Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1763 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Blackrock Mountain: A Hearthstone Adventure - Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2014
    9
    Great and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it shouldGreat and fun game, the problem is luck determinant in a lot of matches, and also opening packs, but well, is a card game so i guess it should be ok.
    The second problem i found is the game needs something else to keep me playing it, i just log in do my dailies and quit.
    Expand
  3. May 27, 2014
    8
    Very good, but after You play some games You realize there are no more cards that You might want to get as there are few in general.Very good, but after You play some games You realize there are no more cards that You might want to get as there are few in general. Fortunately an expansion is coming and a bunch new cards should be introduced, so my only problem with this game will be no more. On the up side this game has very fun card mechanics that would be impossible to achieve in a table top card game with physical cards. It is aware that it's a virtual game and makes a good use of that fact. There is no pay-to-win (IMO) as a basic deck can easily defeat a "full epic-gold" deck just because it is always a random draw! Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    4
    Won't talk about the whole "P2W" element. Anyone educated enough on CCG and TCG knows that they're a money drain. MTG is just as bad,Won't talk about the whole "P2W" element. Anyone educated enough on CCG and TCG knows that they're a money drain. MTG is just as bad, especially Type-2. MTGO is awfully expensive too, more than Hearthstone.

    Why 4/10? Because in Hearthstone is far from being balanced and that's kind of an issue for a card game. Warlock and Hunter are completely OP while Mage are plain awful. Most of matches are a battle of luck rather than skill. As a Mage, I already know at turn 5 or 6 if I'm going to lose or not. Especially if facing a Warlock or Hunter (which is about 70% of the population from Rank 10 and above.)

    So HS forces you to play the Flavor of the month and off course if you want to move from one class to another, you have to spend more money. Only class-less legendaries/Epics will be able to be re-used, all your Class Specific cards becomes useless the moment you want to play something else.

    Then the whole matchmaking system is MOBA-style garbage, a big play button, impossible do anything beside choosing "Casual" or "Ranked". No in-game chat, no chat room, impossible to play with the person YOU want (unless he's on your friend-list). How hard is it to implement a system not based on sh*tty matchmaking? I want to decide against who I'm playing.

    The Arena now is a huge joke:

    1. You cannot choose the class you will play (off course the game balance is so awful that everyone would pick Paladin or Mage in Arena)

    2. The matchmaking system is once again awful. Can't I just have a proper tournament-style Drafts like MTGO does? No instead the game just matches you against random people. Would be way better to have tournament either Swiss-Style, either with direct elimination.

    3. The drafting system is bad, I'd rather open a pack, pick a card, and pass that pack over another player. Again like MTG does well. No instead the game just feed me with 3 random cards, and I got to pick one. So everything is based on luck. With a proper draft, luck is way less important. Why? Because if the pack you open is full of garbage, then the whole table is going to get garbage.

    Beside that the game is fun, mechanics are fun too.

    TL;DR: Awful balance, bad matchmaking system, no proper tournament. Fun mechanics.
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2014
    2
    I originally rated this a 6 since at the core it's a great game, but was moderately pay-to-win.

    I'm adjusting the rating again since it's
    I originally rated this a 6 since at the core it's a great game, but was moderately pay-to-win.

    I'm adjusting the rating again since it's has become completely pay-to-win.

    I've played since beta without paying and don't have a single legendary. I've earned $100+ of cards for free over a year or so to give you a scope of how much money/time DOESN'T get you a legendary. You simply don't get them without paying money. That would be fine if it was the business model to pay for a card, but it's not. You dump money into a RNG card generator hoping for a good card.

    I play ranked primarily and I've always reached a point where it's not skill that matters, but having legendary cards. I've accepted that because I didn't play enough to hit that point quickly every month (rank resets every month), so it was still fun.

    Now they've modified the model again and it's easier to get specific legendaries, but ONLY if you'll dump $40 into 15 minutes of content and three card rewards. The result is that the ranked cutoff where you need very rare and legendary cards to succeed is hit very early now in a matter of a few sittings.

    Plus you can stack as many legendaries as you like. I played someone that I had dead to rights and then he played four legendary cards in a row. That's not deck-building, that's Bliz rewarding careless $$$ spending.

    It's impossible to put my support behind a model like this because I just don't know whether my investment ends up useless three months down the road when they rework the system again. A lump sum up front for all cards, then for follow-up expansions would be ideal. Then you can have fun deck building. As it stands right now I haven't seen a card I can use in my favorite decks in months. It just feels like a treadmill.

    It's a shame because I love games like this and I wanted this to succeed, but a Blizzard got in it's way.
    Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2015
    0
    Total cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they areTotal cashgrab, but what to expect from this insolent company anyway? They are not interested in creating good games anymore, they are interested in making pay to win s***, that will make them huge amounts of money from stupid casuals.
    This game is either grind to death to get any decent cards, or just buy them for real money. But they are not cheap, packs are random (so you can get bad cards anyway), and you need many of them. Pay to win in its most atrocious form.
    I would call it poor man's MtG, because mechanics are so simplified and casualised, but to be honest you need to be NOT poor to get a decent deck.
    I wont recommend it to anyone, better get real collectible card game, like Magic, or living card game like Game of thrones, Lotr card game, Warhammer conquest or Netrunner. You can also buy a game that is completed from the start and you dont have to buy expansion packs and boosters, like for example Mage wars.
    All these games are awesome and infinitely better than this virtual money-grabbing abomination.
    And if you want game on computer, there are still better options, for real players.
    This is just s*** for casuals.
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    Pointless game at best, It's a CCG (Card Collecting Game) You spend REAL money to buy VIRTUAL cards, but this is not like a real life CTGPointless game at best, It's a CCG (Card Collecting Game) You spend REAL money to buy VIRTUAL cards, but this is not like a real life CTG (Card Trading Game), You can't trade your cards, you can't sell them and they don't get valuable over the years so card rarity is worthless. The most funny thing is whilst you spend real money to acquire these cards, remember they are always blizzard's property, you basically renting ****ing virtual cards, so pathetic. NOW I'm not saying to bring these features into the game, games should NOT be Pay2Win or about making money it should be something that you pay once for a product that is truly yours which you can indulge in to have fun and escape reality, get it blizzard? Game's should = FUN, however Blizzard's Formula is: Money Milking + Grinding + Fake Reward system (Virtual items), they treat people like addicted rats with a reward system. Yes it is a F2P game, if you don't mind Grinding for hours and hours to earn the same cards as it would cost £34.99 then yes It's FREE. This game is so simplistic in nature and development it should only have a Retail price of around £20 with no P2W module and gold grinding could be made easier with 5 daily quests as appose to 1 but that wouldn’t be enough “Money Whoring” for Blizzard. Sh!t Game with the wrong intentions, end of story. Is Blizzard even run by the same people before World of Warcraft?? Expand

See all 431 User Reviews