Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 942 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 242
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. я поиграл в ету игру но ана шикарная пой на карты играй с друзьями и все тагдали и получай удаволствие Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This game puts Magic:The Gathering to shame.
    Altough it's free to play you never feel like its pay to win.
    Great balance and its much faster
    than Magic. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    6
    Fine but really it is too shallow to be called a tcg.
    Almost entirely RNG, can use skill but all of your work can be randomly negated by a
    single card most times.
    I still play it though...
    I hate UTH soooooo much!!!
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    4
    The animations and mechanics are extremely satisfying. The voice acting is as good as Blizzard has always delivered, and makes you reminisce about what made WC3 so great. But this game is plain and simple a pay to accelerate to drain the pockets of preteens. Not worth anyones time. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    2
    More pay-to-win, pay-to-play debauchery. Unbalanced classing system, and any real social system is non-existent. Graphics are goofy, and the actual playing cards are weakly illustrated. Blizzard is trying to spend as little time, effort, and money to gain as much income as possible. As usual, Blizzard / Activision care little for the consumer, and more for capitalistic gains. Play Scrolls: still in beta and a far superior product. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    Absolutely terrible one of the worst card games yet not only does it try to rip off MTG but it fails on every lvl its so simple simplistic and to be competitive you HALF to throw allot of money at it hmmm,

    Blizzard keeps and keeps trying to steal money from are pockets with mediocre games like Diablo and the horrid auction house now a wanna be mtg game that makes you pay to win.

    Fact is blizzard cant make a great game since wow they had Starcraft 1 and Warcrafts and Diablo 2 than wow everything after that is a rehash garbage infested cash shop they don't make good games anymore and probably never will they will always be over hyped mediocre games that at best are a 6
    Expand

See all 242 User Reviews