Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1012 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 254
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. я поиграл в ету игру но ана шикарная пой на карты играй с друзьями и все тагдали и получай удаволствие Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    Notice that many of the negative reviews call this game a "pay-to-win" or a grind, or an overly simplistic, luck-based game. I don't think they understand the concept of strategy when it comes to a game like this- it's as much about how well you can craft a deck as much as how you play it out. They (rightly) claim that there's no way to plan for every deck, so how can you expect to win? What do they want? A deck that can beat all other decks? A deck that is prepared for every single strategy that can be thrown at them? Not only is this impossible, it also would not be fun.

    All I'll say about this game is that if you are even thinking about trying the game, it's free-to-play, so there's nothing to lose!
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    6
    As fun it is, some decks are definitely overpowered compared to others. There are certain other drawbacks, like the game is not rewarding enough for your efforts, card gains are limited if you don't pay for anything. We know that Blizzard has a taste to charge people for extras but that system just blew up with D3 Auction House. I wonder why they still create a "pay to win" style game while their experiences should have urged them otherwise. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    5
    I give it a 5 rating after on going playing. Fun. Addictive. Nice touch of refreshing us with playing cards. The quest feature you earn is once a day, I do like that as well.

    Now let's get into the ugly.
    Bad chances. This game is off luck at the close ends of the straw. Whoever Hearthstone favors will win if it's coming down to the close matchup. Lets say you have 15 life left and your poor foe has 9. Chances are he's going to get lucky with a few more rounds before it's over. They made that flaw into this card game. I don't care about the real money. I don't like how the game can overturn in a few rounds because they build a system into the mathematics. Come on! give me a break blizzard.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    2
    This is a cash grab from Blizzard. Don't spend any money on the game. It's not a competitive game by any means, since the top 5 ranks are conquered by 4-5 decks that people play over and over again. Anyone who copies these decks can easily achieve the highest rank in the game with little to no effort. Literally 75% of the cards are weak and nobody plays them, but Blizzard does in order to adress this issue. Instead they are releasing new cards to maximize their profit.

    Furthermore, the game is super buggy and the servers lag a lot at times. There are no forums for the European servers (o.0) and the North American ones are basically unmoderated. Overall, it's a fun game that you can play for maybe 1 week before it becomes dull and repetitive. Don't get lured into buying a lot of packs though, because you will regret it more and more as you play and become more experienced.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    Its not F2P its P2W, why doesn't blizzard add a button that says "WIN, costs $5" it would save time...
    oh yeah, if any blizzard employee is
    reading, suggest to your boss to buy a trade mark for PAY TO WIN (P2W), you will get a raise and probably a promotion too! Expand

See all 254 User Reviews