Hawken PC

Hawken Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hawken is a multiplayer mech combat game. The focus is on creating an intense and enjoyable battle experience that captures the feeling of piloting a heavy war machine while keeping the action fast-paced and strategic.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    Old-school shooter is sharp and with its perfect visuals is also additive and deadly. [Jan 2013]
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    79
    They've nailed the sensation of stomping around in a giant machine, but the F2P model needs an oil change.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    If you're a fan of battling bots, Hawken is definitely worth checking out, and you should certainly have some free, fleeting fun with it right off the bat. But as the game lumbers towards an official release, I really hope they dial down the mechanized money magnets.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 1, 2013
    70
    Hawken shows that piloting a mech doesn't have to be a complex task, and it gets players straight into the action. [Aug 2013, p.92]
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Very ambitious, but we’d urge them to concentrate on the game; with poor matchmaking, few maps, overly simple game modes and a limited free game, players might not stick around. And that would be a shame.
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    64
    It's a fun diversion, to be sure, but with its less-than-extensive customization options, absurd reliance on grinding to incentivize microtransactions, and limited variation in actual gameplay, it probably isn't worth a monetary investment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 103
  2. Negative: 20 out of 103
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Hawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based andHawken is a brilliant game. The sense of weight and scale is apparent. The combat, once you get the hang of it, is extremely fast based and reactionary. The biggest mechanic that a lot of reviewers seem to be missing is the Dodging / Boosting system.
    You have to be quick to dodge using your boosters. Read your opponents moves and play strategically while still maintaining twitch reflex shooting. Its very, very intense. Don't treat it like your average FPS, you aren't a humanoid, you are a mech, you have separate advantages and disadvantages, get used to them. Verticality plays a huge role in the gameplay as well. The mechs are agile in a whole different way. But if you try to run and gun like an average FPS, you're toast.

    There really isn't any other game like Hawken out right now. Its a Mech Sim FPS with an arcade game feel. There are 8 mechs to choose from, I think, each with their distinct advantages and abilities. The game also features a very robust item/ mech upgrade system, much time will be spend configuring the build that suits you best.

    As far as the F2P model, its rather well designed, if you play smart and play well, procuring ingame credits is a breeze (as is leveling up). If you lack the patience or time, real world currency can be used for unlocks.

    Did I mention the game looks incredibly stunning? No other game imo right now touts as much polish and detail visually, its remarkable that its F2P.

    Get this and decide for your self.

    A++

    PS. Its still in Beta, it will only get better from here on out.
    Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play itThe greatest FPS I've ever played!!! Fast and tenced combat, very atmospheric maps, unique and fierce mechs it all makes me want to play it again and again! Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Hawken is a mech game fast & light mechs similar to gundam mechs NOT SIMILAR TO mechwarrior mechs. Its a quick learning curve game. For aHawken is a mech game fast & light mechs similar to gundam mechs NOT SIMILAR TO mechwarrior mechs. Its a quick learning curve game. For a free game this game is a winner, especially because this is a beautiful graphic game. To the reviewer that says you need to pay to win, maybe he didn't play it long enough but the only thing that I can figure you can buy with money that you cant buy with play credit is aesthetics parts. YOU WILL ENJOY THIS GAME IF YOU LOVE MECHS OR FPS games. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    i think this game is fun and i would like to think its really fun to play with friends. i do not think this game is a pay to win because thei think this game is fun and i would like to think its really fun to play with friends. i do not think this game is a pay to win because the robots you can use at first are not at all bad. they are in fact really good. fun game. deserves a chance Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    Anyone who says that this game is a pay to win experience in lying. Pretty much every real world money purchases are just cosmetics for yourAnyone who says that this game is a pay to win experience in lying. Pretty much every real world money purchases are just cosmetics for your mech, and you gain HC (In-game currency) quickly enough to be able to freely acquired free internal and offensive devices for you mech. Most of the issues regarding balance have been solved. You can also unlock new mechs without having to purchase them (With real or in-game money) by fully levelling up one of your current mechs or by increasing your pilot level.

    Combat is fast, for a western Mecha game. You can quickly dodge incoming missiles by sliding either right or left at the perfect moment, you can hover up into the air, and quickly turn your mech 180 degrees if someone catches your unprotected backside.

    I will say that most players online are pretty much incompetent, but this is more thanks to a lack of coordination and communication than anything. If you are playing this game, be prepared to use the voice-chat if you want to succeed.

    Team balancing is also an issue, but the devs are actively working on trying to fix it. All in all, I say that if you're a mecha fan, download this game and try it out.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    An ok game for F2P. Can hold my attention for a couple days. Beyond that, the action is not really that great. The game does not feel likeAn ok game for F2P. Can hold my attention for a couple days. Beyond that, the action is not really that great. The game does not feel like huge battle mechs, more like your average twitchy short range FPS. My biggest gripe is engagement distances they are way too short. 100 meters is long range sniper... Seriously? Even BF2142 had better mechs, even though they were just a small part of that game. Using active defense to block missles, slow, heavy damage overheating cannons. I don't feel this here.

    Even the world of tanks has engagement distances of around 350 meters, possibly more. But in this game you just get some hazy fog obscuring distant stuff. With this in mind, the levels feel small and while there is some hot around the corner action, it gets boring fairly fast.

    Combine this with some "OP" flavors of mechs and general lack of players, and I had to suffer through some horribly unbalanced matches where little one can do counts.
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    0
    Devs are constantly making large sweeping changes, while blatantly ignoring their community. With it's current patch the game feels and playsDevs are constantly making large sweeping changes, while blatantly ignoring their community. With it's current patch the game feels and plays very broken for a FPS. Combat went from super fluid and immerse, to clunky and intentionally broken. Their so called "bug fixes" often introduce even more and larger gamebreaking bugs. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews