Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    For starters do not listen to the people who say that this game is pay to win. Players have reached the top of the rankings in the gameFor starters do not listen to the people who say that this game is pay to win. Players have reached the top of the rankings in the game without paying a penny and indeed some have reached very high just using the basic decks given to the player at the start of the game. This game can feel unfair sometimes and i believe that is what these players are feeling. However this is due to the random nature of some of the cards and the very real aspect of luck involved in drafting the right cards for the right situation. Although this leads to some seemingly unfair games it does tend to balance itself out the more games you play. Anyway now the good and the bad. (Also please remember that this game is free and every card in the game can be earned without paying a penny!)

    Good:
    Brilliant and addictive card game. The sounds and animations are both extremely satisfying and the graphics are very reminiscent of WoW which gives it a nostalgic feel. As mentioned above the payment method is rather moot depending on how you wish to play the game. If you want to jump into the game and be able to play every deck then and there you will have to sink in some money to buy packs of cards. However this is not how the game is meant to be played and is much more suited to a slow progression doing quests and arena runs (its the journey people). Not to mention skilled players have reached the top of the rankings just days after starting a new free account.

    Bad:
    So far everything has been quite positive but like every game it is not perfect (which is not what a 10 indicates fyi). The game does still even after release suffer from some annoying card swapping and overlapping bugs, these can be a real pain and even cost you games. The game is also very lacking in playing modes. Only two currently exist at launch, constructed and arena. This problem is likely to be addressed in later expansion packs or DLC but for the moment the area is lacking.
    Certain cards in the game are just simply stronger versions of others and are almost a 100% pick every time in a deck, this can make match ups very repetitive as you are bound to see these certain cards in every game. Unfortunately most of these cards are legendary (which are very rare) which often leads people to believe the game is pay to win (even though these cards are fully achievable through free means).
    Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Я просто напишу"+" и "-" игры.
    + Интересная боевая система;
    + Хорошая графическая составляющая; + Интересно собирать карты; - Порой бои
    Я просто напишу"+" и "-" игры.
    + Интересная боевая система;
    + Хорошая графическая составляющая;
    + Интересно собирать карты;

    - Порой бои выигрываются благодаря удачи вся стратегия коту под хвост.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    This game is not bad, but not very good.Very casual, too much random.I play some, but now i just dnt want play it again.I dnt know why someThis game is not bad, but not very good.Very casual, too much random.I play some, but now i just dnt want play it again.I dnt know why some people say that Hearthstone 9/10 or 10/10.Rly its not bad game, but 6/10 or 7/10 is max for casual card game like this Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    Critics give it way too much praise. Most (good) decks are composed of about 90-95% of the same cards (excluding class cards, which are theCritics give it way too much praise. Most (good) decks are composed of about 90-95% of the same cards (excluding class cards, which are the same among the decks of those classes), so every match comes down to "who drew what first". I know most card games use luck as a factor, but skill can usually overcome that. In this game, no such level of complexity exists. Decks are too small, no way to counterattack unless you're one of the few classes with Secrets (trap cards), it's a total crapshoot! If you enjoy games of little to no skill in a fun, casual, Warcraft theme, then this is definitely for you.

    Aside from giving the gameplay an absolute 0, the sound effects, music, graphics, and overall theme, however, are very delightful. For the few months that I played, it was definitely fun, until I realized how luck was everything. Still, outside of the gameplay, it's pleasant, but sadly, games without good gameplay get scores such as these, if not worse. If it ever comes to smartphones (and not just the iPad), I'd vote it a 6 or 7 as a Mobile game, but for a PC game, it doesn't deserve the ridiculous praise people are giving it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    1
    I had to try this just to confirm what I already knew. The game is a moneygrubbing exercise, just like everything else Blizzard has been doingI had to try this just to confirm what I already knew. The game is a moneygrubbing exercise, just like everything else Blizzard has been doing since it was infested by Activision. Five matches in I got pitted against people with totally OP cards, over and over and over again, and you basically have to pay to have any chance within ten-twenty minutes of competition. F2P at its absolute worst as expected from the slimy wreckage Blizzard has become. To slap you in the face some more, just for fun, arena play - basically the only remotely interesting part of the game - requires you to PAY BLIZZARD MONEY every time you want to try a random deck against somebody else. I can`t believe I just wrote that about a half assed game like this! Who in their right minds are paying for something that should be in the damn game for anyone since it`s a game mode? Oh why do I even bother...
    It might be possible to have fun with Hearthstone for about an hour, perhaps two, although there are of course about ten thousand games you should be playing instead. But unless you are prepared to waste your hard earned money filling the pockets of repulsive fatcats who made the game, then that`s it.
    It is reasonably enjoyable while it lasts in fairness. But naturally the few AI matches you get to do are a lot more fun than PVP, simply because they are at least balanced for F2P, and they`re not really all that great. In addition to all this, priests seem totally broken, although this was a first impression. Trust Actiblizz to botch any sense of balance though, as is their tradition.
    It looks as disgustingly generic and worn out as you would think, with a billion esoteric references to Blizzard`s grand old turkey, World of Warcraft. But it is polished enough and not directly offensive to the ears or eyes, although it is incredibly offensive intellectually and if you are looking for entertainment. But trust me when I say that you don`t want to see or hear any of it, unless you hate yourself and/or have a Blizzard fetish. All in all, another absolutely trashy game from Blizzard, which has now sunk to such lows that words fail me. I thought DIablo III was bad but this just blows it out of the water as far as unmitigated refuse and suspicious piles of matter on the sidewalk goes. Their games, and this one in particular, are now so bad you`d be better off getting a C64 emulator and downloading shoot-em- ups from the mid 80s. Avoid this gaming equivalent of syphilis at all costs!
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2015
    0
    Absolutely Horrible...this game is a pure 100% jacked up program. Not only can they not fix simple bugs and glitches that have been aroundAbsolutely Horrible...this game is a pure 100% jacked up program. Not only can they not fix simple bugs and glitches that have been around since the start of the game, they also try to blame the user and or the internet. I have and do play many games like this and if they have or find a bug it is fixed within weeks worse case. Then after the frustration of game killing time wasting fixable bugs it is purely pay to win. People rant and rave when you say this (mostly the payers). They c;aim you can win with the basic cards, but that seems to only hold true if you have all the basic set, which you have to pay in order to get or spend 100s of hours grinding for tiny amounts of gold in hopes that the packs you buy are not simple copies of the cards you have but are new ones. They have no real way to report a bug, the forum is open to all and if you report a bug the other players attack you because you did not search and find that Blizzard has already blamed that bug on the players or the internet or the low quality of the equipment that the users are playing with. I would even bet that Blizzard does not even monitor the forum any longer as I have seen a couple of posts that are mean spirited personal attacks and break the language rules. Expand

See all 330 User Reviews