Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1616 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2014
    9
    Great and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it shouldGreat and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it should be ok.
    The second problem i found is the game needs something else to keep me playing it, i just log in do my dailies and quit.
    Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    I've never been one for card games, the learning curve always seemed very high, however hearthstone holds your hand enough to get someI've never been one for card games, the learning curve always seemed very high, however hearthstone holds your hand enough to get some enjoyment out of the game, and before you know it you are figuring out good combos by yourself and having fun. The visual feedback is remarkably well done, but not over done and it is kindof calming. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    5
    It's "free to play" (-which is always a bad thing for a game) card game.

    I find it's pay system adequate, and you can certainly get all the
    It's "free to play" (-which is always a bad thing for a game) card game.

    I find it's pay system adequate, and you can certainly get all the cards without ever paying. It might include a lot of time investing on players part, and it will always depend on frequency of expansions released by Blizzard. But if you aren't stupid you can make in-game currency by playing in arena.

    Yes it's a card game, which means it's extremely RNG based game, and blizzard actively encourages RNG factor by putting in cards which have random effects.

    I would have given it 7/10 on purely game-play performance. Unfortunately the game even after a year of it's release is still constantly plagued by blizzard sever/connection issues. In other words it's a complete technical disaster, so on top of RNG rage, you will rage for loosing games because of desync, disconnect etc.
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2015
    3
    The game is quite a lot of fun but there are so many things that pull it down from being as good as it could be. I want everyone to know thatThe game is quite a lot of fun but there are so many things that pull it down from being as good as it could be. I want everyone to know that this game has so much potential but it just throws it out the door with all it's flaws.

    The good: It's better than other virtual card games I have played and it's free..
    The lame: Most cards in this game are exactly the same and it's usually easy to read what your opponent will do next
    The bad: This game is extremely luck based even though it's a card game it takes luck to a whole new level
    The ugly: There are multiple characters you can play as that have different abilities and some are completely obsolete while others have extreme advantages.
    The Horrid: The Arena (draft mode) is yet again VERY luck based and you get to choose a character out of 3 random choices that usually suck compared to the rest and people can get the overpowered characters already giving them a HUGE edge in the game as well as getting God-like cards that make your deck completely useless. This is very very sad because it's beyond better than draft mode in Magic the gathering, etc. but you have to pay real money or in-game points to play and then just get completely screwed over with a crap character and crap cards. (the character choice being the worst)
    The Worst: Completely Pay to win
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2015
    1
    The most blatantly pay2win game I have ever played. That alone however would not make this game so bad.

    The presentation and the actual
    The most blatantly pay2win game I have ever played. That alone however would not make this game so bad.

    The presentation and the actual game interface is actually the best out there. The problem is in the design.
    While you learn this game, it is a lot of fun. However after that you realize, that you will have to pay a lot of real money or grind for several months to be able to compete even at mid ranks. Even that would be acceptable, but unfortunately there is way too many overpowered cards that will turn a game that you were winning into a game where you lose suddenly and badly.

    There are area of effect cards that will negate any kind of advantage you had. There are cards that will reset the health of the heroes. There are cards that will steal your most powerful minion. There are cards that will turn a lowly bad card into an invincible monster.

    After a month of play you will realize that this game is only about luck and overpowered cards. To make matters worse, there are only 2 ways to play this competitively.
    Arena is a luckfest where you are offered a set of cards and must create a deck. Half the time you are offered really bad cards. It is all about who gets the better cards when making the deck.
    The other mode of play is ranked play. Here, the ranks are reset each month, so every month players with several legendaries are mixed with total newbies and mid-range players. Totally unfair. There are so few ranks, that it is impossible to tell apart a rank 20 game from a rank 10 game. Many people on rank 20 have insanely powerful decks. You just cannot compete or feel good about your "skill".

    Yes, there is also casual mode, where you can feel good beating up total beginners, but you may also face the insanely powerful pay2win decks in casual too.

    The skill ceiling in this game unfortunately is in the basement. It is all luck and expensive cards that determine the outcome.

    AVOID.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2016
    0
    Pay to win

    OOOOOOohhhhhhhhhhhh another legendary op **** and another and another and another matches the company capitalistic **** not a
    Pay to win

    OOOOOOohhhhhhhhhhhh another legendary op **** and another and another and another
    matches the company capitalistic **** not a fair gameplay
    Expand

See all 412 User Reviews