Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. This game is amazing. If you're any good at it. The thing is, the community is terrible. In theDon't pay attention to the negative reviews. This game is amazing. If you're any good at it. The thing is, the community is terrible. In the Beta, things have been nerfed that didn't deserve nerfing because all the bad players didn't know how to counter them. This will probable still go on forever. Don't pay attention to complaints about RNG, it's a Card Game, there is always gonna be RNG. Bottom line; this game is a perfectly executed with great potential for expansions and more. Too bad the community are pretty mindless at times. Expand
  3. May 28, 2014
    8
    Great game, haven't play a CCG since Magic the Gathering. I almost enjoy this game more than Magic the Gathering, I love designing new decksGreat game, haven't play a CCG since Magic the Gathering. I almost enjoy this game more than Magic the Gathering, I love designing new decks and new strategy. I do wish the amount of decks you can have would increase. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    5
    This game is thoroughly mediocre. Magic has massively more strategic depth than it has; this game is quite shallow, primarily due to its lackThis game is thoroughly mediocre. Magic has massively more strategic depth than it has; this game is quite shallow, primarily due to its lack of interactivity. You act, then your opponent acts, then you go again, back and forth, and the inability to interact during your opponent's turn, while it is a reasonable decision from the point of view of speeding up the game, really makes the game a lot more shallow.

    The net effect is that the game is more of a diversion than something which is actually all that deep; it tries to addict you with various Pavlovian methods, but in the end the lack of interactivity means that while playing against other players rather than the AI makes the game more difficult, it doesn't create a fundamental difference in how fun the game actually is to play, which is to say, a little, but not very.

    Not worth your time, and certainly not worth your money; if you like Magic, you'll find this a disappointingly shallow imitation which is a lot less fun; if you don't like Magic, then you certainly won't like a disappointingly shallow imitation. Yes, it is ostensibly free (and really, you can play it for free if you're patient enough), but the amount of time you spend on it in favor of something else is a real cost, and that time you'll never get back.
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    3
    This game is touted as a casual way to get into trading card games and in a way they are right. Hearthstone certainly looks pretty enough,This game is touted as a casual way to get into trading card games and in a way they are right. Hearthstone certainly looks pretty enough, given how Blizzard has a fairly deep art talent pool for its games and most mechanics seem to work well, with only a few bugs that I am sure will be worked out soon. The very basic mechanics are covered in a 5 game tutorial that gives a quick "This does that" explanation via game play. There are fun animations for summoning and attacks and for other actions on the board that can really be entertaining as well. and there are several kinds of decks you can build and a decent practice mode.

    Unfortunately any entertainment value is destroyed by several factors. All deck types have their own unique Hero ability and set of basic cards, while no one class has any clear advantage on the other 8, each class has gimmicky cards that can make any strategy for attack or defense suddenly impossible to beat or impossible to lose against. While there is no perfect deck type which is a plus, any strategy into building a deck only usually makes a deck good against one or two other types of deck and easily defeated by many others
    New players do get a decent set of basic cards but the card draw system is a complete mess. You gain additional mana crystals each turn that let you summon more powerful creatures and spells but the deck draw system is far to fond of pulling cards you can't use long before you could actually use them, regardless of how many cards have that cost in your deck. Out of the 30 maximum cards in a deck i tested 30 games with 24 cards with a mana cost of 4 or less and 3 cards of 5 mana and 3 above that, of the 30 games played I got the 5+ cards either with the Initial draw, after the mulligan option of discarding some or all of a starting hand for different cards, (which is a nice feature even if it doesn't seem to help alot) or within the first 4 turns. One of those three options occurred during every one of those 30 tests. Often I would get the same cards i discarded with the mulligan back into the starting hand again.
    I would not call this pay to win, pay to catch up with players in the Beta for amount of cards? Yes. It is possible to buy more cards either directly for cash or with gold earned in game. You can also get cards by doing well in the arena mode, which is where you build a deck out of random sets of 3 cards untill you have 30. the better you do in arena the better your reward, be it gold, cards or dust. Dust is a crafting material that you gain for disenchanting spare cards from your latter deck as you can only have 2 of each kind of a card in ladder deck. Dust is used to make any card you want, with some cards costing more than others. While this is a good feature to let players pick certain cards, you gain miniscule amounts of dust for disenchanting most cards. Gold earned in game is also earned at low rates, 10 for the first 3 wins of the day and 40 for completeing a mission. It costs 100 gold for 1 pack at the card shop and 150 gold to try your hand at arena mode without paying the $2.00 real money entry fee. So largely its 2 days of playing for a deck of cards or 3 days for an arena attempt. Its also about 2 dollars for a pack of cards as well, with various bundles for more packs for more money available.
    I cannot recommend spending any money on this game, as they are obviously hoping that you will either spend more money buying packs and attempting the arena enough times that they will make more money off you than they would for a retail game like Diablo or Starcraft. All in all, the gimmicky nature of the decks and the poor randomization for drawing cards from your deck make Hearthstone the fastest way to have a bad time short of a sudden injury. For card game enthusiasts only,
    Expand
  6. May 29, 2014
    1
    Very poorly excuted, graphics for warcraft 1 maybe or some facebook games...
    very slow game play, for a fight you have to wait for the
    Very poorly excuted, graphics for warcraft 1 maybe or some facebook games...
    very slow game play, for a fight you have to wait for the animation...
    Game mechanics is shallow and no creativity like other card games.

    Putting Heroes of warcraft title to draw the crowds no creative work like in other Blizzard titles.

    Pay 2 win like all of card games... nothing new. Don't bother yourself with this game. unless you like the graphics and want to play any crap game have a warcraft name in it ... your choice... free to play but its pure pay 2 win and pay to enjoy...

    1 point only for the audio...
    Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2015
    0
    Heartstone looks like an amazing game on the surface. But it is pay to win like no other game i have ever seen or for that matter heard of.Heartstone looks like an amazing game on the surface. But it is pay to win like no other game i have ever seen or for that matter heard of.
    You need to spend a lot of money to be able to compete with anyone. Even though the game says you are matched with a fair opponent you meet people with 5 Legendary cards played in your first pvp match.
    This is the worst game experience i have had, and that says a lot.
    I would recommend staying away from this game if you are not ready to throw 100+ bucks into the drain.
    Go play some indie games many of at least deserve some money.
    Expand

See all 355 User Reviews