Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 2, 2011
    90
    Hector Badge of Carnage: We Negotiate With Terrorists is a great little adventure that's often shocking, frequently offensive and always hilarious. Despite (or perhaps because of) its gross out moments and unabashedly low-brow humor, it's one of the most entertaining, unique adventure games most of us have seen in longer than we'd like to remember.
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    83
    Still, its charming in its disgusting way, with a thoroughly entertaining story, great gameplay, and a cast of detestable-yet-oddly-likeable characters. [Aug 2011, p.73]
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    83
    To my surprise, it's one of the better, more traditional adventure games in a while.
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    82
    You will laugh. [July 2011, p.99]
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    82
    You won't replay it, but the humor is great the first time through, it's cheap, and most of the puzzles are clever.
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Hector is something very unique: a casual point'n click adventure for adults, especially if offensive and gross humour is your cup of tea. The game doesn't shine on puzzle design, but it compensates this with fair amount of well-written and well-acted dialogue. The story isn't too bad, either. [Sept 2011]
  7. Jul 29, 2011
    80
    As with any episodic content, We Negotiate with Terrorists ends on a cliffhanger, a most amusing one at that.
  8. May 26, 2011
    80
    Fans of classic adventure gaming should absolutely check out the Hector: Badge of Carnage series. The point and click formula is present and largely unchanged from the golden age of the genre but the unique well-realised setting and the excellent writing put this well above the mediocrity bar.
  9. May 23, 2011
    80
    [Quotation Forthcoming]
  10. May 7, 2011
    80
    The first installment of Hector: Badge of Carnage is a crass and creative detective adventure.
  11. May 6, 2011
    80
    With a simple but funny sense of humor, the game achieves in creating a hilarious atmosphere that few games have tried to recreate, and even few with such success.
  12. May 3, 2011
    78
    Visually, Hector has a hand drawn look that is an attractive contrast to the foul language. The juxtaposition works. The dialog is entirely captioned within the frame, rather than beneath it, giving the game a storybook feel that sets it apart from the rest of Telltale's library.
  13. Jul 1, 2011
    75
    If in your dictionary the 'point'n'click' entry lies close to 'good old times', We Negotiate With Terrorists is the game for you. If not, you can – as Hector would say – go #$%^&^ yourself. Twice! [June 2011, p.78]
  14. May 10, 2011
    75
    The writing is really good in general (despite one tasteless bit of dialogue where Hector calls some gangsters "homos" instead of "homies"), and the puzzles are fun, but don't expect anything out of the ordinary gameplay wise.
  15. May 18, 2011
    70
    Cheap production values and somewhat odd controls aside, this is one of the better Telltale releases of recent times. Loads of funny jokes and enjoyable puzzles, and there's quite a lot of content for an episodic release as well.
  16. May 12, 2011
    70
    One of the funniest Telltale productions that lacks of enough contents to justify the whole price tags.
  17. Apr 30, 2011
    70
    A great start to a promising new adventure series. It's funny, engaging and we literally can't wait for another dose of Hector's dysfunctional crime fighting skills.
  18. Apr 29, 2011
    70
    The first episode is an unbalanced one, but it manages to pull itself together for a satisfying conclusion. Its compelling, cliffhanging afterword ensures that I'll be giving the second chapter a shot, as well -- I only hope that it spends more time being irreverently funny, rather than spending a third of its run-time desperately attempting to convince the player of its irreverence.
  19. May 13, 2011
    68
    And so, obviously, I wouldn't recommend Hector: Episode 1. It's short and it's sloppy, and other than its tone, it doesn't have a whole lot going for it. It's also the first offering from Telltale Games that I didn't really like. The second and third episodes of the Hector season aren't coming out for a few months, so possibly Straandlooper could figure a few things out and create something worthwhile, but I'm not optimistic, and I'd give this new franchise a pass.
  20. May 5, 2011
    68
    There is a decent amount of jokes that end up being pretty funny, but there might not be enough quality humor to keep some players fully entertained.
  21. May 4, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Jul 3, 2011
    50
    To say the level of humour is an acquired taste would be an understatement. [Issue#110, p.118]
  23. May 4, 2011
    50
    Hector Badge of Carnage is not a title for proper adventure gamers, but just an average game with a decent rhythm and a tons of puns.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Hector: Badge of Carnage is a very funny game. Set in Clapper'ss Wreak, the worst **** in the history of mankind, this game has you playing as Hector, an unclassy, mean-spirited drunk, who happens to be a detective, and a very good one i might add. A terrorist with hostages takes over a building, and you have to comply with his demands, which will have you solving all sorts of challenging puzzles all over town. One thing that I love about this game is how edgy the humor is. It's not sophisticated humor, like Portal 2, but more like South Park and Family Guy. This game will have you laughing out loud, if not at least chuckling to yourself. Some people will be offended by this, so if you're one of those **** who likes to write letters to the FCC, shutting down shows/ book series that you deem "too inappropriate", this isnt for you. The voice acting is ridiculous, but great. The only bad thing about Hector is that it has very little replay value. I dunno if you're gonna want to play through this game more than once. THE VERDICT:
    Hector: Badge of Carnage is a hilarious and fun game to play through the first time, but once you beat it, you probably wont go back, unless to show your friends. This game has a lot of edgy/vulgar humor, so it's not recommended for kids under 10. All in all, a memorable experience, and a must have for any "point and click" fan
    Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I got this game in an indie bundle sale. It's a point and click puzzle game about Hector, an alcoholic, smoking, foul-mouthed detective. After playing for half an hour, I uninstalled it in disgust. Combining a rope and a condom to fish a paperclip out of a dirty toilet? Well, that's not my idea of humor, and that was just the first scene. On top of that, I didn't like the graphics at all I think they look like cheap flash animations. Check some screenshots to see what I mean. I suggest you stay away from this game, unless you're really desperate for some of the cheapest, lowest and most childish pseudohumor imaginable. Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    A modern-day, classic adventure game. If it doesn't remind you of the good ol' SCUMM days, then I'm not sure what will. Like everyone says: it's lewd, crude, rude, and awesome dude! (I apologize for the horrible, horrible rhyme). This game just might beat any of TellTale's modern adventure games. Full Review »