Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hawken is a multiplayer mech combat game. The focus is on creating an intense and enjoyable battle experience that captures the feeling of piloting a heavy war machine while keeping the action fast-paced and strategic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 80
    Old-school shooter is sharp and with its perfect visuals is also additive and deadly. [Jan 2013]
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    79
    They've nailed the sensation of stomping around in a giant machine, but the F2P model needs an oil change.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    If you're a fan of battling bots, Hawken is definitely worth checking out, and you should certainly have some free, fleeting fun with it right off the bat. But as the game lumbers towards an official release, I really hope they dial down the mechanized money magnets.
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    Hawken shows that piloting a mech doesn't have to be a complex task, and it gets players straight into the action. [Aug 2013, p.92]
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Very ambitious, but we’d urge them to concentrate on the game; with poor matchmaking, few maps, overly simple game modes and a limited free game, players might not stick around. And that would be a shame.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    64
    It's a fun diversion, to be sure, but with its less-than-extensive customization options, absurd reliance on grinding to incentivize microtransactions, and limited variation in actual gameplay, it probably isn't worth a monetary investment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 96
  2. Negative: 19 out of 96
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Il gioco metita ...e parecchio! Ottimi combattimenti in mappe ben disegnate, una bella grafica e modalità di gioco variegate. Oltre al gioco in se cio che mi ha stupito è stato il vedere così tanta qualità in un gioco free to play e lo store interno, per nulla invasivo e del tutto evitabile per chi non è intenzionato a spendere, consente si sbloccare in anticipo l'equipaggiamento più avanzato (tutte cose sbloccabili anche solo giocando, non c'è nulla di esclusivo) e personalizzare l'aspetto (e ribadisco "aspetto", è solo una questione estetica) del proprio mech ...questo si, la personalizzazione ESTETICA del mech è solo per chi vuole spendere 2 soldi (e mi pare anche giusto, nessuno lavora gratis).
    Il mech base, l'unico accessibile inizialmente (che permette comunque di fare i primi combattimenti in modo più che dignitoso ...ci ho fatto un buon numero di kill prima di passare ad altro) consentirà in breve tempo di sbloccare altre classi che permetteranno di scegliere l'approccio agli scontri che più si preferisce per proseguire via via verso le rivisitazioni più avanzate (e variegate) degli stessi. Che altro dire... pur essendo ancora una beta (ma non per molto ancora) non ho mai avuto un solo problema ed il gioco promette molto bene e con gli aggiornamenti previsti nel prossimo futuro avrà tutte le carte in regola per essere uno dei migliori fps online ...PROVATELO!!!
    Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Hawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based and reactionary. The biggest mechanic that a lot of reviewers seem to be missing is the Dodging / Boosting system.
    You have to be quick to dodge using your boosters. Read your opponents moves and play strategically while still maintaining twitch reflex shooting. Its very, very intense. Don't treat it like your average FPS, you aren't a humanoid, you are a mech, you have separate advantages and disadvantages, get used to them. Verticality plays a huge role in the gameplay as well. The mechs are agile in a whole different way. But if you try to run and gun like an average FPS, you're toast.

    There really isn't any other game like Hawken out right now. Its a Mech Sim FPS with an arcade game feel. There are 8 mechs to choose from, I think, each with their distinct advantages and abilities. The game also features a very robust item/ mech upgrade system, much time will be spend configuring the build that suits you best.

    As far as the F2P model, its rather well designed, if you play smart and play well, procuring ingame credits is a breeze (as is leveling up). If you lack the patience or time, real world currency can be used for unlocks.

    Did I mention the game looks incredibly stunning? No other game imo right now touts as much polish and detail visually, its remarkable that its F2P.

    Get this and decide for your self.

    A++

    PS. Its still in Beta, it will only get better from here on out.
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Great gameplay, fun maps, what more could you ask from a free to play? The gameplay is very enjoyable. XP is easy to gain. If your not a person who enjoys very fast paced gameplay, then I woulden't suggest this. Otherwise, its an amazing game and I would suggest it to anyone! Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Hawken is a mech game fast & light mechs similar to gundam mechs NOT SIMILAR TO mechwarrior mechs. Its a quick learning curve game. For a free game this game is a winner, especially because this is a beautiful graphic game. To the reviewer that says you need to pay to win, maybe he didn't play it long enough but the only thing that I can figure you can buy with money that you cant buy with play credit is aesthetics parts. YOU WILL ENJOY THIS GAME IF YOU LOVE MECHS OR FPS games. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    For me, Hawken is a great game to jump into for a few rounds with a friend. The controls and gameplay flow well. Having skill actually makes a difference."Fun" is the easiest way to describe the game, and considering it's free to play, there's no reason why anybody shouldn't give it a go. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    2014: Hawken arrives on Steam. I've been playing since closed beta, and seen the game come a long way - in it's current state, it's awesome fun, especially with friends, but in the long-term, once I reached an apex (winning matches most of the time, completed the PvE arenas) I didn't see much reason to persevere. Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    0
    Clich, mundane, out of date, old mechanic design. This alone is already 80% failed. Ahead of South Korea's failed 'Metal Rage' comes to mind games. Design of more advanced forms of mechanics want to walk. Expand

See all 96 User Reviews