Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1735 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Blackrock Mountain: A Hearthstone Adventure - Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2014
    9
    Great and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it shouldGreat and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it should be ok.
    The second problem i found is the game needs something else to keep me playing it, i just log in do my dailies and quit.
    Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    It is fun. Simple old fun. Don't get too attached to it, though. If you play ranked and are on a winning streak but then get a bad card combo,It is fun. Simple old fun. Don't get too attached to it, though. If you play ranked and are on a winning streak but then get a bad card combo, you are gonna cry.
    I won't complain about the pay-to-win model, as Blizzard's gotta make moneys, right? How else will they support the game or provide new content and expansions? Moreover, getting new cards doesn't need that much grinding. You just have to finish daily quests for which you get in-game currency which you can use to buy cards. This way you learn plus you earn XP. Crafting mode is also there.
    Only thing is, Anduin (priest) is too darn annoying!
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    4
    Nicely polished card game with pretty UI that is completely ruined by its lack of features and depth. Two game modes, no statistics, noNicely polished card game with pretty UI that is completely ruined by its lack of features and depth. Two game modes, no statistics, no single-player outside of 'practice', not enough cards etc. And the meta card pool at any given moment is so small that you keep seeing the exact same decks all the time in constructed. Arena is still luck based (you can get 5 legendaries/epics or none whatsoever). The business model is pretty bad as well and with the new expansion it's gonna get much worse. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2014
    2
    I originally rated this a 6 since at the core it's a great game, but was moderately pay-to-win.

    I'm adjusting the rating again since it's
    I originally rated this a 6 since at the core it's a great game, but was moderately pay-to-win.

    I'm adjusting the rating again since it's has become completely pay-to-win.

    I've played since beta without paying and don't have a single legendary. I've earned $100+ of cards for free over a year or so to give you a scope of how much money/time DOESN'T get you a legendary. You simply don't get them without paying money. That would be fine if it was the business model to pay for a card, but it's not. You dump money into a RNG card generator hoping for a good card.

    I play ranked primarily and I've always reached a point where it's not skill that matters, but having legendary cards. I've accepted that because I didn't play enough to hit that point quickly every month (rank resets every month), so it was still fun.

    Now they've modified the model again and it's easier to get specific legendaries, but ONLY if you'll dump $40 into 15 minutes of content and three card rewards. The result is that the ranked cutoff where you need very rare and legendary cards to succeed is hit very early now in a matter of a few sittings.

    Plus you can stack as many legendaries as you like. I played someone that I had dead to rights and then he played four legendary cards in a row. That's not deck-building, that's Bliz rewarding careless $$$ spending.

    It's impossible to put my support behind a model like this because I just don't know whether my investment ends up useless three months down the road when they rework the system again. A lump sum up front for all cards, then for follow-up expansions would be ideal. Then you can have fun deck building. As it stands right now I haven't seen a card I can use in my favorite decks in months. It just feels like a treadmill.

    It's a shame because I love games like this and I wanted this to succeed, but a Blizzard got in it's way.
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2017
    0
    I have a serious love hate relationship with this game. I have enjoyed it for months, but for me it's ruined by 1 card... Reno Jackson. UntilI have a serious love hate relationship with this game. I have enjoyed it for months, but for me it's ruined by 1 card... Reno Jackson. Until they rotate that pos card, this game can rot in hell. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    Pointless game at best, It's a CCG (Card Collecting Game) You spend REAL money to buy VIRTUAL cards, but this is not like a real life CTGPointless game at best, It's a CCG (Card Collecting Game) You spend REAL money to buy VIRTUAL cards, but this is not like a real life CTG (Card Trading Game), You can't trade your cards, you can't sell them and they don't get valuable over the years so card rarity is worthless. The most funny thing is whilst you spend real money to acquire these cards, remember they are always blizzard's property, you basically renting ****ing virtual cards, so pathetic. NOW I'm not saying to bring these features into the game, games should NOT be Pay2Win or about making money it should be something that you pay once for a product that is truly yours which you can indulge in to have fun and escape reality, get it blizzard? Game's should = FUN, however Blizzard's Formula is: Money Milking + Grinding + Fake Reward system (Virtual items), they treat people like addicted rats with a reward system. Yes it is a F2P game, if you don't mind Grinding for hours and hours to earn the same cards as it would cost £34.99 then yes It's FREE. This game is so simplistic in nature and development it should only have a Retail price of around £20 with no P2W module and gold grinding could be made easier with 5 daily quests as appose to 1 but that wouldn’t be enough “Money Whoring” for Blizzard. Sh!t Game with the wrong intentions, end of story. Is Blizzard even run by the same people before World of Warcraft?? Expand

See all 424 User Reviews