Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    It is a card game and does have some level of a random element to it. When I started playing it first felt like just a card game but on forIt is a card game and does have some level of a random element to it. When I started playing it first felt like just a card game but on for your PC. I kept playing and really got into the game when I realized the versatility of the characters and how every class not only has a different play style but how you can actually pick out your style of play for each class. If you do not like strategy based card games, stay away - If you have never played one before, Hearthstone provides a great experience to learn the game and test your deck building and strategy skills. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    Heartsone - Heroes of Warcraft is one of the best card games that I've ever played, the design is beatiful and motivational, the voiceover isHeartsone - Heroes of Warcraft is one of the best card games that I've ever played, the design is beatiful and motivational, the voiceover is perfect in all lenguages, the rules are simple and easylearned, but as you level up in the game, it gets harder and harder, a well balanced game. The classes, cards, decks creation, cratures, magics, everything that you need in a card game Hearthstone offers you, almost perfect game! Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    5
    This game is thoroughly mediocre. Magic has massively more strategic depth than it has; this game is quite shallow, primarily due to its lackThis game is thoroughly mediocre. Magic has massively more strategic depth than it has; this game is quite shallow, primarily due to its lack of interactivity. You act, then your opponent acts, then you go again, back and forth, and the inability to interact during your opponent's turn, while it is a reasonable decision from the point of view of speeding up the game, really makes the game a lot more shallow.

    The net effect is that the game is more of a diversion than something which is actually all that deep; it tries to addict you with various Pavlovian methods, but in the end the lack of interactivity means that while playing against other players rather than the AI makes the game more difficult, it doesn't create a fundamental difference in how fun the game actually is to play, which is to say, a little, but not very.

    Not worth your time, and certainly not worth your money; if you like Magic, you'll find this a disappointingly shallow imitation which is a lot less fun; if you don't like Magic, then you certainly won't like a disappointingly shallow imitation. Yes, it is ostensibly free (and really, you can play it for free if you're patient enough), but the amount of time you spend on it in favor of something else is a real cost, and that time you'll never get back.
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    3
    Negative reviews sum it up, this is basically the warcraft CCG that they released a while back as a flop. Overly simplified gameplay whichNegative reviews sum it up, this is basically the warcraft CCG that they released a while back as a flop. Overly simplified gameplay which would be a bonus if they didn't break the golden rule of F2P models

    "NEVER, SELL POWER"

    Perhaps if they hadn't been so filled with greed and hubris this would have been a real contender with the other F2P titles on the market, but right now it's not competing and doesn't deserve a good review.
    They can do better.

    Alongside the financial model issues is the heavy reliance on RNG in their card design, a problem which alongside the cost was noted by many of my friends on the actual CCG's release.

    Overall due to the fact there are many documented bugs and flaws, and the fact they've had an active cash shop for months now while still being a "beta" product, I cannot in good conscience give this any higher than a 3, worth some time if you don't take it seriously, but a monumental let down in terms of potential... YgoPro etc won't be quaking in their boots from this "official" release.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2014
    1
    Garbage. Pay to win, Nuff said. Dont waste your time. You will enjoy the first 2 weeks, then you will be destroyed by retards that spend moneyGarbage. Pay to win, Nuff said. Dont waste your time. You will enjoy the first 2 weeks, then you will be destroyed by retards that spend money in this game and can buy better cards. Dont play this game. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2015
    0
    Total cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they areTotal cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they are interested in making pay to win s***, that will make them huge amounts of money from stupid casuals.
    This game is either grind to death to get any decent cards, or just buy them for real money. But they are not cheap, packs are random (so you can get bad cards anyway), and you need many of them. Pay to win in its most atrocious form.
    I would call it poor man's MtG, because mechanics are so simplified and casualised, but to be honest you need to be NOT poor to get a decent deck.
    I wont recommend it to anyone, better get real collectible card game, like Magic, or living card game like Game of thrones, Lotr card game, Warhammer conquest or Netrunner. You can also buy a game that is completed from the start and you dont have to buy expansion packs and boosters, like for example Mage wars.
    All these games are awesome and infinitely better than this virtual money-grabbing abomination.
    And if you want game on computer, there are still better options, for real players.
    This is just s*** for casuals.
    Expand

See all 350 User Reviews