Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hawken is a multiplayer mech combat game. The focus is on creating an intense and enjoyable battle experience that captures the feeling of piloting a heavy war machine while keeping the action fast-paced and strategic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 80
    Old-school shooter is sharp and with its perfect visuals is also additive and deadly. [Jan 2013]
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    79
    They've nailed the sensation of stomping around in a giant machine, but the F2P model needs an oil change.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    If you're a fan of battling bots, Hawken is definitely worth checking out, and you should certainly have some free, fleeting fun with it right off the bat. But as the game lumbers towards an official release, I really hope they dial down the mechanized money magnets.
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    Hawken shows that piloting a mech doesn't have to be a complex task, and it gets players straight into the action. [Aug 2013, p.92]
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Very ambitious, but we’d urge them to concentrate on the game; with poor matchmaking, few maps, overly simple game modes and a limited free game, players might not stick around. And that would be a shame.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    64
    It's a fun diversion, to be sure, but with its less-than-extensive customization options, absurd reliance on grinding to incentivize microtransactions, and limited variation in actual gameplay, it probably isn't worth a monetary investment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 101
  2. Negative: 20 out of 101
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Hawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based andHawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based and reactionary. The biggest mechanic that a lot of reviewers seem to be missing is the Dodging / Boosting system.
    You have to be quick to dodge using your boosters. Read your opponents moves and play strategically while still maintaining twitch reflex shooting. Its very, very intense. Don't treat it like your average FPS, you aren't a humanoid, you are a mech, you have separate advantages and disadvantages, get used to them. Verticality plays a huge role in the gameplay as well. The mechs are agile in a whole different way. But if you try to run and gun like an average FPS, you're toast.

    There really isn't any other game like Hawken out right now. Its a Mech Sim FPS with an arcade game feel. There are 8 mechs to choose from, I think, each with their distinct advantages and abilities. The game also features a very robust item/ mech upgrade system, much time will be spend configuring the build that suits you best.

    As far as the F2P model, its rather well designed, if you play smart and play well, procuring ingame credits is a breeze (as is leveling up). If you lack the patience or time, real world currency can be used for unlocks.

    Did I mention the game looks incredibly stunning? No other game imo right now touts as much polish and detail visually, its remarkable that its F2P.

    Get this and decide for your self.

    A++

    PS. Its still in Beta, it will only get better from here on out.
    Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play itThe greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play it again and again! Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Hawken is basically a gundamn style mech combat game with a western junkyard brawler look that is fast and furious. If your expectingHawken is basically a gundamn style mech combat game with a western junkyard brawler look that is fast and furious. If your expecting mechwarrior with slow combat with slow moving mechs then this game is not for you, it is much closer to chromehounds or Japanese style mech games. The shooting is skilled based it is not the low time to kill bull that is plaguing other FPS games where map knowledge and spotting the enemy first is all that is required. The game has an emphases on landing skill based shots and out maneuvering opponents. Once you master dodging in and out of cover and landing skill shots you'll soon be able to rank in the top half of the scoreboard with just about any mech. The starting mech actually is one of the better mechs. It starts with the assault rifle which is the most well rounded primary gun in the game and the TOW which is hands down the best secondary weapon. The only down side to FRED starting mech is that it is an ugly mech and an eyesore but it has it's charm. Anyone who says the game is pay2win simply doesn't understand the game since you can acquire everything in the game with time. Meteor points just allow you to skip the grind and purchase paint jobs.

    Now for the bad stuff. Despite Hawken's shooting mechanics being solid the game lacks variety and customization so far. The tech tree has very little effect on how your mech plays and I think it is mostly a place holder right now. Paint jobs are very limited with no ability to change color palates or add much to make your mech unique from other players. The game modes are also horrible. Basically both objective game modes suck right now. Seige just leads to snowballing lopsided matches and missle command or what ever it is called is your run of the mill domination style game. The game could use a capture the flag style mod or some kind of better objective game mode. With that said this is just about the only game that I will play death match or team death match in. Both those modes are great but without a more objective team work orientated game like what I was use to in NS2 I can see this game growing stale. There are only a few maps with prosk being a far superior map to the others with it's mix of open and close combat. Uptown is just a horribly designed map that favors close combat only giving very little freedom to sharpshooters and rockeeters. One aspect of the maps that is great is they are all multileveled much like the quake and unreal tournament maps of what I consider to be the golden years of PC FPS games. So in conclusion Hawken is the start of great shooter with a firm bedrock of mechanics that however is undermined by a lack of customization and variety. At this time the game still feels like it is very much a beta product but it also feels like it has plenty of potential. Since the game is still in development I have high hopes for it but I'm skeptical. I'd rank the game an 89/100 right now but it could easily be 95 if the developers added more content. The gameplay is there the content is not.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    i think this game is fun and i would like to think its really fun to play with friends. i do not think this game is a pay to win because thei think this game is fun and i would like to think its really fun to play with friends. i do not think this game is a pay to win because the robots you can use at first are not at all bad. they are in fact really good. fun game. deserves a chance Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    Anyone who says that this game is a pay to win experience in lying. Pretty much every real world money purchases are just cosmetics for yourAnyone who says that this game is a pay to win experience in lying. Pretty much every real world money purchases are just cosmetics for your mech, and you gain HC (In-game currency) quickly enough to be able to freely acquired free internal and offensive devices for you mech. Most of the issues regarding balance have been solved. You can also unlock new mechs without having to purchase them (With real or in-game money) by fully levelling up one of your current mechs or by increasing your pilot level.

    Combat is fast, for a western Mecha game. You can quickly dodge incoming missiles by sliding either right or left at the perfect moment, you can hover up into the air, and quickly turn your mech 180 degrees if someone catches your unprotected backside.

    I will say that most players online are pretty much incompetent, but this is more thanks to a lack of coordination and communication than anything. If you are playing this game, be prepared to use the voice-chat if you want to succeed.

    Team balancing is also an issue, but the devs are actively working on trying to fix it. All in all, I say that if you're a mecha fan, download this game and try it out.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    An ok game for F2P. Can hold my attention for a couple days. Beyond that, the action is not really that great. The game does not feel likeAn ok game for F2P. Can hold my attention for a couple days. Beyond that, the action is not really that great. The game does not feel like huge battle mechs, more like your average twitchy short range FPS. My biggest gripe is engagement distances they are way too short. 100 meters is long range sniper... Seriously? Even BF2142 had better mechs, even though they were just a small part of that game. Using active defense to block missles, slow, heavy damage overheating cannons. I don't feel this here.

    Even the world of tanks has engagement distances of around 350 meters, possibly more. But in this game you just get some hazy fog obscuring distant stuff. With this in mind, the levels feel small and while there is some hot around the corner action, it gets boring fairly fast.

    Combine this with some "OP" flavors of mechs and general lack of players, and I had to suffer through some horribly unbalanced matches where little one can do counts.
    Collapse
  7. May 5, 2014
    0
    Clich, mundane, out of date, old mechanic design. This alone is already 80% failed. Ahead of South Korea's failed 'Metal Rage' comes to mindClich, mundane, out of date, old mechanic design. This alone is already 80% failed. Ahead of South Korea's failed 'Metal Rage' comes to mind games. Design of more advanced forms of mechanics want to walk. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews