Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    It is a card game and does have some level of a random element to it. When I started playing it first felt like just a card game but on for your PC. I kept playing and really got into the game when I realized the versatility of the characters and how every class not only has a different play style but how you can actually pick out your style of play for each class. If you do not like strategy based card games, stay away - If you have never played one before, Hearthstone provides a great experience to learn the game and test your deck building and strategy skills. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This game puts Magic:The Gathering to shame.
    Altough it's free to play you never feel like its pay to win.
    Great balance and its much faster
    than Magic. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    Fun casual game. Just sad that they made it possible to buy cards for real money. Pros: - Fun card game - Free 2 play - Warcraft universe

    Cons

    - You can pay to get more cards
    - DLC's cost a hell of alot to buy (But they can be bought with in-game gold, will just take alot of time to get)
    - Gets boring after a while
    Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Once you learn what cards there are in the game, it's easy to figure out what cards you need or should put into your deck based on whatever play style your opponents are using. Running against guys with a bunch of 1-2 mana minions? Use aoe and play taunts. Running against guys with a bunch of late game legendaries? Put strong board clear in your decks. With that said though, considering how few cards there are, there are a limited number of strategies that you can play. It's either you play the board control game and clear all your opponent's minions and then killing him, or the rush deck where you play 1-2 mana minions and bum rush him. Either one can win, but it more often than not boils down to luck. You can go into arena with 2 or 3 flamestrikes as a mage and you may only pull them once or twice out of 4 or 5 games. You could also run into guys who get 6-6 blood knights on turn 2 and the game pretty much just ends right there if you can't kill it immediately. Often, it's extremely obvious what your opponents are about to do, but more often than not, you just can't do anything about it such as playing a flamestrike in the next turn or playing a legendary. It's just about getting lucky and hoping they don't have a counter to whatever you're playing. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    2
    More pay-to-win, pay-to-play debauchery. Unbalanced classing system, and any real social system is non-existent. Graphics are goofy, and the actual playing cards are weakly illustrated. Blizzard is trying to spend as little time, effort, and money to gain as much income as possible. As usual, Blizzard / Activision care little for the consumer, and more for capitalistic gains. Play Scrolls: still in beta and a far superior product. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2014
    0
    Game so baz, my grundmer iz ded cuase of game so bed. 10/10. I areen't even thwe one who was jonkin abbot the one who had as amny skills ans me did.

    0/10
    10/0

    Beast germ N/A
    Expand

See all 285 User Reviews