pasa MUY desapercibido y no encuentres a nadie subiendolo, pero lo demas, es dificil porque das un paso en falso y BUM la palmas
    conclusion: harvester es un juego raro, raro, raro pero mola mucho viene doblado al castellano pero con una coordinacion labios/voz muy mala y alguna actuacion no es muy buena.
    muchas gracias por haber leido este analisis :)
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews