Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hawken is a multiplayer mech combat game. The focus is on creating an intense and enjoyable battle experience that captures the feeling of piloting a heavy war machine while keeping the action fast-paced and strategic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 80
    Old-school shooter is sharp and with its perfect visuals is also additive and deadly. [Jan 2013]
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    79
    They've nailed the sensation of stomping around in a giant machine, but the F2P model needs an oil change.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    If you're a fan of battling bots, Hawken is definitely worth checking out, and you should certainly have some free, fleeting fun with it right off the bat. But as the game lumbers towards an official release, I really hope they dial down the mechanized money magnets.
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    Hawken shows that piloting a mech doesn't have to be a complex task, and it gets players straight into the action. [Aug 2013, p.92]
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Very ambitious, but we’d urge them to concentrate on the game; with poor matchmaking, few maps, overly simple game modes and a limited free game, players might not stick around. And that would be a shame.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    64
    It's a fun diversion, to be sure, but with its less-than-extensive customization options, absurd reliance on grinding to incentivize microtransactions, and limited variation in actual gameplay, it probably isn't worth a monetary investment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 102
  2. Negative: 20 out of 102
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Hawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based andHawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based and reactionary. The biggest mechanic that a lot of reviewers seem to be missing is the Dodging / Boosting system.
    You have to be quick to dodge using your boosters. Read your opponents moves and play strategically while still maintaining twitch reflex shooting. Its very, very intense. Don't treat it like your average FPS, you aren't a humanoid, you are a mech, you have separate advantages and disadvantages, get used to them. Verticality plays a huge role in the gameplay as well. The mechs are agile in a whole different way. But if you try to run and gun like an average FPS, you're toast.

    There really isn't any other game like Hawken out right now. Its a Mech Sim FPS with an arcade game feel. There are 8 mechs to choose from, I think, each with their distinct advantages and abilities. The game also features a very robust item/ mech upgrade system, much time will be spend configuring the build that suits you best.

    As far as the F2P model, its rather well designed, if you play smart and play well, procuring ingame credits is a breeze (as is leveling up). If you lack the patience or time, real world currency can be used for unlocks.

    Did I mention the game looks incredibly stunning? No other game imo right now touts as much polish and detail visually, its remarkable that its F2P.

    Get this and decide for your self.

    A++

    PS. Its still in Beta, it will only get better from here on out.
    Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play itThe greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play it again and again! Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Hawken is a mech game fast & light mechs similar to gundam mechs NOT SIMILAR TO mechwarrior mechs. Its a quick learning curve game. For aHawken is a mech game fast & light mechs similar to gundam mechs NOT SIMILAR TO mechwarrior mechs. Its a quick learning curve game. For a free game this game is a winner, especially because this is a beautiful graphic game. To the reviewer that says you need to pay to win, maybe he didn't play it long enough but the only thing that I can figure you can buy with money that you cant buy with play credit is aesthetics parts. YOU WILL ENJOY THIS GAME IF YOU LOVE MECHS OR FPS games. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    Ignore the Critic score this game is great! It has many gamemodes and is actually comparable to Titanfall there is one problem with this gameIgnore the Critic score this game is great! It has many gamemodes and is actually comparable to Titanfall there is one problem with this game though it is repetitive. The graphics are pretty good even if you turn them down to low. This game seems very underrated by Critics which I am quite disappointed by. It also has quite a few maps which I am pleased with.
    Overall I give this game an 8/10 since it has good gamemodes and has quite a few maps.
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    8
    Hawken is by no means a perfect game, but the amount of terribly scathing reviews due to ignorance and stupidity is appalling. The barrier toHawken is by no means a perfect game, but the amount of terribly scathing reviews due to ignorance and stupidity is appalling. The barrier to entry with Hawken is no different than any other FPS. Gameplay is chaotic, but there's a difference between chaotic and incomprehensible. If you can't determine that mechs outlined with red squares on your HUD are enemies, then maybe you should stay away from other games that use shapes and colors like checkers and tic-tac-toe. Microtransactions yes, but pay-to-win no. The Recruit suit (introductory mech given to every player) regularly tops charts in TDM, and skill outweighs weapons in this game. The developers are even nice enough to provide you with 400 Meteor points (cash points) after your first hour of play.

    Play the tutorial people. You don't have to be a genius or rich to be halfway decent at this game.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    I like the game, but it's very hard to get into. I just started playing today, but I kept dying way too easily. I know you're supposed toI like the game, but it's very hard to get into. I just started playing today, but I kept dying way too easily. I know you're supposed to keep playing to level up, but the game doesn't have a way to get you into games with people near your level. It's very annoying when someone who is level 50 is against someone who is level 3. All in all, the game is very well put together and is extremely fun. Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    0
    Clich, mundane, out of date, old mechanic design. This alone is already 80% failed. Ahead of South Korea's failed 'Metal Rage' comes to mindClich, mundane, out of date, old mechanic design. This alone is already 80% failed. Ahead of South Korea's failed 'Metal Rage' comes to mind games. Design of more advanced forms of mechanics want to walk. Expand

See all 102 User Reviews